Sp4wn Turbocharged January 5, 2015 Share January 5, 2015 On 1/5/2015 at 8:43 AM, Jman888 said: not necessary be a pc, if you have an ipad sharing the same accounts, you can immediately wipe out the lock your iphone when you are outside via ipad (or vice versa). Dun have to wait till you reach home. I just set mine to auto wipe after 10 wrong tries. easier. only my social media stuff is logged in ... (fb, twitter etc) but banking apps they dont save any info. uob and dbs from my use, they always require all login details each time the app is opened. if you tab away from the app, you are logged out immediately as well. On 1/5/2015 at 7:51 AM, BabyBlade said: Thank you Jericho for all your insightful information. Now just to clarify all the doubts that are popping out all over my head - even with apps to track and trace, as long as the device is switched off, or if the person who took it knows how wipe everything off, it is still impossible to get it back? Frankly speaking making a police report doesn't help at all. I don't know if the police will buy it if we tell them the phone is equipped with tracking device. It is probably all down to our own to salvage our belongings. Prevention is always better than cure but shit does happen and we better be prepared for it when the need calls for. I am going to try out the exact same app that you are using when I get home. And one question, how does one wipe out all the existing data on the phone anyway let's say if the phone has a password protection feature? if you are an android user, like bro Jericho said .. it's a lot easier to break in to. (lets not get into the whole ios vs android debate here though). some countries have a blacklist for imei numbers, so always have your imei number. unfortunately, our country doesnt support blacklisting of imei numbers ... which is retarded if you ask me. the phones cant be used on any networks and cant even be activated then ... alas ... the network providers have their own reasons, for which ill allow you to make your own assumptions. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gitanic 6th Gear January 5, 2015 Share January 5, 2015 it's the next gen phone development. you have to wait till they make enough money. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged January 5, 2015 Share January 5, 2015 and we always complain that the govt is tracking us down and not respecting our privacy..... such irony 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
oleandero 5th Gear January 5, 2015 Share January 5, 2015 i think its just pure luck that the uncle who miraculously found the missing iphone in his pocket isnt tech savvy enough. for perps who intentionally steal iphones, all they need to do is turn off the phone then go underground or go flash the phone with software and 'find my iphone' will be useless.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic January 5, 2015 Share January 5, 2015 can sell as spare parts. But, I think there's some back doors to give it another life. On 1/5/2015 at 7:34 AM, Nzy said: Ya. Thats probably the only feature from IOS that I wish was on android. For android devices if we want to do this, have to root the phone. But then I noticed that even with this feature, thieves still prefer to steal iphones than android phones. I was in Spain recently and my friend was pickpocketed. The thief actually searched through his bag and even moved his phone around and took his money without taking the phone. He was using a S5. When we went to the police station to make a report, there were many tourists there also making police report. Most of them either lost money or iphones. Those with iphones lost their iphones. Those using android phones or other phones lost their wallets. lol. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kac 4th Gear January 5, 2015 Share January 5, 2015 On 1/5/2015 at 9:07 AM, oleandero said: i think its just pure luck that the uncle who miraculously found the missing iphone in his pocket isnt tech savvy enough. for perps who intentionally steal iphones, all they need to do is turn off the phone then go underground or go flash the phone with software and 'find my iphone' will be useless.. Flash is one thing...But if the ITunes account not removed / Find my iPhone not deactivated, a flashed iPhone is of no use to the perp due to the Activation Lock Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic January 5, 2015 Share January 5, 2015 Anyone knows how to make sure this function doesn't work so the wife won't know where you are? 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged January 5, 2015 Share January 5, 2015 On 1/5/2015 at 9:38 AM, Jamesc said: Anyone knows how to make sure this function doesn't work so the wife won't know where you are? drop the phone in the river. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BabyBlade Internal Moderator January 5, 2015 Author Share January 5, 2015 On 1/5/2015 at 9:07 AM, oleandero said: i think its just pure luck that the uncle who miraculously found the missing iphone in his pocket isnt tech savvy enough. for perps who intentionally steal iphones, all they need to do is turn off the phone then go underground or go flash the phone with software and 'find my iphone' will be useless.. But they can't stay underground forever right? The next best thing to do against tech savvy people who found phones, would be to do what some suggested here, set the phone to erase all data after a certain number of attempt to hack your password. On 1/5/2015 at 8:29 AM, y2kjericho86 said: If the user connects it to their PC, they can use certain rooting software to wipe the entire phone clean. I can't really read-up more as I am at work. Hideous Monday. Will catch up with you later tonight when I am done with my appointment! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gitanic 6th Gear January 5, 2015 Share January 5, 2015 the best way to safeguard your phone is.......... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hydrocarbon Turbocharged January 5, 2015 Share January 5, 2015 On 1/5/2015 at 7:27 AM, Nzy said: For android there are apps that can send you an SMS/message whenever the sim card is changed. You can set who to send to SMS to. Just send to a family member so you can get the handphone number of the person who picked up your phone. Easier for the police to track them down also even if they wipe the phone after that cuz you have the person's handphone number already. I just had this happen to me and my GF earlier today. Inserted a new sim into my old note 3, and it sent two sms to my new phone and two sms to my GF's phone. Which prompted her to ask my if I lost my phone immediately. On 1/5/2015 at 7:31 AM, Sp4wn said: you can even message the thief (ie, $ill give u $50-$100 for my phone back .. but get the mata involved haha ... so when he hands u back the stolen property and takes the cash, he will be in trouble lo) Chek ark sia.. Actually, I rather just give the money to the "thief" who could always say he found it on the floor. So, not good.. On 1/5/2015 at 7:35 AM, y2kjericho86 said: Hello, as mentioned by babyblade There are ways and means to ensure that you can still track your phone. Your safety and security matters: Even if you track the phone to a big mall, or a restaurant, the tricky bit is finding out who took your device and even if you do spot the bugger, be prepared to call the police on the person when you suspect they are acting suspicious or are seen handling your device, any direct approach is not recommended, unless you are a Navy seal or a off duty police officer. Good Luck, Adios, Jericho Thanks @y2kjericho86 for your in depth sharing (sorry I redacted your post, didn't want to waste the space on other's screens). I'll just add on a little bit for Android. I've been using this App for Android called Cerberus, and it works pretty well for finding your phone. You can set an alarm that cannot be turned off unless the battery is removed, you can take images of the person who tried to unlock your phone if you send a message, track your phone, etc. So, you can track your phone, and then send a message when you're nearby and see who answers, then send an alarm when you've cornered the guy. I haven't had my phone stolen yet, so I can't related to the loss that some have, but it still helps my find my phone when I misplace it in the office or around the house. The most important thing is to get it before you need it, otherwise, it will be useless. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged January 5, 2015 Share January 5, 2015 On 1/5/2015 at 11:16 AM, Hydrocarbon said: I just had this happen to me and my GF earlier today. Inserted a new sim into my old note 3, and it sent two sms to my new phone and two sms to my GF's phone. Which prompted her to ask my if I lost my phone immediately. Chek ark sia.. Actually, I rather just give the money to the "thief" who could always say he found it on the floor. So, not good.. Thanks @y2kjericho86 for your in depth sharing (sorry I redacted your post, didn't want to waste the space on other's screens). I'll just add on a little bit for Android. I've been using this App for Android called Cerberus, and it works pretty well for finding your phone. You can set an alarm that cannot be turned off unless the battery is removed, you can take images of the person who tried to unlock your phone if you send a message, track your phone, etc. So, you can track your phone, and then send a message when you're nearby and see who answers, then send an alarm when you've cornered the guy. I haven't had my phone stolen yet, so I can't related to the loss that some have, but it still helps my find my phone when I misplace it in the office or around the house. The most important thing is to get it before you need it, otherwise, it will be useless. bro 99% of honest pple if they find on the floor they wont even accept money. you have to insist, tio boh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
oleandero 5th Gear January 5, 2015 Share January 5, 2015 On 1/5/2015 at 9:15 AM, Kac said: Flash is one thing...But if the ITunes account not removed / Find my iPhone not deactivated, a flashed iPhone is of no use to the perp due to the Activation Lock really?! uve tried flashing an iphone before? im sure those exporters or 2nd hand shops have their way around such things. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic January 5, 2015 Share January 5, 2015 sure have back doors one lah.... as long as it's engineered by humans. Not surprise if it's as easy as 2nd hand car dealers tweaking mileage. Probably, you need the right equipment or software. On 1/5/2015 at 1:37 PM, oleandero said: really?! uve tried flashing an iphone before? im sure those exporters or 2nd hand shops have their way around such things. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hydrocarbon Turbocharged January 5, 2015 Share January 5, 2015 On 1/5/2015 at 12:24 PM, Sp4wn said: bro 99% of honest pple if they find on the floor they wont even accept money. you have to insist, tio boh? Depends wor.. If a chio bu came to collect her phone from me, and she offer money, I will counter offer ask her buy me a drink we go lim kopi tcss... I only half honest, in that case... =D But if look like guy de phone, he can ownself come find me and collect, unless shun lu.. Hahahaha.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged January 5, 2015 Share January 5, 2015 (edited) On 1/5/2015 at 5:39 AM, Hamburger said: some kind of apps??? AVast anti virus scanner got 1 function which can do lot's of cool stuff if one lost the phone. I don't really know how to explain, perhaps can go to avast website to read for more information. Edited January 5, 2015 by Yewheng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic January 6, 2015 Share January 6, 2015 On 1/5/2015 at 10:23 AM, Gitanic said: the best way to safeguard your phone is.......... I think it will be quite expensive to hire her to escort me around with my phone around her neck. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ins1dious Turbocharged January 6, 2015 Share January 6, 2015 On 1/5/2015 at 7:32 AM, Kusje said: GPS doesn't need Data but if there is no data connection, you won't be able to contact your phone to ask them to report the GPS coordinates in the first place. As long as the perp doesn't connect it to the internet, you are out of luck. The trouble with iOS is Control Center (CC) which can be activated by default even with a locked phone set with a passcode. And from CC, you can click on Airplane Mode to switch the antennas off. There goes 3G and Wifi so no more data for last reporting or to set alarm or message the perp/finder. Apple needs to rethink how airplane mode is activated through CC. Maybe now with TouchID, they can request for fingerprint authorisation before enabling Airplane Mode. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...