What did you makan today?

BabyBlade

Home cook chicken ABC soup for dinner ððððð

N Weather sibie hot, hv to hide inside bedroom immediately after food n shower ð¥ð¥ð¥

Even kitchen cabinet and counter top also so atas

My MiL has never been to jippun so this is the closest we could get her a little bit of the culture.

The edamame beans were so fresh that they were still attached to the petiole.

The $9.90 donburi was worth every penny with very nice salmons, tuna and amberjack all in one bowl.

post-163127-0-16716100-1462712670_thumb.jpg

post-163127-0-60111400-1462712702_thumb.jpg

post-163127-0-13652900-1462712718_thumb.jpg

post-163127-0-28405000-1462712728_thumb.jpg

bro @keanie, can share which paste ? kum sia many many

Bro Othello, Lala & sis Pino,

This is d paste. Can get from those market stalls selling dried goods. But not all market stalls sell. If got problem finding it, let me know. Recommend to add 2 slices of Assam, taste even better. Of course subjective lah. Save a lot of money eating outside n best got bigger portion of fish. Haha

post-150906-0-70947900-1462716037_thumb.jpeg

post-150906-0-16451500-1462716126_thumb.jpeg

Edited by keanie

Can tell u very health conscious de (also must be very hiao) [:p]

Yes, I admit I am very hiao, that is because I am very chio...LOL :XD:  :grin:

Err....not so simple leh...can share what paste u used huh...i like fish head curry, always buy those premix from market stall de

I love muah chee, last time got one recipe not bad but long time never make forgot the porportion of water to flour liao, after u try, if good, share share hor, only remember the peanuts need to mix with sugar, kekeke

Like you, I also like curry fish head. Now eating outside, either too ex or d fish head getting smaller. I have tried many curry paste n finally found one.

As for muah Chee, suggest add some toasted white sesame into d mixture of peanut n sugar. Taste even better. I love muah chee too. In d old days, can easily get muah chee but not now.

Bro Othello, Lala & sis Pino,

This is d paste. Can get from those market stalls selling dried goods. But not all market stalls sell. If got problem finding it, let me know. Recommend to add 2 slices of Assam, taste even better. Of course subjective lah. Save a lot of money eating outside n best got bigger portion of fish. Haha

[thumbsup]  [thumbsup]  [thumbsup]

first time I seen assam slices. heh.  always use the paste with seeds type. 

[thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup]

first time I seen assam slices. heh. always use the paste with seeds type.

Yep, I also surprised got d slice type. Just throw two slices in. Very convenient. A small packet cost about a $1. d paste is from Penang n I tried searching in JB but can't find. If got problem getting it, msg me. Good lucks.

Edited by keanie

Like you, I also like curry fish head. Now eating outside, either too ex or d fish head getting smaller. I have tried many curry paste n finally found one.

As for muah Chee, suggest add some toasted white sesame into d mixture of peanut n sugar. Taste even better. I love muah chee too. In d old days, can easily get muah chee but not now.

Okie thanks! Will go look for the sauce, but hor, looking for fresh fish head nowadays is also a headache

Which market u go huh?

Okie thanks! Will go look for the sauce, but hor, looking for fresh fish head nowadays is also a headache

Which market u go huh?

Yep, fish head got to be fresh then shiok. I got from my regular fish monger at Blk 16 Bedok South Rd market, opp Temasek JC. This market got few stalls selling fresh fish. Is d same market tat I got d paste (1st stall). U can try d Hill St CKT here too but expect long q hor.

You must stay near me. I'm at Tanah Merah. Usually go to 58 market, once in a while go 16 but parking there sucks ! 

Ate Hill St CKY last month .................. so-so. Usually go for the Nasi Padang where the Makcik will call me "darling"  [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

Yup. Been eating there since 1980's.

I thought they changed owners? ... During the eighties the Tze Char chef was a very plump woman and I recalled the family live just upstairs.

I think stall was also on the left side of the Coffee Shop.

During then also got nice Wonton Mee stall also belonged to them.

I thought they changed owners? ... During the eighties the Tze Char chef was a very plump woman and I recalled the family live just upstairs.

Not sure if she is the same " piump woman " you are refering to , but during lunch time, the chef / cook is a plump lady, seems like the mother for the cook in the evening. she cooks only during lunch time, dinner time, will not see her.

• Praise 15

Never changed owners lah. Coffeeshop still the same owner and tze char also same owner. Coffeeshop and tze char are same owner. The plump lady is the mother. The father passed away long time back and they held the funeral in the coffeeshop.

Yes, last time got Wanton Mee stall, now also have lah. Just that now is different owner. Last time the wanton mee stall son was my pri school classmate. Teacher will visit the stall and tell the mother that my classmate never do homework. [laugh] They stayed in Toa Payoh. After school, my classmate will be there at the coffeeshop help wrap wanton. Lost contact liao after we finished pri school and pri school closed down.

http://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2659455-anyone-from-the-1970s-balestier-hill-primary-school/?hl=%2Bbalestier+%2Bhill+%2Bprimary

You must stay near me. I'm at Tanah Merah. Usually go to 58 market, once in a while go 16 but parking there sucks !

Ate Hill St CKY last month .................. so-so. Usually go for the Nasi Padang where the Makcik will call me "darling" [laugh][laugh][laugh]

I stay in Bedok n I do go to 58 market too once in a while n to replenish my coffee powder. d long q popular mee rebus stall is gone. Every time I go there, I ended eating vegetarian food at d coffee shop n my wife will eat d mince pork noodle at d market. Haha. I suppose d nasi padang, u r referring to is d last row of stalls. It's lontong, mee rebus & mee siam good too.

Never changed owners lah. Coffeeshop still the same owner and tze char also same owner. Coffeeshop and tze char are same owner. The plump lady is the mother. The father passed away long time back and they held the funeral in the coffeeshop.

Yes, last time got Wanton Mee stall, now also have lah. Just that now is different owner. Last time the wanton mee stall son was my pri school classmate. Teacher will visit the stall and tell the mother that my classmate never do homework. [laugh] They stayed in Toa Payoh. After school, my classmate will be there at the coffeeshop help wrap wanton. Lost contact liao after we finished pri school and pri school closed down.

http://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2659455-anyone-from-the-1970s-balestier-hill-primary-school/?hl=%2Bbalestier+%2Bhill+%2Bprimary

Along the Coffee Shop was a Carpet Shop ...

The Owner's son was also from Balestier Hill West ... 

Do you happen to know him? ... 

Look like I must make a trip to visit my old hometown. Btw, I stay at Ah Hood Rd until early 2001. If I not wrong, d son is a plump person n in d earlier usually take order or supervise his worker. From d tone they spoke cantonese, seems tat they r from either KL or Ipoh who cook very good tze char food. Some time ago, I saw tis plump person take over frying; probably due to deceased of father. Btw, Balestier Rd got famous tao sar piah n cream puff n d shop is at other end of tis tze char stall.

One bowl of soba and one bowl of tempura with rice :))

post-34883-0-50493000-1462765164_thumb.jpeg

Have a nice lunch later, Bro :)

• Praise 10