Toyota Rush SFB 8288 C Kuailan Driver Destroys Bicycle

Nohnemwan

The road is for everyone, but I believe roads have markings for a reason.

That is ....*drum rolls* TRAFFIC RULES

By all means use the road. It is for everyone, but not everyone is created equal. When Cyclist use public roads, it is expected of them to abide to TRAFFIC RULES, not just for your safety but for the safety of ALL ROAD USERS.

When it's red light, stop! When you are crossing the road, dismount! When you are changing lanes, signal and do not obstruct others. Do not ride against the TRAFFIC!

It's not about who pays more road taxes or who have a superior complexion, cyclist are not the only road users and do not have exclusive entitlement to the road.

The the end of the day when accident happens, the driver will suffer guilt for the rest of his life. The cyclist?

HE SIMPLY CEASE TO EXIST.

I end this post with an example if traffic anarchy prevail in Singapore.

I guess many know, or at least heard about, traffic rules but it is always that few clowns, motorists & cyclists alike, with that limpeh attitude on the roads which cause miseries to other road users. Sometimes at their own peril...

These are the human 小强-equivalents <_<

I guess many know, or at least heard about, traffic rules but it is always that few clowns, motorists & cyclists alike, with that limpeh attitude on the roads which cause miseries to other road users. Sometimes at their own peril...

These are the human 小强-equivalents <_<

Yup, and I see the ironic of Agnoxis' post and the shocking amount of people who agrees his posts!

To quote him back:

Get off your high horse and stop thinking you're a higher class citizen just because you are wearing designer leotards and riding an expensive bicycle made of carbon fibre. Roads are meant for EVERYONE, not just cyclists like you.

I say this as someone who rides bicycle and also drives a car on the roads. I don't care if you have 10 bicycles, 3 motorbikes and 10 supercars. What makes you think that when you ride your carbon fibre bicycle, you are superior to the rest of the road users? It's a uniquely Singaporean way of thinking.

Edited by Pocus

Why cyclist dun stop at red light one?

Wear leotard means they got instant immunity and exempted from traffic rules.

But at the same time, they expect all motorists to be rule abiding to them.

Champion.

full report is out:

NATIONAL cyclist Vincent Ang is once again in the news for non-sporting reasons.

Citizen journalism website Stomp posted two videos of the SEA Games hopeful being heckled by a driver whose car was involved in a collision with Ang's bicycle early on Wednesday morning.

The accident, which resulted in Ang's bike being pinned under the car, took place near Dunearn Road and Adam Road. It is not clear how the accident occurred.

But the clips, which Ang himself recorded and uploaded on his Facebook account, show the unidentified driver smiling and telling the cyclist - who was not hurt in the accident - to remove his helmet so Ang can "take his picture also".

A police officer stands in the way to prevent the driver from squaring up to Ang. From the videos, the cyclist appears to remain quiet during this time.

The second clip shows his bicycle wedged under the car, which he captions "This was the bike I really wanna use for the SEA Games..."

The Straits Times understands that Ang was cycling in a group, and the driver was honking at two of the cyclists for 20 seconds before coming to a stop. Ang then stopped and spoke to the driver while holding his bike in front of the car with one hand.

According to one source, the driver, who was smoking, took his cigarette and threw it on the ground. He then accelerated so quickly that the bike was crushed beneath his car wheel.

The driver accused the cyclists of hogging the middle of the road, and was hurling vulgarities at them, the source added. He continued to behave aggressively even after police officers arrived.

Police told The Straits Times they received a call at 4.54am requesting for assistance along Adam Road towards Lornie Road. They established that a dispute had occurred between a cyclist and a car driver, and are looking into the matter.

The Singapore Cycling Federation issued a statement on Wednesday night.

It read: "A police report has been made and investigations are currently underway. Ang remains focused on his SEA Games preparations and the event, which is less than three months away.

"No further comments will be made on this matter until it has been resolved by the authorities.

"The Singapore Cycling Federation is thankful that our national cyclist and South-east Asian Games prospect was unscathed.

"We would like to take this opportunity to remind all drivers and riders to drive and ride safely and to be responsible for their actions when it comes to other road users. It is possible for drivers and cyclists to share the road in a harmonious manner."

Ang was also featured on Stomp in January for carrying his two-year-old son in one arm and his mobile phone in the other hand as he allegedly cycled "fast" down Rifle Range Road - all while clad in the red and white of the national cycling team.

He also made the news in 2010 after clashing with a prime mover driver following an apparent road-rage incident.

One of two sprint specialists in a squad of mainly endurance cyclists, Ang is part of a six-man road-race team tasked with winning Singapore's first medal in the event.

He also races on the Asian circuit of the International Cycling Union (UCI) with Thai outfit, Singha Infinite Cycling Team.

- See more at: http://www.straitstimes.com/news/sport/more-sport-stories/story/cycling-singapore-rider-vincent-angs-sea-games-bike-damaged-car-#sthash.rJ0Hhjvl.dpuf

Edited by Eighttales

full report is out:

NATIONAL cyclist Vincent Ang is once again in the news for non-sporting reasons.

Citizen journalism website Stomp posted two videos of the SEA Games hopeful being heckled by a driver whose car was involved in a collision with Ang's bicycle early on Wednesday morning.

The accident, which resulted in Ang's bike being pinned under the car, took place near Dunearn Road and Adam Road. It is not clear how the accident occurred.

But the clips, which Ang himself recorded and uploaded on his Facebook account, show the unidentified driver smiling and telling the cyclist - who was not hurt in the accident - to remove his helmet so Ang can "take his picture also".

A police officer stands in the way to prevent the driver from squaring up to Ang. From the videos, the cyclist appears to remain quiet during this time.

The second clip shows his bicycle wedged under the car, which he captions "This was the bike I really wanna use for the SEA Games..."

The Straits Times understands that Ang was cycling in a group, and the driver was honking at two of the cyclists for 20 seconds before coming to a stop. Ang then stopped and spoke to the driver while holding his bike in front of the car with one hand.

According to one source, the driver, who was smoking, took his cigarette and threw it on the ground. He then accelerated so quickly that the bike was crushed beneath his car wheel.

The driver accused the cyclists of hogging the middle of the road, and was hurling vulgarities at them, the source added. He continued to behave aggressively even after police officers arrived.

Police told The Straits Times they received a call at 4.54am requesting for assistance along Adam Road towards Lornie Road. They established that a dispute had occurred between a cyclist and a car driver, and are looking into the matter.

The Singapore Cycling Federation issued a statement on Wednesday night.

It read: "A police report has been made and investigations are currently underway. Ang remains focused on his SEA Games preparations and the event, which is less than three months away.

"No further comments will be made on this matter until it has been resolved by the authorities.

"The Singapore Cycling Federation is thankful that our national cyclist and South-east Asian Games prospect was unscathed.

"We would like to take this opportunity to remind all drivers and riders to drive and ride safely and to be responsible for their actions when it comes to other road users. It is possible for drivers and cyclists to share the road in a harmonious manner."

Ang was also featured on Stomp in January for carrying his two-year-old son in one arm and his mobile phone in the other hand as he allegedly cycled "fast" down Rifle Range Road - all while clad in the red and white of the national cycling team.

He also made the news in 2010 after clashing with a prime mover driver following an apparent road-rage incident.

One of two sprint specialists in a squad of mainly endurance cyclists, Ang is part of a six-man road-race team tasked with winning Singapore's first medal in the event.

He also races on the Asian circuit of the International Cycling Union (UCI) with Thai outfit, Singha Infinite Cycling Team.

- See more at: http://www.straitstimes.com/news/sport/more-sport-stories/story/cycling-singapore-rider-vincent-angs-sea-games-bike-damaged-car-#sthash.rJ0Hhjvl.dpuf

wow .. its either Ang's hand damn long or his voice damn loud or this "account" by fellow cyclist was wrong.

How to hold 1 bike infront of the car using one hand while talking to the driver. Then the driver accelerated so quickly that it crush the bike.

must be both guai lan. 1 honk then another not happy put bike infront with the " you dare you crush my bike" kinda attitude then really the driver drive forward to crush the bike. I still dun understand how the driver can accelerate so quickly to crush the bike. Even if the bike is 1 m infront of the car, oso cannot accelerate so much ma..

wow .. its either Ang's hand damn long or his voice damn loud or this "account" by fellow cyclist was wrong.

How to hold 1 bike infront of the car using one hand while talking to the driver. Then the driver accelerated so quickly that it crush the bike.

must be both guai lan. 1 honk then another not happy put bike infront with the " you dare you crush my bike" kinda attitude then really the driver drive forward to crush the bike. I still dun understand how the driver can accelerate so quickly to crush the bike. Even if the bike is 1 m infront of the car, oso cannot accelerate so much ma..

He probably put the bike infront of the car and held on to the saddle of the bike while standing near the front fender on the driver side. I have ever done that before to stop a driver from driving off after hitting me on the bike. Same thing the driver just tried to run over my bike. In the end the TP came and talked to the driver and after that the driver came over and we discussed about how much he should compensate me.

Got a new bicycle from the driver but the driver only got a stern warning. Now the bike that was run over is used for errands where I have to park the bike in public already since its all scratched up.

Ang’s reckless riding splashed on the Net

Shamir OsmanThe New PaperMonday, Feb 02, 2015
289 0 0 0 0

He is no stranger to controversy.

From arguments over national team selection to issues with drivers on the road, Vincent Ang has earned a reputation for being a bit of a renegade in the cycling fraternity.

He was prominent on citizen journalism website Stomp yesterday, carrying his two-and-half year-old son in one arm and his mobile phone in the other hand as he allegedly cycled "fast" down Rifle Range Road - all while clad in the red and white of the national cycling team.

BAD BOY

When The New Paper met the 38-year-old yesterday, there was no sign of the bad boy, though, as the South-east Asia (SEA) Games hopeful admitted his mistake.

Said Ang: "My wife doesn't like it, it's too much of a risk.

"My mum too, she doesn't think it's safe, and she asked me why I did it.

"It's about convenience, but I definitely won't do it any more.

"However skilful a rider I think I am, it's not just worth the risk."

Addressing the incident, Ang explained that he rode his son to a childcare centre a few hundred metres away from his home after just returning from a four-hour early morning training session with the national team.

"People are watching us now (that the SEA Games will be hosted in Singapore in June), and even my family is very excited," added Ang who races on the Asian Circuit of the International Cycling Union (UCI) with Thai outfit, Singha Infinite Cycling Team.

"When I go overseas to race, they think I'm on holiday, but the SEA Games, they definitely know.

"And my mum is even telling people I will be competing."

There is another reason for Ang to stay within the lines - his young teammates in the national team.

One of two sprint specialists in a squad of mainly endurance cyclists, Ang is an integral part of a six-man road race team tasked with winning Singapore's first medal in the event.

"I used to be one of those guys who used to beat red lights when I'm cycling, but I don't do that any more - there is a code of conduct that we sign when we get into the national team.

"But more importantly, I train with a lot of young riders now, and if I do it, they will, too," he said.

"I have to be a role model."

Ang has been in and out of the national team in the past, and his issues with the Singapore Cycling Federation meant he never got to fly the Republic's flag at a SEA Games.

Things are different now.

"I was more individualistic, very vocal about things I didn't agree with, and criticised the old federation a lot," Ang recalled.

GREAT ATMOSPHERE

"But now, there are people in the federation who even put in their own money to help the sport, and they have created a great atmosphere.

"With my history, they could have easily not taken me back, but they are helping us a lot, more than we can give back, so I have to try," said the systems engineer.

Ang was inspired by the commitment he saw from his teammates on a recent nine-day training camp in Ipoh where they put in eight- hour days on the road.

"We have a real team - this is the first time I've ever felt that we've got one - and I'm confident we can win that first medal," he said.

"I'm going to have to take no-pay leave to train with these guys, and maybe even skip some of my (Singha) team's races, but I think it'll be worth it.

"I'll finally get to represent my country at a SEA Games on home ground, and if we can win that medal, in front of our family and friends, I'm sure that'll be an amazing feeling," said Ang.

- See more at: http://news.asiaone.com/news/sports/ang%E2%80%99s-reckless-riding-splashed-net#sthash.UEnidTyg.dpuf

He probably put the bike infront of the car and held on to the saddle of the bike while standing near the front fender on the driver side. I have ever done that before to stop a driver from driving off after hitting me on the bike. Same thing the driver just tried to run over my bike. In the end the TP came and talked to the driver and after that the driver came over and we discussed about how much he should compensate me.

Got a new bicycle from the driver but the driver only got a stern warning. Now the bike that was run over is used for errands where I have to park the bike in public already since its all scratched up.

Its one thing to block a car if he banged u.

Its another to block the car if he honk you.

Is it justifiable to block the car when the car horn you?

I can tell u. The cyclist is no angel

Edited by Soho

Its one thing to block a car if he banged u.

Its another to block the car if he honk you.

Is it justifiable to block the car when the car horn you?

I can tell u. The cyclist is no angel

Both are wrong lor. When idiot met another idiot.. Equal good game.

I have to first qualify that I have nothing against bicyclist or alluding to any particular bicyclist.

Recently before the CNY, I had a near miss incident as a pedestrian with a bicyclist. That incident could seriously have landed me in hospital. It is still haunting me today when I am using a red light crossing.

The incident happened on a Saturday at around 6+ pm when the sun was setting. I was heading from the Bishan Park to the Junction 8 and needed to cross a red light junction along Bishan road. At about 10m before I reached the junction, the traffic light changed to red in favour of pedestrians. All vehicles had stopped and a pedestrian had just started to cross the road. I picked up my pace and started to cross behind that person. I could clearly see the 'green man' was still not flashing. Suddenly, a bicyclist appeared out of no where and zoomed past me at very high speed. He just managed to swerve pass me at the last second to avoid hitting me and he was like less than an arm's length in front of me. I stood rooted to the ground for some time as I was in total shock. From driving experience, his speed could be around 40km/h as I saw him vanished into the distance. The bicyclist did not even look back or signal with his hand for apology.

If all vehicles could stop before the red light, bicyclists should also stop before the red light. It is easy to say all bicyclists and drivers to ride and drive safely and to be responsible for their actions when it comes to other road users. But are there deterrence to weed out errant bicyclists like those used to weed out errant and drivers? I remembered during my younger days, bicyclists had to put on registered numbers on their bicycle. Imagine our cars do not need to put on number plates! How many cars will beat the red light?

I am concerned for our children. My children are taught to cross the red light only when the 'green man' appears. This alone is surely not enough now. A little OT: How many close shaves did our children encounter with bicyclists in the HDB void decks with blind spots? Several for my children. I even had at least 2 encounters with just walking on a pedestrian pavement and getting cut and bruises on my arms from bicyclists.

Geesh! Is the population of bicycles growing too?

I have to first qualify that I have nothing against bicyclist or alluding to any particular bicyclist.

Recently before the CNY, I had a near miss incident as a pedestrian with a bicyclist. That incident could seriously have landed me in hospital. It is still haunting me today when I am using a red light crossing.

The incident happened on a Saturday at around 6+ pm when the sun was setting. I was heading from the Bishan Park to the Junction 8 and needed to cross a red light junction along Bishan road. At about 10m before I reached the junction, the traffic light changed to red in favour of pedestrians. All vehicles had stopped and a pedestrian had just started to cross the road. I picked up my pace and started to cross behind that person. I could clearly see the 'green man' was still not flashing. Suddenly, a bicyclist appeared out of no where and zoomed past me at very high speed. He just managed to swerve pass me at the last second to avoid hitting me and he was like less than an arm's length in front of me. I stood rooted to the ground for some time as I was in total shock. From driving experience, his speed could be around 40km/h as I saw him vanished into the distance. The bicyclist did not even look back or signal with his hand for apology.

If all vehicles could stop before the red light, bicyclists should also stop before the red light. It is easy to say all bicyclists and drivers to ride and drive safely and to be responsible for their actions when it comes to other road users. But are there deterrence to weed out errant bicyclists like those used to weed out errant and drivers? I remembered during my younger days, bicyclists had to put on registered numbers on their bicycle. Imagine our cars do not need to put on number plates! How many cars will beat the red light?

I am concerned for our children. My children are taught to cross the red light only when the 'green man' appears. This alone is surely not enough now. A little OT: How many close shaves did our children encounter with bicyclists in the HDB void decks with blind spots? Several for my children. I even had at least 2 encounters with just walking on a pedestrian pavement and getting cut and bruises on my arms from bicyclists.

Geesh! Is the population of bicycles growing too?

Yes, don't understand those cyclist logic. They blame everyone but themselves. The blame drivers never give them space, but they themselves very guai lan, treat the road as their grandfather road, cycle in middle of the lane or worst treat cycling as though riding motorbike, cut from left lane to right lane to make a right turn.

They always say they always ride very safe, but don't know why their words does not justify their actions. Once on the bike, they see red right especially those that is a T junction or just a traffic light for pedestrian to cross the road, they will think I am cycling so do not constitute to driving or riding basic theory. They set their own rule, since I left most lane and red light only if I see pedestrian crossing then I'll slow down and stop if necessary, if not just ride pass red light, some worst expect pedestrian to stop for them since they riding at fast speed.

When accident happen, they will blame cars for not keeping a lookout for them, they blame pedestrian blocking their way that cause them to take evasive actions that cause them to fall or they blame the traffic light design etc but not them.

So talk about fairness?? Pui.. respect road users and traffic light signals before people can respect them. Don't expect people to respect those cyclist that have no basic respect of the mentioned above.

Edited by Yewheng

What I did when I was cycling in my teens was to cycle just outside the yellow lines, so that I have a bit of space on the left to retreat to if something comes too close for comfort.

If I cycled too close to the kerb, I wouldn't have any safety zone at all. Best option would then be to jump bike or eat kerb.

But mind you, I didn't wear spandex leotard like these fools. Local singapore standard, t-shirt, shorts and a mountain bike.

Back then, I was already aware of most of the traffic rules (always sat in dad's van when going out) and I did my best to follow them. Stopping at a red light is a must for my own safety, so I don't know why these spandex fools are so gung-ho and yaya to run red lights whenever they can.

If something happens that they can't react to, then it's cycling in the afterlife for them. And poor motorist who kena sabo by these jokers.

Actually I already gave him some space but if that bugger is cycling out of the yellow lines, how much more space can I give him?

Cyclists like this will have to buy more insurance in fact. Its good for their families. I see all kinds of cyclist "terrorists" on the road in recent years and its actually a fact that many lie horizonally on the road recently. The govt should do something about this before more cyclist die on the road.

If you are a cyclist and had a near-miss incident, would you still have the mood to take video?

I know I wouldn't, probably too hyped up by adrenalin to do anything.

Yet this Vincent Ang still can take video and post on the web.

I say he was all ready to stir shit on the web.

There are 2 sides of a coin. I think this picture was posted on facebook to make the driver look bad and as usual, many people look at face value.

If you insist on your right of way and right to use the road as a cyclist, you will eat tarmac sooner or later.

Sorry but it's the truth. You should get off your horse as well.

Don't mean to fume, but bicycles have as much right to be on the road as drivers. I see many retards in this thread posting about how bicycles have no right to be on the road etc (cos they don't pay road tax?)

Get off your high horse and stop thinking you're a higher class citizen just because you can afford a damn car. Roads are meant for EVERYONE, not just cars and motorbikes.

I say this as someone who rides a bicycle on the roads, rides a motorcycle on the roads and also drives a car on the roads. I have 6 bicycles, a motorbike and a car. What makes you think that when I ride my bicycle, I'm inferior to you on the roads? It's a uniquely Singaporean way of thinking.

Is it really so difficult to keep your wits about you when you see a vulnerable vehicle on the road? Keep 1.5m away and all is clear. Don't forget that when you get into an accident with a bicycle (or motorbike for that matter), the damage you suffer may just be a scratched bumper and some lost time but somebody's family might not have a father/mother/son/daughter anymore.

Just F**KING bear that in mind and everyone goes home happy. Understood?

See pests on the road? Spray baygon or mortein on 'em b1tches! [laugh]

haiz... can only says that this group of cyclist is nothing but pest on the road.... they expect all vehicle knows their present and didnt know what is blindspot... The few drivers in the video is very kind, one of the car almost stop the car in the middle of the road giving way to them.

What they need is 1 xiao kia driver who bo chap and never give way, can easily kill few cyclist within a few seconds

There are many reasons why people feel bicycles should not be on the road, lack of registration, lack of insurance or just plainly dangerous for themselves. The truth is Singapore driving culture is not gracious enough to accommodate both drivers and cylist together in a safe environment, but I can see people generally do give way or avoid them if possible.

To make matters worse cyclist generally do not like slowing down, which means they generally do not like to give way. I've seen cases where a cyclist would not give way even though a motorcycle does. Locals on motorcycles know when a car starts signalling slow down and give way for some reason this logic seems lost on cyclist despite being the practice here for decades now.

Anyway despite all these hazards and safely concerns your first thought to that is to assume everyone looks on cyclist (despite previous post highlighting more toward safety) because of quote "I'm inferior to you on the roads? It's a uniquely Singaporean way of thinking."

Shame on you really, there are better ways to disagree then calling people on a civilized forum "retards".

Always give way to the bigger vehicles cause its your life at stake, as drivers we would do our part to keep the roads safe

Understand that!

Don't mean to fume, but bicycles have as much right to be on the road as drivers. I see many retards in this thread posting about how bicycles have no right to be on the road etc (cos they don't pay road tax?)

Get off your high horse and stop thinking you're a higher class citizen just because you can afford a damn car. Roads are meant for EVERYONE, not just cars and motorbikes.

I say this as someone who rides a bicycle on the roads, rides a motorcycle on the roads and also drives a car on the roads. I have 6 bicycles, a motorbike and a car. What makes you think that when I ride my bicycle, I'm inferior to you on the roads? It's a uniquely Singaporean way of thinking.

Is it really so difficult to keep your wits about you when you see a vulnerable vehicle on the road? Keep 1.5m away and all is clear. Don't forget that when you get into an accident with a bicycle (or motorbike for that matter), the damage you suffer may just be a scratched bumper and some lost time but somebody's family might not have a father/mother/son/daughter anymore.

Just F**KING bear that in mind and everyone goes home happy. Understood?

One cyclist do not cause problem

But in this case, I dunno what to say

reminds me of those military forces using human shields to protect key installations fm air raid and other attacks.

Takes 2 hands to clap. Kwai lan number 1 meet kwai lan number 2. Love at first sight and sparks flew.

Why cyclist dun stop at red light one?

1) no licence plate - can't be traced (well, unless u r SEA games team cyclist [lipsrsealed] )

2) no need scared licence kantong (no traceabilty, no license, no demerit point)

3) they wear ironman suit. oh wait.... that's the supertriathalon, not Tony Stark's version.

Takes 2 hands to clap. Kwai lan number 1 meet kwai lan number 2. Love at first sight and sparks flew.

can we create another thread, reckless cyclist and post their videos with their faces if possible????

got at least 6-8GB HD to post it.....every morning at telok blangah already got 2 liow..... [:p][:p]