Columbarium issue sparks calls for flat refunds

Jman888

Columbarium near you home  

109 members have voted

1. 1. Will you stay or leave?

• Stay
    • Leave

These are opportunists... make noise here and there hope that HDB gives them a big discount to make them stay... The truth is Sengkang, Punggol area resale value is already low so those intend to sell after 5 years would definitely be losing money if there is a columbarium. Bishan got rid of the "problem" easily because of it's location near to city, similar to AMK, Toa Payoh, Bt Timah etc... I seriously doubt it is because of superstitious as owners are really "young" not the pioneer generations...

Again it brought back to the issue of HDB core values, providing a house or providing an asset for investment? If it is latter, I guess everyone has the right for refund. But if it is a house for us to live, then just take it why worry about resale values? I used to hear people says they need a flat to stay, now even before having a flat people are talking about resale values?!!

Good? I'm not sure but I have one major bad when it comes to flat being used as a kind of investment - Flat becomes a luxury item rather than a necessity. [shakehead][thumbsdown]

they wish to flip it like The Pinnacle :D

Some already mentioned in the report. Resale value is their concern..

I think the resale value is important. Why? With the minimum sum in CPF always rising, some people might actually be looking at resale value to fund their retirement.

Superstition is one thing. Practical is another.

These are opportunists... make noise here and there hope that HDB gives them a big discount to make them stay... The truth is Sengkang, Punggol area resale value is already low so those intend to sell after 5 years would definitely be losing money if there is a columbarium. Bishan got rid of the "problem" easily because of it's location near to city, similar to AMK, Toa Payoh, Bt Timah etc... I seriously doubt it is because of superstitious as owners are really "young" not the pioneer generations...

Again it brought back to the issue of HDB core values, providing a house or providing an asset for investment? If it is latter, I guess everyone has the right for refund. But if it is a house for us to live, then just take it why worry about resale values? I used to hear people says they need a flat to stay, now even before having a flat people are talking about resale values?!!

Good? I'm not sure but I have one major bad when it comes to flat being used as a kind of investment - Flat becomes a luxury item rather than a necessity. [shakehead][thumbsdown]

Exactly, It's a HDB BTO flat, supposedly a roof over their ceiling and the first thing on their minds even before moving in is the RESALE value?

i used to stay in a flat near a temple with a columbia. no biggie.

I wonder y they think get refund from HDB is a good thing. Refund, HDB take back flats. They won't LL have to pay today's prices for new BTO that will take antoher 2-3yrs to build meh?

Edited by Mockngbrd

All Saints Memorial Chapel also surrounded by landed houses..I don't hear any complaints neither.

This one of the peaceful place I have visited.

I think the resale value is important. Why? With the minimum sum in CPF always rising, some people might actually be looking at resale value to fund their retirement.

Practical as it seems, but as somebody already mentioned here, the core value of HDB is to provide a roof over your head. That BTO there have met that goal. HDB should not accept "resale value" as a valid reason for the refund. I

I did poorly in school. Got to redo my O level. ... :-(

Haha, I also 8 years in primary school😄! But then, I don't stay bishan.

Exactly, It's a HDB BTO flat, supposedly a roof over their ceiling and the first thing on their minds even before moving in is the RESALE value?

I love this comment!

Resale to fund CPF? That's like 30 or 40 or even 50 years down the road (e.g. One of them was project manager Vicky Naidu, 33, who said that rejecting the flat "is a very tough decision"). By then, CPF minimum sum would have increased beyond the resale value and if they sell the flat, where do they want to stay? On the streets? They would get the CPF but with no where to stay, that's not what I call practical. When I was 30, I was only hoping to get a cheap flat for me to start a new family and never thought of how much I can earn from resale...

To make a hasty decision over the resale value after 30 or more years later, it is very very premature... So I suspect, these are short term "investors" who are hoping to cash out (COV) within 5 years, the columbarium disrupted their plan. With these kind of "investors",they pushed up the resale value of HDB flat.

This one of the peaceful place I have visited.

Practical as it seems, but as somebody already mentioned here, the core value of HDB is to provide a roof over your head. That BTO there have met that goal. HDB should not accept "resale value" as a valid reason for the refund. ICore

Core value? What is a core value? The core value of SMRT is.... provide transport for the citizens or earn money for the G? My point here is that in Singapore, everything is now dollars and cents. I dun want to go further into PUB, NS (some contention in other forums) and so on

To carnoob,

I do believe that some are short term investors hoping to cash out within 5 years but in a nation where literally everything is monetised, before we comment on such attitudes, perhaps we should look at our current situation and if this attitude is just because of individual or perhaps partially at least influenced by the current situation..

Though I admire many here shooting back at the would-be flat owners, but all things being equal, would you choose your new HDB flat near : (choose as many as you like)

A. Columbarium

B. Shopping Mall

C. MRT

D. Garden/Park

martin place condo at martin rd river valley got 1 big temple with a huge standing gold buddha inside...

alot of pple at first said that condo wont sell well but now its completely sold out n that area dam crowded now... just that got traffic jam everytime got event at the temple

Any plot of land in sg gov have the right to redevelop. Plot ratio and usage of land will be change from time to time.

If information can be found during the point of purchase then blame urself not others.

If HDB deliberately hide it that's not right.

Though I admire many here shooting back at the would-be flat owners, but all things being equal, would you choose your new HDB flat near : (choose as many as you like)

A. Columbarium

true , very true........if the needle is not poked into own finger, will never know the real pain.

I haven't seen the brochure --

But from what I understand, you had to dig pretty deep to find out --- so my vote is for "functionally secret"

I like that term.

A. Columbarium

B. Shopping Mall

C. MRT

D. Garden/Park

I would chose one near to MRT, hopefully can have covered walkway all the way. Hopefully there will be a megamall like nex next to the MRT. Hopefully on top of the mall there will be a garden /park.

But hor everyone wants that, and because of this, I might never get one through balloting.

Maybe they bought the bto at the hike of hdb prices and now taking opportunity to get refund to buy another place at a lower price?