Recommendation for Spectacles

Atrecord

On 11/10/2024 at 2:20 AM, Dafansu said:

taobao? this type can use, won't go blind? 

Expand  

Ha, last check from poly xiao mei mei still can see, just that cholesterol detected in my eyes.
I had been buying spec from taobao since 3-4yrs ago. I do not find any differences from owndays or lenskart or non branded lens from SG or MY.

The downside is you do not get to try the frame, might be slight risk that the frame does not fit on your nose bridge. You can also mail your own frame to the taobao shop and they can fit the lens for you and mail back.

If you want branded lens, best buy in SG. Taobao can forget it.

On 11/10/2024 at 3:00 AM, Ghgan said:

Ha, last check from poly xiao mei mei still can see, just that cholesterol detected in my eyes.
I had been buying spec from taobao since 3-4yrs ago. I do not find any differences from owndays or lenskart or non branded lens from SG or MY.

The downside is you do not get to try the frame, might be slight risk that the frame does not fit on your nose bridge. You can also mail your own frame to the taobao shop and they can fit the lens for you and mail back.

If you want branded lens, best buy in SG. Taobao can forget it.

Expand  

this is just the frame or include lens? usually progressive lens need to custom made to adjust your viewing range as everyone is different. 

On 11/8/2024 at 5:53 AM, mersaylee said:

I suspect that too...the coating oredi done inside the lens...but that means the shop must have a large stock of various variants...including progressive, transitional...just need to cut to shape gor the frame and to the required eye power 

Expand  

Lens are made in factory, coating have to be done in clean-room-like environment, no way inside shop can do.

Shops that do 2~3 hours collection typically has a stock of lens in common power range, something they called in-house brand, or can get them delivered fast, they just do cutting to fit to the frame, in the shop or some backend location.

But if yours is uncommon high power or astig or some branded stuff, bo bian still have to wait for days or weeks for factory to churn it out.

On 11/10/2024 at 1:29 AM, Voodooman said:

You play contact sports?

I still have my first Lindberg frame from >10 years ago. The color has not faded at all.  Same for my Zeiss.  Lindberg titanium can take a lot of abuse. 

Expand  

Define contact sports...i play mahjong with xmm also got contact...😁

On 11/10/2024 at 3:08 AM, Dafansu said:

this is just the frame or include lens? usually progressive lens need to custom made to adjust your viewing range as everyone is different. 

Expand  

Yes. custom made, but China lens factory is everywhere. During non 11.11 period, you can order the lens in the morning and late afternoon or next day it is ready to collect. I had received the spec within 9 days after placing order via air shipping from taobao direct shipping and cost around $4 for airship.

What you need is your eye prescription and the PD measurement and message the taobao seller and order the lens and frame separately from the same taobao seller. Otherwise for short sighted and transition lens, can just order the frame and lens together as 1 order as most of the taobao seller listing for frame come with various type of shorted sighted lens.

Wow....oredi with local optical shops, they can't seem to get it right despite smlj measure here n there. And that is after physically trying on dozens of frames to make sure i continue to look like Aaron Kwok 

I realli can't imagine ordering prescription glasses via taobao.....

On 11/10/2024 at 6:30 AM, Soya said:

Wow....oredi with local optical shops, they can't seem to get it right despite smlj measure here n there. And that is after physically trying on dozens of frames to make sure i continue to look like Aaron Kwok 

I realli can't imagine ordering prescription glasses via taobao.....

Expand  

Me too. My optician is also my image consultant. 

Really, a good frame can make or break a cum.  😂😂😂

On 11/10/2024 at 7:31 AM, Voodooman said:

Me too. My optician is also my image consultant. 

Really, a good frame can make or break a cum.  😂😂😂

Expand  

Wah sei...ur optician happening sia. Got cum n all

And mersaylee got xmm to clear his....dunno wat

Gotta change my optician liao 

On 11/9/2024 at 1:26 AM, Playtime said:

Can buy as cheap backup in case main one lost, crushed etc ... esp if travelling.😄

Tio once before accidentally broke my glasses while holidaying 😵. Lesson learnt. 

Expand  

I am almost like blind without my glasses. Can't see my phone, can see what I am eating clearly. 

Basically will bring extra pair of glasses when travelling just in case broke or misplaced. I have previously gotten prescriptive glasses but I can't really take care them....  so eventually bought about 4 pairs of the same type from Taobao. Light and with flexible frame, tested it and really can filter out the ultraviolet light. When shone through the lens, the $50 noted reflective portion got filter out. 

It's only $30+ a pair. 

There was once I went out and forgotten my glasses, can't see menu, can't see phone, then went to a few popular glasses shop, all don't carry non-prescritive presbyopia glasses. Finally found one that sells. 

Got fed up so buy a few pairs, one in car, one at work desk, one in office, one spare.

Edited by Atonchia

On 11/10/2024 at 7:59 AM, Atonchia said:

I am almost like blind without my glasses. Can't see my phone, can see what I am eating clearly. 

Basically will bring extra pair of glasses when travelling just in case broke or misplaced. I have previously gotten prescriptive glasses but I can't really take care them....  so eventually bought about 4 pairs of the same type from Taobao. Light with and flexible frame, tested it and really can filter out the ultraviolet light. When shone through the lens, the $50 noted reflective portion got filter out. 

It's only $30+ a pair. 

There was once I went out and forgotten my glasses, can't see menu, can't see phone, then went to a few popular glasses shop, all don't carry non-prescritive presbyopia glasses. Finally found out that sells one. 

Got fed up so buy a few pairs, one in car, one at work desk, one in office, one spare.

Expand  

Yours cannot lasik ah? Sounds very bad leh.

Presbyopia can do Lasik?

Thought only myopia can do Lasik to re-contour the cornea? 

Basically anything from within a metre, my eyes cannot focus, think my lens hardened. Still can see far clearly.

Went specialist to check, said both eyes all good. So just stick to reading glass for now. 

Surgery may not be the best option.

https://eagleeyecentre.com.sg/service/treatment-options-for-presbyopia/

Edited by Atonchia

On 11/10/2024 at 7:59 AM, Atonchia said:

Basically will bring extra pair of glasses when travelling just in case broke or misplaced. I have previously gotten prescriptive glasses but I can't really take care them....  so eventually bought about 4 pairs of the same type from Taobao. Light and with flexible frame, tested it and really can filter out the ultraviolet light. When shone through the lens, the $50 noted reflective portion got filter out. 

It's only $30+ a pair. 

There was once I went out and forgotten my glasses, can't see menu, can't see phone, then went to a few popular glasses shop, all don't carry non-prescritive presbyopia glasses. Finally found one that sells. 

Expand  

presbyopia so bad? I have presbyopia but even with progressive lens I still use to take away the glasses to read or see anything within 1.5 feet. Actually I feel more comfortable without the glasses [laugh]

I think my presbyopia is very mild.
I can read close with glasses on HP but prefer without glasses. 

Nowadays notice that if changing distances, my eyes take a while to focus. Like if looking from my phone or in front of me to my TV. takes about 1 second to bring into focus.

On 11/10/2024 at 8:13 AM, Atonchia said:

Presbyopia can do Lasik?

Thought only myopia can do Lasik to re-contour the cornea? 

Basically anything from within a metre, my eyes cannot focus, think my lens hardened. Still can see far clearly.

Went specialist to check, said both eyes all good. So just stick to reading glass for now. 

Surgery may not be the best option.

https://eagleeyecentre.com.sg/service/treatment-options-for-presbyopia/

Expand  

wait for cataracts, change change lens....:D

On 11/10/2024 at 9:25 AM, Jman888 said:

presbyopia so bad? I have presbyopia but even with progressive lens I still use to take away the glasses to read or see anything within 1.5 feet. Actually I feel more comfortable without the glasses [laugh]

Expand  

I am using 250 degrees now.

But only use reading glasses when need to read stuff. 

Had never need use glasses since young, so will never want to wear glasses whole day 😅.... 

Prefer to wear sunglasses in street during day time.