Pioneer 4th Gear April 6, 2015 Share April 6, 2015 Share more, dun leave us hanging. Was recently involved in a scam with a 2nd hand dealer. Please bring in someone experienced during the car buying process. all the best. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
flashbang Turbocharged April 6, 2015 Share April 6, 2015 Was recently involved in a scam with a 2nd hand dealer. Please bring in someone experienced during the car buying process. all the best. What happened? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged April 6, 2015 Share April 6, 2015 I came across this on the intertubes and felt compelled to share it somewhere - I guess this is as good a place as anywhere... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pioneer 4th Gear April 6, 2015 Share April 6, 2015 They never show you full picture. All her holes all leaking. You still want? I came across this on the intertubes and felt compelled to share it somewhere - I guess this is as good a place as anywhere... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bamms Neutral Newbie April 7, 2015 Share April 7, 2015 Hello everyone, I'm a newbie, thus I can only reply to posts, so this may not have anything to do with the original posting. I need some urgent advice. I bought a used Mazda RX8 from a car dealer less than 2 mths ago. It was STA inspected etc, etc and sent for evaluation, all was alright until I started using the car. It kept dying on me. So went back to car dealer, he sent to workshop, cut story short, after a month they finally replaced the CO sensor or something to that effect. Then, another issue, the car overheats too darn frequently, plus noticed it hits just about any hump, especially when I have one extra passenger at the back, or even my grocery shopping!! So sent to Autobacs for initital check and they diagnosed; Engine oil and gear oil are dirty. Flushed and topped up the oil. Radiator water too low. Topped up. Paid almost $600 for that. More diagnosis; The gaskets for the engine needs to be replaced; it is causing air leakage; hence the radiator water bubbled and spilled to the drainage tube. We were told to top up the water every 2 days to avoid radiator water from drying up. The temperature in the car gets hot due to radiator not cooling off the system although the air con fan is turning. The rear wheel absorber(damper) may have burst/break and need to be replaced - car cannot have rear seat passenger because the bottom of the car will graze any hump. Absorber could also be the reason why the tyres are worn off. Also need to check wheel alignment/angle that contribute to the worn off tyres. **************** I went back to car dealer and he was sorry this happened and advised me to change what is necessary first. I doubt they would cover any of the above. They may do the first service, but I can't be too sure about that. Problem is - this will likely set me back at least $6000-$10000. MY QUESTION; Should I just get rid of the car??? Car is due for deregistration in 2017. Is it even worth doing an overhaul? Even though I've got it for only 2mths. It's been in the workshop more than it has been with me. I still have an outstanding loan with the bank, 20 more months to be exact. What should I do?? Is it even possible to resell the car at this early stage? If I do, should I trade in? Sell to dealers? Use Quotz? Please please advise.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic April 7, 2015 Share April 7, 2015 Hello everyone, I'm a newbie, thus I can only reply to posts, so this may not have anything to do with the original posting. I need some urgent advice. I bought a used Mazda RX8 from a car dealer less than 2 mths ago. It was STA inspected etc, etc and sent for evaluation, all was alright until I started using the car. It kept dying on me. So went back to car dealer, he sent to workshop, cut story short, after a month they finally replaced the CO sensor or something to that effect. Then, another issue, the car overheats too darn frequently, plus noticed it hits just about any hump, especially when I have one extra passenger at the back, or even my grocery shopping!! So sent to Autobacs for initital check and they diagnosed; Engine oil and gear oil are dirty. Flushed and topped up the oil. Radiator water too low. Topped up. Paid almost $600 for that. More diagnosis; The gaskets for the engine needs to be replaced; it is causing air leakage; hence the radiator water bubbled and spilled to the drainage tube. We were told to top up the water every 2 days to avoid radiator water from drying up. The temperature in the car gets hot due to radiator not cooling off the system although the air con fan is turning. The rear wheel absorber(damper) may have burst/break and need to be replaced - car cannot have rear seat passenger because the bottom of the car will graze any hump. Absorber could also be the reason why the tyres are worn off. Also need to check wheel alignment/angle that contribute to the worn off tyres. **************** I went back to car dealer and he was sorry this happened and advised me to change what is necessary first. I doubt they would cover any of the above. They may do the first service, but I can't be too sure about that. Problem is - this will likely set me back at least $6000-$10000. MY QUESTION; Should I just get rid of the car??? Car is due for deregistration in 2017. Is it even worth doing an overhaul? Even though I've got it for only 2mths. It's been in the workshop more than it has been with me. I still have an outstanding loan with the bank, 20 more months to be exact. What should I do?? Is it even possible to resell the car at this early stage? If I do, should I trade in? Sell to dealers? Use Quotz? Please please advise.... of all places you choose to go autobacs... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bamms Neutral Newbie April 7, 2015 Share April 7, 2015 of all places you choose to go autobacs... And that helps me how? I'm asking for advice, not ambiguous comments. I didn't choose to go to Autobacs, it was the only workshop opened till 3pm on CNY eve. If I know of any other workshops, that don't try to fleece you alive, or lie through their teeth I am sure to stick to them. Last workshop that handled the car, insisted they changed the sensor, but they never did. Nevermind that, it doesn't matter which workshop I go to, my question isn't related to that?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
recayong Neutral Newbie April 7, 2015 Share April 7, 2015 And that helps me how? I'm asking for advice, not ambiguous comments. I didn't choose to go to Autobacs, it was the only workshop opened till 3pm on CNY eve. If I know of any other workshops, that don't try to fleece you alive, or lie through their teeth I am sure to stick to them. Last workshop that handled the car, insisted they changed the sensor, but they never did. Nevermind that, it doesn't matter which workshop I go to, my question isn't related to that?? Dealer given you any waranty when yo bought the car? Maybe you should go back back dealer and change another car with them since only 2 months. btw can share which dealer? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged April 7, 2015 Share April 7, 2015 First thing.... Try to see if lemon law applies. Go to consumer association to see if they can give advice. Second lesson...I have never heard anything good about STA inspection. Next time try AA. Hello everyone, I'm a newbie, thus I can only reply to posts, so this may not have anything to do with the original posting. I need some urgent advice. I bought a used Mazda RX8 from a car dealer less than 2 mths ago. It was STA inspected etc, etc and sent for evaluation, all was alright until I started using the car. It kept dying on me. So went back to car dealer, he sent to workshop, cut story short, after a month they finally replaced the CO sensor or something to that effect. Then, another issue, the car overheats too darn frequently, plus noticed it hits just about any hump, especially when I have one extra passenger at the back, or even my grocery shopping!! So sent to Autobacs for initital check and they diagnosed; Engine oil and gear oil are dirty. Flushed and topped up the oil. Radiator water too low. Topped up. Paid almost $600 for that. More diagnosis; The gaskets for the engine needs to be replaced; it is causing air leakage; hence the radiator water bubbled and spilled to the drainage tube. We were told to top up the water every 2 days to avoid radiator water from drying up. The temperature in the car gets hot due to radiator not cooling off the system although the air con fan is turning. The rear wheel absorber(damper) may have burst/break and need to be replaced - car cannot have rear seat passenger because the bottom of the car will graze any hump. Absorber could also be the reason why the tyres are worn off. Also need to check wheel alignment/angle that contribute to the worn off tyres. **************** I went back to car dealer and he was sorry this happened and advised me to change what is necessary first. I doubt they would cover any of the above. They may do the first service, but I can't be too sure about that. Problem is - this will likely set me back at least $6000-$10000. MY QUESTION; Should I just get rid of the car??? Car is due for deregistration in 2017. Is it even worth doing an overhaul? Even though I've got it for only 2mths. It's been in the workshop more than it has been with me. I still have an outstanding loan with the bank, 20 more months to be exact. What should I do?? Is it even possible to resell the car at this early stage? If I do, should I trade in? Sell to dealers? Use Quotz? Please please advise.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged April 7, 2015 Share April 7, 2015 (edited) Hello everyone, I'm a newbie, thus I can only reply to posts, so this may not have anything to do with the original posting. I need some urgent advice. I bought a used Mazda RX8 from a car dealer less than 2 mths ago. It was STA inspected etc, etc and sent for evaluation, all was alright until I started using the car. It kept dying on me. So went back to car dealer, he sent to workshop, cut story short, after a month they finally replaced the CO sensor or something to that effect. Then, another issue, the car overheats too darn frequently, plus noticed it hits just about any hump, especially when I have one extra passenger at the back, or even my grocery shopping!! So sent to Autobacs for initital check and they diagnosed; Engine oil and gear oil are dirty. Flushed and topped up the oil. Radiator water too low. Topped up. Paid almost $600 for that. More diagnosis; The gaskets for the engine needs to be replaced; it is causing air leakage; hence the radiator water bubbled and spilled to the drainage tube. We were told to top up the water every 2 days to avoid radiator water from drying up. The temperature in the car gets hot due to radiator not cooling off the system although the air con fan is turning. The rear wheel absorber(damper) may have burst/break and need to be replaced - car cannot have rear seat passenger because the bottom of the car will graze any hump. Absorber could also be the reason why the tyres are worn off. Also need to check wheel alignment/angle that contribute to the worn off tyres. **************** I went back to car dealer and he was sorry this happened and advised me to change what is necessary first. I doubt they would cover any of the above. They may do the first service, but I can't be too sure about that. Problem is - this will likely set me back at least $6000-$10000. MY QUESTION; Should I just get rid of the car??? Car is due for deregistration in 2017. Is it even worth doing an overhaul? Even though I've got it for only 2mths. It's been in the workshop more than it has been with me. I still have an outstanding loan with the bank, 20 more months to be exact. What should I do?? Is it even possible to resell the car at this early stage? If I do, should I trade in? Sell to dealers? Use Quotz? Please please advise.... Tyres, shocks and gasket will not cost you 6k, i think. Or visit the Rx8 forum and buy from ppl who are dekitting their ride or selling the stock parts after they changed to aftermarket ones. Pre 08 Rx8 tends to have many problems. Since only left 2 years, unless there is a major engine issue i suggest you do a thorough maintenance and keep it till end of COE. Edited April 7, 2015 by Stratovarius Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic April 7, 2015 Share April 7, 2015 Some dealers say Mercedes cars fetch a lot of value upon scrapping...in the order of 10K, not just mere hundreds..any Merc owners can verify this claim by the dealers? BMW X5 body value is 2.8k nia. you go the quotz thread see lor. they v transparent on body value 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic April 7, 2015 Share April 7, 2015 Hello everyone, I'm a newbie, thus I can only reply to posts, so this may not have anything to do with the original posting. I need some urgent advice. I bought a used Mazda RX8 from a car dealer less than 2 mths ago. It was STA inspected etc, etc and sent for evaluation, all was alright until I started using the car. It kept dying on me. So went back to car dealer, he sent to workshop, cut story short, after a month they finally replaced the CO sensor or something to that effect. Then, another issue, the car overheats too darn frequently, plus noticed it hits just about any hump, especially when I have one extra passenger at the back, or even my grocery shopping!! So sent to Autobacs for initital check and they diagnosed; Engine oil and gear oil are dirty. Flushed and topped up the oil. Radiator water too low. Topped up. Paid almost $600 for that. More diagnosis; The gaskets for the engine needs to be replaced; it is causing air leakage; hence the radiator water bubbled and spilled to the drainage tube. We were told to top up the water every 2 days to avoid radiator water from drying up. The temperature in the car gets hot due to radiator not cooling off the system although the air con fan is turning. The rear wheel absorber(damper) may have burst/break and need to be replaced - car cannot have rear seat passenger because the bottom of the car will graze any hump. Absorber could also be the reason why the tyres are worn off. Also need to check wheel alignment/angle that contribute to the worn off tyres. **************** I went back to car dealer and he was sorry this happened and advised me to change what is necessary first. I doubt they would cover any of the above. They may do the first service, but I can't be too sure about that. Problem is - this will likely set me back at least $6000-$10000. MY QUESTION; Should I just get rid of the car??? Car is due for deregistration in 2017. Is it even worth doing an overhaul? Even though I've got it for only 2mths. It's been in the workshop more than it has been with me. I still have an outstanding loan with the bank, 20 more months to be exact. What should I do?? Is it even possible to resell the car at this early stage? If I do, should I trade in? Sell to dealers? Use Quotz? Please please advise.... flush engine oil and top up radiator water for $600??? you kena tai liao lah RX8 famous for engine issues due to rotary problem. go to a good mazda workshop do a compression test. short of a engine rebuild , anything else is unlikely to fix the problem Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bamms Neutral Newbie April 7, 2015 Share April 7, 2015 Tyres, shocks and gasket will not cost you 6k, i think. Or visit the Rx8 forum and buy from ppl who are dekitting their ride or selling the stock parts after they changed to aftermarket ones. Pre 08 Rx8 tends to have many problems. Since only left 2 years, unless there is a major engine issue i suggest you do a thorough maintenance and keep it till end of COE. Thank you Recayong, Darryn, Stratovarius, Little Prince for your replies. I've got only 2 more replies left. Stratovarius-I got a quote to change gasket/engine overhaul for $4000. So far, I asked one workshop, haven't tried Fuji or MG - supposedly RX8 workshops. Heard they are rather pricey. Not sure how much it will cost to change all the absorber as I have to change front and rear. RX8 registration never comes thru, which is why I ended up here. I am a total car noob. Little Prince, actually there's more to that, I just wrote the major part of the service. What they did in Autobacs was; SM Re tuning? whatever that is... BP Hypogear oil Change of Lub oil Change of oil filter Radiator cap Internal engine flushing Coolant change, jap/con car repair and maintenance And yes I agree, RX8, far too many issues....sigh. . I might take up your advice, to get a compression test done. Whereabouts is a Mazda workshop? First time own Japanese car... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Krypton1999 Neutral Newbie April 7, 2015 Share April 7, 2015 First thing.... Try to see if lemon law applies. Go to consumer association to see if they can give advice. Second lesson...I have never heard anything good about STA inspection. Next time try AA. If you have a regular workshop, send it there for checks, otherwise, AA should be the next best alternative. The salesperson told me, as far as possible, we should send to a workshop of our choice for the inspection. Many prefer to send it to STA thinking they will be neutral, but the salesperson actually informed me they were friends to many of the mechanics in STA. They just have to let them know how many points they want. I was like "huh"? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic April 7, 2015 Share April 7, 2015 Thank you Recayong, Darryn, Stratovarius, Little Prince for your replies. I've got only 2 more replies left. Stratovarius-I got a quote to change gasket/engine overhaul for $4000. So far, I asked one workshop, haven't tried Fuji or MG - supposedly RX8 workshops. Heard they are rather pricey. Not sure how much it will cost to change all the absorber as I have to change front and rear. RX8 registration never comes thru, which is why I ended up here. I am a total car noob. Little Prince, actually there's more to that, I just wrote the major part of the service. What they did in Autobacs was; SM Re tuning? whatever that is... BP Hypogear oil Change of Lub oil Change of oil filter Radiator cap Internal engine flushing Coolant change, jap/con car repair and maintenance And yes I agree, RX8, far too many issues....sigh. . I might take up your advice, to get a compression test done. Whereabouts is a Mazda workshop? First time own Japanese car... http://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2659584-mazda-rx8-ownerspls-come-in/ read thru this thread. alots of good advice inside. good luck man. really heart pain for you. don't mind i ask how much you paid for the car and which dealer? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic April 7, 2015 Share April 7, 2015 And that helps me how? I'm asking for advice, not ambiguous comments. I didn't choose to go to Autobacs, it was the only workshop opened till 3pm on CNY eve. If I know of any other workshops, that don't try to fleece you alive, or lie through their teeth I am sure to stick to them. Last workshop that handled the car, insisted they changed the sensor, but they never did. Nevermind that, it doesn't matter which workshop I go to, my question isn't related to that?? Sorry if I sound harsh. If you do not do home work before making purchase of a make, what can I say? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bamms Neutral Newbie April 7, 2015 Share April 7, 2015 Hi Little Prince, Thank you for the thread! Price of car was $33k and I'm a bit apprehensive on writing who the dealer is, I can PM you if you wish :) They have been kind to me, then again, I'm a girl right, what do I know? :) It's my FIRST TIME buying a second hand car, and I did some research but who's to know what goes on in the car. My Dad whom has bought a few 2nd hand cars in his lifetime gets screwed over at times, despite precaution. I have always bought new cars, until they changed the loan system. Sigh.. Like what Darryn wrote, these dealers have many mechanics contacts they work with. Darryn: Thanks for the tip Darryn, next time I know better, I hope! :) I don't have a regular mechanic, which is why I am clueless whom to trust or go to. The last car I had was a VW and it was always serviced with them. My dealer has replied to my email and he's asked me to send the car over to their workshop for a diagnosis. He gave me a secondary workshop contact (My Garage) as the first one kept saying they changed the sensor, but didn't till the 3rd time I sent the car in after it died on me. MG quoted $4.5k for engine gasket and seal. I probably will send it to the dealer's workshop and let them have a look. Maybe I can ask them to do a compression test?? Don't understand how some people get so opinionated and judgemental when issues like these arise, and they view themselves far above it. http://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2659584-mazda-rx8-ownerspls-come-in/ read thru this thread. alots of good advice inside. good luck man. really heart pain for you. don't mind i ask how much you paid for the car and which dealer? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 7, 2015 Share April 7, 2015 Buying used car not always have problems, still depends on your luck. I have friends and colleagues also bought used car recently, so far none of them have problems with their car or dealer. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...