IF get fired for taking childcare leave, is it fair?

Rastaman01

On 1/7/2015 at 8:44 AM, Eviilusion said:
[bigcry]

please pack up your things in mcf and leave the password in our mailbox......you are fired!!!

[bigcry][bigcry] [bigcry] [bigcry][shakehead]

dun please I still need my job.......

need to pay for car and beer at KTVs....

On 1/7/2015 at 8:36 AM, Galantspeedz said:

tomorrow you no need to come liao

I think if he read this it will be soon lol....must becareful on my next childcare leave.

hahahahaa

seriously, an employer will never sack an employee that is capable (unless he is insane). If he/she is sack for taking child care leave, it should be due to other reason. Of course, there are always exceptional cases...

Anyway, if really tio sack due to childcare leave, i dont really think there is anything to be loss... Its better to leave such company sooner than later.

If today can threaten to sack because of Childcare leave, den what? tomorrow take MC also tio threaten? mother die father die also must work? Ownself die also must inform 1 month in advance or else got to pay 1 month pay in lieu? WTF...

Edited by Tigershark1976

On 1/7/2015 at 11:43 AM, ChickenMob said:

[bigcry][bigcry] [bigcry] [bigcry][shakehead]

dun please I still need my job.......

need to pay for car and beer at KTVs....

I think if he read this it will be soon lol....must becareful on my next childcare leave.

hahahahaa

errrr...mcf got give salary har?

On 1/7/2015 at 11:48 AM, Eviilusion said:

errrr...mcf got give salary har?

Bo.....if my boss still knows I on facebook and MCF and reason to give me the golden boot award.

On 1/7/2015 at 9:05 AM, Galantspeedz said:

actually like that more contradicting.... since busy due to new year and lots of deliveries.... if i am the boss.. i just tahan till peak period over than fire him.. rather than fire him now.... because i will likely have to overpay someone to take over his deliveries or hire a new person...

so should have more underlying issues than just this incident of childcare leave

CNY coming, must pay bonus liow and many businesses as we know it are doing well lah, so it is possible boss trying to cut cost and the underperformers will of course be first to go.

So want to take childcare leave, MC or emergency leave without having to worry about being fired, best is to stay on top of your game. It is a jungle out there.

Edited by Voodooman

This kinda thing cannot be one sided lah. Ppl tend to draw a picture such that the boss is the common enemy and they themselves are saints.

If you are an efficient worker, complete your tasks and responsibilities before taking leave, what can your boss say or be angry at?

On the other hand if you are a sloppy & inefficient worker or have some kinda attitude who is an eye sore to look at. Whatever you do the boss will be angry regardless. Taking leave will only make his blood boil harder. Haha...

Whatever TS says, be it himself or his "unker" I read with a pinch of salt.

On 1/7/2015 at 8:00 AM, Rastaman01 said:

My uncle had first time taken childcare leave as son was not well... the boss was unhappy.... in case the boss fire him is there any recourse....

Aiyah, your uncle take the 1st time, is like that one, everything is "magnified".

Ask your uncle to take a few more times, then he will get "used to" the boss reaction.

Somebody posted the link below but missed out the most important para(s) below.

Most important is how the leave was taken.

------

Application of childcare leave

An employee should give the employer early notice of his/her intention to take childcare leave. Leave is subject to the employer's approval.

The employer should discuss with the employee and mutually agree on a suitable time to take the childcare leave. If the employee needs the leave to attend to matters that cannot be postponed (e.g. child immunisation, school registration), the employer is strongly encouraged to grant the leave

Source - http://www.mom.gov.sg/employment-practices/leave-and-holidays/Pages/childcare-leave.aspx#eeea

------

TS has explained That his uncle is worried that the boss is unhappy that he took childcare leave during busy period.

Small SME bosses tend to be bossy and I personally know a few who can pass remark that sound seriously threatening, but to a low rank employee, those words are a threat and they are afraid on losing the job, although the boss was angry yet does not mean to fire him.

Why people are afraid of losing job?? In this environment, with so much overwork - how to lose job? [laugh]

For a boss, firing someone is not done lightly.

Having to hire a new person, teach him how to do the work, etc. is a lot of inconvenience. All the ongoing projects and work delayed or slow down because of the new guy not familiar... The boss' appraisal by his or her own boss also affected.

Not a good move.

Tis kind of company, leave earlier or asap better.

Lata sick also kana, sms also kana, go lunch longer also kana. Better get another job n leave.

Why even Tink wat to do. Don't need to Tink liao. Jst tough luck.

Anyway, good luck ya👍

sometimes, bo pian one due to various reasons like age (> 40 yo), "high" salary, sole bread winner, cho ku ku bian cheng hoo liao....

On 1/7/2015 at 2:27 PM, FourZero said:

Tis kind of company, leave earlier or asap better.

Lata sick also kana, sms also kana, go lunch longer also kana. Better get another job n leave.

Why even Tink wat to do. Don't need to Tink liao. Jst tough luck.

Anyway, good luck ya👍

Edited by Kangadrool

On 1/7/2015 at 2:03 PM, Jman888 said:

TS has explained That his uncle is worried that the boss is unhappy that he took childcare leave during busy period.

Small SME bosses tend to be bossy and I personally know a few who can pass remark that sound seriously threatening, but to a low rank employee, those words are a threat and they are afraid on losing the job, although the boss was angry yet does not mean to fire him.

Ya, maybe just at the top of the voice only because it cause some disruptions, inconvenience or additional load for colleagues to cover up during peak period. However after few days back to normal already as tide has already calm down. Perhaps your uncle took his words too seriously which his boss do not really mean it.

Just like for some people when they are angry, they suddenly scold this scold that, but after awhile when calm down, everything back to normal , some may even forget everything about it.

So maybe can let your uncle know things are not as bad as he imagine and not to think too much much about it. You know sometime when 1st time happen, picnic or take word too seriously which in fact is nothing at all. More importantly is don't let this incident affect his work. The more he should show he is a responsible person by making up for his work after that. Boss will sure take notice of it and will think okay, not bad at least know what to do. If he is affected by it and went back to work with low morale , boss will also take notice of it and it form even worst impression. Boss may think, Wa lao, take child care leave and cause inconvenience and now working also seems like not into work, this form negative image which will sink in to boss more deeply, this is no good.

Actually once in a while get scolded by boss is normal as long as not making too big a mistake , this one what is too big or what is too small mistake really depends on company policy and guideline. Example, ifevery now and then HR will circulate that please be reminded to ttry not to take urgent leave during peak season, if need to seek boss approval. However , this person forget to seek boss approval and take urgent leave without through boss approval, boss knows it of coz angry as HR did circulate am every now and then , how will this employee not know. This is just one example of big mistake or can by slight mistake depends on how boss sees it. What is more important is to learn the lesson and make sure it don't happen again.

The most scary part is don't know what's happening or don't know what's wrong and too Mark down by boss. At least now your uncle know it and can make necessary adjustment or to make sure it don't repeat again which is better as at least he know what boss is thinking. More predictable at least.

Edited by Yewheng

On 1/7/2015 at 8:24 AM, Mustank said:

Nowadays so hard to employ people

More so the right people at the right price

+1 - gone r ppl who were taught when doin a task, do it well, right n quick, n if still have time, learn other tasks in case to help out, n use initiative to observe what else needs to be done.

Nowadays, ppl askin higher remuneration regardless of their competency n attitude, claiming its market rate.

Sry, nothin to do w uncle takin cc leave issue.

On 1/7/2015 at 3:39 PM, Kangadrool said:

sometimes, bo pian one due to various reasons like age (> 40 yo), "high" salary, sole bread winner, cho ku ku bian cheng hoo liao....

can fully understand [thumbsup] ........so if tis is the situation then Boss say cannot or don't like u to take leave then don't take leave to jeopardise ur rice bowl, tats call Bo Pian ya..

In life, one's decision very hard for another to understand. Tat's facts of life ya [:)]

Hope nothing will happen n the boss let it slide......... [thumbsup]

On 1/8/2015 at 12:00 AM, FourZero said:

can fully understand [thumbsup] ........so if tis is the situation then Boss say cannot or don't like u to take leave then don't take leave to jeopardise ur rice bowl, tats call Bo Pian ya..

In life, one's decision very hard for another to understand. Tat's facts of life ya [:)]

Hope nothing will happen n the boss let it slide......... [thumbsup]

if really like that... then childcare leave is just am excuse. .not the cause liao..

advise .. better look for backup plans before things really happen.

On 1/7/2015 at 8:00 AM, Rastaman01 said:

My uncle had first time taken childcare leave as son was not well... the boss was unhappy.... in case the boss fire him is there any recourse....

..did he also take more than half of his MC every year....that will aroused the attention of the management..imo

On 1/9/2015 at 2:23 AM, Kezg1 said:

..did he also take more than half of his MC every year....that will aroused the attention of the management..imo

Hmm... Indeed some people have this "uncanny" ability to plan and take all MCs within a year. And add the annual leave, really no horse run...

Seriously, if the boss is going to fire him this time round and not successful, I doubt your uncle gonna survive long in his present company.

He can go see mp , police, SMRT(feedback), TRS until sky drop down also no point liao...

He can start looking for job now...