520i tune to 528i performance

Siewss

Very possible. My 10 yr old engine original 180, after $1K plus tune, 229 HP (+49). so 61 is not really a far fetch number.

Likewise Audi 2.0T can easily be tuned from 182 to 257 using PPC (+75!!!)

http://en.bsr.se/tuning-kits/t/1586

As long as it is turbo, very easy and cheap to get more horses. It is similar to chip manufacturers just designing the fastest chip, but incorporate switches to throttle down the processing speed for chips marketed as lower end.

I hear this somehow i gulp down haha

Additional 50 horsepower will increase the acceleration tremendously

But if not tune properly, heard some cases when going at high speed constant 150kmh, car engine will stall.

I hear this somehow i gulp down haha

Additional 50 horsepower will increase the acceleration tremendously

But if not tune properly, heard some cases when going at high speed constant 150kmh, car engine will stall.

I think I know which brand you are referring to.

I almost gone mine done with them.

One of their "promoter" talk until got dragon got tiger. Say what they tried this map that map and very powerful. Even offer custom map on the dyno tune. So I got suck in. When I got there...the technician made my balls shrunk. He opened my engine bay and tried looking for the various sensor connection. This was because he has never seen my engine type before. In their fairness, they said this map that map, but they never said which map for which engine.

In the end I went to another workshop in the same building. Hint: they specialise in porky.

Edited by Zyklon

high speed engine stall is No. 2 worry ...

No. 1 worry is this .... see pix

aiya ... just buy the car with the power you can pay and accept it ... no point tune up/down/left/right

lup bodykit + swee swee wheel and slamdown look with coilover ... sibei fierce liao ... [laugh]

img_6074-2.jpg

high speed engine stall is No. 2 worry ...

No. 1 worry is this .... see pix

aiya ... just buy the car with the power you can pay and accept it ... no point tune up/down/left/right

lup bodykit + swee swee wheel and slamdown look with coilover ... sibei fierce liao ... [laugh]

img_6074-2.jpg

Look fierce but cant be jioed haha

The OMV difference between 520 and 528 is $2k, but the selling price difference is $17k.

They just removed the 3 yr free servicing from the CNY package.

Siewss,

Shopping around for a replacement for your MPS? I thought you can still wait or backside itch already?

Get the 528i, it will eat up Route 3 for breakfast, lunch and dinner. hahaha...

I will take tuner's representation with respect to HP with a huge pinch of salt. Used to change turbo and chip up using different European tuners and the results were disappointing. Can feel torque increase and torque curve bumped up, but all other objective measurements show very little increase in peak HP.

From my experience, in terms of "consistent" performance:

stock NA horse > stock turbo horse > aftermarket turbo horse

Turbo horse got to watch out for leak boost, lean mixture bla bla bla. One day seems ok, another day like darn sluggish. Sianz.

Very possible. My 10 yr old engine original 180, after $1K plus tune, 229 HP (+49). so 61 is not really a far fetch number.

Likewise Audi 2.0T can easily be tuned from 182 to 257 using PPC (+75!!!)

http://en.bsr.se/tuning-kits/t/1586

As long as it is turbo, very easy and cheap to get more horses. It is similar to chip manufacturers just designing the fastest chip, but incorporate switches to throttle down the processing speed for chips marketed as lower end.

stock is the best [thumbsup]

seriously, i have compared 520i vs 528i inch-by-inch .... cm-by-cm ...

to be honest ... the $17k is definitely worth it ... if can afford

but if the $17k is a stretch ... fk and forget it ... 520i is enough in terms of driving in spore and cheong >200kmph in nsh (no engine stall)

528i is the best drive you can get out of a 2L F10 ...

because the N20B20 2L engine is designed for 245bhp & 350Nm for its optimal performance (sweet spot)

I will take tuner's representation with respect to HP with a huge pinch of salt. Used to change turbo and chip up using different European tuners and the results were disappointing. Can feel torque increase and torque curve bumped up, but all other objective measurements show very little increase in peak HP.

From my experience, in terms of "consistent" performance:

stock NA horse > stock turbo horse > aftermarket turbo horse

Turbo horse got to watch out for leak boost, lean mixture bla bla bla. One day seems ok, another day like darn sluggish. Sianz.

most of the tune give you the kick when you step hard (above certain rpm range)

in that case might as well step hard and why tune

i did ecu tune (proclaim better than piggyback) in my previous ride ... after a while i find it slow

it is all in your mind. if you feel slow ... no tune can fix your hunger for speed

but ... finding a trustworthy PI is as hard as tio TOTO

This is simply untrue as long as you follow two simple golden rules:

1) only go to a PI who is established, i.e. in the business under the same name for a minimum of 5 years without major scandal.

2) only go for ready stock. Don't ever accept assurances in place of an actual car.

I see, i also heard it will improve fc, is that true? or just bs? haha

It did in my M135i. At least until my right foot learned to compensate haha. The extra torque is so addictive. :D

I'm driving an M5 now and have already asked my tuner to bring in the chip. This car drinks like a mother stock. Will let you know if there's any fuel economy after the install.

Lol whats a mother stock?

It did in my M135i. At least until my right foot learned to compensate haha. The extra torque is so addictive. :D

I'm driving an M5 now and have already asked my tuner to bring in the chip. This car drinks like a mother stock. Will let you know if there's any fuel economy after the install.

I think I know which brand you are referring to.

I almost gone mine done with them.

One of their "promoter" talk until got dragon got tiger. Say what they tried this map that map and very powerful. Even offer custom map on the dyno tune. So I got suck in. When I got there...the technician made my balls shrunk. He opened my engine bay and tried looking for the various sensor connection. This was because he has never seen my engine type before. In their fairness, they said this map that map, but they never said which map for which engine.

In the end I went to another workshop in the same building. Hint: they specialise in porky.

Tuning is an art, and I don't quite trust artist [hur] . Alternative is to go with standard package. Too bad PML doesn't do offer in-house tuning for their turbo-ed cars

TS ... MTL ...

This was what brought me to the showroom. They have demo / program / test cars with $20k~30k discounts but that's only the 3 and 4 series.

For the 5 series, they offered a $17k discount off the list price. Kind of commensurate with the COE drop. The 520i business is really a plain jane - tuxedo outside, t-shirt inside.

I like the handling of the 520i, but....the pick up sucks