Retirement in Malaysia - how much RM a month for living?

On 3/25/2025 at 3:54 PM, Davidklt said:

Actually, quite a few Singaporeans I know is doing this now:

got remote type job, no kids to look after, no pets, can lah. 

go Phuket PhucQuoc Bali Chiangmai lagi shiok.

I am already doing this on a daily basis except I can afford to do it in Singapore, plus i am not working , heh heh

@Ginyu probably too. @Stary i think he cheong malaysia all the time

Edited by Throttle2

On 3/24/2025 at 3:42 PM, Throttle2 said:

It's quite a good deal to only get All the Cold Storage and Giant in SG for only $125m....

I suspect quite a long list of current liabilities and equities, maybe a lot of outstanding lease to pay 😅.

But after buying the Malaysia business, the company probably not reaping any positive growth yet.... Then so fast buy over SG business. 

Think this Datuk Lim got lots of fuel to burn.

On 3/5/2025 at 5:35 PM, Throttle2 said:

MYR60k a month, is that good living for family of 2 adults and 2 teenagers? please share

It depends. What's your go to places.

I feel MY cost of living to certain extent is similar to SG if we are looking at eating same type of food from Hawker centre level to Michelin Star level. I cannot get over eating curry noodle set in KL at $20+ ringgit. But then I think of the setting in SG is like paying $12 at some laksa chain ... is like KL curry noddle is half the value in SG. But there also equally same quality laksa in SG that cost $6 for same serving in coffee shop setting, then that will be same value in MY. 

Only few stuff lower price than SG (not considering exchange rate)

1)MY registered car of exact make in SG

2) Landed property in suburb to most high end/sought after location.

3) locally fresh produced 

4) petrol

5) Cigarette (I don't smoke) but the price is something I observed.

6) they still have chewing/bubble gums.

7) Electricity / utilities

8) general medical care / medication cost. Quality of care cannot compare, but efficacy of medication should be similar.

Edited by Atonchia

On 3/25/2025 at 2:14 PM, Ginyu said:

DFI want to focus their attention on pharmacy and convenience store businesses. Supermarket tan buey jiak🤣

They already lost without any strong strategic competitive advantage against other retailers. 

And already for so many years.

7E still can sell their franchise and they have leadership in terms of distribution points compare to Cheers. 

Guardian also because it's a stand alone retail outlet compare to Unity that's part of Fairprice. They still have competitive advantage compare to Watson that's more steered towards beauty, daily care etc. 

Cold Storage and Giant now, their operation scale pales against Fairprice. 

Giant cannot fight against Sheng Siong in terms of fresh produce pricing and fighting for the market share of same consumer group. Number of Sheng Siong outlet already greater than Giant.

Cold Storage competitive advantage is their premium selection is greater than Fairprice, but this has narrowed down in the past few years vs Finest of Fairprice.

Their management had some big switches in the last few years that probably kept shifting the goal post... Until now.... nice enough for Marco value to score a good buy out price. 

Edited by Atonchia