Junning 3rd Gear December 25, 2017 Share December 25, 2017 Hi all, Merry Christmas. Alphard/ Vellfire '18 MC has been released in Japan. http://toyota.jp/alphard/ http://toyota.jp/vellfire/ https://paultan.org/2017/12/25/toyota-alphard-vellfire-facelift-new-3-5-direct-injected-v6-8at-standard-second-gen-toyota-safety-sense/ ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic December 25, 2017 Share December 25, 2017 Hi all, Merry Christmas. Alphard/ Vellfire '18 MC has been released in Japan. http://toyota.jp/alphard/ http://toyota.jp/vellfire/ https://paultan.org/2017/12/25/toyota-alphard-vellfire-facelift-new-3-5-direct-injected-v6-8at-standard-second-gen-toyota-safety-sense/ Seems to be adding more chrome for each generation. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged December 26, 2017 Share December 26, 2017 (edited) Been trying to access the jap website for more information, but only limited information available for now. Physical dimension not provided, but seems to be same as existing models. Really more of a minor facelift. Beside the use of Toyota Safety sense across all models, slightly different front and back design, and the available of more body colours and WHITE interior, nothing much changes. The much hyped turbo engine option is not available yet. Look wise, more or less same as current models. The cars are available under normal and aero variants, with the aggressive bodykits available under the later variant, at about S$4k to S$5k extra which would translate to about S$10k to S$12k more when sold here. Workshops in Malaysia has started touting bodykits for existing 30 series owners to convert their ride to look like latest facelift models. The WHITE interior is a turn-off, given how difficult it is to maintain. Not really a wise choice given that many Alphard/Vellfire owners have young kids. I watched a few videos from Vellfire website, that now have auto parking functionality. Not sure is an option or default for the 3.5L version, but sure work very well during the demo. https://newsroom.toyota.co.jp/jp/toyota/20433735.html Looking at the Toyota Safety Sense videos, the features are definitely a welcome add-on to the ride. But with more electronics added onboard, the after sales support demand would be up tremendously. It would be very important to choose a PI with competent workshops that can handle any issues in this area. It would not be wise to assume that any workshops that can handle normal oil changing would be good enough any more. I would think getting the ride from AD would make more sense now. Edited December 26, 2017 by Heartlander Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator December 29, 2017 Share December 29, 2017 (edited) Alphard 2018 Edited December 29, 2017 by Carbon82 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator December 29, 2017 Share December 29, 2017 (edited) Vellfire 2018 Edited December 29, 2017 by Carbon82 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator December 29, 2017 Share December 29, 2017 The Zhnged version... 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic December 29, 2017 Share December 29, 2017 Fierce looking. But still N.A.? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged December 29, 2017 Share December 29, 2017 Fierce looking. But still N.A.? Yah no engine change for 2.5L variants, only minor engine tweaks for 3.5L to improve FC. Maybe BM will be able to pull another trick when it launch its new facelifted Alphard/Vellfire in few month's time, like it did with Harrier. Not sure if it will make avsilable both the normal type and Aero type though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Akula Turbocharged December 31, 2017 Share December 31, 2017 Thot they would replace the 2.5 NA with the 2.0T. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged December 31, 2017 Share December 31, 2017 Very recently took my big white van to Malaysia for a spin. Travelled a total of about 800km. Going mostly between 110km/hr and 120km/hr, occasionally going to 130 when overtaking. Highest ever was 140km/hr for few seconds. The ride felt very stable, never floating at all, and easy to drive, with enough power to do overtaking when desired. And sun visor was really noisy when above 90km/hr. As only my wife on the trip with me, the ride really swallow everything with ease. Really appreciate its space for shopping trip as could load up every few hours if needed. another objective being to make sure the car is still there haha. Even took it to abit of off-road travel when visiting a durian plantation near Kulai, never run into power issue when going up slope. And one of the most important part - FC. I entered Malaysia with about 200km from last pump. After pumped once on first day, never have to pump again till the last night before JB Custom. The FC calculated came to 10.36km/L! Best so far. Glad to know this ride is good for long distance travel. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
grandis123 4th Gear January 1, 2018 Share January 1, 2018 Thank you for sharing. Just got mine 2 days ago. Huat Ah.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic January 1, 2018 Share January 1, 2018 Vellfire 2018 looks like very uncomfortable for the 7th person despite such a big mpv Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mathew 1st Gear January 2, 2018 Share January 2, 2018 That is why I chose to get the 8 seater variant. More flexibility and a seating space. No regrets so far. Sharing a bit as to what I have done. Like heartlander I have done UR bars in Malaysia. Installed a 360 camera system. Done brake lock for security. Sound proofed wheel arches. Did cosmetic upgrades like adding on silver trim around the aircon vents etc Changed to LED lights interiorly Windproofed the front doors with Dr Artex (can’t say there is a marked benefit) Ordered an android HU from China which is on route to Singapore. 4gb ram, 32gb rom, octacore, Android 6. Will let you guys know how it goes when I finally install it Eying hertz speakers too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
grandis123 4th Gear January 9, 2018 Share January 9, 2018 Hi, May I check if there is a a fuel warning indicator if the petrol is running low. My Alphard is from PI and the manual is in Japanese. Does anyone know the tank capacity? The manufacture year is 2017. Is there a way I can control the rear aircon from the driver seat, ie adjust the temperature or turn on/off? Thank you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged January 9, 2018 Share January 9, 2018 Hi, May I check if there is a a fuel warning indicator if the petrol is running low. My Alphard is from PI and the manual is in Japanese. Does anyone know the tank capacity? The manufacture year is 2017. Is there a way I can control the rear aircon from the driver seat, ie adjust the temperature or turn on/off? Thank you. All cars will have such a feature lah, a yellow light. If yours is 2.5L petrol engine, when empty tank should be able to pump about 65L. This is based on real experience. There should be 5L to 10L of reserve petrol. And you can control the rear aircon from both the front aircon panel or rear overhead aircon panel. From front, turn the 2 knobs to change temperatures for front and rear. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
grandis123 4th Gear January 9, 2018 Share January 9, 2018 All cars will have such a feature lah, a yellow light. If yours is 2.5L petrol engine, when empty tank should be able to pump about 65L. This is based on real experience. There should be 5L to 10L of reserve petrol. And you can control the rear aircon from both the front aircon panel or rear overhead aircon panel. From front, turn the 2 knobs to change temperatures for front and rear. Thanks. Because last Sunday, I pumped 63L for the very first time and there is no light indicator. Now i begin to wonder if my tank is 70L or 65L because from the earlier post, someone mentioned that PI's model is 65L and BM is 70L. Thanks for sharing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged January 14, 2018 Share January 14, 2018 (edited) I have been trying to compare the newly announced facelifted Alphard/Vellfire to see the differences with the previous iteration I have. Just today manage to see the specs lists in jap micro-site, not sure when they were posted but should be very recently. Spotted something that should be trivial for japanese, but major over here - car height! http://toyota.jp/pages/contents/vellfire/002_p_004/pdf/spec/vellfire_spec_201712.pdf The 2008 first version of Alphard/Vellfire were taller and at just over 1.9m, ruled out all the carparks that are taller than 1.9m. Then when the 2015 new models were released, those keen on the rides were relieved to see that the height has been lowered to 1.895m making entry to many carparks lower than 1.9m possible. But from the specs list just released, the facelifted Alphard/Velfire seems to have grown taller to 1.935m, thus narrowing the list of carparks this monster can enter. http://autoc-one.jp/catalog/toyota/vellfire/grade/#tab This very slight increase in height might not look much in other countries, but does matter over here due to the standard heights the carparks have been built. I am just glad to have bought the 2015 edition. Just today managed to park my car in a 1.9m-tall HDB carpark to attend a event. With the increase in pricing, despite similar COE level, it looks more and more that I have made the right choice haha. Edited January 14, 2018 by Heartlander 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged January 21, 2018 Share January 21, 2018 (edited) Recently bought cabin/aircon filter for my ride online. https://www.fitinpart.sg/index.php?route=product/product&product_id=563719 Took only 2 days to deliver. Installing took only 5min. No tools required, simplicity is like this car is designed for owners to change the filters themselves, though I doubt many will do it themselves haha. The youtube video below illustrate the process: Saw that there are a few items available in fitinpart.sg that could be bought for this ride such as air filter, 0W20 engine oil, wipers, etc. Would be buying to change when free. Found the video for air filter: Edited January 21, 2018 by Heartlander ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...