Enye Hypersonic May 9, 2016 Share May 9, 2016 Old peasant favourites ↡ Advertisement 15 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged May 9, 2016 Share May 9, 2016 Any one ate in Jurong Point Malaysia Boleh food outlets before? any recommendation for any stall to try? http://sg.openrice.com/singapore/restaurant/malaysia-boleh-boon-lay/49733 I went there last week for lunch. Crowded. Tried the Sister curry mee and Chendol. Well, the curry mee kinda of diluted. has chicken meat, tak pak, fish cake, bean sprouts. The chendol is ok. thick coconut milk. The penang fried kuay teow is so long queue. Bak Kut Teh and claypot rice look nice. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic May 9, 2016 Share May 9, 2016 Along the Coffee Shop was a Carpet Shop ... The Owner's son was also from Balestier Hill West ... Do you happen to know him? ... Carpet shop...........dont know the son. Tailor shop, owner's son, that was my classmate too. Tall and skinny guy during primary school. I lost contact with all my primary and secondary school classmates liao. Both my primary and secondary school closed down after I graduated. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic May 9, 2016 Share May 9, 2016 (edited) Cod at whathefish. Think will stick to salmon on my next visit. Edited May 9, 2016 by Blueray 12 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 9, 2016 Share May 9, 2016 My MiL has never been to jippun so this is the closest we could get her a little bit of the culture. The edamame beans were so fresh that they were still attached to the petiole. The $9.90 donburi was worth every penny with very nice salmons, tuna and amberjack all in one bowl. I like their eel. think it's only $6. very worth it for the $. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic May 9, 2016 Share May 9, 2016 Look like I must make a trip to visit my old hometown. Btw, I stay at Ah Hood Rd until early 2001. If I not wrong, d son is a plump person n in d earlier usually take order or supervise his worker. From d tone they spoke cantonese, seems tat they r from either KL or Ipoh who cook very good tze char food. Some time ago, I saw tis plump person take over frying; probably due to deceased of father. Btw, Balestier Rd got famous tao sar piah n cream puff n d shop is at other end of tis tze char stall. Yes. The son is the plump person. He is in the kitchen and also manning the drinks stall. Dinner time mostly son and daughter cooking. Mother is lunch time. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 9, 2016 Share May 9, 2016 Bro Othello, Lala & sis Pino, This is d paste. Can get from those market stalls selling dried goods. But not all market stalls sell. If got problem finding it, let me know. Recommend to add 2 slices of Assam, taste even better. Of course subjective lah. Save a lot of money eating outside n best got bigger portion of fish. Haha many thanks! Bro Othello, Lala & sis Pino, This is d paste. Can get from those market stalls selling dried goods. But not all market stalls sell. If got problem finding it, let me know. Recommend to add 2 slices of Assam, taste even better. Of course subjective lah. Save a lot of money eating outside n best got bigger portion of fish. Haha many thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic May 9, 2016 Share May 9, 2016 Cod at whathefish. Think will stick to salmon on my next visit. got distracted by the xmm taking your order is it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 9, 2016 Share May 9, 2016 Cod at whathefish. Think will stick to salmon on my next visit. I love to eat fish, angmohs just dunno what to do with good fish other than deep drying or making fillets with breadcrumbs. Baked fish is ok ... but better with a bit of sambal on top. That's just my conclusion haha 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 9, 2016 Share May 9, 2016 first time I seen assam slices. heh. always use the paste with seeds type. Learnt something new today. http://nonya-cooking.webs-sg.com/assam.html The Nonya cooking ingredient Assam or Tamarind is the pulp that is obtained from the pods of the tamarind tree (Tamarindus indica), which is tall and graceful, with sprays of fine leaves. Assam or Tamarind is a sticky fibrous mass which may sometimes include the seeds and the broken seed pods. When it is in the form of "Tamarind Pulp" it is known as Assam Jawa, while if it is in the form of "Tamarind Pieces" it is known as Assam Keping. To obtain the Assam or Tamarind liquid, this pulp is squeezed in a little hot water and then strained through a muslin cloth. Assam or Tamarind pieces (including the seed) are often used in place of the pulp; one or two pieces are added to the dish and then removed when the food has attained the required sourness. In addition, Assam or Tamarind is also available in the dried, sliced form which is known as "sour slices" or Assam Keping orAssam Glugor. However, in this dried, sliced, form it is actually a different fruit (Garcinia atroviridis), but can be used interchangeably withAssam Jawa. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic May 9, 2016 Share May 9, 2016 (edited) Learnt something new today. http://nonya-cooking.webs-sg.com/assam.html there is also an assam snack. Preserved and coated with sugar. I eat it since young, but now like harder to find liao. Usually found at those biscuits/preserved snacks shops that put everything in large glass jars Edited May 9, 2016 by Othello 9 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic May 9, 2016 Share May 9, 2016 My humble lunch, nasi goreng. The only stall with the least queue. 11 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunny Hypersonic May 9, 2016 Share May 9, 2016 My humble lunch, nasi goreng. The only stall with the least queue. 20160509_Lunch.jpg Looks nice and portion alot 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chowyunfatt Turbocharged May 9, 2016 Share May 9, 2016 Carpet shop...........dont know the son. Tailor shop, owner's son, that was my classmate too. Tall and skinny guy during primary school. I lost contact with all my primary and secondary school classmates liao. Both my primary and secondary school closed down after I graduated. Ahhh ... I vaguely remember him ... He has an elder sister also from Balestier West ... Later on she went on to be an SQ Stewderdess ... Ok, better not OT anymore ... Later kena Yellow Card 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged May 9, 2016 Share May 9, 2016 My humble lunch, nasi goreng. The only stall with the least queue. 20160509_Lunch.jpg http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/health/diabetes-the-rice-you-eat-is-worse-than-sugary-drinks 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic May 9, 2016 Share May 9, 2016 Ahhh ... I vaguely remember him ... He has an elder sister also from Balestier West ... Later on she went on to be an SQ Stewderdess ... Ok, better not OT anymore ... Later kena Yellow Card Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic May 9, 2016 Share May 9, 2016 Looks nice and portion alot I upsize. http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/health/diabetes-the-rice-you-eat-is-worse-than-sugary-drinks Later going swimming, need energy to clock those laps. This is my first meal of the day, I dont eat breakfast one. Only drink plain water whole day. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TameDriver Twincharged May 9, 2016 Share May 9, 2016 there is also an assam snack. Preserved and coated with sugar. I eat it since young, but now like harder to find liao. Usually found at those biscuits/preserved snacks shops that put everything in large glass jars tamarindcandy.jpg This is nice too; without added sugar: ↡ Advertisement 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...