Purchasing Furniture online - Anyone? Any advice?

A_korusawa

which type of bulbs are you referring to? Isn't LED the most savings?

I have replaced my front entrance light from compact florescent to LED, on 24/7/365.

Now, thinking to progressively replace all with LED.

this kind

Energy-saving-lightbulb-001.jpg

This kind should be very long life one if you don't keep switching it on and off, plus, it must not be housed in enclosed enclosure (lighting fixture), e.g. those water-proof lighting fixture used in bathrooms or some people fix it inside cooker hood, etc. Otherwise, the electronic circuit will fry in no time.

this kind

Energy-saving-lightbulb-001.jpg

Edited by Kangadrool

This kind should be very long life one if you don't keep switching it on and off, plus, it must not be housed in enclosed enclosure (lighting fixture), e.g. those water-proof lighting fixture used in bathrooms or some people fix it inside cooker hood, etc. Otherwise, the electronic circuit will fry in no time.

i find this kind more worth it than LEDs.

1. easy to find in normal shops.

2. cost price around 40% of LEDs

3. long lasting, can be > 5 years. my experience > 8 yrs

4. i find that its light is warmer (colour tone) than those LEDs, esp if you like the warm tone.

actually most of my energy saving bulbs are housed in enclosed areas eg under false ceilings. no impact to life span.

i find this kind more worth it than LEDs.

1. easy to find in normal shops.

2. cost price around 40% of LEDs

3. long lasting, can be > 5 years. my experience > 8 yrs

4. i find that its light is warmer (colour tone) than those LEDs, esp if you like the warm tone.

actually most of my energy saving bulbs are housed in enclosed areas eg under false ceilings. no impact to life span.

last 8 years?

by the 8th year, wouldn't the brightness be left with less than 50%?

I have used both energy saving lights and LED lights, now my whole house is fitted with LED lights, including toilet lights and front door lights. For me will be LED all the way unless there is a new product that can save more energy and money, more long lasting, cooler, and brightness does not dim as it ages.

last time i use their sea shipping cost was $1 per volumetric kg

1vkg = [lenght cm * breath cm * hieght cm]/5000

usually sea shipping is quoted in price per m3

1m3 is 200 vkg

i tiagong if you get those shippers inside taobao (not taobao official shipper) lagi cheaper. can hit like $0.25 per vkg

worth or not is subjective

but jst to let you know, unlike amazon, buying from taobao is a risk

if the item is a lemon, you are basically stuck, effectively no recourse one

what furntiture you looking for?

I'm looking at this . . . http://www.sgshop.com/?taobao=show_698_38112632135

just one of my list . . .

what's your thought?

just bought these 2 bathroom set in Nov but have not install because place still under reno... happy with quality

http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z09.2.9.104.DOzCOs&id=41356740189&_u=7kh9qm8b495

http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z09.2.9.121.DOzCOs&id=41567096059&_u=7kh9qm85e5f

Just custom made stainless steel kitchen cabinet and 1 piece basin + kitchen top for my dry kitchen 2.25m*1.7m, includes designing, choosing of panels, rollers, materials and image rendering, etc.

Now in production.. pending the stainless steel cabinet to reach their shop, they will take picture for me after making sure all the parts fits...once i ok with everything, they will pack it up and deliver to my shipper..

hope everything proceed smoothly.. lol

http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z09.2.9.44.UQ3gaA&id=14269836465&_u=7kh9qm87174

today just received a 1000 thread egyptian bedsheet.. can't wait to go home and see quality good anot... bought motion sensor light also... basically all my things come from taobao now haha

most importantly you need a reliable and trustworthy shipper

Hey, Galantspeedz

how have you been? the last time we met up was . . . say, almost 10 yrs ago!

time really really flies........

Now, any advice from you for me to obtain this . . . http://www.sgshop.com/?taobao=show_698_38112632135 ?

Should I approach any shipper to check out the shipment prior ordering from seller?

or should I let shipper deal with seller?

All in all, just trying to get what's best worth in price and a reliable transaction . . .

buy from MY must be very careful especially the spelling...

My wife saw some electrical thingys so cheap, she thought Panasonic..... whoah how come so cheap?.....

I point to the spelling... Pensonic. [laugh]

Maybe your Osram is Oslam or Orsam? [:p]

Not to mention those cheap clothings like Adadis....

Pensonic brand have been in Malaysia since the early 80s. They manufacture mostly cheap, low tech appliances. IMO, quality is commensurate with price. I don't think there is any intention to cheat.

Hey, Galantspeedz

how have you been? the last time we met up was . . . say, almost 10 yrs ago!

time really really flies........

Now, any advice from you for me to obtain this . . . http://www.sgshop.com/?taobao=show_698_38112632135 ?

Should I approach any shipper to check out the shipment prior ordering from seller?

or should I let shipper deal with seller?

All in all, just trying to get what's best worth in price and a reliable transaction . . .

eh.... we met before meh?

1) i believe likely if you buy from the taobao link is cheaper

2) go by sea

3) it is more advisable to check yourself with the seller the estimated dimensions of the package and the package is divided into how many parcels, you can download aliwangwang to communicate with the seller.

4) certain local courier companies charge extra if you package exceed a certain length... for ex, mine charges extra sgd200 if it exceeds 2.4m so it depends on which sg partner your china shipper tie up with

5) some delivers to first floor only, anything more additional charge again. refer to point 4

6) likely you will have to self install

7) lastly, you may want to do comparsion with JB furniture. It could actually be cheaper in JB because of the shipping cost in china

eh.... we met before meh?

Yes, we definitely met before during the SGC days - if you were the Galantspeedz whom owned a Galant before . . .

I can call you if you PM me your contact . . . [:)]

Anyway, thanks for the followings:

1) i believe likely if you buy from the taobao link is cheaper

- hope so, liaising with SGShop . . . .

2) go by sea

- yes, shipment to economic sea

3) it is more advisable to check yourself with the seller the estimated dimensions of the package and the package is divided into how many parcels, you can download aliwangwang to communicate with the seller.

- checked with agent..... but dunno if its better to pay extra 8% of total cost to get agent to "BuyforMe" or just "ShipforMe" after I bought from seller

4) certain local courier companies charge extra if you package exceed a certain length... for ex, mine charges extra sgd200 if it exceeds 2.4m so it depends on which sg partner your china shipper tie up with

- noted, but this cannot be helped if there's no choices

5) some delivers to first floor only, anything more additional charge again. refer to point 4

- no issue

6) likely you will have to self install

- hopefully I got the right tools . . .

7) lastly, you may want to do comparsion with JB furniture. It could actually be cheaper in JB because of the shipping cost in china

- I was thinking about this previously but dunno where to find from JB..... any advice???

Nevertheless, is it true for below?

1st Payment: Product Price + China Domestic Shipping (China Express)
· Paid after checking out items from shopping cart.
2nd Payment: International Shipping + Service Charge + Local Delivery (optional)
· Paid upon the arrival of your product in Singapore
How do I know if the domestic shipping cost is included or extra by how much? Any idea?

Hi Guys

your experience is needed . . .

Taking a good exact example for better cost analysis/calculating:
1. http://www.sgshop.com/?taobao=show_698_38112632135 200x80x75 planks 8cm - S$640
2. http://www.sgshop.com/?taobao=show_698_428693002612 200x80x75 planks 8cm - S$556
I assume both links above are selling the same item (base on picture).
Any idea . . .
- Why is there a price different at almost S$90?
- How do I ensure that I'm getting what the picture is, ie. color, design etc.?
- How would you check it out on the preferences, contact seller? How?
Cheers!

Answer to point 3, if sgshop bears the responsibility that if the item is incorrect then let them earn the 8%. Likely if you buy ship4u, they only responsible to ship the items for you but will not check what you buy. Gotta look at their t&c

Yes, the payment method is correct. Usually you will not know their local courier charge for big items unless you check with the sellers. But based on the 2 sellers taobao link, local delivery is free so no worries on that

Lastly, why the price difference.... this gonna get interesting.... taobao sellers has this habit of copying each other pictures for same items and likely even the first original seller may have copy this picture from google or what

I only can say, expect max 80-90% of what you see in the picture... lol

Eh.... yeah I last time from sgc.... very long ago liao sia.....

Hi Guys

your experience is needed . . .

Taking a good exact example for better cost analysis/calculating:
1. http://www.sgshop.com/?taobao=show_698_38112632135 200x80x75 planks 8cm - S$640
2. http://www.sgshop.com/?taobao=show_698_428693002612 200x80x75 planks 8cm - S$556
I assume both links above are selling the same item (base on picture).
Any idea . . .
- Why is there a price different at almost S$90?
- How do I ensure that I'm getting what the picture is, ie. color, design etc.?
- How would you check it out on the preferences, contact seller? How?
Cheers!

i think different seller markup differently..v common in taobao the price got many differences

wood colours never tally from picture one..they will never be the same of its kind..unless its a laminate sheet not a real wood

last 8 years?

by the 8th year, wouldn't the brightness be left with less than 50%?

I have used both energy saving lights and LED lights, now my whole house is fitted with LED lights, including toilet lights and front door lights. For me will be LED all the way unless there is a new product that can save more energy and money, more long lasting, cooler, and brightness does not dim as it ages.

yes, lasted at least 8 years.

the lights did dim over the years but not 50%. I don't have an instrument to measure the illum so can't comment how much it has dimmed. But overall, still very very useable.

I bought a battery LED motion sensor tube from taobao about $10 a piece, 19cm in length for testing. Looks elegant too.

So far works very well...... what surprised me was I did not expect that when there is light (eg: daytime and if light is on) , then the motion sensor won't be activated. If there is no light, then it will be activated when you are walking last about 10s each time.

The only grouse is the sensor length abit short, about 1.5m-2m but angle to detect quite wide should be 150 degrees. Only have a always on buttom or motion detected button.

Also it comes with a tape at the back to stick to any surface however the sticker is stuck to a magnet which in turns attached against the tube. So you can actually remove the tube if you need it as a torchlight while the magnet is still stuck on the wall.

Now I go kitchen no need to on the light, just walk and the kitchen will be lighted up. Monitoring when will battery be used up. Uses 4 AAA battery.

http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z09.2.9.10.oY1acU&id=20363571898&_u=ckh9qm8c47b

Also bought 1000 thread Egyptian cotton bedsheet and 2 x pillow case for about $40+ dollars. Bedsheet have not tested but pillow case not bad... especially for the price... Value for money I would say

http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z09.2.9.83.oY1acU&id=22269872580&_u=ckh9qm8d6d8

Share kangtao only

post-131345-0-26334700-1436243024_thumb.jpg

Hello hello, anyone keen in this cabinets. Moving house and does not blend in with the design of my new place.

If ok, you will need to come by my place this weekend to collect it , if not, you will have to collect from my new house in paterson road.

As for the price, i bought around 2,000 but

I dont want the money, you just need to make a donation to any orphanage and chinese temple will do.

I was thinking about 200 to each charity so about 400.

Anyone keen pm me

Edited by Staff69

Anyone keen, the length is about 2 meters and height about 1 meter.

if you need movers, can pass you the contact of my movers and , you can negotiate with him to longpang during the shifting .

dont want monies, just do a donation to charity will do

Last weekend. Anyone keen?

Dont want money. Just donate to charity will do.

This is a very solid cabinet