Columbarium issue sparks calls for flat refunds

Jman888

Columbarium near you home  

109 members have voted

1. 1. Will you stay or leave?

• Stay
    • Leave

Build in non-PAP neighbourhood - unfair targetting of opposition

Build in PAP neighbourhood - repay your trust with this BS!

Don't build - ALL GO JB! PAP DON'T WANT OLD PEOPLE AND FOR YOU TO PAY RESPECT TO YOUR ANCESTORS

I think you talking abt nan chiau , yup that's the one I talking about n my auntie is placed there too

Really Duno what's the fuss

quote name="Donut" post="5379912" timestamp="1420445119"]

They are just opportunists lah.... what scared of temple and smoke and whatever? just making use of this excuse to get more discounts or benefits from garment.

Again, ppl forget the fundamentals of HDB housing. It's NOT for investment.

And also knowing SG ppl. They complain for the sake of complaining.

My grandparents' ashes are placed in one of the Sengkang temples. Forget what temple liao. but i go there annually to visit them. I see all new BTO flats around it, one existing primary school directly opposite it. So what's the problem? This temple even have burning facilities.

but when election come, we were told hdb is your nest egg, hdb is your golden ticket to golden years, hdb is your golden goose that spit out gold ($$) every month

to buy a $400K $600K $900k hdb ... an ordinary sporean has to slog whole life ... work harder than a cow

so ... their livelihood depends on hdb ... hdb price can only go up ... no $1M no talk ... muahahaha

from many sporean point of view ... RESALE VALUE is EVERTHING

when election come ... want upgrade, want cover walkway, want playground,want mrt, want market, want shopping, want sun moon and star so that the hdb resale value skyrocketed ... now hdb next to thomson line huat until siao liao

How-To-Facebook-Like-Your-Google-Search.

Yup, I vote to "stay".

Cos I also want to slip beer in my living room and relax... [laugh]

Hahaha owe you 5, can't reward you now hahaha

My wife Lagi smart! Say wan self design build a balcony out of the hall for beer time zzz

Nothing more to comment regarding this issue but

I chose this project cos it's very ulu , hiding in one corner of sk n walking distance to eateries along Jln kayu. Tot it will be quite peaceful for my retirement

Now, it's cfm very FAMED Liao

Maybe resale will goes very high for those who likes columbarium

Hahaha

but when election come, we were told hdb is your nest egg, hdb is your golden ticket to golden years, hdb is your golden goose that spit out gold ($$) every month

to buy a $400K $600K $900k hdb ... an ordinary sporean has to slog whole life ... work harder than a cow

so ... their livelihood depends on hdb ... hdb price can only go up ... no $1M no talk ... muahahaha

from many sporean point of view ... RESALE VALUE is EVERTHING

when election come ... want upgrade, want cover walkway, want playground,want mrt, want market, want shopping, want sun moon and star so that the hdb resale value skyrocketed ... now hdb next to thomson line huat until siao liao

It still is. Any first property will be.

Values will grow in the long run as long as the country remains stable.

Moreover each property takes a diiferent growth path.

No matter, all that doesnt make HDB responsible for resale.

That is just not in HDB's frying pan.

Likewise, HDB will not and do not take a cut of the capital gain if there is one, upon selling.

Singaporeans are just very self centered money faced people at the end of the day

And yes i am Singaporean. Born and bred.

So i just keep on reminding myself. Sigh....

93/94......the other area was like 20-30k higher! It was a walk-in selection exercise......i like the area still. Remind me of my ns bmt time.....thats where we trained as recruits and i still can remember the white water tank!

83 /84 or 93/94? 94 that times home price very high leh if I remembered....

It still is. Any first property will be.

Values will grow in the long run as long as the country remains stable.

Moreover each property takes a diiferent growth path.

No matter, all that doesnt make HDB responsible for resale.

That is just not in HDB's frying pan.

Likewise, HDB will not and do not take a cut of the capital gain if there is one, upon selling.

Singaporeans are just very self centered money faced people at the end of the day

And yes i am Singaporean. Born and bred.

So i just keep on reminding myself. Sigh....

You got money buy private, you can pick and choose. Your words hor, not very convincing leh.

Build in non-PAP neighbourhood - unfair targetting of opposition

Build in PAP neighbourhood - repay your trust with this BS!

Don't build - ALL GO JB! PAP DON'T WANT OLD PEOPLE AND FOR YOU TO PAY RESPECT TO YOUR ANCESTORS

Mustank today so learned.😇

They are just opportunists lah.... what scared of temple and smoke and whatever? just making use of this excuse to get more discounts or benefits from garment.

Again, ppl forget the fundamentals of HDB housing. It's NOT for investment.

And also knowing SG ppl. They complain for the sake of complaining.

My grandparents' ashes are placed in one of the Sengkang temples. Forget what temple liao. but i go there annually to visit them. I see all new BTO flats around it, one existing primary school directly opposite it. So what's the problem? This temple even have burning facilities.

This part of SG has many plots of empty lands. Wondering why must the authorities pick that particular area to house temple and columbarium?

Were factors like traffic congestion, noise and smoke taken into consideration? Sometimes pple who does town planning are just paper scholars; look around you people.......a lot of public amenities were planned and built by these 'experts' who knows nuts about the practical side of life.

I empathize with these applicants (except the part about future resale value ).........if they can't back out, the govt could reduce the cost of all HDB apts within 100m of the columbarium, eg, by 10k.......they could reduce the cost without devaluing the area.

To be fair, this is to defray the potential inconveniences caused by traffic congestion, noise and smoke.

At same time, as the new general hospital is being built, how come, nobody voiced their displeasure and worry about the location of the mortuary?

You got money buy private, you can pick and choose. Your words hor, not very convincing leh.

not sure 93 or 94....i got my keys in 95 paid 137k for my 5 room. Thats why i regretted not getting a unit in that area.....88k is darn cheap hor! My sis got a unit in hougang in mid 80s......40k++

Maybe u mixed up hdb and coe....that time coe was much higher than it is now! One car + coe can practically buy an hdb 5 room!

Edited by Eviilusion

This part of SG has many plots of empty lands. Wondering why must the authorities pick that particular area to house temple and columbarium?

Were factors like traffic congestion, noise and smoke taken into consideration? Sometimes pple who does town planning are just paper scholars; look around you people.......a lot of public amenities were planned and built by these 'experts' who knows nuts about the practical side of life.

I empathize with these applicants (except the part about future resale value ).........if they can't back out, the govt could reduce the cost of all HDB apts within 100m of the columbarium, eg, by 10k.......they could reduce the cost without devaluing the area.

To be fair, this is to defray the potential inconveniences caused by traffic congestion, noise and smoke.

At same time, as the new general hospital is being built, how come, nobody voiced their displeasure and worry about the location of the mortuary?

other than those few major events in a year, a columbarium is usually very quiet and peaceful than a school [laugh]

Would everybody mind if they built the columbarium in lorong halus? Can use the methane gas released from the decomposing refuse in the incinerators! And the mou nds make quite a beautiful scenery in the mornings and evenings!

Edited by Eviilusion

Ask yourself a simple question , they no parents ? no ancestors ? Just because of a event once a while they wanna complaint ?

Then if malays too much they going to complain they hold their wedding at the void decks ?

The indians for thaipusam ?

The christians for carolling ?

Wow some people are shameless sia.

other than those few major events in a year, a columbarium is usually very quiet and peaceful than a school [laugh]

I agree about it being peaceful, quiet and better than next to school ( vehicular issues everyday).

In fact, I enjoyed goin to the Nirvana Memorial Garden to pay respects to my ancestors. Even had picnic lunch under the trees there! :)

However, being located in a HDB area, there's bound to have problems during periods like : Qing Ming, 7th Month, 1st & 15th day of Lunar mth, etc.....

Made worse by the lousy layout & narrower roads in new estates & the competition for parking lots.

When it comes to religion, guess it's pretty sensitive...

Hope both parties can settle this thing amicably...

As we age, we will need these 2 things, one after another..

-> Old folk homes, when we depend on ppl to take care of us; and

-> Columbarium, after-all, we will all go there together regardless of whether we rich or poor, live in landed, HDB, EC, Condo... We will still "rest" there

Mustank today so learned.

everybody needs an arsehole

nobody wants to be one [scholar]

i copy people one lah [grin]

😇

Whether i got money or not, the govt didnt give me.

I earned it, cent for cent.

I can also argue that as a Singaporean, why am i not allowed to buy cheap HDB just becos my income is above cap?

Becos it is to provide subsidised housing not to provide resale value nor investment gains.

Ok i accept if that is so. I hv done my part in giving up the right to some one else. And also paying higher income taxes.

Therefore i think we need a bit more integrity wherever our income stands.

Otherwise people will look down on you whether rich or poor.

Edited by Throttle2