Lala81 Hypersonic January 6, 2015 Share January 6, 2015 Congrats Dr. Didn't realize they are selling the Accord at <20k profit. Kah Motor pricing is usually quite off the market. I thought you were looking at Mazda? I know the Teana and Accord are all selling for <20k margin with the Teana 2.5 at the 20k mark. To me, i look at it this way. When COE was at 65k, KM quoted me a figure 2k less than my current price. And my price now got additional 6mth road tax + 300 dollar rebate from Tokio Marine. And COE is now at 74k. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic January 6, 2015 Share January 6, 2015 I know the Teana and Accord are all selling for <20k margin with the Teana 2.5 at the 20k mark. To me, i look at it this way. When COE was at 65k, KM quoted me a figure 2k less than my current price. And my price now got additional 6mth road tax + 300 dollar rebate from Tokio Marine. And COE is now at 74k. It must be the 2L accord, the 2.4L's margin are slightly above 28k Looks like KM got f**k by Honda Motor Corp for selling so few cars in SG and the weak Yen probably helped as well. I think with more COEs, AD are sacrificing margin for higher sales volume. It is good for car buyers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thedecemberone 3rd Gear January 6, 2015 Share January 6, 2015 With crude oil prices coming down rapidly, my guess is the COE will go up, probably by about $2k to $3k. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
darth_vader_ 2nd Gear January 6, 2015 Share January 6, 2015 panic bidding coming. stop dreaming of 20k coe. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Medesmond Neutral Newbie January 6, 2015 Share January 6, 2015 panic bidding coming. stop dreaming of 20k coe. 80k for open cat tomorrow My guess ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forte3737 5th Gear January 7, 2015 Share January 7, 2015 Probably nothing special. The special thing is tat he noes his car will only cost him 6.4k/year while a similar brand new car probably at 11-12k/year. Your thinking same as mine.for 64k,I can also buy a second hand car,but the depreciation per year also about 10k for a 6 yr old car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged January 7, 2015 Share January 7, 2015 I have renewed my COE at $64171, the PQP for Nov 2014. That's why very sian. I also just renewed but 5 years only PQP for Dec Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wildfaye29 Turbocharged January 7, 2015 Share January 7, 2015 If my car cost in 2016 was $45K, its $4.5K per annum. No residual cost (PARF) if renew COE. If i renew 10 years @ $65K, its $6.5K per annum for next 10 years. Its lower than any new car on the market. The additionl road tax will only be a small component, will disregard that. So is it wise to renew? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Handsomedi January 7, 2015 Share January 7, 2015 If my car cost in 2016 was $45K, its $4.5K per annum. No residual cost (PARF) if renew COE. If i renew 10 years @ $65K, its $6.5K per annum for next 10 years. Its lower than any new car on the market. The additionl road tax will only be a small component, will disregard that. So is it wise to renew? What car you drive and how is the condition? If your car is conti better not, the problems and wear and tear will kill you. Unless its a merc 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wildfaye29 Turbocharged January 7, 2015 Share January 7, 2015 Basic Lancer (M) for retiree, currently 87K, will reach 100K mileage in 10 years. Regular servicing, no probs to-date. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic6228 6th Gear January 7, 2015 Share January 7, 2015 Probably nothing special. The special thing is tat he noes his car will only cost him 6.4k/year while a similar brand new car probably at 11-12k/year. Agree ... But more than 6.4k as he loses the scrap value of the car ... lets assumed 10k ... so it is 8.4k per year ... plus additional road tax ... higher cost of maintenance... But free of installment compared to buying a new car, knowing the history of the car .... etc ... it could be a better choice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forte3737 5th Gear January 7, 2015 Share January 7, 2015 If my car cost in 2016 was $45K, its $4.5K per annum. No residual cost (PARF) if renew COE. If i renew 10 years @ $65K, its $6.5K per annum for next 10 years. Its lower than any new car on the market. The additionl road tax will only be a small component, will disregard that. So is it wise to renew? Even if you need to overhaul engine n replace parts, it's stil Worth to renew. I.dun see coe falling anywhere below 60k in 2015. New n old car prices will still be high Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Matrix0405 5th Gear January 7, 2015 Share January 7, 2015 Basic Lancer (M) for retiree, currently 87K, will reach 100K mileage in 10 years. Regular servicing, no probs to-date. The basic Lancer is so basic and has nothing fancy. And because it has nothing fancy, nothing will spoil. Even got spoil, parts, compatible parts and mechanics are ample. Another 10 yr is no problem and Lancer will still be in demand. Anyway, prediction for today's COE is Flat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forte3737 5th Gear January 7, 2015 Share January 7, 2015 My parf very little only lar....... Agree ... But more than 6.4k as he loses the scrap value of the car ... lets assumed 10k ... so it is 8.4k per year ... plus additional road tax ... higher cost of maintenance... But free of installment compared to buying a new car, knowing the history of the car .... etc ... it could be a better choice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear January 7, 2015 Share January 7, 2015 Agree ... But more than 6.4k as he loses the scrap value of the car ... lets assumed 10k ... so it is 8.4k per year ... plus additional road tax ... higher cost of maintenance... But free of installment compared to buying a new car, knowing the history of the car .... etc ... it could be a better choice. I believe his parf should be below 10k which makes him renew. I could be wrong though. No right or wrong, just how one spend his money. :) 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stepspro 3rd Gear January 7, 2015 Share January 7, 2015 lets' say current car value at 70K with coe@90K, new car cost 150K... minus off 70K (need top up 5K cash to meet 50% dp rule), left 75K to service over 5yrs... if coe at 60K with new car selling at 120K and current car value drop to 40K (need to top up 20K cash), this will work out to 60K still to service over 5yrs also... of cause numbers are not this simple but just for the sake of calculation .... which one you think is better? There is a technical error in the calculation... Then 10y COE drops $30k, you cannot assume the used car COE also drop 30k. If the car is already 5 years, the value of used car should drop $15k only. Not 30k lah.... So, it should be, still need to top up $5k but loan is 60k. Don't mislead people.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigtoothpick 3rd Gear January 7, 2015 Share January 7, 2015 I don't understand why people assume that bad news now will affect COE bidding almost immediately. We know dealers control the game. Typically they take in 6 bids commitment so the bids going in now could theoretically be from as far back as end-October 2014. I'm guessing it would take at least 1-2 months before backlog is cleared. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jwee85 5th Gear January 7, 2015 Share January 7, 2015 If, a big IF, its really controlled by dealer. Of course dealer will fear next few months not many buyers due to depressed economy and bad news. What better ways to bring in potential car buyers...the same old tried and proven game of create a controlled aftificial COE mini-crash today? A potential drop of $8k to $10k will bring in the fence sitters in droves this weekends. Thereby securing enough bookings for the next 6 bids. Get it? I don't understand why people assume that bad news now will affect COE bidding almost immediately. We know dealers control the game. Typically they take in 6 bids commitment so the bids going in now could theoretically be from as far back as end-October 2014.I'm guessing it would take at least 1-2 months before backlog is cleared. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...