Wt_know Supersonic June 4, 2022 Share June 4, 2022 (edited) 25 minutes ago, Cosmicclaw said: As some have already suggested....no need to pack up and move permanently. the question is to rent out the HDB or Condo to fund the retirement “cost” eat, sleep and pangsai … no need to work if no need to pack … of course besterest la … rental + cpf life + investment dividend = support retirement lifestyle including travelling asia countries why many pack up to JB? because rent out HDB in spore … if can have the cake and eat it … that’s perfect! Edited June 4, 2022 by Wt_know ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic June 5, 2022 Share June 5, 2022 20 hours ago, Wt_know said: the question is to rent out the HDB or Condo to fund the retirement “cost” eat, sleep and pangsai … no need to work if no need to pack … of course besterest la … rental + cpf life + investment dividend = support retirement lifestyle including travelling asia countries why many pack up to JB? because rent out HDB in spore … if can have the cake and eat it … that’s perfect! Thats horrible. If you have to pack up and leave Singapore for JB to retire, mean CMI liao…… 🤪😜😂 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged June 8, 2022 Share June 8, 2022 On 5/28/2022 at 10:31 AM, mersaylee said: That means they got doctors but boh nurse...pay lesser if you can help out at the OT...😁 I recall mokota hospital use to allow Medisave to be use. But I may be wrong.. only 2 place away from Singapore where the hospital is still at a certain comfort level. This and Thailand bumigrad hospital 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic June 8, 2022 Share June 8, 2022 (edited) 34 minutes ago, Sdf4786k said: I recall mokota hospital use to allow Medisave to be use. But I may be wrong.. only 2 place away from Singapore where the hospital is still at a certain comfort level. This and Thailand bumigrad hospital Mahkota Hospital and Regency Specialist Hospital under the Same Group. It is likely to allow it. Edited June 8, 2022 by inlinesix 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged June 19, 2022 Share June 19, 2022 (edited) On 6/5/2022 at 4:52 PM, Throttle2 said: Thats horrible. If you have to pack up and leave Singapore for JB to retire, mean CMI liao…… 🤪😜😂 The living life or prolonged death retirement plan hope all brothers here don’t have to take the latter Edited June 19, 2022 by Sdf4786k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic June 20, 2022 Share June 20, 2022 Actually, if you are single, have no kids and no family commitments, rent out HDB, go live in Pattaya or Phuket like those farangs lor 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic July 5, 2022 Share July 5, 2022 (edited) auntie want to come back liao after cabut for 2 years .... Edited July 5, 2022 by Wt_know 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic July 11, 2022 Share July 11, 2022 19 hours ago, awhtc said: Sharing my retirement plan related to financials in JB 🙂 The key principles in the planning are: (1) keep costs low in a relaxed environment, and (2) match costs with (a) part-time work and keep me occupied mentally in my 60s, and (b) my CPF Life ERS from 70s to allow the passive income to act as a buffer. The passive income and CPF Life ERS are already established as of now. The greatest uncertainty is health. Please feel free to comment if I missed out anything! 😀 i dont know shit about JB, but the costs just sound too low to me leh. all the best to your retirement plans bro Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic July 11, 2022 Share July 11, 2022 12 minutes ago, awhtc said: Thanks for reviewing. I don't spend a lot even now. My hobbies are reading, doing some light exercises and going for walks around parks. I will bump the cost up by 20% for contingency and I should have sufficient buffer to do so. how old are you now, getting ready to retire very soon? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic July 11, 2022 Share July 11, 2022 16 minutes ago, awhtc said: I'm in my 40s. Starting to take a hard look at future retirement in various aspects - financial, health and life-goals. Good to start early. I am also in my 40s 😄 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged July 11, 2022 Share July 11, 2022 23 hours ago, awhtc said: Sharing my retirement plan related to financials in JB 🙂 The key principles in the planning are: (1) keep costs low in a relaxed environment, and (2) match costs with (a) part-time work and keep me occupied mentally in my 60s, and (b) my CPF Life ERS from 70s to allow the passive income to act as a buffer. The passive income and CPF Life ERS are already established as of now. The greatest uncertainty is health. Please feel free to comment if I missed out anything! 😀 What about rental expenses in msia? Unless you are thinking of buying a place there? Doctor fees, telecommunications do not seem accounted for. Your transport (I assume it's taxi or grab) cost looks a little low at $10 per day Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic July 11, 2022 Share July 11, 2022 (edited) On 7/10/2022 at 3:54 PM, awhtc said: Sharing my retirement plan related to financials in JB 🙂 The key principles in the planning are: (1) keep costs low in a relaxed environment, and (2) match costs with (a) part-time work and keep me occupied mentally in my 60s, and (b) my CPF Life ERS from 70s to allow the passive income to act as a buffer. The passive income and CPF Life ERS are already established as of now. The greatest uncertainty is health. Please feel free to comment if I missed out anything! 😀 I don know if you need 6k buffer per month at the age of 70-80, especially during the mid to late 70s, what else could one do other than to see doctors? Anyway if you have 6k of passive income alone, you should be able to lead a very comfortable retirement life. my thoguth is from 60+ to 75, ideally there should be 8k to 10k to spend per month per couple, that should be allow one to own a simple car, some holidays etc. Beyond 75, one can slowly scale back(down), living a more passive life style at home in SGP. Occasional travel is ok. I think 6k per months should be comfortable. Edited July 11, 2022 by Ct3833 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic July 11, 2022 Share July 11, 2022 On 6/20/2022 at 10:14 PM, awhtc said: I went to JB to settle some stuffs and shop around today. I bought many nice Lavender bread at just over S$1 at Bukit Indah AEON and parking was only $S0.70. Although there is inflation there too, it seems very mild compared to Singapore's. JB has lots of space, things are generally cheap after rate conversion, people are quite approachable and friendly. JB inflation is mild compared to SG? I thought it is very jialat. Everything goes up like 10-20%. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic July 11, 2022 Share July 11, 2022 (edited) 11 minutes ago, Voodooman said: JB inflation is mild compared to SG? I thought it is very jialat. Everything goes up like 10-20%. we see from 1 to 3.15 perspective of course sup sup water ... lol yes i agree with you msia inflation is sibei jialat not just JB ..... other cities like KL, Ipoh, Penang also up up up ... Edited July 11, 2022 by Wt_know 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic July 11, 2022 Share July 11, 2022 2 minutes ago, Wt_know said: we see from 1 to 3.15 perspective of course sup sup water ... lol yes i agree with you msia inflation is sibei jialat not just JB ..... other cities like KL, Ipoh, Penang also up up up ... And when it becomes 1:4 and 1:5 it will buffer whatever inflation rather well. 🤣 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic July 11, 2022 Share July 11, 2022 (edited) 24 minutes ago, Voodooman said: JB inflation is mild compared to SG? I thought it is very jialat. Everything goes up like 10-20%. JB is a bad place for retirement (despite being close to Singapore). Its cost of living is driven up by Singaporeans and those working in Singapore. Need local to tell where to eat/buy like local Edited July 11, 2022 by inlinesix 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic July 11, 2022 Share July 11, 2022 3 hours ago, awhtc said: Yes. I already have a fully paid house in Johor. Hence, rental = $0. You are right on the doctors fee for outpatient treatment and Internet => I will add another $100 RM for each. I will be getting a second hand Toyota to drive around, so the transportation is pure petrol and maintenance. Are you Malaysian? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic July 12, 2022 Share July 12, 2022 26 minutes ago, awhtc said: No. If not I will have the best of both worlds. You have family in Malaysia? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...