Columbarium issue sparks calls for flat refunds

Jman888

Columbarium near you home  

109 members have voted

1. 1. Will you stay or leave?

• Stay
    • Leave

This part of SG has many plots of empty lands. Wondering why must the authorities pick that particular area to house temple and columbarium?

Were factors like traffic congestion, noise and smoke taken into consideration? Sometimes pple who does town planning are just paper scholars; look around you people.......a lot of public amenities were planned and built by these 'experts' who knows nuts about the practical side of life.

I empathize with these applicants (except the part about future resale value ).........if they can't back out, the govt could reduce the cost of all HDB apts within 100m of the columbarium, eg, by 10k.......they could reduce the cost without devaluing the area.

To be fair, this is to defray the potential inconveniences caused by traffic congestion, noise and smoke.

At same time, as the new general hospital is being built, how come, nobody voiced their displeasure and worry about the location of the mortuary?

To answer your question , SG has many plots of land , some land are meant for future development and do be reminded that those land are reclaimed land and might need time to be stable enough yet and probably the land the temple is on is not fit for building flats?

There are certain lands in sg which has problems , my ex secondary school was newly built on a wetland and quicksand and actually closed for 1~2 to reinforce because it was sinking after 3~4 years of use.

I don't do empathize these applications , if they cannot take it , they can forfeit their deposits. Why ask for refunds ? Do you see smoke everyday ? Noise and smoke is the same anywhere , so if i see smoke from Indonesia every now and then , can i ask for refund for my property since it is inconvenient as well.

Edited by CH_CO

I agree about it being peaceful, quiet and better than next to school ( vehicular issues everyday).

In fact, I enjoyed goin to the Nirvana Memorial Garden to pay respects to my ancestors. Even had picnic lunch under the trees there! :)

However, being located in a HDB area, there's bound to have problems during periods like : Qing Ming, 7th Month, 1st & 15th day of Lunar mth, etc.....

Made worse by the lousy layout & narrower roads in new estates & the competition for parking lots.

my place next to temple also, if those it fall on weekday won't affect me. If it fall on weekend, it usually ended before 3pm.

With the model facilities, burning and the smoke will be the least concern, traffic and parking but then just bear for those few days.

Whether i got money or not, the govt didnt give me.

I earned it, cent for cent.

I can also argue that as a Singaporean, why am i not allowed to buy cheap HDB just becos my income is above cap?

Becos it is to provide subsidised housing not to provide resale value nor investment gains.

Ok i accept if that is so. I hv done my part in giving up the right to some one else. And also paying higher income taxes.

Therefore i think we need a bit more integrity wherever our income stands.

Otherwise people will look down on you whether rich or poor.

I wholeheartedly agree with what you said, it is just that rich man take on this issue not convincing la.

I agree about it being peaceful, quiet and better than next to school ( vehicular issues everyday).

In fact, I enjoyed goin to the Nirvana Memorial Garden to pay respects to my ancestors. Even had picnic lunch under the trees there! :)

However, being located in a HDB area, there's bound to have problems during periods like : Qing Ming, 7th Month, 1st & 15th day of Lunar mth, etc.....

Made worse by the lousy layout & narrower roads in new estates & the competition for parking lots.

Nirvana Memorial Garden? really?

wow!

i think in the future, cemetries and columbarium will no longer be relevant

people still start virtual columbariums

maybe on facebook platform or some other platform

inside will have nice quotes from the chap

photos from young to present

deeds and misdeeds

words of wisdom from family, friends and enemies

blah blah blah

as for the body?

ashes to ashes and dust to dust

return the carbon to carbon cycle

Powerplant_fields2560-1600-178.jpg

Edited by Mustank

deeds and misdeeds

blah blah blah

as for the body?

Hmm the recycling bin and the furnace for burning trash would be suffice , muslims also cannot bury , indians and chinese same all just send to incinerators for recycling.

I empathize with these applicants (except the part about future resale value ).........if they can't back out, the govt could reduce the cost of all HDB apts within 100m of the columbarium, eg, by 10k.......they could reduce the cost without devaluing the area.

To be fair, this is to defray the potential inconveniences caused by traffic congestion, noise and smoke.

orchard road should be one of the cheapest place liao if discount is given for the reason above......

traffic congestion, noise, smoke.... even got weekly congregration of large crowd, road closure due to events, etc

lol

nobody point gun to make them buy hdb... dun like refund lor and balek quene lor... already declared not a crematorium, no open burning of incense, many examples done. living need housing, dead also need what..

the living more troublesome than the dead... [laugh][laugh]

Edited by Vidz

deeds and misdeeds

blah blah blah

as for the body?

I also think we should come to terms that our body will eventually be fertilizer and the cycle of life begins.

Saw this on FB... [laugh]

10888868_914576415254193_608003863427459

btw more and more details being digged out from the ang mo pte ltd company that going to run the temple...$1 startup capital nia... :blink: wonder if they will run road and the temple if anything happens and...

1958223_1570413856535750_465946081178051

btw more and more details being digged out from the ang mo pte ltd company that going to run the temple...$1 startup capital nia... :blink: wonder if they will run road and the temple if anything happens and...

dont sexpose radx lah [sly][laugh]

I also think we should come to terms that our body will eventually be fertilizer and the cycle of life begins.

Yes, Already picked a tree for my family to scatter my remains next time......as fertilizer.

orchard road should be one of the cheapest place liao if discount is given for the reason above......

traffic congestion, noise, smoke.... even got weekly congregration of large crowd, road closure due to events, etc

lol

World of difference lor. A place for elite to live and shop and a tourist trap.

$1.0 company getting multi million contract is getting a dime a dozen in SG! Dig deeper and maybe all will unravel!

my place next to temple also, if those it fall on weekday won't affect me. If it fall on weekend, it usually ended before 3pm.

With the model facilities, burning and the smoke will be the least concern, traffic and parking but then just bear for those few days.

Excuse my ignorance lah....becos I encounter the traffic/parking issues, human congestion and noise as well as the smoke from burning joss sticks and offerings. So, I gather that it would be worse for pple who dwells there.