How many of us have parents like this?

Jiayong

Our Chinese Proverb taught us this way, " 失 败 是 成 功 之 母 " [thumbsup]

you never study correctly.

children never turn out well is all teacher's fault lah

教不严,师之惰

Confucius say one cannot be wrong lah.

boh pua bui dua han , seen in my own eye , most of the people i know who had a harsh upbringing grew up to be better persons than those who lead a much better life than others.

Same for my own life. The more defeats/failures you encounter when young will help build up your character.

Edited by CH_CO

you never study correctly.

children never turn out well is all teacher's fault lah

教不严,师之惰

Confucius say one cannot be wrong lah.

严 师 出 高 徒 [scholar]

I am a bad daddy... always tell my toddler girl dont run dont run but never listen.. if she fall down... i will scold her and ask her to stand up herself... even if she is crying badly i will scold 1st b4 comforting her...

i also do this everyday.

I drink kopi black without anything. Bitter also you know.... :D

Do you also sleep on your pay slips aka 卧薪, or at least your CPF statement and feel happy?? [grin] [grin]

There are many ancient Chinese idioms, proverbs and poems that praise character, hard work, excellence and success through failures. Don't recall any that encourage material luxury and pamper. There seems to be nothing "Asian" about over-protective parenting.

I could be wrong but the alternate interpretations maybe are as below:-

十年受尽窗前苦,一举成名天下闻。<----- hinting at lust for fames

白日依山尽,黄河入海流。欲穷千里目更上一层楼<----- aiming for for atas-ness

為人所不能為者,是豪傑事;忍人所不能忍者,是聖賢事。

胜败兵家事不期,包羞忍耻是男儿。

Ha Ha, did the same bro.

My son fell also, and ended up 5 days MC for school and many visits to the sinseh. [sweatdrop] [sweatdrop]

Ten years of hard work to prepare one for the right opportunity and success.

"aiming for atas-ness" -- depends how you define success. Being a better person, being a better artist, being a wealthier man ? Basically, if you want to go farther, you have to step up.

The atas thingy in my previous was mentioned in jest....

Yes, to do a good job in any chosen career / field, we must put in our efforts regardless if its all for self gratifications or for the better of others. [grin]

Our ancestor's wisdom tells us "天降大任于斯人也,必先苦其心志,劳其筋骨,饿其体肤". This is often lost in modern times. In essence, "What doesn't kill you makes you stronger" told by Meng Zi, 2000+ years ago.

Oh yes, what doesn't kill you make you stronger. If I can have 十兄弟 10 children, I don't mind. But hor, I can only have a couple, so I cannot risk them so much.

fongmy, how is the prostar workshop in bukit indah ar?

good and reasonable?

Hi, Bro Galantspeedz,

I used Prostar 啊 龙 for my previous MB E280 V6 car reg.3113, he is very friendly with me but honest comment about his mechanic's skill is "so so" only.

Current MB E250 & BMW 525i using Top Power Mr.Vincent Chai located at Jalan Pelangi Pasir nearby Sultan Horse Racing Turf, just 3 shop next to Shell Petrol Kiosk.

Top Power Mr.Vincent Chai is very skilful in continental cars, I'd tried continental speacialist from KL ~ Ipoh ~ Penang ~ Malacca ~ Batu Pahat and all couldn't pin point my IL6 engine slight wobbling problem.

But only Top Power Mr.Vincent Chai is able to find out my cyclinder #6 piston ring leaks and help me to replace the won-off piston ring and done top head overhaul for reasonable price.

You may ask both or other WS's for comments and their charges with regard of your repairing or routine engine servicing.

Unfortunately, we all have the best intentions, including the schools also; now they try to "help" students. Unfortunately, some of the "help" starts to border on spoon-feeding.

Must draw a line somewhere and let people fail naturally. But we must also, at the same time, change our mindsets about failure.

Problem is that, "failure" is still seen as bad and irredeemable. So everybody must "succeed" - resulting in more dumbing down and spoon-feeding, until one day, the crutches are taken away suddenly [laugh]

Yes, I believe as parents, you must allow your kids to fall, within controllable limits.

If they don't learn to fall, they will never learn to get up.

And you can't be by their side forever.

Once, I was on a plane and this was exactly what an Aussie mother did when her toddler fell on the aisle.

She told the toddler to be a man and pick himself up.

I would imagine a completely different reaction from an Asian parent.

Two recent cases to think about:

Parent complaining to Mindef for not providing transport to send a recruit home when he was on Attend "C".

A recruit wrote to the Forum on Straits Times asking public transport passengers to give up their seats for recruits.

Once, I was on a plane and this was exactly what an Aussie mother did when her toddler fell on the aisle.

She told the toddler to be a man and pick himself up.

I would imagine a completely different reaction from an Asian parent.

Two recent cases to think about:

Parent complaining to Mindef for not providing transport to send a recruit home when he was on Attend "C".

A recruit wrote to the Forum on Straits Times asking public transport passengers to give up their seats for recruits.

Is this for real?