Retirement in Malaysia - how much RM a month for living?

@Spidey10 wah it reminds me of my parents, they sell char siew and siew yuk in the 40s/50s thru 60s at telok blangah. I used to help a bit lah like cutting the best burnt parts of the char siew to taste, hahaha.

if i had taken over the business maybe more successful then the kay lee roast liao.

I also see lots of Japs and Koreans in Msia nowadays........

Edited by Starry

58 minutes ago, Starry said:

Yeap, I can listen and speak Canto.  Usually I use that in Ipoh and KL, but in the last 1-2 decade, they are quite ok in Mandarin too.

But with the Malays, I will speak Malay. 

Like this you are very suited to stay in MY.

I cannot speak Canto and Malay 

I think I better retire in TH.

I can say a few phrases in Thai

Spicy nit noy.

Khob Khun Krap

Please massage here more.

13 hours ago, Starry said:

Actually many cities in Msia are relaxing with friendly people. Ipoh is not bad...very chill place.

To me, for retiring, most important is that I can speak the language , eat the food , and no natural disaster like earthquake or typhoon.  Quite honestly. it doesn't matter which country as long it fulfils those criteria but Msia look the closest.

Yes. Malaysia is the closest. The favorable exchange rate and proximity to home make it very attractive

4 hours ago, Jamesc said:

Like this you are very suited to stay in MY.

I cannot speak Canto and Malay 

I think I better retire in TH.

I can say a few phrases in Thai

Spicy nit noy.

Khob Khun Krap

Please massage here more.

Speaking Cantonese & Malay will certainty help but most Chinese in Ipoh can speak Mandarin too ! Lack of Malay may be a slight inconvenience if you deal with Government Officials but generally Ipoh is Chinese majority and speaking Mandarin & English is enough

6 hours ago, Kopites said:

By the way I thought foreigner aren't allowed to buy landed in Thai? Must co owned. Literally saying set up another family there. 😁 Fcw75 suit you. 😁

Rule changed?

Next time. When my parents not around. 🤣

7 hours ago, awhtc said:

It is actually more exciting rather than sad 😄

The strong exchange rate to buy lots of good food that are fresh from the farms, staying in a large landed house with a garden and ability to drive to more places to enjoy nice scenery are things that most can never achieve while retiring in Singapore.

I think it will be an upgrade in lifestyle 😇

Thats why it is sad.  Singaporeans have to get out to enjoy.  All these should be possible in our own country

14 hours ago, awhtc said:

Singapore since 2000s is about 50% foreigners.  The culture of true blue Singaporean is already long gone.

Going forward, Singapore will remain an economic powerhouse with GDP growth as #1 objective.

men in white envy UAE...150k in 1965, now estimated to have 10mil...only 15% are Emirati, the rests immigrants...they are zeroing in on other industries for sustainable growth and stray away from oil dependent...a giant magnet to attract FDI along with FT...I must also mention that MSA also very envy if not jealous about UAE...

But both have oil and land mass as backdrop to attract FTs...we have simi? Only Koi to attract pesky Otters...😁

Edited by mersaylee

30 minutes ago, awhtc said:

Singapore is just too boring for me when I retire 😂

fully agreed.

retire lifestyle 55-70 ... really boring ... at this age should be drive here drive there makan here makan there in msia 😛 

retire lifestyle 70-80 ... just nice got CHAS and SCDF ambulance ... at this age, if able still can join Chan Brother tour to China ... [laugh] 

Singapore will remain my base. Travel around when retired, no need to commit to moving permanently, since i have the means.

can stay at a place for a month or two and return to sg, then go again when bored.  

16 hours ago, Kopites said:

By the way I thought foreigner aren't allowed to buy landed in Thai? Must co owned. Literally saying set up another family there. 😁 Fcw75 suit you. 😁

Rule changed?

rule no change, foreigners cannot own the land ..

you could try setting up a thai company to hold the land but majority shareholders still need to be thais, and thai company has its own issues .. dont forget to add in yearly corporate costs that can be about B12000 (SGD500) upwards ..

or you can buy under name of your thai wife or thai partner .. but that means that it is legally written off as hers/his ..

53 minutes ago, Wt_know said:

fully agreed.

retire lifestyle 55-70 ... really boring ... at this age should be drive here drive there makan here makan there in msia 😛 

retire lifestyle 70-80 ... just nice got CHAS and SCDF ambulance ... at this age, if able still can join Chan Brother tour to China ... [laugh] 

thailand also can drive here drive there .. usually 1-2 hours drive will bring you to the mountains or the beach ..

11 minutes ago, Mooose said:

rule no change, foreigners cannot own the land ..

you could try setting up a thai company to hold the land but majority shareholders still need to be thais, and thai company has its own issues .. dont forget to add in yearly corporate costs that can be about B12000 (SGD500) upwards ..

or you can buy under name of your thai wife or thai partner .. but that means that it is legally written off as hers/his ..

Best to just rent long term

no commitment. And wont be cheated by pretty young thai girl. Haha

4 minutes ago, Throttle2 said:

Best to just rent long term

no commitment. And wont be cheated by pretty young thai girl. Haha

yes, actually rental is not that expensive .. and like you say, actually "retirement" can just go and stay for a couple of months .. like it can stay longer, dont like can just move on ..

19 minutes ago, Mooose said:

thailand also can drive here drive there .. usually 1-2 hours drive will bring you to the mountains or the beach ..

yeah ... i would have chosen thailand but watch too much "gangsta" movie ... so scare scare liao

drugs ... prostitution ... gangs ... scams ... you can lost a kidney by visiting pub (kena drugged) ... 

actually biggest hurdle is cannot speak nor understand thai

and i have a feeling the thai cops are 5x more corrupted than msia mata ... LOL

at least msia mata ... not so hiong ...