IF get fired for taking childcare leave, is it fair?

Rastaman01

Busy period ya as new year and lots of deliveries...and yes legal child

actually like that more contradicting.... since busy due to new year and lots of deliveries.... if i am the boss.. i just tahan till peak period over than fire him.. rather than fire him now.... because i will likely have to overpay someone to take over his deliveries or hire a new person...

so should have more underlying issues than just this incident of childcare leave

actually like that more contradicting.... since busy due to new year and lots of deliveries.... if i am the boss.. i just tahan till peak period over than fire him.. rather than fire him now.... because i will likely have to overpay someone to take over his deliveries or hire a new person...

so should have more underlying issues than just this incident of childcare leave

TS only say boss unhappy and the uncle worried that he may get fired.

unless boss is an FT

Or if boss already got a family member / cousin / friend already lined up that wants the job...

Poh mcf no use one.

A lot of old flower eyes. Only read and forget after that. [laugh][laugh]

hahaha.....got use wan......in here many bosses......can agar ration what the boss gonna do with all the feedback!

If take childcare leave can be fired, that means the boss wants to fire him long time already. Just waiting for opportunity. No use staying on anyway.

Busy period ya as new year and lots of deliveries...and yes legal child

Probably last year while delivery, missing stocks or messy cash returns or ever offend someone during the course of delivery?

Poh Stomp. Poh TRS. Poh TOC. Poh what else? [laugh][laugh]

wait self pwn [sly]

Poh mcf no use one.

A lot of old flower eyes. Only read and forget after that. [laugh][laugh]

seekali the boss in mcf!!!!! [laugh]

TS only say boss unhappy and the uncle worried that he may get fired.

Title say got fired mah. Now all confuse

wait self pwn [sly]

Maybe the boss is @jman888

Agree with most of the other people who posted.

1) Not likely to fire if the childcare leave is the one and only cause and reason, and especially as TS said, busy period coming,

2) If really fire will likely be due to other (known or unknown) reason/s, and as some have said; no point trying to resist or hang on if this is the case coz it will still happen sooner or later,

3) If really fired, the next course of action will depend on a lot of factors;

a) What is the nature of employment; temp, perm or contract? What are the terms of employment? Any notice period?

b) What is/are the reason/s provided for termination?

If no reason, then either termination notice period needs to be served, or compensation to cover for the period needs to be paid.

If there are valid reason/s, then company has the right to terminate the employee with immediate effect without compensation. By the way, "taking childcare leave" alone is not a valid reason for termination.

c) If really the company terminates your uncle and he feels he has been treated unfairly (e.g. immediate termination without valid reasons or appropriate compensation), your uncle can approach MOM for help if his monthly salary is $4000 or below, otherwise will have to engage his own lawyer to pursue it in court.

Having said all of the above, as a person who has been both an employee as well as a boss, my most honest and realistic opinion would be for him to first try and clarify any misunderstandings he might have with his boss. If there is no "misunderstanding" and the boss is really out to fire him, then better quickly go look for another job and not waste time crying over spilled milk.

wait self pwn [sly]

Tiagong nowadays their csi skills damn powder wan.

Jin satki. [sweatdrop][:p]

Bros..i think i am not clear..he said he scared get fired....mod please clos3 thread...sorry trouble all here..i just wanna ask if really happen then any recourse... paiseh all

that's ok what - your "baby" was sick - who would begrudge anyone time to take a sick baby to hospital?

Lol I was too honest, told my boss my car need to service ....so I will use up my 2 days childcare leave becoz and bring forward...hahahahaha

Taking childcare leave is an entitlement so not likely to get fired.

Getting caught making a child is more likely to get him fired.

That one better don't try or if try better don't get caught.