Noisy sports cars as bad as illegally modified vehicles

Duckduck

if felali/lambo stock exhaust generate 90-100 decibel

is modified exhaust for cibic with 90-100 decibel acceptable?

ppls shld b compraining abt the noisy rubbish trucks instead...

so many countries have silent clean tech trucks yet we r still using those damn noisy old trucks..

How about Malaysia lorries with sport exos. Ha.

if so rich to stay sports car area, then spend a bit of money on soundproofing lah...

should ask him go read LTA no listen thread.

But rubbish trucks come by around later at 730am agak agak usually (in my area) so not so bad but if the dump truck comes earlier its not the noise of the dump truck but rather the sound of the bins being tossed around is more noisier

My house is near 2 roads. Everyday, I hear this Maserati (I've checked) going out and coming home (6am - 7am go out, 9pm-11pm come back), I find it less irritating than impatient drivers honking incessantly in the morning. But that's just me.

I actually agree - and emphatise - with TS.

I live on 10th floor. In front of my place is landed housing. There is a road (2-lane, not main road) which is on a mild slope just in front. It is quite straight (maybe 600 m) but has a cross-junction (those no traffic light type) in the middle. The perpendicular road leads from the main road outside, into the landed estate.

There are some sports cars that will ply this road, and they often turn out from the landed estate, then when on the slightly upslope road, they will rev to pick up speed...

And the problem is that sound travels upwards, so it creates one hell of a damned bloody loud nuisance whenever these high-performance cars rev their engines.

I didn't take physics in school, and it was a shock when we first moved in, as we could hear pedestrians talking (thought not very clear) when walking downstairs when it is quiet at night...

And I reckon because some sports cars have their engines located between the driver/passenger seats and the rear bumper, and if i'm not wrong the engine compartment is not enclosed, and so the engine noise can escape upwards. Couple this with the physics that sound somehow travels up, it's quite unbearable. I'm quite confident that the noise you hear if you're standing beside the car when it revs, is much softer than what I hear, although I've no evidence.

Maybe LTA should impose rules that all sport cars must have engine compartment enclosed in such a way that the only way for the noise to escape is into the car cabin area.

Since the drivers/owners love to rev in residential areas, they should have a taste of how irritating the noise is. If they can't stand it, then don't rev hard in residential areas.

I am not sour grape - i feel they are totally selfish and inconsiderate.

I used to live on 18th floor of HDB flat - I can hear the small cc bikes rev near the main road and the sound travels up very easily and really creates a din/ shriek - but I remember the sports cars sound was not so strong - maybe poorer area or sorry (less developed area)

And I reckon because some sports cars have their engines located between the driver/passenger seats and the rear bumper, and if i'm not wrong the engine compartment is not enclosed, and so the engine noise can escape upwards. Couple this with the physics that sound somehow travels up, it's quite unbearable. I'm quite confident that the noise you hear if you're standing beside the car when it revs, is much softer than what I hear, although I've no evidence.

Maybe LTA should impose rules that all sport cars must have engine compartment enclosed in such a way that the only way for the noise to escape is into the car cabin area.

Erm... you mean you are proposing our LTA "scholars" to give a lesson to Ferrari & Lambo engineers how to design their cars and engine compartment? [grin]

I live on 10th floor. In front of my place is landed housing. There is a road (2-lane, not main road) which is on a mild slope just in front. It is quite straight (maybe 600 m) but has a cross-junction (those no traffic light type) in the middle. The perpendicular road leads from the main road outside, into the landed estate.

There are some sports cars that will ply this road, and they often turn out from the landed estate, then when on the slightly upslope road, they will rev to pick up speed...

And the problem is that sound travels upwards, so it creates one hell of a damned bloody loud nuisance whenever these high-performance cars rev their engines.

I didn't take physics in school, and it was a shock when we first moved in, as we could hear pedestrians talking (thought not very clear) when walking downstairs when it is quiet at night...

Since the drivers/owners love to rev in residential areas, they should have a taste of how irritating the noise is. If they can't stand it, then don't rev hard in residential areas.

It would be easier for you to choose a home far away from any roads or soundproof your windows. Just saying. :huh:

Like that complain what about those condo belt along ECP toward Changi airport. that one lagi worst 24/7 on the expressway. even sound proof also no use still noisy after a while just get used to it.

last time katong n old airport area also can hear airplane at paya lebar airport or near mosque at 5.00 am - complain to who? LTA, CAAS

Car engine doesn't make much sound. In fact, you need a mechanic stethoscope to listen to it during noise diagnosis.

It's the exhausts/mufflers.

lrgscale54503_STETH1_iu.jpg

In HK, people will tell him off:- "lay mm chut xeng, mo yen wa lay ngah".... if you dont utter any noise, no one will say you're dumb/mute [sweatdrop] ... aka why make useless noise just to prove you can talk?

hahaha, "gham tang"

Loud exhuast cars are safer cars.

Reason, I rev my car at little india, all make way for me.

Many hear my exhaust and didn't dash across the road.

Try doing it in a Nissan leaf.

Sure knock down people as the car is so quiet.

I used to live in little India area, my Alfa 33 1.7 16v back then have a sport silencer instead of a muffler, every evening before I turn into Rowell Rd, my wife already know I am back from work from our flat on the 24th floor..... hehehe, up till the point that I switch off the engine. Back than, they are not so strict about mods...haha

I hardly use the horn, just rev the engine and they will "siam" liao. Sometime even do a bit of front wheel spin by dumping the clutch..