Nzy Twincharged March 8, 2015 Share March 8, 2015 Precisely. The risk of dying from riding a bicycle is higher than flying. My point is you dun need to meet bad drivers to suffer the consequences. Why increase your risk profile by riding like an idiot? The cyclist is at the losing end. Ride safe. It is a dangerous activity as long as it is done on public roads. Only problem is when riding safely, drivers get frustrated. IMO cycling in the double yellow lines is more dangerous than cycling outside the double yellow lines because it leaves the cyclist with no space to go if a driver comes too close when overtaking. Furthermore, there are these drain covers that can trap the bicycle's wheels if the cyclist cycles within the yellow lines. However, many drivers are saying cyclists are idiots for doing that. When cycling in bigger groups, I feel that 2 abreast is safer and was told by TP its safer and legal as well. Reason is that drivers have to overtake the cyclists over a shorter stretch making it easier for them. If the bicycles are in a single file, the driver will have to overtake a group of cyclist over a distance that is twice as far. However, many drivers feel that cyclists are idiots for doing that and again feel that it should be illegal. When cyclists take up one whole lane when approaching a junction with a left turn, drivers again feel that these cyclists are being idiots. But then IMO its safer because it prevents drivers from overtaking the cyclists too close to the junction and making a left turn when the cyclist wants to go straight. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic March 8, 2015 Share March 8, 2015 It's no different from cars, motorbikes, lorries, etc. We all pay to be licensed, and pay to have our vehicles inspected. It's not like the money is a lot, but the monies paid can be used to partly defray the costs of enforcement. Also remember that WITHOUT licensing and regulations, the cost of enforcement would actually be higher because it's HARDER to enforce. I give a simple example. I think by law any group 5 or larger is considered illegal gathering, right? Is it logical and practical to enforce? No. If police go around just trying to catch groups of people of 5 and more, they will be sibey boh eng. Why when we drive we scared kena summon? That's precisely because we are licensed to drive, and our vehicle is licensed to be on the road. If there wasn't any licensing, we'll just run traffic lights, get caught speeding, and then get away scott free. How is it possible for TP to enforce if all vehicles on the road had no license plates? I'm not saying ALL the cyclist go and register. That's crazy. ONLY the bicycles that want to be ridden ON THE ROAD should definitely be registered/licensed. If the riders think the costs/effort are not worth it, e.g. for the weekend cyclist at east coast park, then they do not need a license, and cannot cycle on the road. It's same as people can let their kids drive their Ferrari around their own backyard for all we care... as long as not on the road. Similar for motor vehicles, riders can accumulate demerit points, fines, etc. and can then be taken OFF THE ROAD (and they can cycle around PCN for all we care, right?) With our in-car dash cameras and most people "helping" police with the enforcement work these days I think more so they should have on-road cyclist register for a license to cycle. What is cost of sending more TP on the road? vs What is cost of making sure every cyclist riding on the road is registered cyclist? In addition, with more TP on the road, there will be less Chiongster, road hogger & any dangerous road users. Lastly, why should we (road user) do TP job? Shouldn't TP be doing their job? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingkong 5th Gear March 8, 2015 Share March 8, 2015 Another reason why some road users hate cyclists, whether they are on the road, or on the pavement, hurt others can siam fast... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Piyopico Supercharged March 8, 2015 Share March 8, 2015 Another reason why some road users hate cyclists, whether they are on the road, or on the pavement, hurt others can siam fast... This kind of ass cycle pass red light, fail to keep proper lookout for pedestrians, actually knocked one kid down, fail to stop etc etc. How? Catch who? If it was an elderly folk, they could have had a fracture or die from a bad fall. Make personal liability insurance compulsory then, at least there is some form of coverage. Provided you can identify these idiots......... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Christan Turbocharged March 8, 2015 Share March 8, 2015 Another reason why some road users hate cyclists, whether they are on the road, or on the pavement, hurt others can siam fast... I feel cyclists don't follow rules. And not accountable for their actions. I won't say all. So bf the gov starts to implement cycling tracks or whatever in other estates (already started in Tampines), they have to ensure there is way to catch the culprit if they break rules, as in the above case. Already in my neighbourhood can see young & old cycle without care on covered walkways, under HDB block Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingkong 5th Gear March 8, 2015 Share March 8, 2015 I feel cyclists don't follow rules. And not accountable for their actions. I won't say all. So bf the gov starts to implement cycling tracks or whatever in other estates (already started in Tampines), they have to ensure there is way to catch the culprit if they break rules, as in the above case. Already in my neighbourhood can see young & old cycle without care on covered walkways, under HDB block Totally agreed. In any accident with a cyclist, those who are badly injured are usually the young and old ones. Before anyone realised what had happened, these bunch of clowns would have already ride far enough for anyone to give chase. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
FourZero Hypersonic March 9, 2015 Share March 9, 2015 http://youtu.be/oXL6OZA0gDo these kind of cyclist is jst a pain n potentially causing problems to other road users............ [smash] really wonder wat kind of learning can the garment gv to cyclist in a winder audience way................ we can sit n wait n wait I guess..........they will still be at their desk calculating the odds........... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Byteslurve Supersonic March 9, 2015 Share March 9, 2015 Potential road hazards, causing road accidents as well as road pollutions 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic March 9, 2015 Share March 9, 2015 (edited) these kind of cyclist is jst a pain n potentially causing problems to other road users............ [smash] really wonder wat kind of learning can the garment gv to cyclist in a winder audience way................ we can sit n wait n wait I guess..........they will still be at their desk calculating the odds........... Problems I saw with this group of thoroughly inconsiderate cyclists: 1) A clear violation of the "max 2 abreast" traffic rule. If they had had registration plates, the video could've been sent in as incriminating evidence against them. Which is why I strongly feel plates are a necessity - there are too many such incidents (the ones with video evidence are likely just the tip of the iceberg). 2) Not a clear violation, but just thoughtless and inconsiderate behaviour - why do they insist on cutting off the leading car at the light? Why can't they just bunch up behind the car? Most drivers have some sense of "fairness" on the road - which is why we pretty much all detest queue cutters. If I'm the first car at the light, I hate it when a motorbike has to interpose himself between myself and the clear path in front of me, often crooking his wheel at an angle to block me (and when the light turns green, he would often move off *really* slowly). But the problem is even more acute when it's a bunch of slooooow moving pedal-bikes in a peloton like this. If I were the lead car, I would've been thoroughly pissed. On the other hand, if I had arrived after the cyclists, I would not have been annoyed at all, simply because the intrinsic sense of "fairness" most of us possess tells me that having come later, I have to wait behind them. So: why can't these cyclists think the same way? Edited March 9, 2015 by Turboflat4 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic March 9, 2015 Share March 9, 2015 So: why can't these cyclists think the same way? Simple: They expect everyone to follow their "leotard law" i.e.1.5M gap, riding 2 abreast, holding up traffic, the right to pick a fight wif everyone that doesn't follow their self-made rules, etc but see themselves exempt from real traffic rules, i.e.stopping at red lights, registration, insurance, accountability, liability, etc. 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic March 9, 2015 Share March 9, 2015 (edited) Next time I see one I will hoot my exos loud loud in front if them let them smell the lovely smell of catless engine. Edited March 9, 2015 by Mockngbrd 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
efssc 5th Gear March 9, 2015 Share March 9, 2015 Somehow, following this thread has made my blood boil more than when I actually do encounter inconsiderate cyclists on the road. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear March 9, 2015 Share March 9, 2015 Somehow, following this thread has made my blood boil more than when I actually do encounter inconsiderate cyclists on the road. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged March 9, 2015 Share March 9, 2015 Next time I see one I will hoot my exos loud loud in front if them let them smell the lovely smell of catless engine.later they throw their bike on your bonnet at red light.. Some quite violent Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic March 9, 2015 Share March 9, 2015 later they throw their bike on your bonnet at red light.. Some quite violent Won't lah. Coz they dun stop at red lights one....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged March 9, 2015 Share March 9, 2015 Won't lah. Coz they dun stop at red lights one....... Ya lo. Nowadays more people don't stop at red lights already. Just saw 2 cars run red light today. Even the cyclists also learning from the cars now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic March 9, 2015 Share March 9, 2015 later they throw their bike on your bonnet at red light.. Some quite violent i stomp them then they know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic March 9, 2015 Share March 9, 2015 Ya lo. Nowadays more people don't stop at red lights already. Just saw 2 cars run red light today. Even the cyclists also learning from the cars now. Can they oso learn to get registered n insured? I dun care if they bang car coz we know who will come out worst but what if they bang some kids n ride off? Waitaminit.....that is oredi happening! ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...