ShepherdPie 5th Gear January 8, 2015 Share January 8, 2015 (edited) Most respectable, responsible organisations / groups dont really go around insulting others as their main activities, unlike this cartoonist group which seems to do just that as if this is the main reason for its existence. The victims have a few choices in response to such insults:- - Ignore them and go on with life (there's a difference between being insulted by say Xi Jin Pin / Obama or some nobody or a group like these cartoonists who are really not to be taken seriously) - Retaliate in similar manners (eg using cartoons etc) - Retaliate in extreme manners (eg violence / killings) The killers in this case had choosen the last option but it cant be ruled out that being terrorists, they simply have to do something with the slightest excuses to terrorise the world and these cartoonists had given them an excuse which is more than just the "slightest". My deepest condolences. Just because you are not wrong...does that mean you are right and say what you want/draw.. without considering others feeling.. It's about time the western world relook at their "freedom". To speak disregarding others feeling... is not "safe". It's like picking a fight with a mad man... You have to consider the risk before you say or do anything. . there's is only so much the law can protect you. Sometimes... the law acts too late. Edited January 8, 2015 by ShepherdPie ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged January 8, 2015 Share January 8, 2015 Haha I will make you do evil things, drink beer - the ginger kind, listen to the devil's music - Girl's generation and listen to dirty jokes. Which religion teaches fun, laughter and happiness? You only get this with Satan. LOL!! I actually like ginger beer!!!! But, no thanks for girl bands, pls spare me from them Oei, many of us go for fun, laughter and happiness. In fact very few dont go for these things, but come to think of it, before i sign up, just have to check if the devil has filed for and obtained patents of these things. [grin] . Btw, not all chio bu are related to the devil, some are angelic outside and inside [thumbsup] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic January 8, 2015 Share January 8, 2015 LOL!! I actually like ginger beer!!!! But, no thanks for girl bands, pls spare me from them Oei, many of us go for fun, laughter and happiness. In fact very few dont go for these things, but come to think of it, before i sign up, just have to check if the devil has filed for and obtained patents of these things . Btw, not all chio bu are related to the devil, some are angelic outside and inside [thumbsup] Got any chio bu angelic outside and devil inside? Those are the ones I like. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ShepherdPie 5th Gear January 8, 2015 Share January 8, 2015 (edited) Ai ya...mai fight in mcf . its foolish. .to thing what you think is the correct 100% and everyone else shld think like you... its more foolish to make fun of frantics that does not care about the law. you may think that the terrorists are forcing ppl to submit to them.. but if you think the other way round ... are the french forcing the Muslim to allow themselves to be insulted.. Edited January 8, 2015 by ShepherdPie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged January 8, 2015 Share January 8, 2015 The majority do condemn and the moderate voices do issue statements after each and every terror attack. The Arab League, the arab nations have all condemned this attack also. And while this is also reported... its not reported widely enough. The terrorist groups know that the disapprovals lack "bites" due to various reasons including that of not having widely spread reports It's likely that "behind the scene" efforts are being made by the moderates, in addition to their verbal disapprovals, to deal with the terrorists. Lets hope the efforts will yield some results. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged January 8, 2015 Share January 8, 2015 Got any chio bu angelic outside and devil inside? Those are the ones I like. Such chio bus are premium quality hor..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged January 8, 2015 Share January 8, 2015 I reiterate my stand: Nothing is worth killing another man for. For me the only valid reason for violence is self-defence. Satire is a fundamental right in countries where freedom of speech is permitted. Of course you must accept the consequences of your freedom of speech, people will hate you and etc, but that should be the absolute limit (and they have the right to insult you back of course). If I never lay a hand on you then you have no right to do the same to me. Religion is all about interpretation. No matter whether you Muslim, Christian, Buddhist, Hindu etc. It's all about what you read and how you interpret the meaning, and thereafter how you balance out with a human being's personal moral conscience. Most sound people will understand that no matter what their religion says, taking another man's life for whatever reason is not a morally right thing to do. Only extremists who perhaps misinterpret their teachings or take things too literally will commit such acts. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged January 8, 2015 Share January 8, 2015 The 2 jokers found http://news.asiaone.com/news/world/2-armed-suspects-cornered-house-northern-france-media-reports Waiting for what? Lob grenades liao! Gibe them the BOOMZ. I reiterate my stand: Nothing is worth killing another man for. For me the only valid reason for violence is self-defence. Satire is a fundamental right in countries where freedom of speech is permitted. Of course you must accept the consequences of your freedom of speech, people will hate you and etc, but that should be the absolute limit (and they have the right to insult you back of course). If I never lay a hand on you then you have no right to do the same to me. Religion is all about interpretation. No matter whether you Muslim, Christian, Buddhist, Hindu etc. It's all about what you read and how you interpret the meaning, and thereafter how you balance out with a human being's personal moral conscience. Most sound people will understand that no matter what their religion says, taking another man's life for whatever reason is not a morally right thing to do. Only extremists who perhaps misinterpret their teachings or take things too literally will commit such acts. Well said, bro. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic January 9, 2015 Share January 9, 2015 I'm against the violence and killing of innocents in Paris. But these cartoonists had it coming. They are not just insulting terrorist but also the religion. Before free speech, they have to learn to have respect for others. If someone has expressed their wish not to be mocked and disturbed, please respect that. It's like an obese person repeatedly tells the bullies that he does not like to be mocked. Bullies exercising their free speech continue to mock. And when the obsese guy threatened retaliation, the bullies challenge him further by increasing the intensity of mockery. Either the obese suffered in silence, or he retaliate. You see these bullies or cartoonist has no respect for the others, and thus will never stop what they are doing even if you plea or threatened. It doesn't matter if the obsese guy is insecure of himself, as long as he is affected by the mockery and express his wish not to be mocked, I say we respect that wish. Aiyo, the West wants to impose their freedom of speech and expression, the Muslims their Shariah laws, the Hindu their temples, the Jews their promised land.... that however does not give any group the licence to murder. It is all hijacked by extremists and should be condemned outright, there is no ifs and no buts. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged January 9, 2015 Share January 9, 2015 The 2 jokers found http://news.asiaone.com/news/world/2-armed-suspects-cornered-house-northern-france-media-reports Time for them to answer this question, and I repeat : What will their Prophet do if he was here ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic January 9, 2015 Share January 9, 2015 Aiyo, the West wants to impose their freedom of speech and expression, the Muslims their Shariah laws, the Hindu their temples, the Jews their promised land.... that however does not give any group the licence to murder. It is all hijacked by extremists and should be condemned outright, there is no ifs and no buts. i'm against the murder as well. Nothing should justified such extreme action. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic January 9, 2015 Share January 9, 2015 Time for them to answer this question, and I repeat : What will their Prophet do if he was here ? 'them' who? Hypothetical question. If u asking the 'terrorist'? No one can answer for them. If you ask a muslim....none will answer you because we are not to say and do things that he himself didnt do and say. Its kind of blasphemous! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuPerBoRed Twincharged January 9, 2015 Share January 9, 2015 I'm against the violence and killing of innocents in Paris. But these cartoonists had it coming. They are not just insulting terrorist but also the religion. Before free speech, they have to learn to have respect for others. If someone has expressed their wish not to be mocked and disturbed, please respect that. It's like an obese person repeatedly tells the bullies that he does not like to be mocked. Bullies exercising their free speech continue to mock. And when the obsese guy threatened retaliation, the bullies challenge him further by increasing the intensity of mockery. Either the obese suffered in silence, or he retaliate. You see these bullies or cartoonist has no respect for the others, and thus will never stop what they are doing even if you plea or threatened. It doesn't matter if the obsese guy is insecure of himself, as long as he is affected by the mockery and express his wish not to be mocked, I say we respect that wish. good that you are agst the violence agst innocents. but.. disagree that the cartoonists had it coming. your eg shld be illustrated more aptly as such.. the bullies mock obese people in general. and most ''obese'' people took it in their stride... these bullies also have a tendency to mock any news worthy person in general.. imptly when innocents are involved... no amount of 前因 can justify action and for the cartoonists.. 罪不止死 imo. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator January 9, 2015 Share January 9, 2015 imptly when innocents are involved... no amount of 前因 can justify action and for the cartoonists.. 罪不止死 imo. but 上得山多终遇虎! now they pay for the price. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic January 9, 2015 Share January 9, 2015 (edited) I think France is shaken by the killings. Their believes on human rights and giving ppl a chance obviously cannot be used on radicals and extremists. I believe one of them was captured by the police for terrorist activity and dan released later, back in 08 or 09. If Singapore sure kenna locked up indefinitely w/o trial, maybe until they grow old and weak dan release them. Human rights thing, used on the wrong group of ppl. Now those Algerians or Africans Muslim will have a hard time entering France. Edited January 9, 2015 by Watwheels 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic January 9, 2015 Share January 9, 2015 You can mock, scold and use verbal barrage on other people. But in a civilized society, you don't go use a machine gun and gunned them down and get away with it. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic January 9, 2015 Share January 9, 2015 (edited) good that you are agst the violence agst innocents. but.. disagree that the cartoonists had it coming. your eg shld be illustrated more aptly as such.. the bullies mock obese people in general. and most ''obese'' people took it in their stride... these bullies also have a tendency to mock any news worthy person in general.. imptly when innocents are involved... no amount of 前因 can justify action and for the cartoonists.. 罪不止死 imo. Agree, nothing justified killing, my words may have not been chosen correctly. I'm against capital punishment of all sort too, but thats another debate not meant for this thread. But to some degree, the cartoonist should have seen this coming, and not provoke further. "the bullies mock obese people in general. and most ''obese'' people took it in their stride... these bullies also have a tendency to mock any news worthy person in general.. " It's their right to mock anyone, but when the someone has expressed his wish that he doesn't appreciate being mocked, I think the mocking should stop as a sign of basic respect for each other. Cannot say just becoz guy A accept being mock, we can mock guy B, especially so when guy B already express that he doesn't like being mocked. Edited January 9, 2015 by Ender Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic January 9, 2015 Share January 9, 2015 (edited) You have to look at the profile of the terrorist. A lot of them have no friends, they are not funny and don't know how to crack jokes, they are social outcasts, they have no sense of belonging, nobody likes them, a lot have stupid ideas and it not really a case of them fighting for what they believe but more since I am a loser I will try to make as much trouble and cause as much chaos to people's lives as possible. What a bunch of idiots. I almost forgot what they really are is a bunch of cowards. You never see them put up their fist and fight another man one on one. They have to use a machine gun and shoot defenceless people. Or they have to use a bomb. I think a lot of them are bed wetters also. Even in their adult lives. Edited January 9, 2015 by Jamesc ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...