Public Alcohol consumption bill-Cannot have a beer at a BBQ!

Darryn

Still on phone....

But am very surprised by Mr. Selfie's comments in CNA article....

He said the law was subjective and open to interpretation. And judgement.

How can that be?

What "judgement" is there based on time? Unless the judgement is more in the realm of who

Coffee shop, one bottle of Tiger range $6.90 ~ $7.30 = 3 mugs

Pubs, one jug of beer ranges from $22.80 ~ $35.00 = 4 mugs (not inculsive of Happy Hours)

Value for money = coffee shops..... [cool]

[grin][grin][grin]

Still on phone....
But am very surprised by Mr. Selfie's comments in CNA article....
He said the law was subjective and open to interpretation. And judgement.

How can that be?

What "judgement" is there based on time? Unless the judgement is more in the realm of who

Judgement : Time of comsuming the beer vs time of purchasing the beer .... [:p]

Seow leow, book weekends holiday chalet at Loyang or Sentosa can drink beer with kakis over BBQ after 10.30pm...... [sweatdrop]

Pubs, one jug of beer ranges from $22.80 ~ $35.00 = 4 mugs (not inculsive of Happy Hours)

[grin]

Seow leow, book weekends holiday chalet at Loyang or Sentosa can drink beer with kakis over BBQ after 10.30pm...... [sweatdrop]

the costly part is not what goes into the mug lah [laugh][laugh]

Are holiday chalets considered PUBLIC space ?

Their policy is flawed in the first place.

1. Ban Little India, they move out of the zone - bingo !! continue togo-ing

2. Now they move to ban island wide. Effectively forcing the FTs back into their holes.

I think most of those who oppose the new rules, are either the cheapskates who are guilty of buying from 7-11 and get high before getting into the clubs, or those who think the kopitiams are also getting affected.

Although I'm cynical on the effectiveness of this move, I support it. I wonder if the law applies to common areas within a condo. If yes, good luck to those who drink and make noise by the pool.

Maybe.

But I'm one of those who likes a quiet beer with a friend on a bench, be it a void deck, park or beach. Clubs, pubs, even coffee shops can be pretty noisy for a quiet conversation. Yes, can drink at home but must be very careful with your topics of discussion! [:)]

Well, at least I can still continue to do so until 10.30 pm...

Maybe.

But I'm one of those who likes a quiet beer with a friend on a bench, be it a void deck, park or beach. Clubs, pubs, even coffee shops can be pretty noisy for a quiet conversation. Yes, can drink at home but must be very careful with your topics of discussion! [:)]

Well, at least I can still continue to do so until 10.30 pm...

those old hdb with mama store at void deck sell beer, some uncles sit there drink and chit chat, i think the new law ask them to go home early to sleep, good for their health :D:D

I see that FW dorm is part of the new law....so by right condo BBQ pit also cannot drink after 1030

Edited by Darryn

Wow............... ur coffeeshop Tiger bottle so big can pour 3 mugs ???? lol ................. max 2 only lar [laugh]

coffeeshop must drk Stout mix with Beer than correct ya [thumbsup][laugh]

Well, strange on how they do sampling... out of 40 people slightly more than half supported the bill and yet one MP can claim that,

"For residents, one of their main complaints is the noise created by people who drink late at the void decks, and there is currently no effective way to deal with that issue. We are dealing with people's welfare here."

See more at: http://www.straitstimes.com/news/singapore/courts-crime/story/alcohol-curbs-tough-necessary-say-mps-20150120#sthash.S4HtJjhq.dpuf

And noise can be caused by rowdy people but not necessary drinking people. And really sad to say that the MPs are losing the feel of reality... I still say it voice down to enforcement.

"What we need is to have data on the extent (to which) consumption of alcohol in public places was reported as public nuisance," she said.

See more at: http://www.straitstimes.com/news/singapore/courts-crime/story/alcohol-curbs-tough-necessary-say-mps-20150120#sthash.S4HtJjhq.dpuf

But NO ONE released such report, why? Because nobody insist on ENFORCEMENT. All talk and no action, paid millions... All work and no talk, remain peasants... So guess we should learn to tok cork hahaaa [nod]

WE ARE DOING GOOD FOR THE PEOPLE, TRUST ME [lipsrsealed]

Because no law say cannot talk loudly

So easier to say it's under the influence of alcohol that people talk louder. Easier to enforce than loud voice.

Because no law say cannot talk loudly

So easier to say it's under the influence of alcohol that people talk louder. Easier to enforce than loud voice.

Yes there is... it is called Miscellaneous Offences Act (Cap 184), being a public nuisance can be arrested even without the drinking restriction

So it is just a reaction over an action, no enforcement claims public drinking is a problem. I would say it is easier to come out a new "rule" so everyone knows that the gov is concerned. This is called "Wayang".

And standard scholar mentality, Cannot control the riot, says NOT ENOUGH MANPOWER NEED to RECRUIT 1000 OFFICERS

Edited by Carnoob

Their license until 10.30pm nia leh... if suddenly at 12am i feel a very strong desire to drink an ice cold brewski how?

Other than having a need to attend AA, I can only LLST with the new Bill in place.

Anyway, I feel that whatever they are using to trumpet their cause for this Bill are just excuses. Whatever is being done, is only done halfway, slipshod in my opinion. And also, the powers that are can't seem to make up their mind as to whether Singapore is a lively city with a vibrant night life or a nanny state that reacts excessively to any bumps on the road.

Sure, people can say that alcohol can still be sought at licensed places, but then again, license until what time? 10pm? 12am? Are they going to relax rules on door to door delivery of alcohol? How about alcohol licensing for residential areas?

To me, the root of the problem is not addressed at all.

Buy more put in fridge lor.

Or need special atmosphere, go to your nearest pub/coffeeshop

I think most of those who oppose the new rules, are either the cheapskates who are guilty of buying from 7-11 and get high before getting into the clubs, or those who think the kopitiams are also getting affected.

Although I'm cynical on the effectiveness of this move, I support it. I wonder if the law applies to common areas within a condo. If yes, good luck to those who drink and make noise by the pool.

Don't think condo common area is affected, should be under MCST, so not considered public area.

Unless drunkard acted out of control then condo security can call police.

I survey myself daily.

if-you-know-what-i-mean.png

LOL, you do that looking into mirror?

Or without but stand at one place asking questions then at another spot answering?

Don't think condo common area is affected, should be under MCST, so not considered public area.

Unless drunkard acted out of control then condo security can call police.

But isn't that the same situation as FW dorm? This is also "private property" with security and a manager?

Why would a FW accomodation fall under the act, but not a condo bbq pit?

This is a quick blog post written on the subject of being careful with your words - in relation to an "objective" measurement such as time being open to "subjective judgement"