BanCoe Hypersonic March 8 Share March 8 On 3/7/2025 at 2:18 PM, Kklee said: IMHO. No experience but I tell others if they use with blue filter, should try to get without it. Expand I just use “ plain vanilla” glasses ( transitions though) nothing else in them ……. They just try to upsell ….. anyways I change glasses every like 18-24 months ….get bored and lotsa scratches and usually get 2 at a go with the ORIAN fella …..they seem more upfront than Lenskart gimmicks or click baiting ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic March 8 Share March 8 On 3/7/2025 at 9:48 AM, BanCoe said: somehow i get a feeling that lenses these days scratch more easily than about 10-15 years ago and also seem to become yellower too more faster..... Hmm Using plastic lenses of course and with transitions (Ok back then I was not using transitions yet .... about 15 years back....also plastic ones) Expand Its the really lousy lenses that will turn yellow easily bah. Those cheap lenses at the super neighborhood shops are the ones that will discolor. But nowadays not so common liao. owndays etc one is ok. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahwhye 5th Gear March 8 Share March 8 On 3/7/2025 at 9:48 AM, BanCoe said: somehow i get a feeling that lenses these days scratch more easily than about 10-15 years ago and also seem to become yellower too more faster..... Hmm Using plastic lenses of course and with transitions (Ok back then I was not using transitions yet .... about 15 years back....also plastic ones) Expand Plastic lens is like that, due to exposure to UV light and heat, unless one stay in airon and indoor most of the time, else sure turns yellow sooner or later. Scratches is really depending on the coating (thus the brand)... and handling Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic March 8 Share March 8 (edited) Me and my family got our specs in Shanghai or Jipun. 30 minutes collect. Get spare pairs since very cheap. Sure can last till next trip. My neighbourhood specs shop has lost my business.... Edited March 8 by Volvobrick 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic March 8 Share March 8 On 3/8/2025 at 2:17 AM, Lala81 said: Its the really lousy lenses that will turn yellow easily bah. Those cheap lenses at the super neighborhood shops are the ones that will discolor. But nowadays not so common liao. owndays etc one is ok. Expand Even Lenskart and Orian turns yellow after about a year ++ generally I change every 2 years or so Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic March 8 Share March 8 On 3/8/2025 at 6:53 AM, BanCoe said: Even Lenskart and Orian turns yellow after about a year ++ generally I change every 2 years or so Expand Why is the lens brand you choose? All my lens used has never change colour. I changed my glasses about every 3 yrs. Lens I had used Essilor, Zeiss, Hoya.. Current set just prescribed in Australia last Dec. This is the 3rd set of progressive lens and astigmatism, high index, blue light etc.. highest grade. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic March 8 Share March 8 On 3/8/2025 at 5:23 AM, Volvobrick said: Me and my family got our specs in Shanghai or Jipun. 30 minutes collect. Get spare pairs since very cheap. Sure can last till next trip. My neighbourhood specs shop has lost my business.... Expand I made 2 pairs for my kids recently in Japan. Collect in 30 mins and at least 30% cheaper than in SG. Didn’t know Shanghai is good for this as well. For my progressive, in Japan, they need 10 days turnaround. The guy who served us used to work in SG as an optician and he said Singapore is 2-3 days turnaround for non in stock lens as factories are near. In Japan, it cannot be done. Was reluctant to take up the courier delivery service which cost almost $200. The Varilux XR lens are so much cheaper than in SG. Hope someone who has use for this information can take advantage of it during a long Japan holiday. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic March 8 Share March 8 On 3/8/2025 at 11:07 AM, Voodooman said: I made 2 pairs for my kids recently in Japan. Collect in 30 mins and at least 30% cheaper than in SG. Didn’t know Shanghai is good for this as well. For my progressive, in Japan, they need 10 days turnaround. The guy who served us used to work in SG as an optician and he said Singapore is 2-3 days turnaround for non in stock lens as factories are near. In Japan, it cannot be done. Was reluctant to take up the courier delivery service which cost almost $200. The Varilux XR lens are so much cheaper than in SG. Hope someone who has use for this information can take advantage of it during a long Japan holiday. Expand I didn't make progressives but took 3 days also for owndays. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic March 8 Share March 8 (edited) On 3/8/2025 at 11:07 AM, Voodooman said: I made 2 pairs for my kids recently in Japan. Collect in 30 mins and at least 30% cheaper than in SG. Didn’t know Shanghai is good for this as well. For my progressive, in Japan, they need 10 days turnaround. The guy who served us used to work in SG as an optician and he said Singapore is 2-3 days turnaround for non in stock lens as factories are near. In Japan, it cannot be done. Was reluctant to take up the courier delivery service which cost almost $200. The Varilux XR lens are so much cheaper than in SG. Hope someone who has use for this information can take advantage of it during a long Japan holiday. Expand For progressive it's 1 day collection in Shanghai if I remember correctly. Edited March 8 by Volvobrick 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic March 8 Share March 8 On 3/8/2025 at 7:31 AM, Tohto said: Why is the lens brand you choose? All my lens used has never change colour. I changed my glasses about every 3 yrs. Lens I had used Essilor, Zeiss, Hoya.. Current set just prescribed in Australia last Dec. This is the 3rd set of progressive lens and astigmatism, high index, blue light etc.. highest grade. Expand I think it’s Crizal iirc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic March 8 Share March 8 On 3/8/2025 at 1:53 PM, BanCoe said: I think it’s Crizal iirc Expand This brand sibei jia lak.... Coating came off in a few weeks. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic March 8 Share March 8 On 3/8/2025 at 11:14 AM, Lala81 said: I didn't make progressives but took 3 days also for owndays. Expand We were at one of the Owndays shops in Osaka and they said 10 days if they don't have the stocks in the shop. I asked if 5 days is doable and was told they can't as mine needs to be ordered from factory. Went to Tanaka Optical and was told the same. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic March 8 Share March 8 On 3/8/2025 at 2:08 PM, Voodooman said: We were at one of the Owndays shops in Osaka and they said 10 days if they don't have the stocks in the shop. I asked if 5 days is doable and was told they can't as mine needs to be ordered from factory. Went to Tanaka Optical and was told the same. Expand Progressive lens with astigmatism and other in will definitely need to wait. I got by in Brisbane. Have a full eye check up by my girl. Yes. She is a certified optometrist in Australia now. No cataract, glaucoma, eye pressure and everything are OK. Order my glasses and collect it 2 weeks+ later after traveling back from Melbourne and Sydney. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic March 8 Share March 8 On 3/8/2025 at 2:23 PM, Tohto said: Progressive lens with astigmatism and other in will definitely need to wait. I got by in Brisbane. Have a full eye check up by my girl. Yes. She is a certified optometrist in Australia now. No cataract, glaucoma, eye pressure and everything are OK. Order my glasses and collect it 2 weeks+ later after traveling back from Melbourne and Sydney. Expand Very good choice of profession. Will never be replaced. Optometrist in Singapore is also a very secure job. Every eye clinic needs them even if not working in the lens companies or the optical shops. Ladies have more patience for it since need more human interaction. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic March 8 Share March 8 On 3/8/2025 at 11:16 AM, Volvobrick said: For progressive it's 1 day collection in Shanghai if I remember correctly. Expand China different culture lah. The shops can reply 客服 at like 11+ at night one... 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic March 8 Share March 8 On 3/8/2025 at 2:23 PM, Tohto said: Progressive lens with astigmatism and other in will definitely need to wait. I got by in Brisbane. Have a full eye check up by my girl. Yes. She is a certified optometrist in Australia now. No cataract, glaucoma, eye pressure and everything are OK. Order my glasses and collect it 2 weeks+ later after traveling back from Melbourne and Sydney. Expand Didn't know your daughter went Australia to study Optometry, looks like your siong days are coming to an end soon. Wah, no cataract? At our age, it is normal to see onset of it. I was told mine can wait a few more years. Why make your glasses in Australia? Are they cost competitive or you get special price? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic March 9 Share March 9 (edited) On 3/8/2025 at 3:03 PM, Lala81 said: Very good choice of profession. Will never be replaced. Optometrist in Singapore is also a very secure job. Every eye clinic needs them even if not working in the lens companies or the optical shops. Ladies have more patience for it since need more human interaction. Expand Yah. In Australia is a highly respect job. She has her own consultation room, and most visit are by appointment only. Their job there including all eye related treatment and medication prescription. Occasionally has some emergency visit for eye treatment. As they are the 1st line of eye consultation there. In Singapore mainly only can work in a eye hospital like SNEC and get less respect. Edited March 9 by Tohto 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic March 9 Share March 9 (edited) On 3/8/2025 at 3:09 PM, Voodooman said: Didn't know your daughter went Australia to study Optometry, looks like your siong days are coming to an end soon. Wah, no cataract? At our age, it is normal to see onset of it. I was told mine can wait a few more years. Why make your glasses in Australia? Are they cost competitive or you get special price? Expand My girl employee discount 50%, can use for family. My previous 2 set made in Singapore cost me about S$1k+ with progressive and all higher grade. This time I am paying S$600+ after discount. Her company is under Essilor Luxottica. Edited March 9 by Tohto ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...