2015 Secondary School Ranking

UncleWolve

Sending kids to "GOOD" schools...  

37 members have voted

1. 1.

• YES it's impt as it will decide how well the kid will grow up
    • NO it doesn't matter what's more impt are the parents
    • YES it's Impt cos everyone is doing it
    • YES it's Impt cos it's like owning a BMW - STATUS !

  On 1/8/2015 at 2:44 AM, Donut said:

its better for a smart kid to go to average school and continue to be in top position there, rather than go to a top school and end up as an average student there. The pyschological aspect and stress level is different.

Its only those kiasu parents who keep pushing their kids to go to top schools, that they forget about the stress level

Depends on the kid also. Some perform better if they have more competition while some perform better when there is no stress. I also see some of my primary school friends who scored 250+ and decided to go neighborhood school and end up with average O level results but still top in his class. Only problem is that his score might be the top score in his class but compared to the top schools, his score is even lower than their lousiest student.

On 1/8/2015 at 5:05 AM, Mustank said:

People from no name uni from Philippines India also can make a living in Singapore

I don't see why our kids with home ground and language advantage cannot win

See whether got spur in hide or not

Not hungry, you teach him how to fish, he won't listen one

so if he's not hungry in a place where's he is top dog, why would he listen and improve?

  On 1/8/2015 at 6:18 AM, Lala81 said:

so if he's not hungry in a place where's he is top dog, why would he listen and improve?

That is what I notice also. They still remain top but then not as good as from the good schools cuz they slack also can be the top. No point studying so hard.

On 1/8/2015 at 6:18 AM, Lala81 said:

not hungry one will never listen and improve

Recently, overheard a conversation from my BIL .... No point wasting time to travel to school everyday ... the nearest secondary school will do.

Some parents have such mentalities, nothing wrong which is why some neighbourhood schools have some kids with high T score joining the school.

But I was tempted to ask him. If his son got 265 points in his PSLE would be still send him to the neighbourhood school in Punggol or to RI ?

If my kid is good enough to join the elites ... I would support her if she wants to. But she makes the decision.

  On 1/8/2015 at 4:30 AM, Cheepo said:

Bottom 3 schools all have names start with the word "North" .

Bottom 3 all in Yishun [sweatdrop]

  On 1/8/2015 at 6:51 AM, Mustank said:

yishun also have the lowest resale hdb price in Singapore

Low resale hdb price also affect PSLE results? [sweatdrop] [sweatdrop]

On 1/8/2015 at 6:55 AM, Vid said:

Low resale hdb price also affect PSLE results? [sweatdrop] [sweatdrop]

The parents not rich enough to give their kids extra private tuition.

Every kid gets private tuition it seems. When I was a JC kid, I was the one giving tuition.

😂

  On 1/8/2015 at 6:18 AM, Nzy said:

Depends on the kid also. Some perform better if they have more competition while some perform better when there is no stress. I also see some of my primary school friends who scored 250+ and decided to go neighborhood school and end up with average O level results but still top in his class. Only problem is that his score might be the top score in his class but compared to the top schools, his score is even lower than their lousiest student.

I rather like this excerpt from a commencement (graduation) speech in the US..

The empirical evidence is everywhere, numbers even an English teacher can’t ignore. Newton, Natick, Nee… I am allowed to say Needham, yes? …that has to be two thousand high school graduates right there, give or take, and that’s just the neighborhood Ns. Across the country no fewer than 3.2 million seniors are graduating about now from more than 37,000 high schools. That’s 37,000 valedictorians… 37,000 class presidents… 92,000 harmonizing altos… 340,000 swaggering jocks… 2,185,967 pairs of Uggs. But why limit ourselves to high school? After all, you’re leaving it. So think about this: even if you’re one in a million, on a planet of 6.8 billion that means there are nearly 7,000 people just like you. Imagine standing somewhere over there on Washington Street on Marathon Monday and watching sixty-eight hundred yous go running by.

Anything that makes the kids work hard and realise "you're not special" is good -

Now, whether they will get that by being "middle of the class" in an "elite" school like RI (where there might be a snobby attitude of "you're elite just by attending") or by going to a more humble school where the peers might bring any ideas of "special" down to earth is really anybodies guess...

On 1/8/2015 at 6:30 AM, Civic6228 said:

Recently, overheard a conversation from my BIL .... No point wasting time to travel to school everyday ... the nearest secondary school will do.

Some parents have such mentalities, nothing wrong which is why some neighbourhood schools have some kids with high T score joining the school.

But I was tempted to ask him. If his son got 265 points in his PSLE would be still send him to the neighbourhood school in Punggol or to RI ?

If my kid is good enough to join the elites ... I would support her if she wants to. But she makes the decision.

Dun pray pray - there are some very good secondary schools in Punggol - and RI is one heck of a commute from that corner of the island

St Nicks has affiliation. Those with affiliation can get in very easily to the secondary school - similar to other schools like MGS, SCGS etc. I think this table should be a reference based on no-affiliation entry scores. The fact that these schools still do very well during O Levels despite taking in a whole bunch of affiliated students with low scores speaks volume about its education efficacy. If not for IP (i.e. guaranteed entry) to Hwa Chong JC, I don't think Nanyang Girls' is anywhere up there. Definitely not superior to Raffles Girls' or St Nicks or MGS.

On 1/8/2015 at 1:44 AM, Ender said:

this chart may not be accurate. I know of student at 245 region entering St Nick... the lower level should be around 245..

On 1/8/2015 at 4:43 AM, Lala81 said:

I don't think so. I'm biased in a purely academic basis.

You can learn to be a ethical and good person anywhere. In fact, school is not very important for that.

In the Singapore system, i believe going to a good school is important.

I was top 3 in a neighbourhood primary school Pri 1-6. I won the English book prize every year from Pri 1-6.

Went to my sec school, think I'm about 50th percentile there.

Go JC become like 20-30th percentile.

I learnt a lot going through what i did.

I've known people in Uni who are the undisputed no.1 in their good sec school even JC. My personal belief is that they could have improved further in their younger years if they had more decent competition around them.

Let me share my own experience. I top my neighbourhood Pri School, which was totally unexpected because I have never featured in the top 10 across my standard throughout Pri School. Went to a so-called good Sec school. Did not do too well, but enough to get into JC, because almost everyone can get into JC. Again in JC, my academic curve goes down another notch and did below average. But because it's a good JC, even the worst also can qualify for the local uni. Finally manage to get into local uni, slack like no one business, lucky to scrap through and get a degree.

From top 10% during PSLE, drop to top 20% during O levels, and top 60% during A levels, to probably the lowest rung in Uni with a basic degree.

Which is why I am thankful that I must have done some good deeds in my previous life, or my parents prayed really hard during PSLE, to let me score well in PSLE, giving me a good headstart. If not i probably be serving time or some loan shark runner now..

On 1/8/2015 at 7:25 AM, Matoonia said:

Let me share my own experience. I top my neighbourhood Pri School, which was totally unexpected because I have never featured in the top 10 across my standard throughout Pri School. Went to a so-called good Sec school. Did not do too well, but enough to get into JC, because almost everyone can get into JC. Again in JC, my academic curve goes down another notch and did below average. But because it's a good JC, even the worst also can qualify for the local uni. Finally manage to get into local uni, slack like no one business, lucky to scrap through and get a degree.

From top 10% during PSLE, drop to top 20% during O levels, and top 60% during A levels, to probably the lowest rung in Uni with a basic degree.

Which is why I am thankful that I must have done some good deeds in my previous life, or my parents prayed really hard during PSLE, to let me score well in PSLE, giving me a good headstart. If not i probably be serving time or some loan shark runner now..

Now you are loan shark ceo Issit [sly]

I dunno. I still feel school entries can be very kelong. So many rules like must stay within how many km to have priority but you see the parent cars line up outside the school like that stay very far away.

On 1/8/2015 at 1:44 AM, Ender said:

this chart may not be accurate. I know of student at 245 region entering St Nick... the lower level should be around 245..

The 245 was XMM from SNGS (Primary)?

Not sure if list includes scores from Affliated schools as I notice a lot of * beside the names

PS: Did not see @Icemaiden post prior to this

Edited by Kac

On 1/8/2015 at 7:25 AM, Matoonia said:

it is not difficult to be average and still get out of uni (local, private or distant).

many uni grads still end up as runner lor [sweatdrop]

On 1/8/2015 at 7:09 AM, Darryn said:

I rather like this excerpt from a commencement (graduation) speech in the US..

Anything that makes the kids work hard and realise "you're not special" is good -

Now, whether they will get that by being "middle of the class" in an "elite" school like RI (where there might be a snobby attitude of "you're elite just by attending") or by going to a more humble school where the peers might bring any ideas of "special" down to earth is really anybodies guess...

Dun pray pray - there are some very good secondary schools in Punggol - and RI is one heck of a commute from that corner of the island

Not true lah .... from Punggol to Bishan ...

Take North East line from Punggol to Serangoon Station .... change to circle line ... from Serangoon to Bishan Station.

25 mins train ride ... far meh ?

On 1/8/2015 at 7:52 AM, Jman888 said:

it is not difficult to be average and still get out of uni (local, private or distant).

many uni grads still end up as runner lor [sweatdrop]

What I meant was that my "pattern" will not even make uni admission had I not done well earlier.

Yes, I also know of some highly talented people working for the other side of the law. During my JC time, it was rumoured 2 of my schoolmates took "scholarship" by the triad, machiam like 无间道。