Kueijie Clutched March 2, 2015 Share March 2, 2015 (edited) Hi Guys, Just wanna spread and share the news of this "Unlicensed Taxi Driver" so you can warn any of ur beloved friends/relatives when they came to Singapore. Personally, one of my oversea friend came to singapore 3 weeks ago (just before CNY) also kanna this type "unlicensed taxi" too. Btw, my friend is NOT the poster of this link. Though cannot say is this particular guy, as my friend thought (being bluffed) he was an official taxi driver. But my friend was charged $45 from Robertson Quay Hotel to Alexandra Ikea area, fixed price. Only after my friend checked with me, then we realised something was not right, but that was too late. https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=1011898362172154&set=a.389305291098134.105936.100000559982993&type=1 Edited March 2, 2015 by Kueijie ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator March 2, 2015 Share March 2, 2015 i think with the Uber Apps, any car can be a private taxi, that was why many countries banned the apps. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic March 2, 2015 Share March 2, 2015 (edited) Poh mata mah. Anyway if your friend just walk away w/o paying. The driver also LL. Offer to pay $20 or whatever reasonable. Ai lai mai sua. Edited March 2, 2015 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic March 2, 2015 Share March 2, 2015 Taxi apps should be banned. There is no control and what is LTA doing when they should be doing what they are very good at ? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic March 2, 2015 Share March 2, 2015 Taxi apps should be banned. There is no control and what is LTA doing when they should be doing what they are very good at ? i think GrabTaxi good leh ? why should be banned leh ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged March 2, 2015 Share March 2, 2015 anyone here join Uber using own private car? Can stand-by at Karaoke joint to pick up chiobu....kekekek 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic March 2, 2015 Share March 2, 2015 sometimes i really don't understand. Singapore got so many taxis still wanna get on "black" car ?? No taxi sign on car just walk away. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged March 2, 2015 Share March 2, 2015 hehe.. why got people so gullible? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jimmylim 4th Gear March 2, 2015 Share March 2, 2015 hehe.. why got people so gullible? you look at various queues out there for different types of products or services, it is easy. hahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic March 2, 2015 Share March 2, 2015 (edited) i think GrabTaxi good leh ? why should be banned leh ? Dunno about GrabTaxi, but I think there should be better control. Like if you want to book a taxi, you call taxi company number, not any tom-dick-harry number. If you want to book a taxi using an app, it should be coming from the taxi company and/or LTA. Not an app like uber which a country's authority has no control and goes around the world, inserting themselves into the market with impunity. Then you get cases like being cheated; on in India, customers get raped. Then, we're back to the old days of "pirate" taxis, with no accountability. Edited March 2, 2015 by Kb27 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged March 2, 2015 Share March 2, 2015 They use the phone as a meter. Phone GPS? That's like the most unreliable and deleted GPS out there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged March 2, 2015 Share March 2, 2015 Hi Guys, Just wanna spread and share the news of this "Unlicensed Taxi Driver" so you can warn any of ur beloved friends/relatives when they came to Singapore. Personally, one of my oversea friend came to singapore 3 weeks ago (just before CNY) also kanna this type "unlicensed taxi" too. Btw, my friend is NOT the poster of this link. Though cannot say is this particular guy, as my friend thought (being bluffed) he was an official taxi driver. But my friend was charged $45 from Robertson Quay Hotel to Alexandra Ikea area, fixed price. Only after my friend checked with me, then we realised something was not right, but that was too late. Since took the "taxi" from a hotel lobby, we can check with the hotel for CCTV footage or any info on the vehicle or driver. That is, if the passenger wants to pursue the matter. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xers007 Supercharged March 2, 2015 Share March 2, 2015 Uber driver cannot just pick up passenger from the road nor passenger can flag it down on the road... all must be book thru the system... can complain straight to the authority if the driver flout the rule... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
efssc 5th Gear March 2, 2015 Share March 2, 2015 Side track a bit (wow, seems I've been side-tracking quite a lot lately, sorry). I think getting "chopped carrot" is not the worst thing that can happen, I had bad experiences in China, first time was in Beijing, where I got up a "private taxi" after seeing the super-long queue at the airport taxi stand, ended up the guy drove to a secluded area where 3 other guys came on, 1 in front passenger and 2 more one on each of my side and you guessed it... ROBBERY. Second time was in Shenzhen, after lesson learnt I spent an hour just queuing for a legit cab, with cab light on top, uniformed driver, license displayed, the WORKS. 3 minutes later, same scenario; secluded area, 3 guys, and you guessed it again... ROBBERY. Well, at least on both occasions they were willing to negotiate (they didn't take all I have, they asked for a certain amount and both times I managed to nego it down to around half), and they did drop me off where I wanted to go so. And please do not get this wrong, I travel to China countless times and took taxis there like drinking water, and out of the hundred of times I flagged down a cab, I was only robbed twice, so that is not the norm. In fact if you ask me, I would be more fearful of taking taxis in Malaysia or Batam than China. Just saying getting "chopped carrot" isn't necessarily the worst thing that can happen, and if we ever really get into trouble and can get out by offering money, I think that's the smallest price we can pay. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
flashbang Turbocharged March 2, 2015 Share March 2, 2015 Side track a bit (wow, seems I've been side-tracking quite a lot lately, sorry). I think getting "chopped carrot" is not the worst thing that can happen, I had bad experiences in China, first time was in Beijing, where I got up a "private taxi" after seeing the super-long queue at the airport taxi stand, ended up the guy drove to a secluded area where 3 other guys came on, 1 in front passenger and 2 more one on each of my side and you guessed it... ROBBERY. Second time was in Shenzhen, after lesson learnt I spent an hour just queuing for a legit cab, with cab light on top, uniformed driver, license displayed, the WORKS. 3 minutes later, same scenario; secluded area, 3 guys, and you guessed it again... ROBBERY. Well, at least on both occasions they were willing to negotiate (they didn't take all I have, they asked for a certain amount and both times I managed to nego it down to around half), and they did drop me off where I wanted to go so. And please do not get this wrong, I travel to China countless times and took taxis there like drinking water, and out of the hundred of times I flagged down a cab, I was only robbed twice, so that is not the norm. In fact if you ask me, I would be more fearful of taking taxis in Malaysia or Batam than China. Just saying getting "chopped carrot" isn't necessarily the worst thing that can happen, and if we ever really get into trouble and can get out by offering money, I think that's the smallest price we can pay. Wow you are quite unlucky... stay safe and glad those guys were nice and didn't get violent. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged March 2, 2015 Share March 2, 2015 The other day I was at Ngee Ann Poly main entrance and I saw a young chap drove up to the bus stop. Passengers all made payment to him before alighting, looks like S$2 each. Very good business ahh? Maybe pick up from either Clementi or Dover MRT . . . 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunset73 5th Gear March 2, 2015 Share March 2, 2015 Side track a bit (wow, seems I've been side-tracking quite a lot lately, sorry). I think getting "chopped carrot" is not the worst thing that can happen, I had bad experiences in China, first time was in Beijing, where I got up a "private taxi" after seeing the super-long queue at the airport taxi stand, ended up the guy drove to a secluded area where 3 other guys came on, 1 in front passenger and 2 more one on each of my side and you guessed it... ROBBERY. Second time was in Shenzhen, after lesson learnt I spent an hour just queuing for a legit cab, with cab light on top, uniformed driver, license displayed, the WORKS. 3 minutes later, same scenario; secluded area, 3 guys, and you guessed it again... ROBBERY. Well, at least on both occasions they were willing to negotiate (they didn't take all I have, they asked for a certain amount and both times I managed to nego it down to around half), and they did drop me off where I wanted to go so. And please do not get this wrong, I travel to China countless times and took taxis there like drinking water, and out of the hundred of times I flagged down a cab, I was only robbed twice, so that is not the norm. In fact if you ask me, I would be more fearful of taking taxis in Malaysia or Batam than China. Just saying getting "chopped carrot" isn't necessarily the worst thing that can happen, and if we ever really get into trouble and can get out by offering money, I think that's the smallest price we can pay. In China, this is kinda normal. Maybe depends on which city you are in also. I was in Guangzhou for 6 months, took countless taxis, mostly private, nothing happened also. In the town where I was in, licensed taxis are hard to come by, so the main mode of transportation was private car, motorcycle, bus, walk. I love the motorcycle experience. 5km distance cost me 7RMB as a pillion without helmet they ride so fast that my eyes can't even open! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
efssc 5th Gear March 2, 2015 Share March 2, 2015 Wow you are quite unlucky... stay safe and glad those guys were nice and didn't get violent. In China, this is kinda normal. Maybe depends on which city you are in also. I was in Guangzhou for 6 months, took countless taxis, mostly private, nothing happened also. In the town where I was in, licensed taxis are hard to come by, so the main mode of transportation was private car, motorcycle, bus, walk. I love the motorcycle experience. 5km distance cost me 7RMB as a pillion without helmet they ride so fast that my eyes can't even open! haha.. could also be because I have the "gong-gia" face, easier to target. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...