Evillusion Supersonic July 23, 2015 Share July 23, 2015 Surprising behaviour from cyclist meh? not the norm meh?not lumping all....but got many retards in leotards nowadays! ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged July 23, 2015 Share July 23, 2015 Surprising behaviour from cyclist meh? not the norm meh? sounds like he got a lot of anger issues sia. was reading the article this morning and thinking to myself that this guy just cant control his emotions. or his brain lag. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic July 23, 2015 Share July 23, 2015 Surprising behaviour from cyclist meh? not the norm meh? Senna also hot temper hor. He punched Irvine for overtaking him. There were many occasions I encountered a group of cyclists jammed up the whole lane during peak hour near CCK/Bt. Batok areas. The leader some more was cycling near to the next lane. Cars were all followed behind like moving 10 to 15kmh. They did not cycle in straight line by following one and another and as if the whole left lane was designated as bicycle lane. A lot of impatient drivers horned and shouted at them and a few times almost caused accident when cars tried to overtake. The most dangerous part was at junction when cars and bicycles were crossing the junction. Those cyclist really expect all cars to slow down or stop to let them go off first. Some cyclists even take chance "cheong" the red light as if their bicycle are faster than car. So LTA should really look into all these as there are not only have errant drivers but also errant cyclists. How come these impatient drivers nvr run them over? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged July 23, 2015 Share July 23, 2015 Senna also hot temper hor. He punched Irvine for overtaking him. How come these impatient drivers nvr run them over? Senna is won the championship.. Wait for that bronze medalist to win gold in Olympic or Tour de France first 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic July 23, 2015 Share July 23, 2015 Senna is won the championship.. Wait for that bronze medalist to win gold in Olympic or Tour de France first Heng he din win Olympic gold medal. Otherwise, he may self-issue licence to bash up everyone that he sees fit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic July 23, 2015 Share July 23, 2015 There were many occasions I encountered a group of cyclists jammed up the whole lane during peak hour near CCK/Bt. Batok areas. The leader some more was cycling near to the next lane. Cars were all followed behind like moving 10 to 15kmh. They did not cycle in straight line by following one and another and as if the whole left lane was designated as bicycle lane. A lot of impatient drivers horned and shouted at them and a few times almost caused accident when cars tried to overtake. The most dangerous part was at junction when cars and bicycles were crossing the junction. Those cyclist really expect all cars to slow down or stop to let them go off first. Some cyclists even take chance "cheong" the red light as if their bicycle are faster than car. So LTA should really look into all these as there are not only have errant drivers but also errant cyclists. LTA don't know what to do with them. They have so many issues on hand. MRT, Uber, COE, etc. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Micb 5th Gear July 23, 2015 Share July 23, 2015 As our society become more affluent, the cyclist community have been growing and asking for more space and tracks to carry out their cycling activities. It is now more than cycling for leisure or for work. The grow number of cyclist on the roads now are reaching a level where the authorities have to start thinking how to regulate the "traffic". All the while, road users (with the exception of pedestrian) are taxed in order to use the road. The tax goes towards maintenance of the infrastructure and nation building, I believe. My humble question is why are the cyclist (both motorized bicycle and manual pedal) not taxed? I know this may be a sensitive topic with strong opinions from both sides (but hey, this is MCF right?). How many times have we encountered issues with cyclist (especially in a group formation) demanding and utilizing the left lane for their activities, with some even spilling to the outer lane. It is ok for motorist to "share" the road, if both sides have respect and act graciously. Or cycle in a single straight line formation, where at least other motorist can still use the left lane. But there are always some cycling groups or individuals who think that they deserve a piece of the road and other motorist should "siam" and give way as they have an equal right, then this is getting too much, for me. We are a little red dot, there are not many open roads for you to do road race or road biking. Why not regulate this group of Road Users as well, pay road tax and insurance, you can then claim the right to use, on the left lane, of course For me, I'm a leisure cyclist, I bring my bike to the park to cycle with my family. Or if I need to cycle out to ran errant, I cycle on the pavement/connector whenever possible and only go on to the road for very short distance if there's no other way. For the cycling enthusiast that have to use the road no matter what, pay the road tax and insurance lah, then can discuss openly with other road users and authorities on how to share the precious road network on this island. May be a dedicated cycling lane seen in some neighbouring countries? Or a dedicated cycling track for high speed biking? Lastly, besides road tax, how about ERP....... PS: I'm not against cyclist in general, but only those small percentage of groups or individuals who are misbehaving and demanding, as if other road users owe them $$. You know who you are Hope don't get shot with this post, but I do feel relieve as been wanting to voice this out Ride and Drive Safe !!! 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic July 23, 2015 Share July 23, 2015 Senna is won the championship.. Wait for that bronze medalist to win gold in Olympic or Tour de France first Sorry hor! Asian will nvr win Gold in Olympic or TdF. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic July 23, 2015 Share July 23, 2015 (edited) As our society become more affluent, the cyclist community have been growing and asking for more space and tracks to carry out their cycling activities. It is now more than cycling for leisure or for work. The grow number of cyclist on the roads now are reaching a level where the authorities have to start thinking how to regulate the "traffic". All the while, road users (with the exception of pedestrian) are taxed in order to use the road. The tax goes towards maintenance of the infrastructure and nation building, I believe. My humble question is why are the cyclist (both motorized bicycle and manual pedal) not taxed? I know this may be a sensitive topic with strong opinions from both sides (but hey, this is MCF right?). How many times have we encountered issues with cyclist (especially in a group formation) demanding and utilizing the left lane for their activities, with some even spilling to the outer lane. It is ok for motorist to "share" the road, if both sides have respect and act graciously. Or cycle in a single straight line formation, where at least other motorist can still use the left lane. But there are always some cycling groups or individuals who think that they deserve a piece of the road and other motorist should "siam" and give way as they have an equal right, then this is getting too much, for me. We are a little red dot, there are not many open roads for you to do road race or road biking. Why not regulate this group of Road Users as well, pay road tax and insurance, you can then claim the right to use, on the left lane, of course For me, I'm a leisure cyclist, I bring my bike to the park to cycle with my family. Or if I need to cycle out to ran errant, I cycle on the pavement/connector whenever possible and only go on to the road for very short distance if there's no other way. For the cycling enthusiast that have to use the road no matter what, pay the road tax and insurance lah, then can discuss openly with other road users and authorities on how to share the precious road network on this island. May be a dedicated cycling lane seen in some neighbouring countries? Or a dedicated cycling track for high speed biking? Lastly, besides road tax, how about ERP....... PS: I'm not against cyclist in general, but only those small percentage of groups or individuals who are misbehaving and demanding, as if other road users owe them $$. You know who you are Hope don't get shot with this post, but I do feel relieve as been wanting to voice this out Ride and Drive Safe !!! I think LTA has answered the question why cyclist not taxed hor. For motor car, the basic cover is 3rd party liability, which basically to cover 3rd party bodily injury. That's the spirit of the law. In the case of cyclist bang into car on the road, which 1 hurt more? In the case of cyclist bang into pedestrian on pedestrian walkway, pedestrian will hurt more. Do you have insurance? Lastly, Why you guys always encounter group ride? p.s. Shift to my neighbourhood. I hardly encounter Group ride. Somemore close to Geylang. Edited July 23, 2015 by Davidtch Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic July 23, 2015 Share July 23, 2015 38yo still can win SEA games bronze? Not bad leh. Too bad got attitude problem. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leinad8919 Turbocharged July 23, 2015 Share July 23, 2015 All the while, road users (with the exception of pedestrian) are taxed in order to use the road. The tax goes towards maintenance of the infrastructure and nation building, I believe. My humble question is why are the cyclist (both motorized bicycle and manual pedal) not taxed? Why not regulate this group of Road Users as well, pay road tax and insurance, you can then claim the right to use, on the left lane, of course For me, I'm a leisure cyclist, I bring my bike to the park to cycle with my family. Or if I need to cycle out to ran errant, I cycle on the pavement/connector whenever possible and only go on to the road for very short distance if there's no other way. For the cycling enthusiast that have to use the road no matter what, pay the road tax and insurance lah, then can discuss openly with other road users and authorities on how to share the precious road network on this island. Lastly, besides road tax, how about ERP....... Hope don't get shot with this post, but I do feel relieve as been wanting to voice this out Ride and Drive Safe !!! Does that also mean those who paid higher tax & insurance can demand a bigger share of the road? When cycling on pavements, do you meet pregnant ladies stroking their tummies, parents pushing crying toddlers on prams, elderly strollng with their grandchildren, oversized aunties with their market carts, a group of sweaty school kids bouncing their Mikasa basketball, young girls with earpiece watching Korean drama on their phone, young men with big headphone jamming the latest pop..... I do. That's why I believe it is safer for them that I cycle on the road....with good karma, I hope drivers can be more patient with a vulnerable cyclist.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mr_b20 6th Gear July 23, 2015 Share July 23, 2015 not siding cyclists... but making them pay $$$ doesn't make you better off, does it? as you said, cyclists are already "demanding" now, if they are made to pay road tax, do you think they will be less demanding? or even MORE demanding because they also think "limpeh got pay roadtax"? please don't give our gahment more silly ideas lah.... haha... As our society become more affluent, the cyclist community have been growing and asking for more space and tracks to carry out their cycling activities. It is now more than cycling for leisure or for work. The grow number of cyclist on the roads now are reaching a level where the authorities have to start thinking how to regulate the "traffic". All the while, road users (with the exception of pedestrian) are taxed in order to use the road. The tax goes towards maintenance of the infrastructure and nation building, I believe. My humble question is why are the cyclist (both motorized bicycle and manual pedal) not taxed? I know this may be a sensitive topic with strong opinions from both sides (but hey, this is MCF right?). How many times have we encountered issues with cyclist (especially in a group formation) demanding and utilizing the left lane for their activities, with some even spilling to the outer lane. It is ok for motorist to "share" the road, if both sides have respect and act graciously. Or cycle in a single straight line formation, where at least other motorist can still use the left lane. But there are always some cycling groups or individuals who think that they deserve a piece of the road and other motorist should "siam" and give way as they have an equal right, then this is getting too much, for me. We are a little red dot, there are not many open roads for you to do road race or road biking. Why not regulate this group of Road Users as well, pay road tax and insurance, you can then claim the right to use, on the left lane, of course For me, I'm a leisure cyclist, I bring my bike to the park to cycle with my family. Or if I need to cycle out to ran errant, I cycle on the pavement/connector whenever possible and only go on to the road for very short distance if there's no other way. For the cycling enthusiast that have to use the road no matter what, pay the road tax and insurance lah, then can discuss openly with other road users and authorities on how to share the precious road network on this island. May be a dedicated cycling lane seen in some neighbouring countries? Or a dedicated cycling track for high speed biking? Lastly, besides road tax, how about ERP....... PS: I'm not against cyclist in general, but only those small percentage of groups or individuals who are misbehaving and demanding, as if other road users owe them $$. You know who you are Hope don't get shot with this post, but I do feel relieve as been wanting to voice this out Ride and Drive Safe !!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Micb 5th Gear July 23, 2015 Share July 23, 2015 I think LTA has answered the question why cyclist not taxed hor. For motor car, the basic cover is 3rd party liability, which basically to cover 3rd party bodily injury. That's the spirit of the law. In the case of cyclist bang into car on the road, which 1 hurt more? In the case of cyclist bang into pedestrian on pedestrian walkway, pedestrian will hurt more. Do you have insurance? Lastly, Why you guys always encounter group ride? p.s. Shift to my neighbourhood. I hardly encounter Group ride. Somemore close to Geylang. You are absolutely right ! The insurance issue, is too complicated. You see, if car hit them, they claim 3rd party from driver. If they hit the car or motorcycle, how to claim? I travel daily along east coast / mountbatten / stadium area. Cycling groups are quite common there. There were also occasions where they can be found cycling along Nicoll Highway from town heading towards Mountbatten, and the champion of all, along the narrow 2 lane road in Katong towards Siglap ! I believe it takes 2 hands to clap, in most incidents, both cyclist and drivers/riders have faults to varying degree. But I'm trying to emphasize here is if the cyclists want to do their biking on the road (by their own choice), there should be a level of civic mindedness and consideration that they are merely sharing the road with other users and vice versa for the drivers/riders. The least they can do is to be more considerate, keep in single line, follow the traffic signals, and don't be too demanding la. Cheers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Micb 5th Gear July 23, 2015 Share July 23, 2015 Does that also mean those who paid higher tax & insurance can demand a bigger share of the road? When cycling on pavements, do you meet pregnant ladies stroking their tummies, parents pushing crying toddlers on prams, elderly strollng with their grandchildren, oversized aunties with their market carts, a group of sweaty school kids bouncing their Mikasa basketball, young girls with earpiece watching Korean drama on their phone, young men with big headphone jamming the latest pop..... I do. That's why I believe it is safer for them that I cycle on the road....with good karma, I hope drivers can be more patient with a vulnerable cyclist.... No, I don't mean that la. Now, cycling on the pavement will mean that the pedestrian is the vulnerable group here. You are right, we need to be extra extra extra careful looking out for the pedestrian. If a cyclist still speed or show inconsiderate actions when cycling on the pavement, he/she should be shot. I understand your point here, it takes 2 hands to clap. Both drivers/riders and cyclist have to be more tolerant when sharing the road. Issue is the small group of individuals who cross the line of self-awareness, and being too self-centered. Cheers ! not siding cyclists... but making them pay $$$ doesn't make you better off, does it? as you said, cyclists are already "demanding" now, if they are made to pay road tax, do you think they will be less demanding? or even MORE demanding because they also think "limpeh got pay roadtax"? please don't give our gahment more silly ideas lah.... haha... You are right too, bro. Don't anyhow chute idea, may end up paying more ! Cheers ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic July 23, 2015 Share July 23, 2015 You are absolutely right ! The insurance issue, is too complicated. You see, if car hit them, they claim 3rd party from driver. If they hit the car or motorcycle, how to claim? I travel daily along east coast / mountbatten / stadium area. Cycling groups are quite common there. There were also occasions where they can be found cycling along Nicoll Highway from town heading towards Mountbatten, and the champion of all, along the narrow 2 lane road in Katong towards Siglap ! I believe it takes 2 hands to clap, in most incidents, both cyclist and drivers/riders have faults to varying degree. But I'm trying to emphasize here is if the cyclists want to do their biking on the road (by their own choice), there should be a level of civic mindedness and consideration that they are merely sharing the road with other users and vice versa for the drivers/riders. The least they can do is to be more considerate, keep in single line, follow the traffic signals, and don't be too demanding la. Cheers. The insurance issue is not complicated at all. From spirit of the law, 3rd party liability is meant to cover 3rd party bodily injury. If insurance needs to be implemented, it means all cyclist needs it to protect the pedestrian. How to ensure that all cyclist (including kids) has insurance coverage? Look at our drivers on the road now. What is the level of civic mindedness? I would say low. Everything is about ME. With this type of mindset, do you think other road users (including cyclist & pedestrian) share the same mindset? Everyone shares a portion of the blame for creating this mess. Use other route loh. Don't tell me there is no other alternative routes hor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic July 23, 2015 Share July 23, 2015 Does that also mean those who paid higher tax & insurance can demand a bigger share of the road? When cycling on pavements, do you meet pregnant ladies stroking their tummies, parents pushing crying toddlers on prams, elderly strollng with their grandchildren, oversized aunties with their market carts, a group of sweaty school kids bouncing their Mikasa basketball, young girls with earpiece watching Korean drama on their phone, young men with big headphone jamming the latest pop..... I do. That's why I believe it is safer for them that I cycle on the road....with good karma, I hope drivers can be more patient with a vulnerable cyclist.... Stupid LTA. Road lane wide enough meh? Car abt 1.8m. Cyclists abt 0.5 m. 1.5m. Unless the lane got 4m. Cyclists should stay off the road. Lol 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic July 23, 2015 Share July 23, 2015 sounds like he got a lot of anger issues sia. was reading the article this morning and thinking to myself that this guy just cant control his emotions. or his brain lag. Maybe cycle too long. Crash too many times. Become subnormal retard liao 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic July 23, 2015 Share July 23, 2015 Sorry hor! Asian will nvr win Gold in Olympic or TdF. have lar....Taufik Hidayat and Lin Dan are 2 from same discipline! China also got many world beaters in Diving!Maybe cycle too long. Crash too many times. Become subnormal retard liaoa re5ard is already subnormal....😂😂😂😂😂....but we should stop giving retards a bad name! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...