Atrecord Supersonic January 13, 2015 Share January 13, 2015 It was revised in the 3rd edition. The version taught to him by Wang Jiantong was 28 Palms. Around the time when he was fleeing Liao with Xu Zhu, he mentioned to Xu Zhu that some of the palms were not really necessary and taught a revised 18 Palms to Xu Zhu. Many years later, when the beggar sect found a worthy new leader, the leader sought out Xu Zhu to learn the 18 Dragon Palms from him. This was how after Xiao Feng's death, Hong Qigong and Guo Jing managed to learn the 18 Dragon Palms. This is an often overlooked fact. Xu Zhu also knew the 18 Dragon Palms. With his crazy inner power, a Dragon Palm from him would be devastating. ha ha… ok ok… when was the 3rd ed published? I read in late 80s to early 90s. Maybe that time didn't say this yet... But strange. I recall 段誉 was the link between 虚竹 and 萧峰, as 段誉 became sworn bro with 萧峰 first, then separately with 虚竹 later. 虚竹 and 萧峰 only met a couple of times, i think, and quite briefly too. Then not long later, 萧峰 died already… got chance to teach 虚竹 meh? What happened if 掃地僧 had learnt 九阳神功 and 黯然銷魂掌, then the power is how huh? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged January 13, 2015 Share January 13, 2015 salah liao 书剑 character is 陈家洛。。。 陈近南 is from 鹿鼎记... Oops... But still he is already very good. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic January 13, 2015 Share January 13, 2015 Zhao min is smart. I like her as well. She is however mostly characterised in the last where the Chao ting troops trapped the sects at wu dang. But I think huang rong is still a cut above the rest. She outsmarted her own father, Hong qi Gong. Even yang guo who was a smart aleck saluted her ingenuity when he was caught in a trap with her. She also has good genes. Haha her mother memorised jiu yin after reading it once! But she had dumb children Lol... Esp her her first daughter Lol dump children is got reason one… just look at the father lor Oops... But still he is already very good. but not lead character mah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic January 13, 2015 Share January 13, 2015 Need to find the e books to start re reading Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear January 13, 2015 Share January 13, 2015 I think Zhang Sanfeng is still the top of all after so much discussion. Till today, he has thousands of "disciples" throughout all generations who mastered his "taiji" skills. Taiji skills are the most relevant skills to date. They are very deadly if you are on the wrong end or receiving end. If you are the imparting source, you also need to be well "skilled" to know when to execute it. No horse run. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ake109 6th Gear January 13, 2015 Share January 13, 2015 thats what my friend shared also. Looking at the way qiaofeng uses his 28 palm Vs qigong/guojing 's 18 palms.......appears that the 10 palms may not be wayang... But was told that Guojing refined the 18 with Jiuyin ZZ, hence unlike qigong (much less QF), Guojing's 18 can control low-,medium-high power. Unlike QF's 28 palm....always 110% !! No leh, the 18 palms was his own revised version, meaning his 28 he also fight like 18 I guess. And in the portion when he explains the theory of Dragon Palms to Xu Zhu in the 3rd edition, he told Xu Zhu, the secret of Dragon Palms is always holding back part of the power, so will remain invincible. Something along that logic. In an interview, someone did ask Jin Yong who had the strongest Dragon Palm. JY answered : Xiao Feng. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic January 13, 2015 Author Share January 13, 2015 why must control power. if powerful one palm enough liaoz. 一掌闯天下 exactly.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged January 13, 2015 Share January 13, 2015 How is sHu Jian ar. Never read that. Last time these books are expensive. Can never find in the library.always kana taken up by others. The title look boring so I didn't start.😜 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic January 13, 2015 Share January 13, 2015 I think Zhang Sanfeng is still the top of all after so much discussion. Till today, he has thousands of "disciples" throughout all generations who mastered his "taiji" skills. Taiji skills are the most relevant skills to date. They are very deadly if you are on the wrong end or receiving end. If you are the imparting source, you also need to be well "skilled" to know when to execute it. No horse run. shaolin gongfu come from Damo who came from india. but in modern day, the indian disciples have mastered the Taiji from Zhang San Feng instead . how ironic 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ake109 6th Gear January 13, 2015 Share January 13, 2015 ha ha… ok ok… when was the 3rd ed published? I read in late 80s to early 90s. Maybe that time didn't say this yet... But strange. I recall 段誉 was the link between 虚竹 and 萧峰, as 段誉 became sworn bro with 萧峰 first, then separately with 虚竹 later. 虚竹 and 萧峰 only met a couple of times, i think, and quite briefly too. Then not long later, 萧峰 died already… got chance to teach 虚竹 meh? What happened if 掃地僧 had learnt 九阳神功 and 黯然銷魂掌, then the power is how huh? 3rd edition was only out in the mid 2000s. Xiao Feng taught Xu Zhu the Dragon Palms when Duan Yu and Xu Zhu busted him out of the Khitan jail. On the journey back to Song, just before he died. 掃地僧 is like an avatar of Buddha in the novel. His power stems from supreme enlightenment. It is like Journey to the West, Sun Wukong had his fire eyes, diamond body, golden rod 72 change and all the fancy superpowers and macham invincible against everyone, but in the presence of Buddha or Guan Yin, although they have no fancy named power, make Sun Wukong insignificant. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic January 13, 2015 Share January 13, 2015 I loved Jin Yong ability as an author. He made huang rong and guo Jing children silly and irrelevant. He made yang guo loyal and forthright despite his father being a selfish traitor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged January 13, 2015 Share January 13, 2015 Anyway lazy to look back. For information 一阳指 is a subset of 六脉神剑 apparently. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic January 13, 2015 Author Share January 13, 2015 (edited) No leh, the 18 palms was his own revised version, meaning his 28 he also fight like 18 I guess. And in the portion when he explains the theory of Dragon Palms to Xu Zhu in the 3rd edition, he told Xu Zhu, the secret of Dragon Palms is always holding back part of the power, so will remain invincible. Something along that logic. In an interview, someone did ask Jin Yong who had the strongest Dragon Palm. JY answered : Xiao Feng. All hail Xiao Feng !! Maybe his mind say 1 thing, but his instinct make him behave in another. Ya, hence the 18th palm is called Kang Long You Hui...(regret / restraint?) i am jiak kan tang type. Hence I rely on movies. Xtr info was given to me by my friend who reads the novels. But what JY said is likely true. In the last few movies/serials, after XF wack with Sweeper Monk., the latter says "XL 18 palm, guo ran tian xia di yi !" Edited January 13, 2015 by Baal 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic January 13, 2015 Share January 13, 2015 The title look boring so I didn't start.😜 I think it's boring becoz by the Qing Dynasty period, most of the powerful nei gong like the 18 dragons palms, 9 sun godly skills are all lost. Qing dynasty kungfu tends to be physical like wushu, sword play, Shoalin 5 animal pattern, very mortal lah.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ake109 6th Gear January 13, 2015 Share January 13, 2015 Beside Jin Yong. I like reading Gu Long. Gu Long's Xiao Li Fei Dao series, is superb. The TV series totally can't capture the beauty of it. The best books were : Duo Qing Jian Ke Wu Qing Jian, Bian Cheng Lang Zi Tian Ya, Ming Yue, Dao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic January 13, 2015 Share January 13, 2015 All hail Xiao Feng !! Maybe his mind say 1 thing, but his instinct make him behave in another. Ya, hence the 18th palm is called Kang Long You Hui...(regret / restraint?) i am jiak kan tang type. Hence I rely on movies. Xtr info was given to me by my friend who reads the novels. But what JY said is likely true. In the last few movies/serials, after XF wack with Sweeper Monk., the latter says "XL 18 palm, guo ran tian xia di yi !" I also like Xiao Feng best... That why kinda bei song when he commit suicide.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ake109 6th Gear January 13, 2015 Share January 13, 2015 All hail Xiao Feng !! Maybe his mind say 1 thing, but his instinct make him behave in another. Ya, hence the 18th palm is called Kang Long You Hui...(regret / restraint?) i am jiak kan tang type. Hence I rely on movies. Xtr info was given to me by my friend who reads the novels. But what JY said is likely true. In the last few movies/serials, after XF wack with Sweeper Monk., the latter says "XL 18 palm, guo ran tian xia di yi !" Jiak Kan tang ah? Go to spcnet.tv Translations done there, Hint : I translated part of Tian Long Ba Bu there for them long ago That's why so familiar with this power vs that kung fu 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic January 13, 2015 Author Share January 13, 2015 I think it's boring becoz by the Qing Dynasty period, most of the powerful nei gong like the 18 dragons palms, 9 sun godly skills are all lost. Qing dynasty kungfu tends to be physical like wushu, sword play, Shoalin 5 animal pattern, very mortal lah.. 1 gen cannot compare to the last lor. By YTTLJ, when Zhirou chut Jiuyin Claw, people say is wu ling jue xue. But at LO, Meichaofeng chut, like upper mid or mid oni. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...