New Carpooling Law

Matoonia

IMO I think it's useful when it's raining and you are trying desperately to hail for a cab or call one with no hope in sight or if you are in a hurry and stuck in a location like Tuas South where no taxis will head there. Such carpooling will benefit such people and also perhaps eliminate long queues at taxi stands with no cab in sight.

I think it's not at all negative stuff, at least it sort of gives people more reason to stop and help since it benefits both driver and passenger.

cannot stop to pick up passengers

otherwise ask around orifice - but only if got regular morning timing - I think many would be agreeable on a per trip basis direct to office, from nearby your home.

Huh? Bro, which "orifice" you talking about? Regular morning timing some more...

heehee... just kidding. [:p] Auto-correct? :D

Edited by efssc

i think, the situation as of now does nothing to stop you from carpooling. but the introduction of the law does create a signalling effect that the practice is endorsed, if not encouraged. people will be more open to it, so i think legislation indeed helps somewhat.

before this law, if you post a new thread:

wanna carpool daily from woodlands to cbd ($5 per babe $6 per dude)

jit tao tio lim kopi from mata [laugh]

Huh? Bro, which "orifice" you talking about? Regular morning timing some more...

heehee... just kidding. [:p] Auto-correct? :D

Deliberate lor....I work in a dark stinky hole....

My office has more in common with an orifice than anything else...

pretty girl -$2

ok girl - $1

small size girl no add no minus

guy +$1

big guy +$2

smeely guy +$5

pretty girl - free

ok girl - $2

guys - refer to Mustank for Commission

Like that how?

On a more serious note, this new ruling gives quite some leeway for mobile apps to tap into this segment of the market.

Via a app, can limit the 2x a day and since it is not solicited on road or carpark, abides by the rules. Lets see how this plays out.

Edited by Ake109

pretty girl - free

ok girl - $2

guys - refer to Mustank for Commission

Like that how?

On a more serious note, this new ruling gives quite some leeway for mobile apps to tap into this segment of the market.

Via a app, can limit the 2x a day and since it is not solicited on road or carpark, abides by the rules. Lets see how this plays out.

gonna get a lorry now!!!!

$2 per worker!! cheaper than mrt!! [laugh]

pretty xmm can sit in cabin [grin]

ST_20131026_JALORRY26_3897153e.jpg

Guys you are forgetting the main reasons why the new law was erected.

The move is also expected to boost car sharing, which in turn should ease congestion on the roads and on public transport.

As usual, they are looking at people, the private car owners to fix the problems they made.

Seriously anyway, if we can afford to dp 50%, at these COE prices, why would anyway even bother with the measly profit?

A failed system.

Let their public transport continue to be jammed packed like sardines and let these people vote wisely.

Guys you are forgetting the main reasons why the new law was erected.

As usual, they are looking at people, the private car owners to fix the problems they made.

Seriously anyway, if we can afford to dp 50%, at these COE prices, why would anyway even bother with the measly profit?

A failed system.

Let their public transport continue to be jammed packed like sardines and let these people vote wisely.

A $ saved is a $ earned. Be smart abt spending is how u get rich.

Dun just think office workers...what abt the shipyards, or tuas West live bedok or similar...If can pay car share of $50 week quite worth....If got two or three pax $500 month quite worth.... $6 year....

These set of regulations seem unnecessary and in fact raise more questions than answers as many bros pointed out.

And come on, at today's car prices, if you can afford the car then would you be bothered to collect that small amount of money from carpooling? Sharing car with paying passengers? Then might as well take bus and MRT right?

For me, when I offer a lift to my colleagues, it's cos I'm doing out of goodwill.

Sometimes you wonder who come out with these type of rules, and worse, who vetted/approved them.

Carpooling is great if it is a daily trip between home to work.

But have to ensure driver is not sick and car not is ws

So can I start going to drinking areas and let the drunkards hitch hike and charge them at $35 per pax? With such a scheme, is the garment trying to tell you indirectly that car prices will get higher?

I know of a few people who will do this even though a car costs alot. They are generally very thrifty people but got a car due to reasons like their parents want them to ferry them around. So whatever they can save they will save.

These people I know are also the type who will take public transport to work and park their car at home just to save money.

reading NEED to register a nick meh?

knn!!!!! Bro Tuck Yew really reading MCF!!!!!!! [laugh]

he using what nick?

Y5b8w6n.gif

Edited by Simplecar

reading NEED to register a nick meh?

Maybe he also come in disturb abit here and there mah

He see so fun to play, see already also wanna play mah [laugh]

A $ saved is a $ earned. Be smart abt spending is how u get rich.

Dun just think office workers...what abt the shipyards, or tuas West live bedok or similar...If can pay car share of $50 week quite worth....If got two or three pax $500 month quite worth.... $6 year....

If I just fetch 2 chaps 2 way and charge $5 per trip, can earn 50k in 10 years. Coe nearly free!!!!

Eh... what is the market rate for carpooling ?

Express bus, those sit down only type charge $5 per trip