New Carpooling Law

Matoonia

Carpooling law: Car owners can now accept payments from passengers who hitch a ride. However, drivers cannot offer more than two rides a day, and it should not be for profit

A car owner can now accept payment from passengers who hitch a ride.

This and other rules and regulations governing carpooling came into effect on Monday under the Road Traffic Act in an effort to bring legal clarity to what was a grey area.

The move is also expected to boost car sharing, which in turn should ease congestion on the roads and on public transport.

The new laws state that it is illegal for drivers to solicit for passengers on the road, in public spaces or parking lots.

A vehicle is primarily for the motorist's own use and not bought for the sole purpose of offering paid rides.

Destinations of passengers must be clarified before the journey and drivers cannot offer more than two rides per day.

The most interesting inclusion to the laws allows drivers to accept monetary compensation or payment in kind for offering rides - though it should not be for profit.

Carpooling law: Car owners can now accept payments from passengers who hitch a ride. However, drivers cannot offer more than two rides a day, and it should not be for profit

A car owner can now accept payment from passengers who hitch a ride.

This and other rules and regulations governing carpooling came into effect on Monday under the Road Traffic Act in an effort to bring legal clarity to what was a grey area.

The move is also expected to boost car sharing, which in turn should ease congestion on the roads and on public transport.

The new laws state that it is illegal for drivers to solicit for passengers on the road, in public spaces or parking lots.

A vehicle is primarily for the motorist's own use and not bought for the sole purpose of offering paid rides.

Destinations of passengers must be clarified before the journey and drivers cannot offer more than two rides per day.

The most interesting inclusion to the laws allows drivers to accept monetary compensation or payment in kind for offering rides - though it should not be for profit.

knn!!!!! Bro Tuck Yew really reading MCF!!!!!!! [laugh]

he using what nick?

Y5b8w6n.gif

I wonder how are they going to check this part...

Don't think that it's an unnecessary law. To institutionalize this will give clarity, what can do, what cannot do.

Yes taxi uncles will be pissed, but I think it will make the transport system more efficient. After all, we have 600k passenger cars here, if 1% offer to do carpooling suddenly we will have 6000 more part time drivers.

Wah how to get people to carpool my car? Petrol getting expensive nia

Ask among your colleagues who live nearby la.

But how many of them are willing to pay?

Don't think that it's an unnecessary law. To institutionalize this will give clarity, what can do, what cannot do.

Yes taxi uncles will be pissed, but I think it will make the transport system more efficient. After all, we have 600k passenger cars here, if 1% offer to do carpooling suddenly we will have 6000 more part time drivers.

going to buy a bus now!!!!! [laugh]

bangbus.jpg

any babes wanna ride? [grin]

MV5BMTQxMTA3OTg3OV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNTk0

Wah how to get people to carpool my car? Petrol getting expensive nia

Try this better la

http://www.sharetransport.sg/

If you ask colleagues or neighbour, then to charge them also paiseh. Best is to find strangers who work around the same area. Then right from the start it's a commercial arrangement.

Try this better la

http://www.sharetransport.sg/

If you ask colleagues or neighbour, then to charge them also paiseh. Best is to find strangers who work around the same area. Then right from the start it's a commercial arrangement.

don dare to ask colleague to pay marnie [sweatdrop]

wait go toilet tio pah [grin]

now i siao lang

listen techno

pretty girl -$2

ok girl - $1

small size girl no add no minus

guy +$1

big guy +$2

smeely guy +$5

Edited by Mustank

bangbus.jpg

I'm going wherever you're going! You be driver, I be ticketing guy.. Payment in kind also accepted... =P

we gonna have alot of patient drivers following our slow moving bus [laugh]

263afffefb39d73f05e5881841356b9abe10c8de

bangbus.jpg

Hello...a-such things in SIngapore cannot!! Even if prostitution is legal, porn is not [laugh]:D[:p]

Besides - you think you got so much energy to get it up twice a day?

I think is a good thing, but also wondering what does "for profit" mean - and how they would measure.

Does "for profit" mean only cover petrol? Or Petrol + ERP?

Or petrol + ERP +1 day season parking? Or Petrol + ERP + Season Parking + 1 day insurance + 1 day road tax?

As to "finding rides"
Would love to see something set-up at bus interchange - with a few preset locations eg - shenton way, biopolis, CBP...could possible even has some system of LCD board with destination on it for pick-up.

otherwise ask around orifice - but only if got regular morning timing - I think many would be agreeable on a per trip basis direct to office, from nearby your home.

Another possibility would be for building management to arrange some sort of app or similar...

Then ask them to be sardined in mrt lol

don dare to ask colleague to pay marnie [sweatdrop]

wait go toilet tio pah [grin]

now i siao lang

listen techno

pretty girl -$2

ok girl - $1

small size girl no add no minus

guy +$1

big guy +$2

smeely guy +$5

Smelly guy I drop him off in expressway