Buying a new E class. Questions on PI workshop & warranty

Finclk

$20k-$30k savings is the baseline ... if lower ... not worth to consider

$50k is the best especially for a good spec'ed up car [thumbsup]

On 1/5/2015 at 4:20 AM, Aventador said:

At this price level of cars, different of $20-30,000 in the price works out to about $160-$250 a month

if such an amount a month concerns you , my advice is to look at a Camry or Accord

as you don't sound confident about buying a PI car.

On 1/5/2015 at 4:20 AM, Yeobh said:

There are shops out there that claim to be specialists of A - Z types of repairs and services including car sales ownership transfers. They are really jokers / BS kings and definetly not specialists as far as I know. How do you see it.

Ever saw a WS signboard that says "Specialise in ALL types of vehicles".

If all types simi got specialise?? [hur][hur]

On 1/5/2015 at 3:37 AM, Finclk said:

hi all,

thanks for the assistance. I was looking at quite a number of old posts hence the $500 admin fee came up which i guess is really outdated. It is $10,000 for the adoption fee.

Also the list price doesn't include the overtrade. Eclass is quite significant - $28,000. Now this changes things significantly. Price difference is about 30-35k between PI and AD.

Let's just say if i'm going ahead with PI, which are the better workshops/warranty to look for?

Was there at c&c before xmas. Looking at e200 or e250 or estate. While they didn't give me exact figures, it sounded the over trade is 20+k for e class. Not sure if it is only during year end promotions or throughout the year.

hahaha... this is simi also specialized... simi chia also screwed lor... [lipsrsealed]

On 1/5/2015 at 5:54 AM, Soya said:

Test drove both versions of E-class over weekend. Overtrade of about $27k, nett nett price about $246k for E250 avant-garde.

What I felt was, the avant-garde ride on 18" rims and lowered suspension was way too harsh - bouncy, crashy and noisy. I would save $10k and get the elegance model which was far more comfortable and quieter.

I chose to save the $10k and went for Elegance. Did not think the rims, steering wheel, exhaust and grill is worth the premium. After 3 years, when warrany over, I will spend $3k on Brabus performance exhaust for more oomph.

On 1/5/2015 at 4:35 AM, Furrynadz said:

got a few "claimed" french specialist workshop, see already want laff

amk autopoint level 2 most power

claim to be specialist in every single brand, and all u see there are poorly maintain kia/chevy all malay

another one,... sit at agent be service advisor 10 yr come out also can claim as specialist also

these day the word use too loosely

that workshop you are referring to apparently are very much recommended by the specific brand forum pple leh.

at the same time, seems like they got special relationship with the stockist.

On 1/8/2015 at 6:35 AM, Toeknee_33 said:

Test drove both versions of E-class over weekend. Overtrade of about $27k, nett nett price about $246k for E250 avant-garde.

What I felt was, the avant-garde ride on 18" rims and lowered suspension was way too harsh - bouncy, crashy and noisy. I would save $10k and get the elegance model which was far more comfortable and quieter.

PI or CNC ?

On 1/5/2015 at 5:54 AM, Soya said:

Specialises in making money

not advisable to buy from PI, my boss got it from PI, warranty claim is an issue, a lot are not cover. And those specialise workshop, don't bank on them too much. They really don't know what they are doing when it is a newer model of merc, they don't even have the machine to do testing. In the end my boss lan lan pay adoption fee of 10K and repair the faulty "warranty" merc at C&C for another 26K. You can try your luck on PI.

Edited by Atec1267

paid adoption fees $10k still need to pay $26k for warranty claim?

once adopted can claim warranty already, right.

PI: Cheap initially, but gives a huge dose of heartbreak later.

Merc full of electronics. Some workshops outside dunno WTF is happening.

Friend E250 from PI. Gearbox faulty after 2.5 years. Mileage 70,000km, no hard driving etc - 60+ old gentleman.

Approved PI workshop totally lost and tried to trouble everything but the gearbox.

In the end, it was the gearbox. 8K repair job, split 50-50 with PI after bargaining. 8K likely a recon gearbox, not a new one.

So, still wanna buy Merc E200/E250 from PI ?

On 1/8/2015 at 11:47 AM, Mjklbkldl said:

PI: Cheap initially, but gives a huge dose of heartbreak later.

Merc full of electronics. Some workshops outside dunno WTF is happening.

Friend E250 from PI. Gearbox faulty after 2.5 years. Mileage 70,000km, no hard driving etc - 60+ old gentleman.

Approved PI workshop totally lost and tried to trouble everything but the gearbox.

In the end, it was the gearbox. 8K repair job, split 50-50 with PI after bargaining. 8K likely a recon gearbox, not a new one.

So, still wanna buy Merc E200/E250 from PI ?

can pls share the PI and workshop's name? Dun need to put the name in full.

Mate. Not fair to share the PI name and 3rd party workshop as frankly, this issue will apply to almost all PIs and workshops. Which PI will honour a huge claim? And most 3rd party workshops totally lost when complex electronics/gearbox issues on contis.

My personal opinion is this - ang mo cars are v nice with cutting edge technologies. Buy AD if u want one. PI OK if you really into cars and have own contacts for quality servicing, else, maybe think thrice.

Jap makes very OK for PI purchases as most tom/dick/harries can service them --- only challenge sometimes is bodyparts when the PI model is rare.

well said ... for sushi even PI workshop don't honour to fix the gearbox ... it won't cost $10k or $20k ...

conti car ... touch touch $10k to fix ... lol

On 1/8/2015 at 12:12 PM, Mjklbkldl said:

Mate. Not fair to share the PI name and 3rd party workshop as frankly, this issue will apply to almost all PIs and workshops. Which PI will honour a huge claim? And most 3rd party workshops totally lost when complex electronics/gearbox issues on contis.

My personal opinion is this - ang mo cars are v nice with cutting edge technologies. Buy AD if u want one. PI OK if you really into cars and have own contacts for quality servicing, else, maybe think thrice.

Jap makes very OK for PI purchases as most tom/dick/harries can service them --- only challenge sometimes is bodyparts when the PI model is rare.

On 1/8/2015 at 8:00 AM, serenade said:

I chose to save the $10k and went for Elegance. Did not think the rims, steering wheel, exhaust and grill is worth the premium. After 3 years, when warrany over, I will spend $3k on Brabus performance exhaust for more oomph.

Recently got an E class as well. I don't think the differences are just cosmetic, it includes what you said plus lowered/stiffened suspension and LED ambient lighting for the interior. Makes a big difference in the look of the car :D

Edited by Magfocus