New Carpooling Law

Matoonia

I don't mind charging $10 per head [:p]

Express bus, those sit down only type charge $5 per trip

Noted. [rolleyes]

With signed in nick, easier to follow up. Otherwise, you need to scroll up and down to find your last view and you might have forgotten your last view.

reading NEED to register a nick meh?

knn!!!!! Bro Tuck Yew really reading MCF!!!!!!! [laugh]

he using what nick?

Y5b8w6n.gif

yup, Im pretty sure someone from MOT is gathering information from the internet...

maybe this is his nick?

http://www.mycarforum.com/user/129121-lui/

LOL... no offence to the member in the link.. just joking.

Edited by Tigershark1976

yup, Im pretty sure someone from MOT is gathering information from the internet...

maybe this is his nick?

http://www.mycarforum.com/user/129121-lui/

LOL... no offence to the member in the link.. just joking.

The tuck yew gif quite funny

He like saying something like this:

Bro, you got to believe me. This stuff is so kan see Lang hoh! I used for many years liao. I have not seen anything better [laugh]

Under the new law, it is not how much the driver can earn but rather how many drivers will abuse the system... :ph34r: or can we trust the hitch hikers? Juz imagine, someone you don't know at all ask you to drive from one end to another then finally says no money how? can sue? or bring you to ulu ulu places and rob you? And drivers, we know not all are saints so MCFers may not be looking at the monetary value but don't represent drivers at large...

It is a good start to encourage less use of vehicle but again another half-cooked implementation. First, no insurance company or even the GIA stepped out to address the insurance coverage. Second, there is no specific price range so basically open to abuse. Third, how to enforce on the 2 rides per day? Randomly or wait for complaint?

I'll be waiting for another of their wayang show asking drivers to give their suggestions then revised the law to make it even sillier than it is. It would never change if people are placed on roles based on papers only.

Under the new law, it is not how much the driver can earn but rather how many drivers will abuse the system... :ph34r: or can we trust the hitch hikers? Juz imagine, someone you don't know at all ask you to drive from one end to another then finally says no money how? can sue? or bring you to ulu ulu places and rob you? And drivers, we know not all are saints so MCFers may not be looking at the monetary value but don't represent drivers at large...

It is a good start to encourage less use of vehicle but again another half-cooked implementation. First, no insurance company or even the GIA stepped out to address the insurance coverage. Second, there is no specific price range so basically open to abuse. Third, how to enforce on the 2 rides per day? Randomly or wait for complaint?

I'll be waiting for another of their wayang show asking drivers to give their suggestions then revised the law to make it even sillier than it is. It would never change if people are placed on roles based on papers only.

Actually the whole thing is very uniquely Singaporean...

Just follow law...

Anywhere else, carpooling would be a private arrangement amongst the participants,

Here, it's got to be "allowed" by law - which of course, instead of following common sense about everything starts to create more problems than it solves - purely because it raises the sorts of questions you are asking.

In other countries it would be arranged by "taking turns" (you drive this week, I drive next week) or the passenger just throw tank of gas, or whatever, no need to get who who who what what what involved...

Just follow law...

Anywhere else, carpooling would be a private arrangement amongst the participants,

Here, it's got to be "allowed" by law - which of course, instead of following common sense about everything starts to create more problems than it solves - purely because it raises the sorts of questions you are asking.

In other countries it would be arranged by "taking turns" (you drive this week, I drive next week) or the passenger just throw tank of gas, or whatever, no need to get who who who what what what involved...

In SG, simi mah ai zao law Kiah [everything must follow law]

Just follow law...

In Singapore:

anything done out of the ordinary is "outlawed"...

anything that had many complaints and got public attention is also "outlawed"...

anything that done without the government having part of its monetary reward is definitely "outlawed"...

How else Singapore becomes so successful? Everything within their control, everything within their grasp.

Actually with the current spate of new laws being introduced..frankly I am losing confidence in the quality of our scholars..very absurd...

And thanks but no thanks..my ride is my safe haven to destress and a commute tool after work..sharing with strangers who bring their muddy shoes into my car..eat biscuits or puke at the back...seriously...please no... [thumbsdown]

Thumbs down to LTA again..

IMO I think it's useful when it's raining and you are trying desperately to hail for a cab or call one with no hope in sight or if you are in a hurry and stuck in a location like Tuas South where no taxis will head there. Such carpooling will benefit such people and also perhaps eliminate long queues at taxi stands with no cab in sight.

I think it's not at all negative stuff, at least it sort of gives people more reason to stop and help since it benefits both driver and passenger.

Imagine you are the car owner and you are driving alone in such situation as you described. Would you stop and 'pick up' your passengers at the taxi stand?

If there are people headed the same direction as me I wouldn't mind but apparently it's against the law as advised by another bro here.

Let's not talk about the law first... Would you deliberately stop by a taxi stand on a rainy day and ask around for anyone who is going to travel in the same direction as you? Wouldn't you find it weird for both parties?

From a passenger POV, how would he/she knows whether you have any ulterior motives especially if she is a chiobu?

From a driver POV, why should he create trouble for himself when he does not even know who he is ferrying.

Would he get robbed as a result and as someone mentioned, how about insurance in case of accident?

For someone to have that kind of thoughts, he is either silly or have a big heart! I hope you belongs to the latter...

Regards,

Edited by Maz0608

I think there are a few formers here who have mixed up car-pooling with "hitchhiking" or paid hitchhiking (AKA taxi lah).

Car-pooling is a planned and scheduled activity. And not picking up random strangers on the road for a fee (that's what taxi drivers do).

Please do know the difference unless you want to get in trouble with the trouble-makers :D