What did you makan today?

BabyBlade

Those farm bred seabass, d meat is rather soft. I prefer those caught wild from d sea, usually in cut pieces. d meat is more firm n taste better. Whatever seabass, if want use salted soy bean, recommend 3/4 fried d fish. Fried thinly slice ginger, some cut chilli (optional) follow by d tau chio. Add some water n let it boil. Then put d 3/4 fish n let it simmer for awhile for both side to absorb d gravy. Add a little hua tiao wine. Garnish with coriander. Normally, I cook this dish with cut seabass or golden promfret.

This is my 3/4 fried golden promfret simmer in sliced ginger n salted soy bean gravy. Oops, forgot to

mention with some cut tomato to give a little sour taste. But nowadays, those smaller tomato which is more souring hard to find.

post-150906-0-33191200-1468414058_thumb.jpeg

get rid of the 渣 that stick to the meat and bone, especially for rib so that the soup will be clear and not fully of residual.

Oic, didnt know theres a term for this [:p]

For boiling soup, the pre-boil and dump is a must otherwise, soup's not clear, porky smell will be strong and the soup may have some tiny bits of blood curds

blanching. Or just passing through hot water.

For meats with bones especially. You can remove more of the proteins and blood from boiling from cold water up to 100 deg. Rather than just passing them through boiling water.

I find boiling more effective as compared to blanching and the soup actually taste better

Must also be rolling boil also.

There's 1 time i bit rushed for time. So just started boiling only then i switch off liao. Later still lot of residue...

it's the proteins that isn't part of the meat. So they coagulate outside. That's the white residue that you see.

Suspect most of them are from residual blood or body fluids or from the bone marrow after being chopped.

If u steam pieces of fish/chicken, u also see these white products but for fish they don't stink.

lol i watch chinese cooking videos by taiwan chefs. So i use more chinese terms nowadays haha.

Must have watched hundreds of them.

Oh I see. Thank you.

I usually scoop those white foamy stuff away when cooking soup, when eating steamboat also.

Went over to friend's place for simple dinner

Ikea lotus leaf $6.50 one? Ya nice

Very healthy. All vege.

if i boiling soup, i usually scoop out those foams on surface

if steam fish add abit rice wine...less stinky

my MIL steamed tilapia i was surprise no muddy taste..so rice wine was the trick

for tilapia i always add alot ginger juice keep for a while before fry

My mum used to cook tilapia quite regularly when i was a kid, i find the assam style the best coz can musk the muddy taste best

Now, when i have a choice, its almost always saltwater fish [:p]

Sometimes, i also like to cook with pineapples, tomatoes and onions or onions with soya sauce besides the usual steaming

Frying is last on the menu coz later kitchen very oily and i dun like the oily smell [:p]

• Praise 16

Pow Sing Restaurant at Serangoon Gardens suspended as 29 cases of gastric flu surface

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/pow-sing-restaurant-at-serangoon-gardens-suspended-as-29-cases-of-gastric-flu-surface

Wow....brought my parents there before, food's not bad.

Salmon day.

Coffee standard dropping ... Bleah ...

So I heard....can't remember the last time I makan at Ikea.