Darryn Turbocharged December 29, 2014 Share December 29, 2014 You are suggesting a 240hp mpv to a new driver to drive his family around? 😱 Nothing wrong - It is down to how you drive, not the horsepower. I actually advocate a more powerful, better handling car for new drivers as they are more "forgiving" if you make a mistake - (excepting the big ego speeding of course) - If you do something wrong, it won't be as disastrous as a less powerful car ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic December 29, 2014 Share December 29, 2014 Thanks, Indeed that's why I prefer to buy a sedan rather than a hatchback for my first car. At least it may be less impactful when being hit seriously from behind. You mentioned your wish was kissed 3 times from behind but left with no serious damage. Are you referring to heavy hit or really light kiss? this is toyota. light kiss only lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achtung 6th Gear December 29, 2014 Share December 29, 2014 For superb impact absorption , Continentals are still the best. Eg Renault, Fiat. Thanks, Indeed that's why I prefer to buy a sedan rather than a hatchback for my first car. At least it may be less impactful when being hit seriously from behind. You mentioned your wish was kissed 3 times from behind but left with no serious damage. Are you referring to heavy hit or really light kiss? Chey, smooch niah! this is toyota. light kiss only lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged December 29, 2014 Share December 29, 2014 I own the Edix as a 2nd family car. To me, it is not werid having 3. In fact, I find it a plus point! For 7 seaters, more often than not, when the last row is raised, that leaves little boot space for barang barang. also, leg room is sometimes for short farts or kiddos. I also shuddered at the thought of a rear collision. For some who owns 7 seaters, the last row is for throwing your shopping on..... Having said that, most Edix shall perish in 2006/7. I am now thinking what's gonna be my next having enjoyed the convenience of a 6 seater.... I love the APV when u try to cup corner... it cannot defy gravity :P I have the Wish, Agree on the space issue - what we did a lot when had the maid was split fold the back row, so seat six. Can still fit decent amount of luggage like that. Wifey also sit back row for short trips. Can manage ok. This is one thing I dun like about the current Oddy - back row either down or up, no split. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achtung 6th Gear December 29, 2014 Share December 29, 2014 Good to have big power to lug an MPV. My Edix crawls!!!! Nothing wrong - It is down to how you drive, not the horsepower. I actually advocate a more powerful, better handling car for new drivers as they are more "forgiving" if you make a mistake - (excepting the big ego speeding of course) - If you do something wrong, it won't be as disastrous as a less powerful car New or old doesn't matter lar bro... Just drive carefully lor. Didn't TS say he is a new driver?So what is your point?He shouldn't drive or its ok for new drivers to buy powerful cars to drive around to gain experience? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic December 29, 2014 Share December 29, 2014 (edited) Nothing wrong - It is down to how you drive, not the horsepower. I actually advocate a more powerful, better handling car for new drivers as they are more "forgiving" if you make a mistake - (excepting the big ego speeding of course) - If you do something wrong, it won't be as disastrous as a less powerful car Damn I should have learnt to drive on a lambo since it's more powerful and has good handling so should be a very forgiving car Anyway with an instructor beside me, there shouldn't be any big ego speeding naturally Edited December 29, 2014 by Enye Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged December 29, 2014 Share December 29, 2014 (edited) which toyota? Auris? Even previa or Camry don't have ISOFIX/LATCH And if they have any connectors, they will be LATCH cos of american market. Corona. Maybe not called isofix. But then I could attach my britax car seat without the seat belts. Just plug it in. Current car don't have so more troublesome. Edited December 29, 2014 by Nzy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
serenade 6th Gear December 29, 2014 Share December 29, 2014 Merc E series (W211) ? Big boot, very safe, can fit 2 adults and a car seat at the back. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic December 29, 2014 Share December 29, 2014 Thanks, Indeed that's why I prefer to buy a sedan rather than a hatchback for my first car. At least it may be less impactful when being hit seriously from behind. You mentioned your wish was kissed 3 times from behind but left with no serious damage. Are you referring to heavy hit or really light kiss? All light kisses, although that's arbitrary since got no standard to benchmark against. Twice (once i drove, once my wife) at traffic lights we stopped, then the one behind for some reason didn't stop in time. First one was suay: one guy borrowed his friend's stream and took family out. Had stopped all ok, but then talked, and allowed car to move forward and hit us! Only went to patty and respray, as car was less than 2 yo so i didn't let go… The other one, my wife stopped, but the young girl who was driving his father's car braked but misjudged so didn't stop in time as it was downslope... The last one, this FT who also drove a wish was chatting with wife and didn't stop in time when I did, exiting from CTE, as there was oncoming traffic in the road we were exiting to. Handling big cars for new drivers is always difficult (hence my suggestion). Imagine you have full load, in cramped carpark, everyone behind waiting, and you're perspiring as after few tries still struggling to park… Sorry, just saying Nothing is for sure as life is full of uncertainties, but just made the suggestion so that you can have less things to deal with, and hopefully have peace of mind so can focus on driving. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bairen 1st Gear December 29, 2014 Share December 29, 2014 (edited) only travel with 4+1 on weekends. Seem optra is quite spacious. Did you use safety seat? Thanks. optra is jus a normal cheap sedan.. i used baby seat (upright sitting position with backrest type). for weekend only / occasional use type, i think a normal sedan would do. if it were me, i would get a cheap car first as a newbie. kinda like a 'training' car. bang/bump oso not so heart pain. there are many carparks with less-than-optimal lots. (or maybe its jus this less-than-optimal driver). i agree there may be some safety considerations for the back row when driving a small mpv like freed/sienta .... Edited December 29, 2014 by Bairen 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pazzinov2014 Neutral Newbie December 29, 2014 Author Share December 29, 2014 All light kisses, although that's arbitrary since got no standard to benchmark against. Twice (once i drove, once my wife) at traffic lights we stopped, then the one behind for some reason didn't stop in time. First one was suay: one guy borrowed his friend's stream and took family out. Had stopped all ok, but then talked, and allowed car to move forward and hit us! Only went to patty and respray, as car was less than 2 yo so i didn't let go… The other one, my wife stopped, but the young girl who was driving his father's car braked but misjudged so didn't stop in time as it was downslope... The last one, this FT who also drove a wish was chatting with wife and didn't stop in time when I did, exiting from CTE, as there was oncoming traffic in the road we were exiting to. Handling big cars for new drivers is always difficult (hence my suggestion). Imagine you have full load, in cramped carpark, everyone behind waiting, and you're perspiring as after few tries still struggling to park… Sorry, just saying Nothing is for sure as life is full of uncertainties, but just made the suggestion so that you can have less things to deal with, and hopefully have peace of mind so can focus on driving. thanks for sharing. luckily all kisses are light hit during stop/brake. now I am struggling with a 2.0L sedan or 1.6L sedan as was told camry is even longer than wish. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pazzinov2014 Neutral Newbie December 29, 2014 Author Share December 29, 2014 optra is jus a normal cheap sedan.. i used baby seat (upright sitting position with backrest type). for weekend only / occasional use type, i think a normal sedan would do. if it were me, i would get a cheap car first as a newbie. kinda like a 'training' car. bang/bump oso not so heart pain. there are many carparks with less-than-optimal lots. (or maybe its jus this less-than-optimal driver). i agree there may be some safety considerations for the back row when driving a small mpv like freed/sienta .... yes, wondering if I can use cefiro/Maz6 for the training, or a Lancer/Latio. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic December 29, 2014 Share December 29, 2014 thanks for sharing. luckily all kisses are light hit during stop/brake. now I am struggling with a 2.0L sedan or 1.6L sedan as was told camry is even longer than wish. Yes, confirm all 2.0L big cars are longer and wider than the compact/mid-sized MPVs like wish/stream/conti makes. All the turning radius, parking, judgement, etc. will need to be adjusted if you'd only driven normal mid-sized sedan before. Good luck with your choice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pazzinov2014 Neutral Newbie December 29, 2014 Author Share December 29, 2014 Corona. Maybe not called isofix. But then I could attach my britax car seat without the seat belts. Just plug it in. Current car don't have so more troublesome. What is the benefit of isofix? Just easier to fix than belt, right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic December 29, 2014 Share December 29, 2014 Why not consider Altis? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pazzinov2014 Neutral Newbie December 29, 2014 Author Share December 29, 2014 Why not consider Altis? I find altis is too expensive. Annual depreciation is more than 11K. Further more, is altis bigger (I mean wider passenger row) than Latio or Lancer? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porche 5th Gear December 29, 2014 Share December 29, 2014 Agree, buy a small MPV (Freed, Sienta), buy a GPS and keep away from the right lane. Freed and sienta no that bad lah, can't go on right lane. Only pick up slow, once on high gear it's ok liao. Like that picanto and spark cannot go on highway liao lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 29, 2014 Share December 29, 2014 I find altis is too expensive. Annual depreciation is more than 11K. Further more, is altis bigger (I mean wider passenger row) than Latio or Lancer? How can Altis have higher annual depreciation than Camry or Cefiro? Before talking about what car to buy, i would suggest to drive around in rented car. It is always exciting to talk about what car to buy. After buy, this cannot that cannot. Have to come back to ask again. Mind you, could you handle current road condition with passenger giving you all sorts of instruction (that's my presumption hor)? Could you handle crying baby in the car? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...