Saving plan for kid future

On 2/16/2015 at 6:35 AM, Wyfitms said:

no need india so far

newcastle medical school is in johor

come, buy a condo in iskandar from me now and keep it for your child to board in 15 yrs time [:)]

i want my 2 yr old son to sign for liverpool in future and wear the famed number 9

work until 30 yr old and retire

hence i am practicing shooting with him everyday

so far he can score against me quite easily, maybe i am a lousy GK [laugh]

Not trying to pour cold water

But most Asian players end up in coca cola championship :D

On 2/17/2015 at 3:00 AM, Thaiyotakamli said:

Not trying to pour cold water

But most Asian players end up in coca cola championship :D

haha, just a dream lah [laugh]

most likely will go up in smoke when he turns pri 1

and get caught up in school rat race [:(]

On 2/16/2015 at 6:35 AM, Wyfitms said:

no need india so far

newcastle medical school is in johor

come, buy a condo in iskandar from me now and keep it for your child to board in 15 yrs time [:)]

i want my 2 yr old son to sign for liverpool in future and wear the famed number 9

work until 30 yr old and retire

hence i am practicing shooting with him everyday

so far he can score against me quite easily, maybe i am a lousy GK [laugh]

newcastle medical school (Johor branch) can practice in SG or not?

Later end up working in Johor as doctor also then how?

On 2/17/2015 at 3:08 AM, Wyfitms said:

haha, just a dream lah [laugh]

most likely will go up in smoke when he turns pri 1

and get caught up in school rat race [:(]

Haha imagine watch own son playing in BPL, vvery intense haha

On 2/17/2015 at 3:11 AM, Kusje said:

newcastle medical school (Johor branch) can practice in SG or not?

Later end up working in Johor as doctor also then how?

Johor cbd still ok

What if in johor kampung lol

My formula very simple.

Every year, i buy $20k worth of bluechip stocks for each child.

By the time they are 21, there should be at least $500k (keeping fingers crossed) per child.

On 2/17/2015 at 11:00 AM, Throttle2 said:

My formula very simple.

Every year, i buy $20k worth of bluechip stocks for each child.

By the time they are 21, there should be at least $500k (keeping fingers crossed) per child.

That is good discipline. Your kids should be very grateful they have you as a parent!

On 2/18/2015 at 3:43 AM, Boringchap said:

That is good discipline. Your kids should be very grateful they have you as a parent!

I certainly hope so.

This doesnt mean i will simply give them themoney wen the time comes.

But at least there will be money to draw on when the time comes........hopefully.

Muayhahahaha

hmmm, so far from what i gathered, most of the people belong to one of these 2 camps.

1. Parents wants the child to be worry free when the time comes, no need scared no money study, bla bla bla, no need worry about loans, and there's some truth to that cos maybe 20 years down the road HDB avg is 800,000 and how much is the freakin study loan for uni??? Very worrying indeed.

2. No need huan loh so much la, limpeh also last time parent never give me money, i also use bank loan or father/mother CPF and payback lor. I'm still surviving. So wat's the problem? My retirement fund more important lor. Just clothe them, feed them till they are uni age, then it's on them already.

Which do you belong to? I'm currently in camp 1, but slowly i'm thinking camp 2 makes some sense.

Read somewhere that even if u provided them loan free life etc... most people take it for granted and end up not so good a person as the camp 2 kids.

Thoughts?

On 2/18/2015 at 10:37 AM, Ahseng said:

hmmm, so far from what i gathered, most of the people belong to one of these 2 camps.

1. Parents wants the child to be worry free when the time comes, no need scared no money study, bla bla bla, no need worry about loans, and there's some truth to that cos maybe 20 years down the road HDB avg is 800,000 and how much is the freakin study loan for uni??? Very worrying indeed.

2. No need huan loh so much la, limpeh also last time parent never give me money, i also use bank loan or father/mother CPF and payback lor. I'm still surviving. So wat's the problem? My retirement fund more important lor. Just clothe them, feed them till they are uni age, then it's on them already.

Which do you belong to? I'm currently in camp 1, but slowly i'm thinking camp 2 makes some sense.

Read somewhere that even if u provided them loan free life etc... most people take it for granted and end up not so good a person as the camp 2 kids.

Thoughts?

Edu funds for children should not be lumped together with retirement fund

Different buckets for different purposes

😅

Thoughts?

As a father, I want the best for my children. But it is even more important that they do not get spoilt. If my kids turn out to be spoilt brats when they grow up, then I would have failed my duty as a father. Even more important, as a Christian, is that I must bring up my children in the training and admonition of the Lord. This means I have to nurture them, guide them, and watch over them.

As for how much I can materially give to them, it all depends on the Lord's blessings. I will try my best, humanly, to do my part by working hard and setting a good example for the kids. God willing, I will have the means and resources to provide well for my children.

If I have the means, I definitely will want to help them as much as I can, while ensuring that I have sufficient resources for retirement for myself and my wife. The last thing I want to do is to be a burden to my children in my old age. They will have their own lives.

To be even more specific, by helping my children, I am referring to helping them get a good education and even helping them start their first home. But the greatest help I can give them is to prepare them fully for the difficult and dangerous world that they have to live in.

Edited by Boringchap

On 2/18/2015 at 1:07 PM, Boringchap said:

As a father, I want the best for my children. But it is even more important that they do not get spoilt. If my kids turn out to be spoilt brats when they grow up, then I would have failed my duty as a father. Even more important, as a Christian, is that I must bring up my children in the training and admonition of the Lord. This means I have to nurture them, guide them, and watch over them.

As for how much I can materially give to them, it all depends on the Lord's blessings. I will try my best, humanly, to do my part by working hard and setting a good example for the kids. God willing, I will have the means and resources to provide well for my children.

If I have the means, I definitely will want to help them as much as I can, while ensuring that I have sufficient resources for retirement for myself and my wife. The last thing I want to do is to be a burden to my children in my old age. They will have their own lives.

To be even more specific, by helping my children, I am referring to helping them get a good education and even helping them start their first home. But the greatest help I can give them is to prepare them fully for the difficult and dangerous world that they have to live in.

Well said, not just give them the fish but teach them to fish.

Teaching the value of delayed gratification and spending within means and provision for future is important. A lot of younger generation just want the most in and latest phone b4 earning a single cent. No prize for guessing who pays.

Thoughts?

I am inbetween both. I have savings plan for each of my kids for their uni education but I expect them to work for it. I will only step in if they really need help lo.

Er the absolute worst case scenario is that they not only dont do well academically, and they cant find job n need to be supported financially for an indefinite period.

And i have personally seen this happening with frens n relatives in reality.

On 2/15/2015 at 3:21 PM, Kangadrool said:

Sure, everyone including me would like to have their kids to be in the upper echelon. However, it's an 'exclusive' club with limited vacancies up there.

What I am saying is, we need to plan for 'worse case' scenario whereby kids don't shine well academically too.

Yeah, I only hear these top guns talk rocks, but have yet to see any concrete actions from them to support handyman education and livelihood.

On 2/19/2015 at 10:50 AM, NightWind said:

Er the absolute worst case scenario is that they not only dont do well academically, and they cant find job n need to be supported financially for an indefinite period.

And i have personally seen this happening with frens n relatives in reality.

As long as they are physically able, I don't see why they can't find a job and need someone to support them unless they are lazy and because they know that others WILL support them.

Remove that support and let them fend for themselves and you will be surprised what they can do when they are desperate.

You r spot on bro. Thats exactly what happened.

On 2/19/2015 at 11:56 AM, Kusje said:

As long as they are physically able, I don't see why they can't find a job and need someone to support them unless they are lazy and because they know that others WILL support them.

Remove that support and let them fend for themselves and you will be surprised what they can do when they are desperate.