How to get your lost mobile phone back

BabyBlade

On 1/5/2015 at 7:19 AM, Zxcvb said:

I just tried turning off my iPhone 5S without unlocking. It CAN be done. You guys got try bo??

off mean power off or just sleep?

if only sleep mode, but it has already connected to wifi or with sim card, you can detect the phone.

Many apps available to track. For android phones the easiest is android device manager. But if the person wipes the phone then the app also no use already.

On 1/5/2015 at 6:32 AM, Watwheels said:

Cannot just take out the sim card regardless having the phone on/off?

Just remove the sim card and dump it. Can still track?

For android there are apps that can send you an SMS/message whenever the sim card is changed. You can set who to send to SMS to. Just send to a family member so you can get the handphone number of the person who picked up your phone. Easier for the police to track them down also even if they wipe the phone after that cuz you have the person's handphone number already.

I dunno about other phones, but for iPhone or iPad even if the thief can take make away it, it still need the owner to deactivate the device. Else the iPhone cannot be use. That's why before selling your old iPhone must always deactivate.

Unless you still using the very old iOS, never update.

  On 1/5/2015 at 7:27 AM, Nzy said:

Many apps available to track. For android phones the easiest is android device manager. But if the person wipes the phone then the app also no use already.

For android there are apps that can send you an SMS/message whenever the sim card is changed. You can set who to send to SMS to. Just send to a family member so you can get the handphone number of the person who picked up your phone. Easier for the police to track them down also even if they wipe the phone after that cuz you have the person's handphone number already.

thats why ios8 doesnt allow for wiping of phone without entering itunes account info as well.

plus, when the battery is about to die, it will send out a ping of last location.

otherwise, just use 'find my iphone' feature and track it down ... and lock the phone remotely.

you can even message the thief (ie, $ill give u $50-$100 for my phone back .. but get the mata involved haha ... so when he hands u back the stolen property and takes the cash, he will be in trouble lo)

  On 1/5/2015 at 7:21 AM, Jman888 said:

off mean power off or just sleep?

if only sleep mode, but it has already connected to wifi or with sim card, you can detect the phone.

Turnning off means power off. Yup I tried turning off the iPhone 5S while it's on sleep mode. It will prompt "slide to power off", and after sliding, it turns off, power off.

On 1/5/2015 at 6:36 AM, Darryn said:

GPS doesn't need SIM card -

Also doesn't need DATA.

Also - the phone would need to be completely "wiped" to remove the app...

Even later on turn on, can still activate the app and trace.

GPS doesn't need Data but if there is no data connection, you won't be able to contact your phone to ask them to report the GPS coordinates in the first place.

As long as the perp doesn't connect it to the internet, you are out of luck.

  On 1/5/2015 at 7:31 AM, Sp4wn said:

thats why ios8 doesnt allow for wiping of phone without entering itunes account info as well.

plus, when the battery is about to die, it will send out a ping of last location.

otherwise, just use 'find my iphone' feature and track it down ... and lock the phone remotely.

you can even message the thief (ie, $ill give u $50-$100 for my phone back .. but get the mata involved haha ... so when he hands u back the stolen property and takes the cash, he will be in trouble lo)

Ya. Thats probably the only feature from IOS that I wish was on android. For android devices if we want to do this, have to root the phone.

But then I noticed that even with this feature, thieves still prefer to steal iphones than android phones. I was in Spain recently and my friend was pickpocketed. The thief actually searched through his bag and even moved his phone around and took his money without taking the phone. He was using a S5. When we went to the police station to make a report, there were many tourists there also making police report. Most of them either lost money or iphones. Those with iphones lost their iphones. Those using android phones or other phones lost their wallets. lol.

Edited by Nzy

Hello,

as mentioned by babyblade

There are ways and means to ensure that you can still track your phone.

1) Apple Users

Apple users, you should already have signed up with iCloud and make sure your account is functional and online.
Your icloud is also your AppleID

a) Ensure you have a functional iCloud Account

b) Note your IOS should be 5 or above

c) Install "Find my iphone App" on your iphone

d) Turn on Find My iPhone by tapping Settings > iCloud > Find My iPhone. Tap Allow to confirm this option.

**e) Personally, if I were you, password protect your devices. (Your important details are all in it, safeguard it from even jealous bf and gfs if necessary.

For more details on using iCloud tracking, use this: https://www.apple.com/sg/icloud/find-my-iphone.html

2) Locate Missing iPhone with Find My iPhone:

As long as your Find My iPhone is turned on on the lost/stolen iPhone AND it’s connected to the Internet, you will be able to find your iPhone’s current location.

1. Visit http://iCloud.com/find.
  2. Sign in your iCloud account using Apple ID.
  3. Click on the Find My iPhone button.
  4. Choose Locate an iPhone device if you have set up more than one iOS device.
  5. Your lost/stolen iPhone’s location will show on the map if your device is online.
  6. If your iPhone is offline, you can set an option to receive an email whenever your iPhone is connected to the Internet.

2) Android Users (To find an iphone)

For Android users, if you are helping your friend find their iphone and need help to find where they may have misplaced the phone, there are many apps you can use.

1) QuickiFindLite (Which I used to track my mother's phone from my phone), pretty accurate, though you have to monitor and refresh it to see if the phone is moving.

---------------------------------------ANDROID USERS----------------------------------------

1) Lookout Security (Android Users)

Now I used this before, download the software and it can do three things (Protect you against virus and virtual threats as well as theft and loss)

What it possesses:

a) Tracking capability

b) Anti-Virus Capability

c) Interesting Factor: If your phone is password protected, the bugger keeps trying to crack it or buy lottery numbers by just testing his/her luck, it snaps a picture of their whole face and sends it to your e-mail and you can actually see their face, from which there is a link that allows you to ping their location as well.

d) Function called "Flare"
When your phone is about to run out of power or during extreme situations where your battery is extremely low, it will automatically sent out the last known location of where your phone is to your e-mail to let you know where your phone is before it powers off.

Not bad aye?

3) Avast Free Mobile Security ( https://www.avast.com/free-mobile-security )

Now this is a pretty unique app as well and many users around the globe can vouch for it,

a) It is able to lock and secure specific apps until you enter a password

b) Filters incoming calls and SMS (Based on your settings and parameters)

c) Remote Lock and Wipe

d) App Manager

e) Web Shield

f) Firewall

g) Trusted Sim Cards List

h) Sim Card change notification (A physical removal of your sim card to another sim card will automatically trigger an email alert to your e-mail with location and time details.

I) Remote Lock

j) Remote siren

**etc many more features (may need you to purchase the full-version, so check it first)

Now I know that avast seems to be the most practical ones but remember that the more functions it has, it will drain your power and each phone's UI (Operating System) is different and may have different effects or reactions. The best way is to conduct a trial and error at your own time and familiarise yourself with its functions.

Until then, for other apps, depends if I have USED them before, if not, feel free to try the others at your own time like "Find My phone" for Android.

NOTE: Please test to ensure that you are familiar with the apps that you choose so in the event of an emergency, you are actually aware of how to use it properly by conducting drills so you are familiar with it.

What am I using, a Sony Xperia Z Ultra which also comes with its own Find my device, which I can remotely locate, lock or erase as per my command.

The Catch: If your phone is low on battery, it dies, I am sorry. If the S.O.B. switches your phone or if they are an extreme geek, connect your phone and basically, wipe everything and put their own UI, I am sorry also. However, if its a new model, depends on the psychology of who stole your device, if its worth a lot, they may try and sell it out on the black market or at a second hand phone shop. My best advice, make a police report, the last thing you want is your cellphone to be used in a terrorist attack with your name attached to the device, God forbid of course!

The best defence in my opinion is not to lose your phone all together. Put a password on it and of course. don't do sensitive transactions on it.

Your safety and security matters: Even if you track the phone to a big mall, or a restaurant, the tricky bit is finding out who took your device and even if you do spot the bugger, be prepared to call the police on the person when you suspect they are acting suspicious or are seen handling your device, any direct approach is not recommended, unless you are a Navy seal or a off duty police officer.

Good Luck,

Adios,
Jericho

• Praise 10

On 1/5/2015 at 7:27 AM, Nzy said:

No. I'm talking about no sim card in the phone.

On 1/5/2015 at 7:45 AM, Vid said:

Just take out SIM card can Liao lor. Phone don't have data anymore

more for lost phone or someone found it but hesitate to return.

If stolen of course the thief will do everything to prevent it from sending out signal.

  On 1/5/2015 at 7:35 AM, y2kjericho86 said:

Hello,

as mentioned by babyblade

There are ways and means to ensure that you can still track your phone.

1) Apple Users

Apple users, you should already have signed up with iCloud and make sure your account is functional and online.

Your icloud is also your AppleID

a) Ensure you have a functional iCloud Account

b) Note your IOS should be 5 or above

c) Install "Find my iphone App" on your iphone

d) Turn on Find My iPhone by tapping Settings > iCloud > Find My iPhone. Tap Allow to confirm this option.

**e) Personally, if I were you, password protect your devices. (Your important details are all in it, safeguard it from even jealous bf and gfs if necessary.

For more details on using iCloud tracking, use this: https://www.apple.com/sg/icloud/find-my-iphone.html

2) Locate Missing iPhone with Find My iPhone:

As long as your Find My iPhone is turned on on the lost/stolen iPhone AND it’s connected to the Internet, you will be able to find your iPhone’s current location.

1. Visit http://iCloud.com/find.
  2. Sign in your iCloud account using Apple ID.
  3. Click on the Find My iPhone button.
  4. Choose Locate an iPhone device if you have set up more than one iOS device.
  5. Your lost/stolen iPhone’s location will show on the map if your device is online.
  6. If your iPhone is offline, you can set an option to receive an email whenever your iPhone is connected to the Internet.

2) Android Users (To find an iphone)

For Android users, if you are helping your friend find their iphone and need help to find where they may have misplaced the phone, there are many apps you can use.

1) QuickiFindLite (Which I used to track my mother's phone from my phone), pretty accurate, though you have to monitor and refresh it to see if the phone is moving.

---------------------------------------ANDROID USERS----------------------------------------

1) Lookout Security (Android Users)

Now I used this before, download the software and it can do three things (Protect you against virus and virtual threats as well as theft and loss)

What it possesses:

a) Tracking capability

b) Anti-Virus Capability

c) Interesting Factor: If your phone is password protected, the bugger keeps trying to crack it or buy lottery numbers by just testing his/her luck, it snaps a picture of their whole face and sends it to your e-mail and you can actually see their face, from which there is a link that allows you to ping their location as well.

d) Function called "Flare"

When your phone is about to run out of power or during extreme situations where your battery is extremely low, it will automatically sent out the last known location of where your phone is to your e-mail to let you know where your phone is before it powers off.

Not bad aye?

3) Avast Free Mobile Security ( https://www.avast.com/free-mobile-security )

Now this is a pretty unique app as well and many users around the globe can vouch for it,

a) It is able to lock and secure specific apps until you enter a password

b) Filters incoming calls and SMS (Based on your settings and parameters)

c) Remote Lock and Wipe

d) App Manager

e) Web Shield

f) Firewall

g) Trusted Sim Cards List

h) Sim Card change notification (A physical removal of your sim card to another sim card will automatically trigger an email alert to your e-mail with location and time details.

I) Remote Lock

j) Remote siren

**etc many more features (may need you to purchase the full-version, so check it first)

Now I know that avast seems to be the most practical ones but remember that the more functions it has, it will drain your power and each phone's UI (Operating System) is different and may have different effects or reactions. The best way is to conduct a trial and error at your own time and familiarise yourself with its functions.

Until then, for other apps, depends if I have USED them before, if not, feel free to try the others at your own time like "Find My phone" for Android.

NOTE: Please test to ensure that you are familiar with the apps that you choose so in the event of an emergency, you are actually aware of how to use it properly by conducting drills so you are familiar with it.

What am I using, a Sony Xperia Z Ultra which also comes with its own Find my device, which I can remotely locate, lock or erase as per my command.

The Catch: If your phone is low on battery, it dies, I am sorry. If the S.O.B. switches your phone or if they are an extreme geek, connect your phone and basically, wipe everything and put their own UI, I am sorry also. However, if its a new model, depends on the psychology of who stole your device, if its worth a lot, they may try and sell it out on the black market or at a second hand phone shop. My best advice, make a police report, the last thing you want is your cellphone to be used in a terrorist attack with your name attached to the device, God forbid of course!

The best defence in my opinion is not to lose your phone all together. Put a password on it and of course. don't do sensitive transactions on it.

Your safety and security matters: Even if you track the phone to a big mall, or a restaurant, the tricky bit is finding out who took your device and even if you do spot the bugger, be prepared to call the police on the person when you suspect they are acting suspicious or are seen handling your device, any direct approach is not recommended, unless you are a Navy seal or a off duty police officer.

Good Luck,

Adios,

Jericho

Thank you Jericho for all your insightful information.

Now just to clarify all the doubts that are popping out all over my head - even with apps to track and trace, as long as the device is switched off, or if the person who took it knows how wipe everything off, it is still impossible to get it back? Frankly speaking making a police report doesn't help at all. I don't know if the police will buy it if we tell them the phone is equipped with tracking device. It is probably all down to our own to salvage our belongings.

Prevention is always better than cure but shit does happen and we better be prepared for it when the need calls for. I am going to try out the exact same app that you are using when I get home.

And one question, how does one wipe out all the existing data on the phone anyway let's say if the phone has a password protection feature?

  On 1/5/2015 at 7:45 AM, Vid said:

Just take out SIM card can Liao lor. Phone don't have data anymore

I guess that is what most thieves will do. Leave it there for a few weeks. The owner will give up tracking after a while.

On 1/5/2015 at 7:51 AM, BabyBlade said:

Thank you Jericho for all your insightful information.

Now just to clarify all the doubts that are popping out all over my head - even with apps to track and trace, as long as the device is switched off, or if the person who took it knows how wipe everything off, it is still impossible to get it back? Frankly speaking making a police report doesn't help at all. I don't know if the police will buy it if we tell them the phone is equipped with tracking device. It is probably all down to our own to salvage our belongings.

Prevention is always better than cure but shit does happen and we better be prepared for it when the need calls for. I am going to try out the exact same app that you are using when I get home.

And one question, how does one wipe out all the existing data on the phone anyway let's say if the phone has a password protection feature?

If the user connects it to their PC, they can use certain rooting software to wipe the entire phone clean.

  On 1/5/2015 at 8:29 AM, y2kjericho86 said:

If the user connects it to their PC, they can use certain rooting software to wipe the entire phone clean.

for ios, i think cant liao. this is only for android (ie writing straight to the rom).

for me, i think the data on my phone is more impt. at home i have a daily backup and at work the same. most of my data has been moved to the cloud, and i would rather remote wipe the phone than to have the data sitting in someones hands. i have 5 years worth of sms & whatsapp in my iphone lol ...

On 1/5/2015 at 8:35 AM, Sp4wn said:

for ios, i think cant liao. this is only for android (ie writing straight to the rom).

for me, i think the data on my phone is more impt. at home i have a daily backup and at work the same. most of my data has been moved to the cloud, and i would rather remote wipe the phone than to have the data sitting in someones hands. i have 5 years worth of sms & whatsapp in my iphone lol ...

Good point Sp4wn, I believe IOS has certain safeguards that prevent a direct connect wipe from a PC.

Yes a remote wipe would be recommended if you have important data stored inside your phone. (Banking details, Etc)

Unfortunately, the chances of people returning a lost phone are slim, only what maybe 10%. I have heard only 1/20 cases that a person's phone gets returned to the owner.

On 1/5/2015 at 8:40 AM, y2kjericho86 said:

Good point Sp4wn, I believe IOS has certain safeguards that prevent a direct connect wipe from a PC.

Yes a remote wipe would be recommended if you have important data stored inside your phone. (Banking details, Etc)

Unfortunately, the chances of people returning a lost phone are slim, only what maybe 10%. I have heard only 1/20 cases that a person's phone gets returned to the owner.

not necessary be a pc, if you have an ipad sharing the same accounts, you can immediately wipe out the lock your iphone when you are outside via ipad (or vice versa). Dun have to wait till you reach home.