Toyota Rush SFB 8288 C Kuailan Driver Destroys Bicycle

Nohnemwan

Since you are a cyclist and motorcyclist, can you tell me if you keep 1.5m away from cars as you advocated? This applies whether the car is moving or stationary at a traffic light.

If you are the kind who likes to squeeze through during slow moving traffic then you are obviously a hypocrite.

Ya. I also think so. When car has to keep 1.5m from the cyclist, why these cyclist dont keep 1.5m away and start squeezing their way to the front of the queue.

I used to ride too. And squeeze to the front. Me not a good example of a cyclist. :D

its all about the psychological factor lah.

usually when i see a cyclist trying to keep close to the double yellow lines at the side of the road, i will feel that at least he's trying to not cause obstruction. i will then eat half a lane out and go back into my original lane.

but when i see those cyclist cycling in the middle of the lane, sorry i wont give that wide of a berth. not close enough to kill/make him wobble, but just a little such that the cyclist might get the msg to keep left.

1 thing i really hate about cyclists is that they dont push their bikes across zebra crossing and they like to dash across... and i also hate it when hordes of them cycle and occupy the entire lane. why cant they cycle single file? if they cycle single file and push their bikes across zebra cross, then absolutely no issues with them

In ang mo country, the cyclist does this. I witness it personally at Copenhagen, Denmark.

Cycling for leisure.. why cycle so fast... If most cyclists keep their speed to below 30km/hr at all time, then lesser accidents of losing or out of control.

Keep safe ok. Don't make motorist like me stress and having to second guess if you are turning left turning right, will suddenly cut into middle lane or not.

I'm the friendly motorist but I'm quite scared of those fast cyclists, especially in a group of 5 or more. Aiyp like Tour de France cyclists..

That's not the worst of it - around my area, the cyclists ride against the flow of traffic all the time - sometimes even in the extreme right lane.

In ang mo country, the cyclist does this. I witness it personally at Copenhagen, Denmark.

witness them push the bikes across zebra crossing?

I think those in Copenhagen does not wear sexy tight cycling attire due to the colder weather? Maybe wearing Leotard makes one feel athletic and invincible... Like Superman usually will full power only after he changed. When he is in civilian clothing usually don't display super power.

Hahaha.. depends on your level of patience and / or sense of humour you can try (or not try) driving along Canberra Road (from Admiralty Road towards Sembawang MRT Station) around 5.30~6pm on weekdays. What you'll see are hordes, and I really do mean hordes of "South-Asian" Shipyard Workers riding side by side, sometimes as many as 5 in a row, along the entire stretch, and every now adn then you'll see some holding hands as well, with plastic bags between them. [;)]

Please note that I am not trying to be discriminating in anyway at all, just describing something I seen a lot of a few years ago.

As for those "elite cyclists", I know this is not you, but since you always advocated equality, then you do belong to the same cycling community. [;)]

Exactly. Esp those FT cyclists. Nearly get into accident with them on so many occasions. I do not mind if they will wait before cycling over zebra but not dash across with oncoming cars. And best part is TP again is not doing anything. I know it is difficult to regulate but please do something. We are tax payers!

Why cyclist dun stop at red light one?

Cuz they learn from cars lo. So many more videos of cars not stopping on red.

Hahaha.. depends on your level of patience and / or sense of humour you can try (or not try) driving along Canberra Road (from Admiralty Road towards Sembawang MRT Station) around 5.30~6pm on weekdays. What you'll see are hordes, and I really do mean hordes of "South-Asian" Shipyard Workers riding side by side, sometimes as many as 5 in a row, along the entire stretch, and every now adn then you'll see some holding hands as well, with plastic bags between them. [;)]

Please note that I am not trying to be discriminating in anyway at all, just describing something I seen a lot of a few years ago.

As for those "elite cyclists", I know this is not you, but since you always advocated equality, then you do belong to the same cycling community. [;)]

Cos within the shipyard they cycle from place to place so I guess they literally brought it outside of the shipyard.

Respect Begets Respect ...

As road users, we share the roads ... No one owns it ...

A Good Attitude on the Roads begins with ... Patience ...

Cyclist should show fellow road users Courtesy, if they expect Kind & Friendly Gestures in return ...

Your comments are Arrogant ... and Arrogance is one of the Major contributing factors to Road Rage / Accidents ...

Repent ...

you are correct bro.

just last week, one taxi driver showed me the finger (already in merging lane, he insist to squeeze past me even though he is half occupying the shoulder already and trying to squeeze past everyone). if i had space, i would have let him pass, but there was no more space for me. so he generously stuck his finger at me while i was moving forward.

i didnt even bother to get angry. he started driving like a mad idiot, swerving, and changing lane without signalling.

i just carried on happily in lane 3 ... didnt bother about him. no point to get angry, no point to ruin my day.

my point is ... even someone does something stupid that you may not like (be it you are on a bicycle, car, motorbike, whatever) ... learn to let go. if i myself start driving and weaving thru traffic, it will only lead to more disastrous consequences.

such a pretty face . . . .

Ok ok....

With such a beautiful profile this certainly deserves praises...

you are correct bro.

just last week, one taxi driver showed me the finger (already in merging lane, he insist to squeeze past me even though he is half occupying the shoulder already and trying to squeeze past everyone). if i had space, i would have let him pass, but there was no more space for me. so he generously stuck his finger at me while i was moving forward.

i didnt even bother to get angry. he started driving like a mad idiot, swerving, and changing lane without signalling.

i just carried on happily in lane 3 ... didnt bother about him. no point to get angry, no point to ruin my day.

my point is ... even someone does something stupid that you may not like (be it you are on a bicycle, car, motorbike, whatever) ... learn to let go. if i myself start driving and weaving thru traffic, it will only lead to more disastrous consequences.

well said. [thumbsup]

such a pretty face . . . .

bro that pic not good lah. later you cannot tio 4D how? [laugh]

I really hope cyclists should pay road tax and insurance if they are using the roads with motorists.

Not that I don't think cyclist and pedestrians are entitled to use the road but sometimes LTA's statement also take things too far. Then road tax is used to paint HDB flats?

It's a perennial and ongoing question -

The road-tax goes into the "consolidated fund" for all govt activities.

All roading needs are funded out of the "consolidate fund"

Road tax by itself doesn't even come close to funding / covering the cost of road maintenance, construction and safety.

My personal feeling is that the "congestion taxes" (being COE and ERP) should be dedicated to reducing congestion (i.e - improvement in public transport, research in better road usage) - but that is a very different construction.

And finally - I thought that painting of flats was funded our of our Service and Conservancy Fees? (excepting of course that there is a subsidy given to town councils from the govt)