Jman888 Moderator January 5, 2015 Author Share January 5, 2015 20yrs? I think by then, even bidadari also selling like hot cake when the population hit 10mils...hehe Cannot like that compare one, Sengkang got mountain got water, cam absorb all the ling qi, bidadari dun have all these mah ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic January 5, 2015 Share January 5, 2015 Cannot like that compare one, Sengkang got mountain got water, cam absorb all the ling qi, bidadari dun have all these mah Bidadari got american school.... AMDK area is high class.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meanmachine Supercharged January 5, 2015 Share January 5, 2015 Some already mentioned in the report. Resale value is their concern.. If resale value is the prime concern, then bring back the old days of Vendor doing the hdb valuation report, this way, sure high high want.-;)) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic January 5, 2015 Share January 5, 2015 (edited) I only know 财路 is Mandarin's "translation" of GIRO. Every month, all sorts of organisms suck $$$ from my bank accounts using 财路. not that simple actually.... because the cost of the place in orchard is higher so though rental is higher... percentage wise may be lower.... possibly sengkang may have higher returns.... hehe what 财路 sia?? HDB is now a 财路? Edited January 5, 2015 by Kangadrool 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic January 5, 2015 Share January 5, 2015 People are digging http://therealsingapore.com/content/exposed-company-build-columbarium-1-company-no-experience-building-temples Interesting to know public land zoned for the building of a temple will be run and managed by a for profit organization listed on a stock exchange. I would have thought the land will be allocated to another temple requiring new premise due to redevelopment or expansion. Should not such land be made available to non profit organizations only? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meanmachine Supercharged January 5, 2015 Share January 5, 2015 Since when Gahmen refund hatch-DB flat, they only repossessed this who run foul of law. I wait and see MND refund these owner/s even if thy don't, let see who blink first ? Who need a roof over the head, who don't need to shower & pee? We shall see . . . Dun take Bishan and Bidadari as comparison, take Holland, CCK are few example of abv average valuation. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic January 5, 2015 Share January 5, 2015 wah everyday also got juicy news. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged January 5, 2015 Share January 5, 2015 Interesting to know public land zoned for the building of a temple will be run and managed by a for profit organization listed on a stock exchange. I would have thought the land will be allocated to another temple requiring new premise due to redevelopment or expansion. Should not such land be made available to non profit organizations only? It seems to be rather murky - If you do a search, there is another article alleging that BY LAW - temple (and church) must be run by non profit. Speaking for myself - I don't understand how a temple can be run by an organisation with a profit motive - how does that work? Is it that a % of the tithes / donations go to the profit? Or that the monks must pay to be housed there? It seems rather "strange" to me ....which makes me think that either someone is lying / bending the truth or that there is a piece of the puzzle missing that will make things more understandable. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator January 5, 2015 Author Share January 5, 2015 It seems to be rather murky - If you do a search, there is another article alleging that BY LAW - temple (and church) must be run by non profit. Speaking for myself - I don't understand how a temple can be run by an organisation with a profit motive - how does that work? Is it that a % of the tithes / donations go to the profit? Or that the monks must pay to be housed there? It seems rather "strange" to me ....which makes me think that either someone is lying / bending the truth or that there is a piece of the puzzle missing that will make things more understandable. Dun start these temple and profit thing. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear January 5, 2015 Share January 5, 2015 This news is rather disturbing. BTO is a subsidized home for the people and yet the people are demanding on good neighboring area... If the new home owners are so particular in such, they should jolly well choose a home elsewhere, where GCBs are situated. Seriously, want cheap and yet complain? You are buying the flat, not buying the whole area. On the other hand, the govt is a joke. I am certain that there are many other possible areas that can be considered for Columbarium. Keep insisting the location will end up more dislikes. Basically, asking for trouble. Welcome to an unique democratic country, we called it, Singapore. Haha. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged January 5, 2015 Share January 5, 2015 Heng my house got mrt downstairs, temple next door, park nearby, 24hr ntuc less than 100m away, coffeeshop downstairs, basketball court behind, amphitheatre in front, wet market and hawker centre within 5 minute walk, barber/bakery/car rental/credit firm downstairs, plus all the usual neighbourhood shops. All also have, only haven't find lup sup bar. Wah! Bro, sounds like you stay in a 5-room caravan. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maz0608 3rd Gear January 5, 2015 Share January 5, 2015 I'm a future resident of this bto. Yes the brochure stated Chinese temple when we got it years ago. I'm always ready be it temple or columbarium . There are so many in sengkang even along anchorvale that's why I Duno what's the fuss about. I believed those who complained , I believed are strawberries or non Chinese ba IMO Yes I agree hdb not upfront about it but seriously me n my family no issue about it. Main concern should be the smoke n ashes n parking But I chose my Blk facing the green n playground, so rear facing n away from the " temple" Huge mscp so no worries at all haha I am a future resident of the EC near to this temple. I was amused when I saw the article this morning and sent it to my wife. She replied "Good what! very convenient for me to offer prayers to you next time!" 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porche 5th Gear January 5, 2015 Share January 5, 2015 Tio tender is a $1 company. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged January 5, 2015 Share January 5, 2015 It's all about money making.. 07 Apr `11, 7:46AM Niche investment in Singapore Niche investment in Singapore Niche investment in Singapore Columbarium niches SINGAPORE: Some investors have recently turned to a niche form of investment buying columbarium niches. Nirvana Memorial Garden, a columbarium at Old Choa Chu Kang Road, has been in business for two years. So far, about 300 of its customers are said to have bought niches for the purpose of investment. A parttime cleaner, who spent about S$20,000 on four niches, said: "I bought a more expensive one and a normal one. Its like buying flats and condos. My brother told me about people who bought an entire row of niches and managed to sell a few units for quite a lot. Some people really want the units next to their family." Currently, a niche can cost between S$2,900 and S$18,000. Jessie Ong, Nirvana Memorial Gardens marketing & public relations manager, said there are some telltale signs when a customer isnt buying the niche for his own use. "From our conversation with our customers and from the way they fill up the purchase order....they do not indicate the intended user. Actually, the purchaser has the right to do the transfer, so we cannot stop them from doing so." She added that what the company sells is the right to use the niche. However, industry watchers say religious groups and clan associations frown upon this practice. William Quek from Union Casket said: "They cant allow this sort of speculation to cause confusion or conflict within their organisations." Mr Quek added that there are more than 200 churches, temples and clan associations which offer niches at S$1,000 to S$10,000 per unit. CNA/ir 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged January 5, 2015 Share January 5, 2015 (edited) These are opportunists... make noise here and there hope that HDB gives them a big discount to make them stay... The truth is Sengkang, Punggol area resale value is already low so those intend to sell after 5 years would definitely be losing money if there is a columbarium. Bishan got rid of the "problem" easily because of it's location near to city, similar to AMK, Toa Payoh, Bt Timah etc... I seriously doubt it is because of superstitious as owners are really "young" not the pioneer generations... Again it brought back to the issue of HDB core values, providing a house or providing an asset for investment? If it is latter, I guess everyone has the right for refund. But if it is a house for us to live, then just take it why worry about resale values? I used to hear people says they need a flat to stay, now even before having a flat people are talking about resale values?!! Good? I'm not sure but I have one major bad when it comes to flat being used as a kind of investment - Flat becomes a luxury item rather than a necessity. Before moving in already thinking of selling it at higher price in the future. If more and more people have this mindet, it will only cause greater imbalance in the housing market. Somewhat I feel it is all because of people see some make big profit by flipping properties and they themselves think back why they never do that and learnt that next time when buy properties must also put this in main priority. Media also not helping anyway and had been publishing great stories of how resident buy sell properties and make big profit in 2000s. I in fact did voice the concern after GE2011 to MND and highlight that media and MND should work together to correct the mindset of people, banks must also be responsible in their lending. It seems to improved for past few years. However because it already sink too deep to many people that they now feel buying properties must make profit mentality which is the result of past mistake that media, MND and banks ( even now banks still have not learn any lesson, except that because government step in and they have no other choices) . So how leh?? Edited January 5, 2015 by Yewheng 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goldbug 6th Gear January 5, 2015 Share January 5, 2015 redraw boundary put inside GRC, no need to refund liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic January 5, 2015 Share January 5, 2015 (edited) to be honest, this is the thinking for each and everyone who got their first BTO buy $300K, no problem, expect to sell at $400k-$500k buy $400k, no problem, expect to sell at $500K-$600K the only way for hdb price is UP ... down is not an option Before moving in already thinking of selling it at higher price in the future. If more and more people have this mindet, it will only cause greater imbalance in the housing market. Edited January 5, 2015 by Wt_know 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueblueman 4th Gear January 5, 2015 Share January 5, 2015 I am a future resident of the EC near to this temple. I was amused when I saw the article this morning and sent it to my wife. She replied "Good what! very convenient for me to offer prayers to you next time!" LA? Ya lor hahaha ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...