Fair? Tourist driving 'mayhem' must pay before leaving.

Darryn

A Chinese tourist whose driving caused "mayhem" on a busy New Zealand road has been ordered to pay $20,000 and forbidden from leaving the country until it's paid.

Peng Liu, 33 was found guilty in Rotorua (New Zealand) District court today on three charges of causing injury by careless driving, relating to an accident on December 30 on State HIghway 5 in taupo.

His passport was confiscated and Judge James Weir ordered him to remain in New Zealand until he paid $20,000 in reparation.

Here's a link to the full story

Edited by Darryn

Fair.

Just look at how our north hold us up during their ops.

up north did for speeding and parking fine but this case is causing injury, different scenario.

depends whether buy full coverage ...

in most rental quotation the insurance is sibei basic. that's why the rental show sibei cheap per day

once you load in the "full coverage" insurance ... it almost double the rental cost per day

If he's driving a rental car, isn't it insured and the cost can't claim insurance meh ?

up north did for speeding and parking fine but this case is causing injury, different scenario.

Tourist must pay before leaving regardless of speeding fines or penalty.

Very often I see the NZ judge pass down sentence within 2 days or 1 week of the accident whereas we took months to investigate.

Both countries are consider first world but one simply cannot make it and definitely don't deserve the pay rate.

Very often I see the NZ judge pass down sentence within 2 days or 1 week of the accident whereas we took months to investigate.

Both countries are consider first world but one simply cannot make it and definitely don't deserve the pay rate.

Even passing judgement for fatal accident also take months , even in straight forward case.. [:/][:/]

Fair.

Just look at how our north hold us up during their ops.

"A clear message needs to be sent out to foreign drivers who come into this country and cause this sort of mayhem." <- Quote from the article.

When in any country, have to follow the country's law. There is a Chinese saying: , 家规. Cannot go to another country and expect them to follow our own rules. It is their home.

Singapore should follow this more.

Very often I see the NZ judge pass down sentence within 2 days or 1 week of the accident...

yeap, the SIA pilot's accident case in NZ was sentenced in jz 1 wk.

car accident happened on 1/10/2014.

pilot pleaded guilty on 3/10 n sentenced on 10/10, v efficient!!

32910724e.jpg

Should ask Singapore mata and Insurance company to apply such an efficient method.

Then these bolehland car driver cant run.

depends whether buy full coverage ...

in most rental quotation the insurance is sibei basic. that's why the rental show sibei cheap per day

once you load in the "full coverage" insurance ... it almost double the rental cost per day

When I went, the comprehensive insurance for my campervan was the same "per day" rate as the actual rental.

But please do note one thing - the "fine" in this case (I believe) is separate and distinct from insurance damage.

It is my understanding that insurance wouldn't cover the fine, this is a punitive fine, not a "damage / hospital" payment

punitive fine because the driver violate traffic rules and drive recklessly?

an accident is an accident isn't it

accident is caused by mistake

obviously, mistake was made else there was no accident

or this judge is targeting PRC?

Speaking of effectiveness of our SPF, I had sent a video of my accident to SPF on Mid Dec 2014,

he told me will expedite the case in Jan 2015.

Just follow up with him, he said he is still working on June 2014 accidents and mine is in Q.

World Class Prata.

I had rental cars in the US & 100% insurance cover, which cost more then the car rental. Still every year they reminded me - traffic offences are covered - Speeding tickets, Illegally Parking , drink driving & etc etc....

Please drive safely ....

punitive fine because the driver violate traffic rules and drive recklessly?

an accident is an accident isn't it

accident is caused by mistake

obviously, mistake was made else there was no accident

or this judge is targeting PRC?

Oi...accusing of racism from the judiciary? That's not really cricket!

I haven't read the full judgement, but what he seems to be saying is that the level of recklessness / stupidity was such that it's not really an accident - kinda like what Mr. Horse did I guess.

And yes - reading the article, I think it's a punitive fine.

I had rental cars in the US & 100% insurance cover, which cost more then the car rental. Still every year they reminded me - traffic offences are covered - Speeding tickets, Illegally Parking , drink driving & etc etc....

Please drive safely ....

Serious? Then why would any tourist drive safely in US again?

Drive anywhere, park, speed to next destination, anyhow park again. =X

Serious? Then why would any tourist drive safely in US again?

Drive anywhere, park, speed to next destination, anyhow park again. =X

I suspect his spelling is sala ...

should be aren't