Will COE be higher or lower by 2015 year end?

Duckduck

Will COE be higher or lower by 2015 year end?  

312 members have voted

1. 1. Will COE be higher or lower by 2015 year end?

• Higher
    • Lower

When gov said use public transport, sure COE price will go up...it is impossible to have cheap COE like old time liao...very sian!

I agree. Government will not invest so much money to build a network on train and at the same time keeping the COE low. In fact, it is just the opposite.

Population is not controlled by prices, but by supply of COE.

Yes I know but obviously the government does not want car population to increase or to grow by a large percentage. So my thought is that they implement all this CEVS thingy to make sure that car prices remain as it is just in case COE drops due to the release of more quotas.

2nd Gear

I do not think COE will drop, based on the below reasons:

1. Economy is doing quite well, and this is a stimuli for high COE
  2. Demand is there to drive higher COE prices. Old car owners need to renew their cars. Non-car owners want to buy. There are so many new citizens and PRs these few years. You think they will guai guai go take public transport? A lot are rich kids on the block and money to them is just nothing. Just look at the number of successful bids against unsuccessful bids you will know
  3. Government is not going to allow COE going to 10K-20K range of price tags, especially when they have invested so much on public transport these few years. Just look at the 60% loan restriction on new cars and you will know why. They are trying to curb demand, let alone letting COE dip

Good luck to those who still think COE will drop. Yes it may, but not to the range that everyone is wishing for. Even below 50K is near to impossible.

2. Demand is there to drive higher COE prices. Old car owners need to renew their cars. Non-car owners want to buy. There are so many new citizens and PRs these few years. You think they will guai guai go take public transport? A lot are rich kids on the block and money to them is just nothing. Just look at the number of successful bids against unsuccessful bids you will know
  3. Government is not going to allow COE going to 10K-20K range of price tags, especially when they have invested so much on public transport these few years. Just look at the 60% loan restriction on new cars and you will know why. They are trying to curb demand, let alone letting COE dip

Good luck to those who still think COE will drop. Yes it may, but not to the range that everyone is wishing for. Even below 50K is near to impossible.

Point 1 already sala ............ g0v is doing well that is for sure hahaha .

COE is not going to drop .. that i agreed

Edited by Angcheek

The number of cars nearing 10 years on our roads still left a lot. Plus, nowadays younger gen think of cars as a must-have status symbol. Plus the rich just change cars like nobody's business. Plus every reasonable drop in COE prices will attract more buyers in to push it up again.

With that. I doubt it will drop.

No need so much stats analysis lah. Can buy means can buy. Cannot buy means cannot buy.

With gahment close monitoring on the revenue, anything drop beyond their expectation will be jack up......just like the oil tax!

The number of cars nearing 10 years on our roads still left a lot. Plus, nowadays younger gen think of cars as a must-have status symbol. Plus the rich just change cars like nobody's business. Plus every reasonable drop in COE prices will attract more buyers in to push it up again.

With that. I doubt it will drop.

No need so much stats analysis lah. Can buy means can buy. Cannot buy means cannot buy.

You need to wait at least after 2018 then can see lesser cars of those between 2005-2008 era cars.

Anyway, no matter how high is the coe, if you can afford to buy you still will buy. I have two ex-colleagues just bought a new car recently, despite people say coe so high and downpayment so high! Lol.

You need to wait at least after 2018 then can see lesser cars of those between 2005-2008 era cars.

Anyway, no matter how high is the coe, if you can afford to buy you still will buy. I have two ex-colleagues just bought a new car recently, despite people say coe so high and downpayment so high! Lol.

True, jobs that must have car one, will buy when COE expires.

Its only which car one can afford.

True, jobs that must have car one, will buy when COE expires.

Its only which car one can afford.

Guess the people i know who bought another car, dont think their job needs a car. Lol.

Point 1 already sala ............ g0v is doing well that is for sure hahaha .

COE is not going to drop .. that i agreed

I give you a 5 but hope your latter point is not correct.

I am waiting at the by-line to go in, still waiting.

i predict coe hit 100k just before erection [laugh]

No la, dont think they allow coe to hit 100k. Most probably they will allow coe to stay between 60-80k range.

Hahhah thanks ... i will give u a 5 too hoping u are correct that i was incorrect abt the latter. Im queueing too.

I give you a 5 but hope your latter point is not correct.

I am waiting at the by-line to go in, still waiting.

Economy is doing well?? marine offshore industries certainly not with many retrenchments already taken place and in the pipeline, that will certainly have domino effect on other industries sooner than later...

COE will drop but not to yesteryears levels when it was between 10 -20K fro cat A...

actually not surprising.... alot of ppl becos of face value like to put all their eggs in one basket and count their chicks before they hatched.

when something happen or the company go downhill, they most probably the first to be anxious like the an ant on a hot pan

actually not surprising.... alot of ppl becos of face value like to put all their eggs in one basket and count their chicks before they hatched.

when something happen or the company go downhill, they most probably the first to be anxious like the an ant on a hot pan

If thats really happened, they just sell away the car lo. Lol.

To prove I am correct ............ (you car dealer or from LTA ? )

HSBC to cut up to 50,000 jobs, slash investment bank

Edited by Angcheek