Darryn Turbocharged March 10, 2015 Share March 10, 2015 Not speaking for anyone else.... For me, I happy happy on PCN when cycle for fun.... so in that case cycle road is to and from PCN if I am cycling to go somewhere PCN dun work for me...is only a small part of route and even that part is out of my way. Yes, which is why I said in my previous post that the PCNs should be redesigned and repurposed for the sole use of cyclists, so they would have no wiggle room at all to claim the relevant law doesn't apply. As it stands, the legal loophole exists, and it can be exploited by cyclists (like you're doing). Let me ask you something: if they built a good velodrome in Singapore, would you (personally) take "fast cycling" off the streets? ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic March 10, 2015 Share March 10, 2015 Sg should apply this islandwide 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic March 10, 2015 Share March 10, 2015 to make it short, those supports cyclists using the roads without any form of tracking, how would you feel if one day they accidentally scratch your car and cycle away? To make it even shorter "ban cyclist" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged March 10, 2015 Share March 10, 2015 To make it even shorter "ban cyclist" Cyclists = 8 letters. Cars = 4 letters. Ban cars shorter right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic March 10, 2015 Share March 10, 2015 Sg should apply this islandwide Already in progress. http://www.lta.gov.sg/content/ltaweb/en/green-transport/integrating-cycling-with-public-transport/cycling-paths.html 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic March 10, 2015 Share March 10, 2015 Cyclists = 8 letters. Cars = 4 letters. Ban cars shorter right? Hmmm but if ban car no more revenue le, shorter is good but more is better Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged March 10, 2015 Share March 10, 2015 There is cycling lane in PCN. If pedestrian walk on the cycling lane, can ask them go to the pedestrian lane. There is a speed limit on the cycling lane in PCN. Why cant cyclist stick to the speed limit? My car can go up to 210km/h but SG speed limit is 90km/h. Can I tell LTA to create a faster lane for me? I used to cycle along ECP PCN and I stick to the speed limit, 15km/h. That time, I clock ard 60km average from home to Pulau Ubin and back passing thru ECP PCN. There is a time and place for everything. Not suka suka one. I am and motorist and an ex avid cyclist too. PCN used to have the divider. But the newer ones don't for some reason. Even Bishan park which used to have the divider after renovation they kept the divider but never state which lane is for bicycle and which is for pedestrian. Even those with divider, the pedestrians are still allowed to walk on the cycling path cuz the signs state the paths are shared but its safer to stick to the correct lanes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic March 10, 2015 Share March 10, 2015 Already in progress. http://www.lta.gov.sg/content/ltaweb/en/green-transport/integrating-cycling-with-public-transport/cycling-paths.html Great cos we must see Taipei or seoul as reference, they got many cyclist tracks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic March 10, 2015 Share March 10, 2015 Yes, which is why I said in my previous post that the PCNs should be redesigned and repurposed for the sole use of cyclists, so they would have no wiggle room at all to claim the relevant law doesn't apply. As it stands, the legal loophole exists, and it can be exploited by cyclists (like you're doing). Let me ask you something: if they built a good velodrome in Singapore, would you (personally) take "fast cycling" off the streets? Redesigned and repurposed of PCN? Wait long long. Land for PCN is depending on other govt agency. NParks cannot built PCN unless these land (under various govt agency) is given to NParks. There is no loophole as the relevant authorities unable to designate PCN as pure cycling track. Velodrome cycling and road cycling with different equipment. It is different form of cycling. For Velodrome cycling, it is pure speed. For road cycling, it is more than speed. Velodrome will not be build in Sg juz like motor racing track (which has higher demand). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic March 10, 2015 Share March 10, 2015 This thread was started about a kuailan driver, but has morphed into a thread about kuailan cyclists instead. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged March 10, 2015 Share March 10, 2015 Hmmm but if ban car no more revenue le, shorter is good but more is better Ban cars & people have no choice to take public transport. And how about $50 for a bus ride. And if one day it really happens, I'm sure LTA can come out with cyclist regulations & registrations which includes cycle per km charging. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
efssc 5th Gear March 10, 2015 Share March 10, 2015 (edited) to make it short, those supports cyclists using the roads without any form of tracking, how would you feel if one day they accidentally scratch your car and cycle away? Haha.. Honestly I think I will feel "TL" followed by "LL". But lets face it, "scratch & win" doesn't just happen with bicycles, it happens all the time with cars, motorcycles and even pedestrians too. Friend of mine bought a new black Honda Accord a few years back, within weeks his brand new car was key-scratched in his HDB MSCP with the words "FXXK" (with correct spelling) right on the bonnet and long deep scratches along the sides (neither in-car motion sensing security cam nor CCTV were a thing back then). He was so TL back then that he actually drove around with the F-word right on his bonnet for weeks before TL became LL and he finally went in for a respray. Btw, I don't think he got it because he offended anyone, he's the timid type who would rather "swallow", than "speak up", so if anything its probably bad luck. And hey, like what the movie says, "shxt happens".. just accept it and move on ba. Edit to add; I'm nether supportive nor against the idea of tracking, I do feel it would be a real pain in the ass if we really try to register bicycles. Edited March 10, 2015 by efssc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic March 10, 2015 Share March 10, 2015 Sg should apply this islandwide no use la, they will use the roads and kpkb if told otherwise. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged March 10, 2015 Share March 10, 2015 3) OK, not entirely "beneath him". He's got a valid excuse, right? He's a competition cyclist! He's practising on the roads! Why not? Well, why not indeed? Can a race car driver use the same excuse to practise (realistically) on public roads? This has been discussed in this very thread, with some rather obtuse comments of the "well, if he's following traffic law, duh" sort being thrown about by some in the pro-cycling brigade. The fact of the matter is that the racing driver can practice neither legally nor safely on a public road in any meaningful fashion, and *neither can the competition cyclist*. There is a solution. The race car driver can take it to the track. The cyclist can, and damn well should, take it to the velodrome. Right now, there is no velodrome in Singapore (and they come up with all kinds of excuses to not use the PCN), so maybe Singaporean cyclists don't have this option right now. Frankly, I really hope they build one, so they'll have no excuses to use the public roads for high speed cycling. But take a look at the situation in countries that do have *multiple* velodromes, with cyclists still street-racing on the public roads. I bet that the same would still apply in Singapore. The cyclists really want to have their cake and eat it too. Not all cyclists race in a velodrome. You have tried training on the roads while following the laws? If others can why can't the rest do so? Even with a Velodrome, cyclists who are training for triathlons or road racing will still use the roads cuz they are not training to cycle on a track and cycling on a track is very different from cycling on the roads. Even overseas their pro cyclists also use the tracks for training in the off-season only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic March 10, 2015 Share March 10, 2015 Redesigned and repurposed of PCN? Wait long long. Land for PCN is depending on other govt agency. NParks cannot built PCN unless these land (under various govt agency) is given to NParks. There is no loophole as the relevant authorities unable to designate PCN as pure cycling track. That *is* the loophole. If you asked anyone with a bit of common sense what the *primary* motivation behind the PCN was, they would reply that it was to cater to cyclists. The problem is the wishy-washiness of the gahmen in allowing other users to share the space, which allows cyclists like you to exploit the loophole of non-exclusivity. The gahmen is damn efficient when they really want to do things. Tax petrol - can happen on the day of the pronouncement. Some laws can even take effect retroactively! So any bureaucratic slowness is just wilful lead in their asses. Velodrome cycling and road cycling with different equipment. It is different form of cycling. For Velodrome cycling, it is pure speed. For road cycling, it is more than speed. Velodrome will not be build in Sg juz like motor racing track (which has higher demand). Yes, but from what you're implying you will *still* continue to cycle for leisure on the roads, right? Which is why I think cyclists in Singapore agitating for a velodrome while citing the lack of safety on the roads (there are quite a few of them out there) are completely full of it. Even if they get their wish, I don't think their behaviour would change much. Not all cyclists race in a velodrome. You have tried training on the roads while following the laws? If others can why can't the rest do so? Even with a Velodrome, cyclists who are training for triathlons or road racing will still use the roads cuz they are not training to cycle on a track and cycling on a track is very different from cycling on the roads. Even overseas their pro cyclists also use the tracks for training in the off-season only. It's crystal clear that you cyclists really want to have your cake and eat it too. I have nothing else to say. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic March 10, 2015 Share March 10, 2015 There is cycling lane in PCN. If pedestrian walk on the cycling lane, can ask them go to the pedestrian lane. There is a speed limit on the cycling lane in PCN. Why cant cyclist stick to the speed limit? My car can go up to 210km/h but SG speed limit is 90km/h. Can I tell LTA to create a faster lane for me? I used to cycle along ECP PCN and I stick to the speed limit, 15km/h. That time, I clock ard 60km average from home to Pulau Ubin and back passing thru ECP PCN. There is a time and place for everything. Not suka suka one. I am and motorist and an ex avid cyclist too. Please tell turboflat4 what you said (i highlight in BOLD). I think most cyclist can't exceed legal speed limit on the road. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged March 10, 2015 Share March 10, 2015 Yes, which is why I said in my previous post that the PCNs should be redesigned and repurposed for the sole use of cyclists, so they would have no wiggle room at all to claim the relevant law doesn't apply. As it stands, the legal loophole exists, and it can be exploited by cyclists (like you're doing). Let me ask you something: if they built a good velodrome in Singapore, would you (personally) take "fast cycling" off the streets? If they built a good velodrome in Singapore, I would still cycle on the roads. But if there are dedicated cycling paths meant for cyclists only then I'll use them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged March 10, 2015 Share March 10, 2015 Haha.. Honestly I think I will feel "TL" followed by "LL". But lets face it, "scratch & win" doesn't just happen with bicycles, it happens all the time with cars, motorcycles and even pedestrians too. Friend of mine bought a new black Honda Accord a few years back, within weeks his brand new car was key-scratched in his HDB MSCP with the words "FXXK" (with correct spelling) right on the bonnet and long deep scratches along the sides (neither in-car motion sensing security cam nor CCTV were a thing back then). He was so TL back then that he actually drove around with the F-word right on his bonnet for weeks before TL became LL and he finally went in for a respray. Btw, I don't think he got it because he offended anyone, he's the timid type who would rather "swallow", than "speak up", so if anything its probably bad luck. And hey, like what the movie says, "shxt happens".. just accept it and move on ba. Edit to add; I'm nether supportive nor against the idea of tracking, I do feel it would be a real pain in the ass if we really try to register bicycles. Last time go East Coast Park camping/BBQ no need to apply for license/pay for anything. Then they say to prevent overstayers/keep park clean or some shit and now everyone need to register. http://www.axs.com.sg/help_NParksCampFAQ.php In today's date & technology, I dont see it's possible to register a bicycle. Everyone got Singpass expect for FT/FW which can be replace as EP/WP permit numbers. So logistics is not impossible but over the governmet, they see no need for it at this moment. The registeration policy will start when they figure out how to charge the cyclists a reasonable amount of money over a reasonable timeframe without losing too much votes. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...