Inventor forced by Mindef to close company over patent right

Vega

Yes I remember this. The Meals on Wheels idea is not new globally, but locally no one had done that before. So this entrepreneur who wanted to start this business, went round applying for permits. After that, it ended up in a tender, and others won.

It was not exactly a stolen idea, just that first mover advantage was denied because the first one to open mouth created the business opportunity for all. Bad taste in the mouth really.

Anyway, the first guy with the idea probably had the last laugh, since most of the mobile food vans went out of business due to the arduous operating conditions set by JTC, NEA etc.

I think the uncle in the white van had this idea way way back, he was always at the firing range, and I don't think he had a permit..LOL

Poor doc has no money to pay the lawyers to fight the battle but that doesn't mean he has to give up.

What he should do is sell the patent to one of the big def contractors or a patent troll for them to carry on the battle. Even if he receives just 1 dollar from them, it would be better than letting mindef get away with this.

Hmmmm........... get Mr. Ravi .. [sly]

this shows... whatever great ideas one have, don't start from HOME. go US or elsewhere, register and patent. then sell e idea back to our dear motherland.

can't sue your pants off and willing to pay you big money. why? cos they love foreign patents... + talents.

Look around you. What do you see the most ? Singapore got innovation industry meh ?

Have some [scholar] good innovations, such as [idea] " COE, ERP, BTO & etc..." -_-

this shows... whatever great ideas one have, don't start from HOME. go US or elsewhere, register and patent. then sell e idea back to our dear motherland.

can't sue your pants off and willing to pay you big money. why? cos they love foreign patents... + talents.

Our local greatest entrepreneur Mr.Sim Wong Hoo listed his "Creative Technology Limited" in USA, Dr.Ling should have consult him before taking up legal action against any of our statutory board.

Elites here alway thinks AMTK [:/]

How about patent overseas and make sure ST group cannot sell? ?

err.... dun think this case got anything to do with ST group.

He already has patents overseas.

Think he is fighting a giant- patent is for those with deep pockets as one case could easily cost 1 million to fight if go to court. But one point I dun agree- having a patent granted does not = patent is valid as the examiner that allow it may have done a bad job.

but this is a one of a kind type of vehicle and not those generic one leh.

That we would not know unless research ourselves to see how many type of similar vehicles there are in the world....

There is a big IP/Patent war out there, and as long as the patent is not tight enough, it is open to exploitation. Overly generous patent protection would stifle completion. (I remember Apple patented (or tried to) the mobile phone shape of a rectangle with rounded corners). Even Apple copied the mouse, it din invent it.

Personally I never want any govt organisation to specify a particular brand/model in their tenders as it leads to hanky panky. Think Brompton bike case.

I think the uncle in the white van had this idea way way back, he was always at the firing range, and I don't think he had a permit..LOL

Like in heng chun malau Lim.... waited at FUP for the troops!

“It needs to be ruggedized”

However, Dr Ting had a less pleasant experience with Mindef. At a trade fair in 2005, Dr Ting spoke to BG (Dr) Wong Yue Sie, then chief of the SAF Medical Corps, about the SWIFT vehicle that was on display.

“He told me that changes would have to be made to the vehicle if it were to be adapted for SAF’s use,” recounted Dr Ting. “For example, the vehicle would have to be painted to camouflage and it needed to be ruggedized. I told him that such changes would not be a problem, but I informed him the vehicle was patented.”

“He told me that he would contact SCDF and said to me that, “maybe we can do it on our own” or words to that effect. I remember that clearly because I remember telling him that he could not do that because the vehicle was patented.”

Dr Ting never heard from Mindef since. However, in April 2009, the Defence Science and Technology Agency called a tender to procure a “Mobile First-Aid Post”. While the tender required bidders to obtain licensing agreements for IP, DSTA’s tender did not specifically mention Dr Ting’s SWIFT, as SCDF’s has done. The contract was eventually awarded to Syntech Engineers Pte Ltd for production, which did not contact Dr Ting or his partner about the patent.

https://www.sgh.com.sg/about-us/newsroom/news-release/2010/Pages/ThepassingofDrWongYueSie.aspx

This ex chief of SAF Medical Corps mati already!! so young..... [:(]

It is with great sadness that we announce the passing of Dr Wong Yue Sie 黄榆思, on 28 May 2010. He was 49.

Dr Wong developed a massive stroke on 21 May 2010. Despite emergency surgery, he succumbed to the severity of the condition without regaining consciousness. He is survived by his wife, Madam Choy Sok Cheng, 47, and two teenage daughters.

Dr Wong was SingHealth’s Group Chief Operating Officer. He was also Chief Operating Officer and Chairman, Division of Ambulatory and Clinical Support Services at Singapore General Hospital (SGH). An Orthopaedic Surgeon by training, Dr Wong had a special interest in sports medicine and arthroscopy. Before joining SGH in October 2006, Dr Wong served as a career medical officer in the Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) from 1985 to 2006. He was the Chief of the SAF Medical Corps from 2001 to 2006.

In August 2008, upon the request of the Ministry of Health, Dr Wong was seconded to Ren Ci Hospital as its Chief Executive Officer. He was tasked to ensure the completion and opening of the Ren Ci Community Hospital, amongst other critical responsibilities. He completed his stint there in March 2009.

SingHealth’s Group CEO, Professor Tan Ser Kiat recounted, “We have lost a gifted clinician-leader, a selfless individual who made time for anyone who needed him. From watching over major building projects at SGH Campus and integration of IT systems in the SingHealth Group to fostering synergy among work teams, we could count on Dr Wong for his commitment and measured ways in facing any situation. He has left a lasting legacy for his family, colleagues and staff.”

“We are deeply saddened by his sudden departure. We thank Dr Wong for his leadership, earnest dedication and contributions to SGH. We fondly remember his gentle ways, and how he treated everyone with sincerity and respect. He was truly a gentleman. We will miss him dearly,” said Prof Ang Chong Lye, CEO, SGH

Dr Wong had also been a member of the Singapore Medical Council since 2008. He was conferred the Public Administration Medal (Silver) (Military) in 2003.

How dirty Government Agencies can be...right infront of our eyes! Some clean and righteous government and agencies we have!!

When one need to pay top dollars to prevent corruptions = people without integrity and do it because of money.

Dont believe?

When a volunteer do his/her work and dont want to be name vs a volunteer doing the work wanting fame.

Thanks fer filling up on the gaps in my post sir.

The permits or licences were imposed by LTA to encash on the private venture. IMHO LTA did not contribute at all or provide anything substantive to the whole process. Their only involvement was to use this as a opportunity to siphon cash from entrepreneurs.

They also basically killed what could otherwise have been a profitable venture that would also have benefitted the public.

You see this kind of food vans all over the world. But not here because of all the burecucratic rules that LTA and NEA enforced. And to make matters worse, they stole and killed this idea from the people who tried to implement this in Singapore.

I think this kinda explains why venture capitalism and private enterprise will not make it here in singapore. If i had a good business plan, this is the last place i will launch it. The GLCs and TLCs will just muscle in later and take over.

With the curent case, you can see mindef totally ignoring patent and copyright laws. The Original inventor took time money and effort to plly for the patents worldwide in afew countries. But it is here in Singapore that the govt can simply set-aside established laws and do as they deem fit.

We expect this kind of shoddy conduct from third world corrupt nations, but i guess here in singapore, well.....what else is there to say. The govt's conduct speaks for itself. No need to say anything else.

Yes I remember this. The Meals on Wheels idea is not new globally, but locally no one had done that before. So this entrepreneur who wanted to start this business, went round applying for permits. After that, it ended up in a tender, and others won.

It was not exactly a stolen idea, just that first mover advantage was denied because the first one to open mouth created the business opportunity for all. Bad taste in the mouth really.

Anyway, the first guy with the idea probably had the last laugh, since most of the mobile food vans went out of business due to the arduous operating conditions set by JTC, NEA etc.

It grows to show, if you have great ideas, the gov will try to take you down and monopolies the trade themselves.

u can be sure if MINDEF is in Ting's shoes, they will sue until the other party goes bankrupt for even daring to try and steal their ideas

Curiously, in the exchange of legal letters, Mindef’s representing lawyers from Wong and Leow LLC accidentally faxed him a letter from Syntech, dated March 2009 and addressed to Mindef, outlined the company’s clear intent not to pay any heed to Dr Ting’s patent. Syntech wrote:

After receiving the fax, Dr Ting said Wong and Leow LLC frantically called him to ask him to destroy the letter.

wow major screw up [laugh]

It grows to show, if you have great ideas, the gov will try to take you down and monopolies the trade themselves.

Not sure if anyone remembers the case of the guy who invented the laundry hanging thing and lose big time to HDB.

Thanks fer filling up on the gaps in my post sir.

The permits or licences were imposed by LTA to encash on the private venture. IMHO LTA did not contribute at all or provide anything substantive to the whole process. Their only involvement was to use this as a opportunity to siphon cash from entrepreneurs.

They also basically killed what could otherwise have been a profitable venture that would also have benefitted the public.

You see this kind of food vans all over the world. But not here because of all the burecucratic rules that LTA and NEA enforced. And to make matters worse, they stole and killed this idea from the people who tried to implement this in Singapore.

I think this kinda explains why venture capitalism and private enterprise will not make it here in singapore. If i had a good business plan, this is the last place i will launch it. The GLCs and TLCs will just muscle in later and take over.

With the curent case, you can see mindef totally ignoring patent and copyright laws. The Original inventor took time money and effort to plly for the patents worldwide in afew countries. But it is here in Singapore that the govt can simply set-aside established laws and do as they deem fit.

We expect this kind of shoddy conduct from third world corrupt nations, but i guess here in singapore, well.....what else is there to say. The govt's conduct speaks for itself. No need to say anything else.

If there is no demonstrable significant inventive step, say a unique mechanical system to fit the entire bcs equipmemt into a truck, the patent may be granted but can be hard to defend.

If so. Every ambulance in the world will need to pay royalties to someone just for having the concept of having a medical evacuation vehicle.

Without in depth analysis by IP attorneys in court, it may be hard to demonstrate. Deep pockets are a must.

Trek invented and patented the USb thumb drive. But was raped by ten thousand imitators. If u have the cash pile of Apple then u can sue someone into submission just by forcing them to defend themselves legally

If there is no demonstrable significant inventive step, say a unique mechanical system to fit the entire bcs equipmemt into a truck, the patent may be granted but can be hard to defend.

If so. Every ambulance in the world will need to pay royalties to someone just for having the concept of having a medical evacuation vehicle.

Without in depth analysis by IP attorneys in court, it may be hard to demonstrate. Deep pockets are a must.

Trek invented and patented the USb thumb drive. But was raped by ten thousand imitators. If u have the cash pile of Apple then u can sue someone into submission just by forcing them to defend themselves legally

IMO, apple only managed to do that because a substantial amount of $$$ is needed to manufacture and distribute the mobile phones so those companies had something to lose in court.

If apple had invented the thumb drive, I doubt they'd have the resources to stop the thousands of people from copying them.