Vid Hypersonic March 6, 2015 Share March 6, 2015 Aiayh both drivers and cyclists got good got bad lah. The other day I was first car turning at junction, road was clear except for a group of cyclists (around 10) who were coming head on straight. I could have turned but waited for them to cycle past and they all waved thanks at me. and I lowered my window and returned the gesture . . . hey that feels good! Drive safe, observe traffic rules and all will be happy. From now on you just have to flash that lovely smile to them [laugh] ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perseus76 2nd Gear March 6, 2015 Share March 6, 2015 Ok - Not flaming you ... Just wondering what you mean here... a) Is it that after overtaking him, you filtered left and then turn left, such that he needed to slow down because of you? b) Or is it that much later on you turn left, and he didn't need to take any action? i overtake him further down, with some gap, dont think he needs to slow down. Honk is because he is an idiot, riding without hands. and junction is ahead. Both to warn him and to highlight to him that he is doing a stupid act. i need to turn left, and probably other behind me needs to as well. occupying the middle of left lane, taking the whole lane does not guarantee his safety. whether or not, junction is ahead with/without someone turning, its a dangerous act. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged March 6, 2015 Share March 6, 2015 (edited) Ok....I digging for info now... this graphic put up by LTA is interesting - and also important if you want to make cycling to work more costly / restrictive / difficult by requiring licensing.... According to this study - 200,000 plus bicycles per year are sold in Singapore.... And from the same source Other tentative conclusions also follow from the assumption above (that variations in the ‘other only’ category reflect variations in bicycle use). All of the comments below on the use of ‘other’ modes are plausible as conclusions to apply to bicycles. Those who use a single ‘other’ mode to get to work were apparently disproportionately male, from lowincome households, elderly, and with work trips below 15 minutes in duration. Specifically, in 2005 2.1% of male workers used ‘other’ versus only 0.4% of female workers. In 2005, as mentioned above 1.6% of all workers usually went to work by ‘other’ modes, but the figures were 3.3% of workers in low-income (<$1000) households, 4.0% of those living in one or two room HDB flats, and 3.8% of those whose work trip is less than 15 minutes long (Department of Statistics 2005). According to the 2000 Census, 2.3% of resident workers aged 50 or more used ‘other only’ as their usual mode to work. Not exactly robust or anything - but at least a starting point - if you are talking about making it harder to own a bike a ride it to work - the above is going to be an important consideration. Edited March 6, 2015 by Darryn Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
efssc 5th Gear March 6, 2015 Share March 6, 2015 hey guys! tea break liao lor Haha.. some "liang teh" would be great! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged March 6, 2015 Share March 6, 2015 i overtake him further down, with some gap, dont think he needs to slow down. Honk is because he is an idiot, riding without hands. and junction is ahead. Both to warn him and to highlight to him that he is doing a stupid act. i need to turn left, and probably other behind me needs to as well. occupying the middle of left lane, taking the whole lane does not guarantee his safety. whether or not, junction is ahead with/without someone turning, its a dangerous act. OK...fair enough - but how is he supposed to know it is a warning and not a threat? And when people "warn" you by "shouting" at you - how do you normally react? Not that I think he was being reasonable and you were the model of sanity... but if you were in his shoes, and a car honked at you, how would you react? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic March 6, 2015 Share March 6, 2015 Haha.. some "liang teh" would be great! some old fashion chess maybe some snoooker too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic March 6, 2015 Share March 6, 2015 hey guys! tea break liao lor This is our tea break la. Surf MCF and la kopi! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic March 6, 2015 Share March 6, 2015 This is our tea break la. Surf MCF and la kopi! whoops Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear March 6, 2015 Share March 6, 2015 some old fashion chess maybe some snoooker too Wana praise you but cannot now. Orr tang first.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged March 6, 2015 Share March 6, 2015 Here is one Canadian study.... Who causes accidents—cyclists or drivers?While there is a public perception that cyclists are usually the cause of accidents between cars and bikes, an analysis of Toronto police collision reports shows otherwise: The most common type of crash in this study involved a motorist entering an intersection and either failing to stop properly or proceeding before it was safe to do so. The second most common crash type involved a motorist overtaking unsafely. The third involved a motorist opening a door onto an oncoming cyclist. The study concluded that cyclists are the cause of less than 10 per cent of bike-car accidents in this study. The available evidence suggests that collisions have far more to do with aggressive driving than aggressive cycling. Which I found from reading this Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged March 6, 2015 Share March 6, 2015 Why cyclists have to train on public roads? If they want to train, go bt timah or mount faber, ride up and down until they are happy. Cuz not all stay near those areas. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged March 6, 2015 Share March 6, 2015 wahahaha.......let me get back on my chair after falling off it wif laughter. if i go by your same logic, a professional race driver shld be allowed to use our public roads for their personal practice?? similarly, the auntie driving her kid to school, the ITE student that goes to campus 15km a day, the tipper truck driver that lives 3-5km from the HVP and some one who only drives 10-15 times a year should be exempted from car registration, insurance, driving licence, road tax, traffic rules and running red lights????.......same same what. I don't see anything wrong with a race car driver practicing on the roads if he follows all the traffic laws. That is why I don't have a problem with cyclists training on the roads as long as they follow the laws. As for the second point, I feel that it would make things worse for these people because they are using an alternative mode of transport to save money and at the same time they also help to reduce congestion on the roads and public transport. If cyclists are required to have registration, road tax and all the other extra costs, it doesn't make sense for them to cycle and they will drive or take public transport which adds to the problems. Cars definitely need licenses cuz they can kill people easily whereas how many people are killed by bicycles every year? Even without any licensing, the number of people being killed in a car accident is already many times higher than the number of people killed by bicycles if there are any. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged March 6, 2015 Share March 6, 2015 Most cyclist wear this kind of shoe that clips to the pedals of the bike so they won't slip while cycling fast. But they have to keep cycling else they will fall as the clip is difficult to unclip. Maybe LTA should ban such shoes and pedal clips for safety reasons. Then cyclists will not give the stupid reason that as an excuse to beat the red lights. I'll dedication another clip of bicycle anarchy to this post. I cycle but i stop at all the red lights even if its in the middle of the night and there is no one around. I also happen to use these clipless pedals. It isn't difficult at all the unclip and stop unless the cyclist is new to these kind of shoes. Its a normal reflex already for me to unclip whenever I am stopping even if I was ebraking. Those who say they run red light because its difficult to unclip are just giving excuses. Banning these shoes will not stop them from running red light. They will continue to do so and find other excuses to justify their actions. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic March 6, 2015 Share March 6, 2015 I don't see anything wrong with a race car driver practicing on the roads if he follows all the traffic laws. That is why I don't have a problem with cyclists training on the roads as long as they follow the laws. As for the second point, I feel that it would make things worse for these people because they are using an alternative mode of transport to save money and at the same time they also help to reduce congestion on the roads and public transport. If cyclists are required to have registration, road tax and all the other extra costs, it doesn't make sense for them to cycle and they will drive or take public transport which adds to the problems. Cars definitely need licenses cuz they can kill people easily whereas how many people are killed by bicycles every year? Even without any licensing, the number of people being killed in a car accident is already many times higher than the number of people killed by bicycles if there are any. Of course there is no problem with a race car driver practicing if he follows all the traffic laws but how can his practice be effective if he is not moving at the speeds that he will be during a race? Similarly, if a cyclist is training for a race, how can his training be effective if he has to keep stopping for traffic lights? Bear in mind that these cyclists are not training techniques but their endurance and speed. Regarding the costs of registration, some of us already addressed it by saying it should be subsidized by other road users or even by other form of taxes so it can just be a token sum of 10-20 dollars. By the way, bicycles might not be killing humans but they are indeed causing accidents (and also their own deaths). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic March 6, 2015 Share March 6, 2015 Wana praise you but cannot now. Orr tang first.. the art very nice very detailed dark friednship wish to can draw like that Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged March 6, 2015 Share March 6, 2015 Of course there is no problem with a race car driver practicing if he follows all the traffic laws but how can his practice be effective if he is not moving at the speeds that he will be during a race? Similarly, if a cyclist is training for a race, how can his training be effective if he has to keep stopping for traffic lights? Bear in mind that these cyclists are not training techniques but their endurance and speed. Regarding the costs of registration, some of us already addressed it by saying it should be subsidized by other road users or even by other form of taxes so it can just be a token sum of 10-20 dollars. By the way, bicycles might not be killing humans but they are indeed causing accidents (and also their own deaths). Making it a token sum, or free is good - but it still needs to be paid by someone - and I still question if it's a good (or effective) way to spend money. And then there will be whatever punishment for not adhering to the scheme And also the time taken to get it arranged. The question is - just how many accidents are they causing? And is it enough to go down the very difficult, and what will be costly road of registration? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged March 6, 2015 Share March 6, 2015 Of course there is no problem with a race car driver practicing if he follows all the traffic laws but how can his practice be effective if he is not moving at the speeds that he will be during a race? Similarly, if a cyclist is training for a race, how can his training be effective if he has to keep stopping for traffic lights? Bear in mind that these cyclists are not training techniques but their endurance and speed. Regarding the costs of registration, some of us already addressed it by saying it should be subsidized by other road users or even by other form of taxes so it can just be a token sum of 10-20 dollars. By the way, bicycles might not be killing humans but they are indeed causing accidents (and also their own deaths). Whether its drivers or cyclists, there will always be some black sheep. I have trained with some of my friends who are training for triathlons and they do stop at red lights. The only thing they do that might make people unhappy is they cycle 2 abreast. But whatever we do when we cycle as a group is always according to the law. When I was in secondary school, one of my classmates was a triathlete and he was aiming to represent singapore at the SEA games but the school's coach will still remind him to follow the traffic laws and reprimand him if he was caught breaking any of these laws. Its a pity he pass away after winning one of the triathlons. Training endurance and speed doesn't mean they won't stop on red. As I mentioned, many of them are just using it as an excuse. Cost is only one of the factors. There are other factors like how to identify a bicycle? Not all bicycles come with some form of serial number or identification. What is going to stop people from using one license on many bicycles? Do cyclists who want to cycle on the roads have to get their bicycles from an AD as well? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged March 6, 2015 Share March 6, 2015 From now on you just have to flash that lovely smile to them [laugh] Like this ? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...