Nzy Twincharged March 10, 2015 Share March 10, 2015 Interesting that they would advocate the use of public roads without first making it safer for the cyclist to do so (like what some other countries have done e.g, implement cycle lanes). Or did they? While there can be some disagreement between driver and cyclist, I think both can agree that the road network in its current state, is far from being optimized for cycling. Nzy: Can you share who is the organizer for the event? Not sure who is the organizer. It was quite a big event with all the booths with some stationary bikes for children to cycle and a large map showing where they are going to build these paths and a blank area for people to add their suggestions. Basically its going to be like tampines where people will be allowed to share the pavement with the pedestrians. They did not advocate cycling on the roads. They just say that it is still allowed. So if want to go fast, the road cyclists can continue using the roads. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuPerBoRed Twincharged March 10, 2015 Share March 10, 2015 When I started cycling, I used to ride into the bus bays so the car just behind me can overtake more easily. But nowadays I stopped doing that because everytime I go into the bus bay/go nearer the kerb to let a driver pass, I cannot get out easily because the next driver will drive very close to the kerb so that he can be ahead as well. So now I just stick to my lane and if drivers want to overtake just switch lane just like when they overtake a slow moving vehicle lo. i phrase it this way... when i am searching for a place.. and i realize there are cars behind me.. i would actually try to look for a place to stop so that other ppl can pass me quickly... and i dont hold up anyone... coz i know i wld be irritated if someone else does that to me. Never met a cyclist who extends that courtesy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leinad8919 Turbocharged March 10, 2015 Share March 10, 2015 Long distance cyclists will not ride in a velodrome; just like a marathoner will not train in a stadium. Drivers just need a little patience & 30seconds to get over the slower & vulnerable obstacle aka cyclist. We are not as tough as we looked in our lycra tights. Cyclists just need to keep to the left as much as possible; sometimes there are potholes & drain covers to avoid. Drivers please understand. A friendly wave to say "Thanks" means a lot & especially useful to cool hot heads. Human are already killing human in other part of the world for the most ridiculous reasons. RTA taking away lives in a peaceful country. Just spare a thought for each other. Everybody wants to go home safe. It's just 30seconds....you probably take a longer time finding that perfect spot to park your car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic March 10, 2015 Share March 10, 2015 There isn't even enough space (during peak hours) on Singapore roads for cars and trucks, less for cyclists. For those who really want to ride fast and furious, do so in Lim Chu Kang runway (3 lanes each direction), day or night, and I am pretty sure they will never be honked at.... 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged March 10, 2015 Share March 10, 2015 i phrase it this way... when i am searching for a place.. and i realize there are cars behind me.. i would actually try to look for a place to stop so that other ppl can pass me quickly... and i dont hold up anyone... coz i know i wld be irritated if someone else does that to me. Never met a cyclist who extends that courtesy it's like that lah. just had my own encounter with 2 leo-tards outside great world yesterday. green man for crossing, yet the 2 leo tards didnt really stop while i was crossing. they just proceeded through the red light while i was crossing. they only ask for equality when it's not in their favour otherwise, this isnt the first time i have seen leo-tards running red lights with impudence. i will stop short of lumping all cyclist togethers and say they are all the same though. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elmo 4th Gear March 10, 2015 Share March 10, 2015 There have been many occasions where I drive up behind cyclists and I can choose to overtake to turn left or slow down to watch his slow progress upslope. Good cyclist upon hearing my noisy car behind him will always put out his right hand to do a low patting motion. And once he passed the left turn or junction he will put up his hand to wave thanks. Cycling is tough and I can them tightening butt cheeks just to maintain speed up slope or to get past a junction. To stop every now and then will cause them to lose momentum and very tough to start again especially on a slope. Bad ones will cycle almost near the center of the lane and even waver. I take that as cyclist with low stamina and bad road sense. Not a rogue rider out to make driver's life difficult. I still choose not to overtake or horn as it will only make a bad cyclist panic or a siao one flip finger. I lose 30 secs or more but I gain opportunities to tell my kids how not to cycle...haha. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic March 10, 2015 Share March 10, 2015 There isn't even enough space (during peak hours) on Singapore roads for cars and trucks, less for cyclists. For those who really want to ride fast and furious, do so in Lim Chu Kang runway (3 lanes each direction), day or night, and I am pretty sure they will never be honked at.... Based on my daily commuting, there will always be available space on the road for bicycle during peak hours. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
oleandero 5th Gear March 10, 2015 Share March 10, 2015 Don't say those on the road. Recently just being a pedestrian on the pavement is a safety hazard. Cyclists zoom past me in crowded places, ring their bells and expect us to have bruce-lee reflexes to siam and give way. Got once almost bang into my pregnant wife. I tell you if any of them hit my wife, I swear I will bash the mutherfarker up. I have no problems with bikes and skate scooters sharing the pedestrian. I am a cyclist too, and when I see a crowd, I slow down and wait for people to pass. I wonder what the f**k is so difficult to slow down and wait? When there's a space for you to move again, you will be easily ahead of all the crowd. Sometimes I just want to kick those cyclists so they fall off. i totally agree with you.. some cyclists ride as though pedestrians are walking on cyclists' path instead of them on pedestrians' path. hais.. with their ding ding ding, pedestrians have to "open the path" for cyclist to pass through. actually i feel that its not easy being a cyclist in singapore. drivers want them out of the road and pedestrians want them out of their pedestrian path.. unless we start having cyclists' path on the roads?? since all everyone, paying taxes, are already contributing to road maintenance etc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear March 10, 2015 Share March 10, 2015 Our garman just don't want to make effort to do proper cyclist / pedestrian sharing track. Just look at how well Germany is doing it. Big city, small town or village all had the red lane for cyclist. To make this really work, everyone also need to stay in the 'correct' lane. We can definitely do a better urban planning with bicycle lanes, bus lanes, vehicular lanes & all others (even tram lanes ) designated for a better commuter experience for all with no conflicts whatsoever if we have decided that was the way to go way back when we got our independence. Unfortunately ours is a really tiny red dot with hard-pressed urban planners opting to maximise our really limited space for the greatest economic benefit i.e. moving the masses in the shortest amount of time e.g. roads in the early years & then latter rail tracks for the MRTs. Refer to attached typical road cross-section from LTA. (source: Code of Practice on Street Works Proposals Relating to Development Works (Version 1.1 - April 2014) http://www.lta.gov.sg/content/ltaweb/en/industry-matters/development-and-building-and-construction-and-utility-works/street-proposals.html ) As can be seen, drains & plant/turfing are already taking up valuable space beside the carriageways. And most of the time the drain tops double up as pavements for pedestrians as well. Bicycles are not really what our early planners have in mind for local transportation needs and as such are not allocated a proper space. They are allowed on our roads however. Ang mo countries on the other hand have plenty of land and bicycling culture there is rather strong. To them riding one is second nature thus proper bicycle lanes and even velodrome for competition are constructed all over for the benefit of the many. What MND (URA, SLA, BCA, HDB & NParks particularly) can do is maybe to collaborate with all the stake-holders like LTA & PUB to seriously look into the master plan and see if we can look into providing exclusive bicycle lanes for new land developments if this is the decision to go ahead. Else we will be back to status quo and live with it 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear March 10, 2015 Share March 10, 2015 For me....I will try my best to give gap to the cyclist lah...granted...some cyclists do take thing for granted.....but.to me...I may just get a scratch on the car....but to them...I might kill them...so drivers...just take a step back ....give and take lah...it won't cause you an arm or a leg to give a little space... 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuPerBoRed Twincharged March 10, 2015 Share March 10, 2015 For me....I will try my best to give gap to the cyclist lah...granted...some cyclists do take thing for granted.....but.to me...I may just get a scratch on the car....but to them...I might kill them...so drivers...just take a step back ....give and take lah...it won't cause you an arm or a leg to give a little space... For me....I will try my best to give gap to the pedestrian lah...granted...some pedestrians do take thing for granted.....but.to me...I may just get a scratch on the bike....but to them...I might kill them...so cyclists...just take a step back ....give and take lah...it won't cause you an arm or a leg to give a little space... works both ways mate... but some cyclists.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nissan833 5th Gear March 10, 2015 Share March 10, 2015 I am usually very peaceful on the roads one. Slowly drive as per speed limit, enjoy the ride, get to my destination safe & sound.What I cannot stand is cyclist who do not obey traffic rules and regulations, giving risk to pedestrians crossing the road, risk of damaging our cars as well as injuring themselves. It seems like a proper Stop Line or red traffic lights no matter for pedestrians or vehicles doesn't register in their minds. If they want to be recognised as a proper entity on the roads, why can't they obey traffic rules and regulations? I don't care lose momentum or what shit. Can I tell LTA if I brake, I am losing momentum and wasting petrol? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tedlhw 5th Gear March 10, 2015 Share March 10, 2015 With cyclist the onus is always on the car to give way. I am happy to do that but when they bump my car who is responsible? This is exactly what happened to be on the evening before CNY eve. Everyone was busy rushing around, so i was stuck in a jam from Braddell going up to CTE opp Comfort Delgro. I was stationary, and this leotard clad Chinese cyclist with suddenly appeared from my left and all i heard was a thud. My wife also got a shock as it happened on her side. He had hit my side mirror. I honked him and he flipped me the bird with a f**k you. I wound down the window and shouted at him to to stop f**king running. But like a cowardly pussy, he rode quickly away from the jam. So brave why didn't stay to beat me up? Or throw his bike on my car? He was really lucky i did not have a video as i was driving my 'new' car, for which i did not have time to install the video cam yet. It is a black car and i just had it waxed and polished the day before. The actual damage was quite a long scratch on the side mirror and car body. Tried to polish it, but there was a scratch of around 5cm on the car body itself which cannot be polished away. Have said this many times before, want to share the roads? Sure. Register your bikes. So i can claim you if you scratch/dent my car. So when you do a hit and run, there is a i can catch you on my cam and report you to the police. Its amazing that cyclists can get away with damaging other people's property, breaking rules and endangering other road users/pedestrians, while claiming all sorts of rights /showing vulgar signs/ threatening other road users after they have done all that. Just freaking amazing to me. 11 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic March 10, 2015 Share March 10, 2015 With cyclist the onus is always on the car to give way. I am happy to do that but when they bump my car who is responsible? This is exactly what happened to be on the evening before CNY eve. Everyone was busy rushing around, so i was stuck in a jam from Braddell going up to CTE opp Comfort Delgro. I was stationary, and this leotard clad Chinese cyclist with suddenly appeared from my left and all i heard was a thud. My wife also got a shock as it happened on her side. He had hit my side mirror. I honked him and he flipped me the bird with a f**k you. I wound down the window and shouted at him to to stop f**king running. But like a cowardly pussy, he rode quickly away from the jam. So brave why didn't stay to beat me up? Or throw his bike on my car? He was really lucky i did not have a video as i was driving my 'new' car, for which i did not have time to install the video cam yet. It is a black car and i just had it waxed and polished the day before. The actual damage was quite a long scratch on the side mirror and car body. Tried to polish it, but there was a scratch of around 5cm on the car body itself which cannot be polished away. Have said this many times before, want to share the roads? Sure. Register your bikes. So i can claim you if you scratch/dent my car. So when you do a hit and run, there is a i can catch you on my cam and report you to the police. Its amazing that cyclists can get away with damaging other people's property, breaking rules and endangering other road users/pedestrians, while claiming all sorts of rights /showing vulgar signs/ threatening other road users after they have done all that. Just freaking amazing to me. Farked up cyclist. Sure damn tulan bro. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Detach8 5th Gear March 10, 2015 Share March 10, 2015 With cyclist the onus is always on the car to give way. I am happy to do that but when they bump my car who is responsible? This is exactly what happened to be on the evening before CNY eve. Everyone was busy rushing around, so i was stuck in a jam from Braddell going up to CTE opp Comfort Delgro. I was stationary, and this leotard clad Chinese cyclist with suddenly appeared from my left and all i heard was a thud. My wife also got a shock as it happened on her side. He had hit my side mirror. I honked him and he flipped me the bird with a f**k you. I wound down the window and shouted at him to to stop f**king running. But like a cowardly pussy, he rode quickly away from the jam. So brave why didn't stay to beat me up? Or throw his bike on my car? He was really lucky i did not have a video as i was driving my 'new' car, for which i did not have time to install the video cam yet. It is a black car and i just had it waxed and polished the day before. The actual damage was quite a long scratch on the side mirror and car body. Tried to polish it, but there was a scratch of around 5cm on the car body itself which cannot be polished away. Have said this many times before, want to share the roads? Sure. Register your bikes. So i can claim you if you scratch/dent my car. So when you do a hit and run, there is a i can catch you on my cam and report you to the police. Its amazing that cyclists can get away with damaging other people's property, breaking rules and endangering other road users/pedestrians, while claiming all sorts of rights /showing vulgar signs/ threatening other road users after they have done all that. Just freaking amazing to me. Thanks man I have been waiting for a real life example of why bicycles on the road should get registered. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stocker 1st Gear March 10, 2015 Share March 10, 2015 (edited) if the 1st car at the lights stops at the white-coloured stop line, and the bicycle(s) squeeze in front and stop in front of the 1st car, then the bicycle(s) will be blocking the pedestrian crossing. just saying. and stopping after the stop line, which is an offence for all vehicles too? Edited March 10, 2015 by Stocker 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic March 10, 2015 Share March 10, 2015 I would suggest to LTA to design the monsoon rain/canal to double as cycling lanes. Sort of like Grease movie. Like that everyone happy. Better still encourage those leotard lovers to cycle there during thunderstorm.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic March 10, 2015 Share March 10, 2015 I would suggest to LTA to design the monsoon rain/canal to double as cycling lanes. Sort of like Grease movie. Like that everyone happy. Better still encourage those leotard lovers to cycle there during thunderstorm.... I hope you write in. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...