Toyota Rush SFB 8288 C Kuailan Driver Destroys Bicycle

Nohnemwan

Hey, how you like it?

You wait patiently on the left lane for the red light.

Then a whole bunch of cyclists suited up like superman swarmed in front of you.

They don't wait behind. They swarm in front of you.

And of coz when the light turn green, you can't move until those farkers move.

Heh...

so its ok just because they can't out stupid the stoopid?

But yeah....throw enough money anything is possible....

doesn't make it wise though...

Frankly, I think introducing registration on bikes ridden on major roads will be easier than just *one* recent measure they've introduced for cars. The whole "dyno to test Cat A power output claims" deal. The horsepower based cutoff was idiotic to begin with. But they achieved something truly moronic when they actually announced the testing regime.

If they can do something as onerous as that (however misguided), they should have NO problem reintroducing bicycle registration.

Come to think of it, even with more TP on the road, how to enforce? Using handphone while riding on bicycle, fine how much? How many demerit points? Run red-light/drink-cycling how? (demerit points? fine? ban? revoke license?)? The next thing you know it, they can be doing the exact same thing again. Hell, I don't even know if it is a requirement for them to obey traffic signals. Happy, road vehicle mode, not convenient suddenly pedestrian mode. One time off-roader, next moment road vehicle. Nowadays can slap on electric motor lagi more interesting, more diversified! [thumbsup]

And looking at the 1 page rule for bicycles under the Road Traffic Act, I am not too sure that bicycles were meant to be serious a mode of transportation for use on road (in local context anyway). In the absence of a common language (basic/advance safety theories for example) basic vehicle equipment (signal/brake lights etc) sometimes when they do 'stunts' I also think cannot fault them, it could be that they don't know mah (or that I did not see their hands waving in low-light conditions), not required of them wor. Imagine if TP stop cyclist for turning right on red arrow and cyclist replies how the hell should he know? TP also faint, cannot retort "you never learn in your theory/practical lessons meh?" [bigcry]

Hence of course bike registration is outdated, register already also waste time. Currently it all depends on the sensibility of the cyclist (liddat more advanced, more world crass class). [dizzy]

Davidtch: No offense bro, just lamenting the state of things. [:/]

In other countries people HAVE been charged for drunk cycling, for obstruction, for running red light....

Why cyclist dun stop at red light one?

Some drivers also don't stop for red lights.

You never seen a driver beat a red light?

Please don't make cyclists to be devils

and drivers to be angels.

A lot of drivers are also devils

and they belong to me.

There are bad drivers and bad cyclists.

The difference is when a bad driver get into an accident. They get a hefty repair bill, higher insurance premium, demerit points, kantong license or at most charged in court.

The bad cyclist get into an accident.......... They lose potentially the following:

An arm

A leg

A life

They may also create :

A widow

Orphans

Grieving parents

Bankrupt family members

A fantastic medical bill

A life of permanent disablement

Who got more to lose? Just cycle safe cos even if you do you may still meet the bad and lousy drivers.

Cycle like an idiot....... You dun need to meet the bad and lousy drivers to get the aforementioned.

Edited by Piyopico

Yes we definitely need errant cyclists to be responsible for their behaviour.

Registration system is definitely needed for those spandex fools.

Spandex fools is an apt word for some of these cyclists

Try going on single lane dual carriageway Seletar West / Norh Link filled with heavy trucks day and night and you see them cycling two abreast.

Edited by Toothiewabbit

There are bad drivers and bad cyclists.

The difference is when a bad driver get into an accident. They get a hefty repair bill, higher insurance premium, demerit points, kantong license or at most charged in court.

The bad cyclist get into an accident.......... They lose potentially the following:

An arm

A leg

A life

They may also create :

A widow

Orphans

Grieving parents

Bankrupt family members

A fantastic medical bill

Who got more to lose? Just cycle safe cos even if you do you may still meet the bad and lousy drivers.

Cycle like an idiot....... You dun need to meet the bad and lousy drivers to get the aforementioned.

What you say is true but a bad driver can also create:

A widow

Orphans

Grieving parents

Bankrupt family members

A fantastic medical bill

But the difference is that the widow, orphans, grieving parents, bankrupt family members, medical bill, and life of permanent disability will belong to the victim even if the victim was a good driver/pedestrian/cyclist. Depending on the driver, he may or may not be affected by knowing that he just created all these.

Frankly, I think introducing registration on bikes ridden on major roads will be easier than just *one* recent measure they've introduced for cars. The whole "dyno to test Cat A power output claims" deal. The horsepower based cutoff was idiotic to begin with. But they achieved something truly moronic when they actually announced the testing regime.

If they can do something as onerous as that (however misguided), they should have NO problem reintroducing bicycle registration.

I do think that what they did for the Cat A was stupid but then they were trying to solve a problem that affects quite a large number of people. There are definitely a lot more Cat A buyers who want the COE to be lower for Cat A then the number of people who have complained about errant cyclists.

What you say is true but a bad driver can also create:

A widow

Orphans

Grieving parents

Bankrupt family members

A fantastic medical bill

But the difference is that the widow, orphans, grieving parents, bankrupt family members, medical bill, and life of permanent disability will belong to the victim even if the victim was a good driver/pedestrian/cyclist. Depending on the driver, he may or may not be affected by knowing that he just created all these.

I do think that what they did for the Cat A was stupid but then they were trying to solve a problem that affects quite a large number of people. There are definitely a lot more Cat A buyers who want the COE to be lower for Cat A then the number of people who have complained about errant cyclists.

Precisely. The risk of dying from riding a bicycle is higher than flying.

My point is you dun need to meet bad drivers to suffer the consequences. Why increase your risk profile by riding like an idiot? The cyclist is at the losing end.

Ride safe. It is a dangerous activity as long as it is done on public roads.

Rather than asking for bike registration, why not ask MORE TP enforcer on d road?

That's more helpful for all road users.

Lastly, LTA thinks that bike registration is outdated.

That is where you did not consider the EFFORT and COSTS required to enforce. And part of this costs are paid by... u know what... tax payers lor.

It's DAMN HARD to enforce if the bikes and riders on the roads are not licensed and regulated. Part of the money paid to license bikes WILL go to enforcement, and with a proper license plate it IS much easier to enforce.

Though many feel government step in to regulate to have license for bike is good, but it has massive cost implications. How on earth they going to get everyone to have license for cycling in the 1st place. It's possible if they put in a lot resources for that but it's not justifiable. Trust me if government step in to have license for cyclist, see how it will massively impact in the cost of riding bike and beside that on other aspect as well that non cyclist will also indirectly will share the cost as well. As resources spent on those unproductive things, where do the $ come from? From us lor. So that's why I feel government don't want step in as they know the implication out weigh the benefits.

It's no different from cars, motorbikes, lorries, etc. We all pay to be licensed, and pay to have our vehicles inspected. It's not like the money is a lot, but the monies paid can be used to partly defray the costs of enforcement. Also remember that WITHOUT licensing and regulations, the cost of enforcement would actually be higher because it's HARDER to enforce.

I give a simple example. I think by law any group 5 or larger is considered illegal gathering, right? Is it logical and practical to enforce? No. If police go around just trying to catch groups of people of 5 and more, they will be sibey boh eng.

Why when we drive we scared kena summon? That's precisely because we are licensed to drive, and our vehicle is licensed to be on the road. If there wasn't any licensing, we'll just run traffic lights, get caught speeding, and then get away scott free. How is it possible for TP to enforce if all vehicles on the road had no license plates?

I'm not saying ALL the cyclist go and register. That's crazy. ONLY the bicycles that want to be ridden ON THE ROAD should definitely be registered/licensed. If the riders think the costs/effort are not worth it, e.g. for the weekend cyclist at east coast park, then they do not need a license, and cannot cycle on the road. It's same as people can let their kids drive their Ferrari around their own backyard for all we care... as long as not on the road.

Similar for motor vehicles, riders can accumulate demerit points, fines, etc. and can then be taken OFF THE ROAD (and they can cycle around PCN for all we care, right?)

With our in-car dash cameras and most people "helping" police with the enforcement work these days I think more so they should have on-road cyclist register for a license to cycle.

Edited by Detach8

It's no different from cars, motorbikes, lorries, etc. We all pay to be licensed, and pay to have our vehicles inspected. It's not like the money is a lot, but the monies paid can be used to partly defray the costs of enforcement. Also remember that WITHOUT licensing and regulations, the cost of enforcement would actually be higher because it's HARDER to enforce.

I give a simple example. I think by law any group 5 or larger is considered illegal gathering, right? Is it logical and practical to enforce? No. If police go around just trying to catch groups of people of 5 and more, they will be sibey boh eng.

Why when we drive we scared kena summon? That's precisely because we are licensed to drive, and our vehicle is licensed to be on the road. If there wasn't any licensing, we'll just run traffic lights, get caught speeding, and then get away scott free. How is it possible for TP to enforce if all vehicles on the road had no license plates?

I'm not saying ALL the cyclist go and register. That's crazy. ONLY the bicycles that want to be ridden ON THE ROAD should definitely be registered/licensed. If the riders think the costs/effort are not worth it, e.g. for the weekend cyclist at east coast park, then they do not need a license, and cannot cycle on the road. It's same as people can let their kids drive their Ferrari around their own backyard for all we care... as long as not on the road.

Similar for motor vehicles, riders can accumulate demerit points, fines, etc. and can then be taken OFF THE ROAD (and they can cycle around PCN for all we care, right?)

With our in-car dash cameras and most people "helping" police with the enforcement work these days I think more so they should have on-road cyclist register for a license to cycle.

This a flawed logic, who is in the right mind to want to pay license for cycling? Plus once the license is implemented, see how the cost will go up even if the sole target is for cyclist. So by then no license cannot cycle? Means children who is growing up want to learn to cycle also need apply for license? Once the license tthingy is implemented it is irreversible. By then don't blame that wa lao now ride bicycle also so difficult, cycle from become a leisure to become a burden. Even those who never cycle will also get upset that everything also need license. So do we need license to play basketball? Do we need license to play soccer? If say to implement license to be able to ride a motorised bicycle I fully understand, but to have license to ride just a bicycle? Really not feasible man.

Cost is all relative. Car owners don't feel the cost of registration, yearly inspections and road tax is alot because its only a small percentage of the price they paid for their car. But for bicycles which can cost as low as $60. How much can the govt charge for these registration and licensing? Do they want other road users to subsidize the cost of registering bicycles? The govt is trying to get more people to give up their cars and promote cycling as well. If they were to implement this, isn't it going against what they want in the first place? End up restricting people from cycling on the roads and more will be swayed to just sticking to their cars if they can afford to.

Next point will be that in almost all the countries, registering the car is compulsory so cars do come with VIN so its easy to track them. But I don't think that there are many countries which require bicycles to be registered. So bicycle manufacturers do not have a standard way of labelling/identifying their bikes. How is LTA going to identify which bike is which and which bike the license plate belongs to? If they are going to mark each bicycle individually, that will be another cost again.

If they want to implement the same sort of system like the demerit points, does it mean that cyclists who want to cycle on the roads have to get a license? Wouldn't that be another cost to the cyclists again?

I cycle on the roads regularly and I wouldn't have a problem with registration of bicycles and getting a license to cycle on the roads and I am sure many of the recreational road cyclists can afford it and wouldn't mind the cost if it is effective in making other road users realise that cyclist belong to the roads. But the people who will really be affected will be the lower income families/individuals who make use of this mode of transport because they have no choice.

This morning a group of 10 Ang Moh cycling at punggoll....wah kaoz... 2 lanes... along the 3 lanes in front of spc... in the end a trailer have to use 1st lane to overtake them... kekeke... and the dust n sand that fall on them and they started wobbling....AND i was like.. KARMA IS A B#*#&

Machiam rehearsed like that one by one from left and right positioned swee swee in front of the car [laugh]

Jokes aside they seem pretty relaxed about it & not a bit concerned about the presence of the vehicle behind them.

While I have nothing against cycling, I cannot understand why the authorities can allow our public road network to be used somewhat like a gigantic park connector network (PCN) used for recreational purposes. Still remember long time ago when our parents will scold us for playing on the road. Nowadays I see parents "playing" (like having recreational activities like cycling) on the roads together with their kids. How times have changed. If such trend continues, won't be surprised when we start seeing one wheel scooters/kick scooters on the roads being used for "transport"... [dizzy]

To give the authorities due credit, they are extensively expanding the PCNs probably in hope to shift some of our spandex brethren off the roads for their recreational activities (also for their safety). Hopefully, the efforts will not be wasted. [thumbsup]

Machiam rehearsed like that one by one from left and right positioned swee swee in front of the car [laugh]

Jokes aside they seem pretty relaxed about it & not a bit concerned about the presence of the vehicle behind them.

Walao le they think they ride motorbike is it? Slow acceleration still dare to go most front and block the cars? Later buttock kena kiss blame driver for being reckless

Both are 2 wheeled vehicles ma.

While I have nothing against cycling, I cannot understand why the authorities can allow our public road network to be used somewhat like a gigantic park connector network (PCN) used for recreational purposes. Still remember long time ago when our parents will scold us for playing on the road. Nowadays I see parents "playing" (like having recreational activities like cycling) on the roads together with their kids. How times have changed. If such trend continues, won't be surprised when we start seeing one wheel scooters/kick scooters on the roads being used for "transport"... [dizzy]

To give the authorities due credit, they are extensively expanding the PCNs probably in hope to shift some of our spandex brethren off the roads for their recreational activities (also for their safety). Hopefully, the efforts will not be wasted. [thumbsup]

I don't think the PCNs are meant to get these cyclists off the roads. Its to get more people cycling. Just saw the exhibition at AMK a few months back and they were promoting cycling. These PCNs are to get people who don't dare to cycle on the roads to start cycling everywhere.

Wonder why LTA don't follow other countries and draw a box for cyclists to stop infront of the cars. So they do not need to squeeze so far forward. I was in Europe and saw that many of their junctions have these boxes where only cyclists are allowed to stop in. Cars have to stop behind them.

Edited by Nzy