New car discount/price/promo

coldboy1357

On 12/21/2021 at 11:49 AM, Newbie26 said:

Trade in EOL car, then cannot low ball

Expand  

yup .. AD wants to play Overtrade game ...

super duper LOWBALL for trade-in + OT = discounted price 

then out-play them to trade in a 9 years old car ... paper value + body nia ... lol [thumbsup] 

• Angry 1

BMW X1 clearance at $160K!

At current Cat B COE level, the basic car cost from LTA website (OMV + GST + Duty + ARF + COE) is already $180K.

Quick glance thru SGCM shows dealers listing at $170K+ for 1-mth old car. 

No brainer to get a brand new one from PML at $160K.

Less than 50units left as I just went down for test drive only heh heh

Edited by oleoleole
Correct info

On 1/19/2022 at 1:01 PM, oleoleole said:

At current Cat B COE level, the basic car cost from LTA website (OMV + GST + Duty + ARF + COE) is already $180K.

Expand  

Is X1 a good car? Heard it’s 3 cylinders. 

On 1/19/2022 at 1:01 PM, oleoleole said:

Expand  

EOL soon.

On 1/19/2022 at 1:38 PM, Daniu82 said:

Expand  

1.5L 3cyc tiak tiak tiak ... ok for 118i but X1 abit shiong ... 

if upsize to 19" rim ... jialat liao ... lol

daily use ok what ... spore speed limit 90kmph only ... [sly] 

SE say "sufficient" power la ... 

On 1/19/2022 at 2:40 PM, Totota said:

@Wt_know 

hi there Is VW golf 1.5L mild Hybrid same engine as Audi/Octavia entry level 1.5 MH as well?

Expand  

golf/leon/octavia/a3 (all engine provided by VW) is 1.5L with 4 cyclinders (not 3cyc) and boost with mild hybrid 48v battery [thumbsup]  

a good match engine for a small hatch except for octavia which is a sedan

that’s why most youtube reviewer does not like it on octavia unless it’s a 2L engine which is same as GTI engine … [laugh] 

On 1/19/2022 at 1:38 PM, Daniu82 said:

Expand  

hey all!

well, i cannot answer this question from a engineering POV since im not an engineer, but so far my 3 cycinder 216i GT has never gave me any problems. In fact, i did not really hear any idle vibration issues from my X1/216 frens owners. I believe BMW's 3-cylinder B38 engine has won numerous international awards, for being frugal yet quick off the mark

https://www.autoevolution.com/news/bmws-3-cylinder-b38-engine-wins-wards-10-best-engines-award-90186.html

regarding the age-old question of whether its powerful enough, hmm how much power is enough? If I drive a Ferrari, for sure i will think 7series not enough. If i drive a 7series, of cuz i will think C-class not powerful enough. you know where this is going. 🙂

my previous cars are Hyundai 2.0 tucson, Nissan qashqai 1.2T, and current BMW 216i GT. and my butt feel tells me that the X1's 138hp/220hm Torque, 9.2s century sprint, performs way better than all my previous rides. Not to mention BMW's legendary handling and interior.

I figured if all sporeans are concerned with bhp/torque/century sprint, then our roads will be full of Kia Stingers and Skodas haha..

oh! and "small" models like the 216 and X1 makes up bulk of BMW's sales in SG. So while i cannot confirm, but i believe most Sporeans are satisfied with the matured 3-cyclinder tech 🙂

https://www.carbuyer.com.sg/2021-singapores-most-popular-car-brands-in-2021-first-half/#:~:text=Like Mercedes-Benz%2C the bulk,and the X1 small SUV.

Edited by oleoleole
correct link

On 1/20/2022 at 7:07 AM, oleoleole said:

hey all!

well, i cannot answer this question from a engineering POV since im not an engineer, but so far my 3 cycinder 216i GT has never gave me any problems. In fact, i did not really hear any idle vibration issues from my X1/216 frens owners. I believe BMW's 3-cylinder B38 engine has won numerous international awards, for being frugal yet quick off the mark

https://www.autoevolution.com/news/bmws-3-cylinder-b38-engine-wins-wards-10-best-engines-award-90186.html

regarding the age-old question of whether its powerful enough, hmm how much power is enough? If I drive a Ferrari, for sure i will think 7series not enough. If i drive a 7series, of cuz i will think C-class not powerful enough. you know where this is going. 🙂

my previous cars are Hyundai 2.0 tucson, Nissan qashqai 1.2T, and current BMW 216i GT. and my butt feel tells me that the X1's 138hp/220hm Torque, 9.2s century sprint, performs way better than all my previous rides. Not to mention BMW's legendary handling and interior.

I figured if all sporeans are concerned with bhp/torque/century sprint, then our roads will be full of Kia Stingers and Skodas haha..

oh! and "small" models like the 216 and X1 makes up bulk of BMW's sales in SG. So while i cannot confirm, but i believe most Sporeans are satisfied with the matured 3-cyclinder tech 🙂

https://www.carbuyer.com.sg/2021-singapores-most-popular-car-brands-in-2021-first-half/#:~:text=Like Mercedes-Benz%2C the bulk,and the X1 small SUV.

Expand  

Agree. From another angle, people who came from jap brand will almost always complain about conti's reliability. Once one can adjusts its expectations, bimmer will reward owner with the drive. 

I am fortunate to own and driven a couple of cars from 5 brands thru the years, from jap to korean to Italian to german, inclusive of current 3 cylinder. It is not the smoothest engine (compared to 4) but it is nothing that bad either. In fact, I am very happy with it. So give me a choice of say a jap vs a 3 cyn bimmer, yes, bimmer pls. 😊 

On 1/21/2022 at 6:09 AM, t0y0ta said:

the buyers only care about the white/blue badge.

2 cylinders also no problem

Expand  

Who care how many cylinders there is. Buyer buy happy can liao…….

I recently change from Lexus to hyundai suv. As long as I happy, I don’t care if the whole world say I downgrade 😃

@Wt_know good info 😘)))  meaning Sadan on these same Hatch VW engine no pickup right. But space wise, a sedan boot enormously big tho vs any hatch where VW Golf terribly small Sia (((