Toyota Rush SFB 8288 C Kuailan Driver Destroys Bicycle

Nohnemwan

That *is* the loophole. If you asked anyone with a bit of common sense what the *primary* motivation behind the PCN was, they would reply that it was to cater to cyclists. The problem is the wishy-washiness of the gahmen in allowing other users to share the space, which allows cyclists like you to exploit the loophole of non-exclusivity.

The gahmen is damn efficient when they really want to do things. Tax petrol - can happen on the day of the pronouncement. Some laws can even take effect retroactively! So any bureaucratic slowness is just wilful lead in their asses.

Yes, but from what you're implying you will *still* continue to cycle for leisure on the roads, right?

Which is why I think cyclists in Singapore agitating for a velodrome while citing the lack of safety on the roads (there are quite a few of them out there) are completely full of it. Even if they get their wish, I don't think their behaviour would change much.

It's crystal clear that you cyclists really want to have your cake and eat it too. I have nothing else to say.

Depend on whose common sense as it is subjective.

Do you know it takes LTA 3 years to issue the rule on allowing folding bikes on MRT?

Bureaucrac is efficiency with topic that they are familiar with.

I will continue to cycle on road for commuting and exercise. For leisure, i will do it on PCN.

There is no demand for velodrome from cyclist but there is demand for motor racing track. How come it was not build?

There are a lot of pockets of cycling community around Singapore. I don't have anything to say.

Since you feel so strongly about this topic, how come you nvr take the next step?

Rather than waiting for LTA, engage LTA.

No pt talking so much on MCF with zero action.

Please tell turboflat4 what you said (i highlight in BOLD).

I think most cyclist can't exceed legal speed limit on the road.

Dont change topic hor. My post was with reference to you cycling on PCN. See it again. I have screenshot it for u.

post-2654-0-33378800-1425958327_thumb.jpg

Please tell turboflat4 what you said (i highlight in BOLD).

I think most cyclist can't exceed legal speed limit on the road.

If they cycle in carparks likely to exceed speed limits (limits set 15km/hr).

they cycle on pavements, what is the speed limits for pathways? Not set so assume 15km/hr (good runner average's speed) = speeding.

Last time go East Coast Park camping/BBQ no need to apply for license/pay for anything.

Then they say to prevent overstayers/keep park clean or some shit and now everyone need to register.

http://www.axs.com.sg/help_NParksCampFAQ.php

In today's date & technology, I dont see it's possible to register a bicycle.

Everyone got Singpass expect for FT/FW which can be replace as EP/WP permit numbers.

So logistics is not impossible but over the governmet, they see no need for it at this moment.

The registeration policy will start when they figure out how to charge the cyclists a reasonable amount of money over a reasonable timeframe without losing too much votes.

How to make sure every bicycle on the road is registered?

Currently, there is lax of enforcement on illegal electric bicycle, which is more dangerous.

If they cycle in carparks likely to exceed speed limits (limits set 15km/hr).

they cycle on pavements, what is the speed limits for pathways? Not set so assume 15km/hr (good runner average's speed) = speeding.

It is illegal to cycle on pavements.

Dont change topic hor. My post was with reference to you cycling on PCN. See it again. I have screenshot it for u.

attachicon.gifScreenshot of my reply to ur post.jpg

Read my reply to turboflat4 carefully. I seriously don't know what's your topic.

How to make sure every bicycle on the road is registered?

Currently, there is lax of enforcement on illegal electric bicycle, which is more dangerous.

It is illegal to cycle on pavements.

Bicycle Registeration Number - BRN.

Why no?

If there is already lax of law enforcements, I think it's really time to change the goverment.

Quick to implement (process also making unjust laws in some), forever to enforce.

If illegal on pavements, not enforce?

On roads and not following traffic laws?

Our garman just don't want to make effort to do proper cyclist / pedestrian sharing track.

Just look at how well Germany is doing it. Big city, small town or village all had the red lane for cyclist.

To make this really work, everyone also need to stay in the 'correct' lane.

post-29292-0-11020200-1425958837_thumb.jpg

That *is* the loophole. If you asked anyone with a bit of common sense what the *primary* motivation behind the PCN was, they would reply that it was to cater to cyclists. The problem is the wishy-washiness of the gahmen in allowing other users to share the space, which allows cyclists like you to exploit the loophole of non-exclusivity.

The gahmen is damn efficient when they really want to do things. Tax petrol - can happen on the day of the pronouncement. Some laws can even take effect retroactively! So any bureaucratic slowness is just wilful lead in their asses.

Yes, but from what you're implying you will *still* continue to cycle for leisure on the roads, right?

Which is why I think cyclists in Singapore agitating for a velodrome while citing the lack of safety on the roads (there are quite a few of them out there) are completely full of it. Even if they get their wish, I don't think their behaviour would change much.

It's crystal clear that you cyclists really want to have your cake and eat it too. I have nothing else to say.

I never heard of any cyclist that I know who wants to cycle in a velodrome exclusively. Saying that road cycling can be replaced with track cycling is as good as saying F1 and drag racing is the same thing.

Edited by Nzy

1st of all, PCN is not exclusive for cyclist. It includes pedestrian.

PCN has always been an afterthought. It cannot accommodate hi + slow speed & volume. Juz look at East Coast Park on wkend. Moreover, it is design for leisure cycling.

Look at design of park connectors. It is always narrow. It feels scary cycling @ 30km/h even on a Brompton.

Let me highlight ur post for u.

Most of the time.. i have nothing agst cyclists... you have ur excercise... i drive my car.. i slow down pass safely (mainly becoz i cannot live with myself if i accidentally kill someone...)

but i got to ask a qn...

whilst driving... personally i have encountered many atimes when i or other motorists giving way to faster moving vehicles.. sometimes even bringing the vehicle to a complete stop juz so the party behind can pass safely... locally and overseas both

why issit in singapore i have NEVER encountered a situation where a cyclist willing yields when it is clearly safe for them to do so? (for eg riding into the bus stop?)

imho... juz becoz they didnt do anything specifically wrong.. does not make them less of selfish pricks

Our garman just don't want to make effort to do proper cyclist / pedestrian sharing track.

Just look at how well Germany is doing it. Big city, small town or village all had the red lane for cyclist.

To make this really work, everyone also need to stay in the 'correct' lane.

The most important statement ....

Everyone need to stay in the correct lane ...knowing the local culture ... do you think that the Singapore cyclists will guai guai cycle on the RED lane .... I seriously doubt so. Just look at ECP, how many cyclists are in fact cycling on the pedestrian walkway.

I am neutral on this issue but I felt the respect has to be mutual.

Some drivers are "ars_hole" but there are some cyclists whom are asking for it too.

Just on last Sunday's morning .... I was driving along Upper Bukit Timah Road towards Woodlands. There were these 2 cyclists riding like they own the road. At that moment, I was hoping that a Bus/Big truck come by them and teach them a "hard" lesson. They really think that they can ride faster than a car ?

Most of the time.. i have nothing agst cyclists... you have ur excercise... i drive my car.. i slow down pass safely (mainly becoz i cannot live with myself if i accidentally kill someone...)

but i got to ask a qn...

whilst driving... personally i have encountered many atimes when i or other motorists giving way to faster moving vehicles.. sometimes even bringing the vehicle to a complete stop juz so the party behind can pass safely... locally and overseas both

why issit in singapore i have NEVER encountered a situation where a cyclist willing yields when it is clearly safe for them to do so? (for eg riding into the bus stop?)

imho... juz becoz they didnt do anything specifically wrong.. does not make them less of selfish pricks

When I started cycling, I used to ride into the bus bays so the car just behind me can overtake more easily. But nowadays I stopped doing that because everytime I go into the bus bay/go nearer the kerb to let a driver pass, I cannot get out easily because the next driver will drive very close to the kerb so that he can be ahead as well. So now I just stick to my lane and if drivers want to overtake just switch lane just like when they overtake a slow moving vehicle lo.

Look at the context i am replying to.

Anyway, thanks for highlighting the speed limit of 15km/h.

When I started cycling, I used to ride into the bus bays so the car just behind me can overtake more easily. But nowadays I stopped doing that because everytime I go into the bus bay/go nearer the kerb to let a driver pass, I cannot get out easily because the next driver will drive very close to the kerb so that he can be ahead as well. So now I just stick to my lane and if drivers want to overtake just switch lane just like when they overtake a slow moving vehicle lo.

During my cycling time, I use a full-suspension MTB, so I just hop the bike on to the pavement. Overtake the car and hop back onto the road. [grin]

I think his point is that the PCNs are for leisure cyclists. Cyclists who want to cycle faster than the speed limit on the PCNs have to cycle on the roads. That is what the PCN is designed for right? At least this was what I was told at the exhibition at AMK central about the shared paths they are going to implement at AMK soon. I asked if they will make the paths separate so that cyclists can go faster and the person who was manning the exhibition replied that this was for leisure cyclists. Not supposed to be going fast. More for families with young kids who are not allowed on the roads yet to cycle from park to park. Those who want to go fast can still use the roads.

They really think that they can ride faster than a car ?

Encountered before, cyclist who can ride faster than cars.

It was a few years back, late at night and I was driving along Sembawang Road on the right-most lane, doing around 70km/hr.

Then suddenly out of nowhere this cyclist came zooming pass me on my right side (remember I was already on the right-most lane, and doing 70kph) leaving a trail of golden light behind as he zoomed into the distance.

It was during lunar 7th month. [smallcry]

And that is a true story.

Encountered before, cyclist who can ride faster than cars.

It was a few years back, late at night and I was driving along Sembawang Road on the right-most lane, doing around 70km/hr.

Then suddenly out of nowhere this cyclist came zooming pass me on my right side (remember I was already on the right-most lane, and doing 70kph) leaving a trail of golden light behind as he zoomed into the distance.

It was during lunar 7th month. [smallcry]

And that is a true story.

Are you sure not GHOST story?

Don't know leh, couldn't / didn't dare to try and find out. [smallcry]

Can only say it is a true story.

I think his point is that the PCNs are for leisure cyclists. Cyclists who want to cycle faster than the speed limit on the PCNs have to cycle on the roads. That is what the PCN is designed for right? At least this was what I was told at the exhibition at AMK central about the shared paths they are going to implement at AMK soon. I asked if they will make the paths separate so that cyclists can go faster and the person who was manning the exhibition replied that this was for leisure cyclists. Not supposed to be going fast. More for families with young kids who are not allowed on the roads yet to cycle from park to park. Those who want to go fast can still use the roads.

Interesting that they would advocate the use of public roads without first making it safer for the cyclist to do so (like what some other countries have done e.g, implement cycle lanes). Or did they? While there can be some disagreement between driver and cyclist, I think both can agree that the road network in its current state, is far from being optimized for cycling.

Nzy: Can you share who is the organizer for the event?

Edited by beeepmeeep