Ender Hypersonic January 8, 2015 Share January 8, 2015 some of their thinking is since all are taking the same O level papers, i might as well stay in a less stress and less competitive environment. But the student must be discipline to upkeep his learning attitude and continue to do beyond what was taught in the school. IMHO, these smart kids has low stress level, as they don't need struggle to understand the subjects. It's the mediocre kids, that needs lots of disciplne and drilling to keep the pace. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged January 8, 2015 Share January 8, 2015 some of their thinking is since all are taking the same O level papers, i might as well stay in a less stress and less competitive environment. But the student must be discipline to upkeep his learning attitude and continue to do beyond what was taught in the school. its better for a smart kid to go to average school and continue to be in top position there, rather than go to a top school and end up as an average student there. The pyschological aspect and stress level is different. Its only those kiasu parents who keep pushing their kids to go to top schools, that they forget about the stress level 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 8, 2015 Share January 8, 2015 IMHO, these smart kids has low stress level, as they don't need struggle to understand the subjects. It's the mediocre kids, that needs lots of disciplne and drilling to keep the pace. smart kids become scholars with the influx of FW and foreign pmets, is there a place for mediocre kids in Singapore? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheepo 3rd Gear January 8, 2015 Share January 8, 2015 (edited) Bottom 3 schools all have names start with the word "North" . Edited January 8, 2015 by Cheepo 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 8, 2015 Share January 8, 2015 (edited) Bottom 3 schools all have names start with the word "North" . looks like yishun, woodlands, sembawang, marsiling not doing well Edited January 8, 2015 by Mustank Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic January 8, 2015 Share January 8, 2015 The 260 and above are smart kids, probably with very high IQ. They go any school no diff, likely do to well. I don't think so. They are just contented to go to a lower pressure environment. Big fish in a small pond. These pple will do ok, but never rise to the top. From my personal observation. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Imuya Clutched January 8, 2015 Share January 8, 2015 Results are out soon this coming 12th Jan, maybe should look at this insteadList of 2015 Open House Dates for JCs, Polys and others End of the day, does comparing ranking really help the child? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 8, 2015 Share January 8, 2015 Results are out soon this coming 12th Jan, maybe should look at this instead List of 2015 Open House Dates for JCs, Polys and others End of the day, does comparing ranking really help the child? its is a competitive dog eat dog world out there the earlier the kids know the foreigners are going to steal his lunch, the better better to train him for the real world than for him to find out for himself Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged January 8, 2015 Share January 8, 2015 IMHO, these smart kids has low stress level, as they don't need struggle to understand the subjects. It's the mediocre kids, that needs lots of disciplne and drilling to keep the pace. I have been strugging (stressfully) to understand why I felt so stressful, now I know why I felt so stressful and also why I have been struggling to understand. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic January 8, 2015 Share January 8, 2015 its better for a smart kid to go to average school and continue to be in top position there, rather than go to a top school and end up as an average student there. The pyschological aspect and stress level is different. Its only those kiasu parents who keep pushing their kids to go to top schools, that they forget about the stress level I don't think so. I'm biased in a purely academic basis. You can learn to be a ethical and good person anywhere. In fact, school is not very important for that. In the Singapore system, i believe going to a good school is important. I was top 3 in a neighbourhood primary school Pri 1-6. I won the English book prize every year from Pri 1-6. Went to my sec school, think I'm about 50th percentile there. Go JC become like 20-30th percentile. I learnt a lot going through what i did. I've known people in Uni who are the undisputed no.1 in their good sec school even JC. My personal belief is that they could have improved further in their younger years if they had more decent competition around them. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ins1dious Turbocharged January 8, 2015 Share January 8, 2015 I don't think so. They are just contented to go to a lower pressure environment. Big fish in a small pond. These pple will do ok, but never rise to the top. From my personal observation. I disagree. Even if swimming in smaller pond, this is national result right? So assessed not against the other smaller fish but versus the bigger ones. Kinda like Bale with Spurs going to Inter and scoring a hat trick. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged January 8, 2015 Share January 8, 2015 looks like yishun, woodlands, sembawang, marsiling not doing well Eh wah lau. Unfair sia. I Woodlands one leh. Honestly, and this is my personal point of view, I think it matters not where you go. Ultimately it's the attitude you take, and what you do with what you're given in life that matters most. I know many people from so-called 'lousy' schools (myself included) that have gone on to great success in life. School is not the be all and end all in life. You can fail in school but if you apply yourself well you can succeed in life. And that to me is the most important. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 8, 2015 Share January 8, 2015 Eh wah lau. Unfair sia. I Woodlands one leh. Honestly, and this is my personal point of view, I think it matters not where you go. Ultimately it's the attitude you take, and what you do with what you're given in life that matters most. I know many people from so-called 'lousy' schools (myself included) that have gone on to great success in life. School is not the be all and end all in life. You can fail in school but if you apply yourself well you can succeed in life. And that to me is the most important. People from no name uni from Philippines India also can make a living in Singapore I don't see why our kids with home ground and language advantage cannot win See whether got spur in hide or not Not hungry, you teach him how to fish, he won't listen one 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gitanic 6th Gear January 8, 2015 Share January 8, 2015 good school does not necessarily produce pay-full-cash individuals. i always living in hell with 4 siblings n sis-in law fr hwa chong jc. niece fr RGS. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Invigorated Supercharged January 8, 2015 Share January 8, 2015 looks like yishun, woodlands, sembawang, marsiling not doing well I beg to differ. We cannot base how good or bad a school is based on the entry points of the students. 188 is just the score of the last student in the school and the cut off point for express. I have seen many students, my nephews n nieces, doing well in o levels, despite not doing as well in psle. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 8, 2015 Share January 8, 2015 I beg to differ. We cannot base how good or bad a school is based on the entry points of the students. 188 is just the score of the last student in the school and the cut off point for express. I have seen many students, my nephews n nieces, doing well in o levels, despite not doing as well in psle. Do well already shift to central liao loh Their children will go good school also don't do well one continue stay north Their kids will go north school Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged January 8, 2015 Share January 8, 2015 last time i is JJC one got one firend, she O leverl all A1 one but choose to go JJC because stay next door only literally next door how come the lowest number is 188 is that the passing score? Cuz this is for express stream only. I think 188 should be the lowest for express stream. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic January 8, 2015 Share January 8, 2015 I disagree. Even if swimming in smaller pond, this is national result right? So assessed not against the other smaller fish but versus the bigger ones. Kinda like Bale with Spurs going to Inter and scoring a hat trick. ya Bale left his primary school and moved to an elite Sec school (RM) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...