Matoonia 6th Gear March 6, 2015 Share March 6, 2015 Carpooling law: Car owners can now accept payments from passengers who hitch a ride. However, drivers cannot offer more than two rides a day, and it should not be for profit A car owner can now accept payment from passengers who hitch a ride.This and other rules and regulations governing carpooling came into effect on Monday under the Road Traffic Act in an effort to bring legal clarity to what was a grey area.The move is also expected to boost car sharing, which in turn should ease congestion on the roads and on public transport.The new laws state that it is illegal for drivers to solicit for passengers on the road, in public spaces or parking lots.A vehicle is primarily for the motorist's own use and not bought for the sole purpose of offering paid rides.Destinations of passengers must be clarified before the journey and drivers cannot offer more than two rides per day.The most interesting inclusion to the laws allows drivers to accept monetary compensation or payment in kind for offering rides - though it should not be for profit. ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged March 6, 2015 Share March 6, 2015 IMO, this law is unnecessary. don't see the benefit of it. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic March 6, 2015 Share March 6, 2015 This is just waiting for people to abuse. Waiting for taxi uncle strike 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic March 6, 2015 Share March 6, 2015 Carpooling law: Car owners can now accept payments from passengers who hitch a ride. However, drivers cannot offer more than two rides a day, and it should not be for profit A car owner can now accept payment from passengers who hitch a ride. This and other rules and regulations governing carpooling came into effect on Monday under the Road Traffic Act in an effort to bring legal clarity to what was a grey area. The move is also expected to boost car sharing, which in turn should ease congestion on the roads and on public transport. The new laws state that it is illegal for drivers to solicit for passengers on the road, in public spaces or parking lots. A vehicle is primarily for the motorist's own use and not bought for the sole purpose of offering paid rides. Destinations of passengers must be clarified before the journey and drivers cannot offer more than two rides per day. The most interesting inclusion to the laws allows drivers to accept monetary compensation or payment in kind for offering rides - though it should not be for profit. knn!!!!! Bro Tuck Yew really reading MCF!!!!!!! he using what nick? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic March 6, 2015 Share March 6, 2015 Can I sell add-ons like food, drinks, wet tissue, checked bags...stuff liddat? 12 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Strat 6th Gear March 6, 2015 Share March 6, 2015 Destinations of passengers must be clarified before the journey and drivers cannot offer more than two rides per day. I wonder how are they going to check this part... 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Matoonia 6th Gear March 6, 2015 Author Share March 6, 2015 Don't think that it's an unnecessary law. To institutionalize this will give clarity, what can do, what cannot do. Yes taxi uncles will be pissed, but I think it will make the transport system more efficient. After all, we have 600k passenger cars here, if 1% offer to do carpooling suddenly we will have 6000 more part time drivers. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic March 6, 2015 Share March 6, 2015 Wah how to get people to carpool my car? Petrol getting expensive nia 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic March 6, 2015 Share March 6, 2015 Wah how to get people to carpool my car? Petrol getting expensive nia Ask among your colleagues who live nearby la. But how many of them are willing to pay? 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic March 6, 2015 Share March 6, 2015 Don't think that it's an unnecessary law. To institutionalize this will give clarity, what can do, what cannot do. Yes taxi uncles will be pissed, but I think it will make the transport system more efficient. After all, we have 600k passenger cars here, if 1% offer to do carpooling suddenly we will have 6000 more part time drivers. going to buy a bus now!!!!! Ask among your colleagues who live nearby la. But how many of them are willing to pay? any babes wanna ride? 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Matoonia 6th Gear March 6, 2015 Author Share March 6, 2015 Wah how to get people to carpool my car? Petrol getting expensive nia Try this better la http://www.sharetransport.sg/ If you ask colleagues or neighbour, then to charge them also paiseh. Best is to find strangers who work around the same area. Then right from the start it's a commercial arrangement. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic March 6, 2015 Share March 6, 2015 (edited) Try this better la http://www.sharetransport.sg/ If you ask colleagues or neighbour, then to charge them also paiseh. Best is to find strangers who work around the same area. Then right from the start it's a commercial arrangement. don dare to ask colleague to pay marnie wait go toilet tio pah now i siao lang listen techno pretty girl -$2 ok girl - $1 small size girl no add no minus guy +$1 big guy +$2 smeely guy +$5 Edited March 6, 2015 by Mustank 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hydrocarbon Turbocharged March 6, 2015 Share March 6, 2015 going to buy a bus now!!!!! any babes wanna ride? I'm going wherever you're going! You be driver, I be ticketing guy.. Payment in kind also accepted... =P 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic March 6, 2015 Share March 6, 2015 I'm going wherever you're going! You be driver, I be ticketing guy.. Payment in kind also accepted... =P we gonna have alot of patient drivers following our slow moving bus Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged March 6, 2015 Share March 6, 2015 going to buy a bus now!!!!! any babes wanna ride? Hello...a-such things in SIngapore cannot!! Even if prostitution is legal, porn is not Besides - you think you got so much energy to get it up twice a day? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic March 6, 2015 Share March 6, 2015 Hello...a-such things in SIngapore cannot!! Even if prostitution is legal, porn is not Besides - you think you got so much energy to get it up twice a day? ALL YOU KEN!!!!!!!!!! http://www.tnp.sg/entertainment/hardest-working-man-japanese-porn-earns-128000-month Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged March 6, 2015 Share March 6, 2015 I think is a good thing, but also wondering what does "for profit" mean - and how they would measure. Does "for profit" mean only cover petrol? Or Petrol + ERP? Or petrol + ERP +1 day season parking? Or Petrol + ERP + Season Parking + 1 day insurance + 1 day road tax? As to "finding rides" Would love to see something set-up at bus interchange - with a few preset locations eg - shenton way, biopolis, CBP...could possible even has some system of LCD board with destination on it for pick-up. otherwise ask around orifice - but only if got regular morning timing - I think many would be agreeable on a per trip basis direct to office, from nearby your home. Another possibility would be for building management to arrange some sort of app or similar... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic March 6, 2015 Share March 6, 2015 Ask among your colleagues who live nearby la. But how many of them are willing to pay? Then ask them to be sardined in mrt lol don dare to ask colleague to pay marnie wait go toilet tio pah now i siao lang listen techno pretty girl -$2 ok girl - $1 small size girl no add no minus guy +$1 big guy +$2 smeely guy +$5 Smelly guy I drop him off in expressway ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...