Jenius81 1st Gear December 29, 2014 Share December 29, 2014 isofix vs using seat belts - both are the same, both are as safe, if you use them correctly. isofix saves you time to take out and put the car seat back in. Using seat belts to secure car seat takes more time, and theres a chance u will install it wrongly. lastly, in sg, its a convention to say 06/07 car instead of 16/17. You are confusing us when you keep on using "16/17" to label the kind of cars that you are looking at. Would strongly recommend latio sedan - big rear space for your family. Go and take a look and u will be surprised at the space it has. Sylphy also has big space., but its slightly longer, and more ex. Latio 1.5A is decently powered, 4AT / CVT pretty reliable, authorised dealer Tan Chong is good and not expensive. If you go outside workshops, there's also plenty of choices. good luck, and do go test drives at the used car dealer ship.. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whosnex Clutched December 30, 2014 Share December 30, 2014 Would you consider Citroen 4 Picasso? It's family friendly. 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chowyunfatt Turbocharged December 30, 2014 Share December 30, 2014 It is always exciting to talk about what car to buy. After buy, this cannot that cannot. Have to come back to ask again. Mind you, could you handle current road condition with passenger giving you all sorts of instruction (that's my presumption hor)? Could you handle crying baby in the car? This one no Joke ... Will drive you Mad ... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic December 30, 2014 Share December 30, 2014 This one no Joke ... Will drive you Mad ... Spoken like a true expert [laugh] Cockroaches too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chowyunfatt Turbocharged December 30, 2014 Share December 30, 2014 Spoken like a true expert [laugh] Cockroaches too Cockroaches are in a different league entirely ... I shall not OT ... 😂 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged December 30, 2014 Share December 30, 2014 Cockroaches are in a different league entirely ... I shall not OT ... 😂 Di di siao siao 😂 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super366 2nd Gear December 30, 2014 Share December 30, 2014 Actually TS, You just passed right? Manual or auto. It may appear odd, but I just think that those that qualify on manual tend to be ...you know then auto qualified.. Also, how big are you ? Your height and body build... Your wife... Any plans for FIL to drive? What is your lifestyle? Pile everyone in and haul to melaka club on the weekends? Better you get a Toyota rush or similar or an MPV. Higher and larger. Can go continental but then the better safety is not to get hit or hit anything, not the number of airbags... I wouldn't go sedans with family, but that is just me. Enjoy shopping, I look forward to doing it on 2016/17. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic December 30, 2014 Share December 30, 2014 No point taking the prev generation altis. The back seat is less spacious than its rivals. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super366 2nd Gear December 30, 2014 Share December 30, 2014 No point taking the prev generation altis. The back seat is less spacious than its rivals.True dat That is why there is a station wagon version of the altis. Still. Based on your budget and needs, TS, just dun get ripped off by those salesman, we are only one time sales, so they hit hard. Avoid sedans, get a high big car, easy entry / exit for person cradling child. Pregnant woman should be relatively comfortable. The wish MPV has a lower ratio of hip to something -- read it here somewhere, so not a recommendation. Go with rush or that Suzuki thin gee. Nissan Murano if you can afford...or something like that. And practice in old tight and dark mscp before driving your family...you will need it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged December 30, 2014 Share December 30, 2014 Hi, I just got my driving license last month and would like to purchase a used car for both family purpose and also gain some practical skills. I stay with wife, a one-year old baby and parents. Hence I believe a big car is necessary but not MPV as it is to big for newbie. As the family is big, I think a 2.0L is a must, thus I have shortlisted Kia Magentis, Hyundai Sonata, Toyota Camry, Honda Accord, Nissan Cefiro, Mazda 6 and Subaru Legcy. Prefer to buy a car registered in 2016 or 2017 because eventually I may have to buy a MPV when second baby comes. Please share your opinion on these cars: i.e interior space (2 adults and a safety seat in rear row), FC, reliability and cost. Thank You! The 8-9 seaters MPV from Ssangyyong? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomvroom 2nd Gear December 30, 2014 Share December 30, 2014 The 8-9 seaters MPV from Ssangyyong? That Stavic is one huge monster. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahseng 5th Gear December 30, 2014 Share December 30, 2014 That Stavic is one huge monster. Monster as in godamn ugly? lol, not referring to the latest gen ones Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeffc 5th Gear December 30, 2014 Share December 30, 2014 Can get this, good for your pocket and space also not bad but need patience to drive as it's heavy. http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=446845&DL=1191 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
flashbang Turbocharged December 30, 2014 Share December 30, 2014 It's good to practise with a smaller sedan if you're a new driver. Most carparks in SG are quite small and it takes some experience to be able to drive a longer sedan. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pazzinov2014 Neutral Newbie December 30, 2014 Author Share December 30, 2014 Many ppl recommend Latio. I only concern the rear hump will make the passenger sit at middle uncomfortable. Any 1.5L/1.6L car has flat flooring in rear row? Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged December 30, 2014 Share December 30, 2014 (edited) Many ppl recommend Latio. I only concern the rear hump will make the passenger sit at middle uncomfortable. Any 1.5L/1.6L car has flat flooring in rear row? Thanks Got but not flat ( low rear hump ), honda civic, toyota prius, toyota axio.. currently that's what I can think of. There are more models with low rear hump of coz. Edited December 31, 2014 by Yewheng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahseng 5th Gear December 31, 2014 Share December 31, 2014 get a WOWO S80 man. high omv, low resale, big size, tank like. im considering this hahahaa...any downsides beside the fuel consumption? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic December 31, 2014 Share December 31, 2014 get a WOWO S80 man. high omv, low resale, big size, tank like. im considering this hahahaa...any downsides beside the fuel consumption? Last i checked. The few are depreciating at around 15k+/year. Much easier to find S60. U can buy some older 5 series at this depre as well. And a brand new one only depreciates at 17k/year... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...